Ford introduces Ford Mondeo Titanium X Sport

Ford Mondeo Titanium X Sport

Ford has added the Titanium X Sport variant to its Ford Mondeo range in the UK, which is the highest spec Mondeo so far. Standard equipment includes an in-dash Sony six CD player, voice control, rain sensing wipers, automatic headlights, front and rear park assist, dual-zone climate control, Ford Power Start button, Bluetooth connectivity, bi-xenon lights, alloy pedals and a sports suspension.

Two engines are available for this equipment level – a 225 PS turbocharged inline-5 engine, or a 175 PS 2.2 litre TDCi engine which is expected to account for a majority of the sales. The 2.2 litre TDCi takes the Ford Mondeo Titanium X Sport from 0 to 100km/h in 8.4 seconds, and both engine variants are mated to a 6-speed manual. The car is available in either 5-door or estate bodystyles.

More images after the jump.

New Ford Mondeo unveiled – details and photos

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• zidane (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 7:34 am

WAH!!! NICE!!!!1

• the stik (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 7:41 am

whats with titanium?
    luv those black leather with red stitching..

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 8:16 am

i wonder why ford malaysia did nt bring dis mondeo..looks good n sure can sell in bolehland…

• zidane (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 8:29 am

My friend asked Ford Malaysia abt 7-8 yrs back….

they say that it will cost half a million RM if they bring in.

And in Malaysia, Ford is VERY under rated.

• lowprofile (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 9:07 am

raybrig85,

it won’t sell here due to a few factors.
    1) it’s a manual. malaysians prefer autos. sales figures prove this.
    2) just look at how many focus ford sells here (refer to MAA reports if you have access to those). a small handful compared to the japanese – evidence that Malaysians prefer japanese cars
    3) price – hard to be competitive against the japanese due to either british pound or euro
    4) japanese cars generally have a better reputation here – whether it is earned or perceived. just ask anyone, or even your family members.
    5) its not a honda or a toyota.

• xg9 (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 9:22 am

agreed with you lowprofile… even if its the sexiest car in the world, its not going to sell well here… i think ford focus that we currently have is a good looking car. dunno about the performance though. but i’d buy one if i could afford… if this was brought in here, it would be called the super luxury car… just look at the specs

• azrai (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 9:50 am

Nice looking car.

• LHQ (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 9:59 am

xg9,
    even if it was here as a super luxury car, i doubt the rich people here would buy it either, because for people here luxury cars are for Benz and BMWs only, so this way of thinking made the japanese cars and german cars can do all what they want because no matter what happen, people here will still prefer them.

• ilmondo (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 10:19 am

brilliant!

such a nice car.. in Autocar Asean, UK content, it was going against cars like Lambo, Porsche, Lotus, M.Benz C-Class for best handling cars months ago.. apart from autocar review, topgear also likes its ride and handling.. its safe, nice to drive, big, practical, reliable(based on previous track records), quality..

On TG malaysia, it was said that Sime Darby is planning to bring Mondeo and S-Max in.. they are trying to price Mondeo 2.3 at about RM160k to go against Accord and Camry, as well its brother Mazda 6..

Not sure bout its sales tho.. However, i’m excited to see this car ere..

Goodluck and Happy Motoring!

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 10:48 am

lowprofile…

yup…i know wut ure talking abt…i know abt the all of the reason u stated above…at least they can bring this car in a small volume n not all malaysian is typically will choose honda or toyota…etc…still gt ppl who luvs to own sumting diff car n to those who is really car enthu. will know y this is a better buy than the accord n camry…other than that..its good to c a variety of car in bolehland market so we can gt a lot of choices to buy…so..there’s nt a boring market if onli accord,camry,accord camry…btw..we cant change it..its typical malaysian…same goes to typical rich ppl who will choose bimmer or merc…its typical..like wat my fren’s daughter said…’x pakai merc x jadik org kaye’…hahaha

• ilmondo (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 11:36 am

yea agree with raybrig85 but lowprofile has his point too.. however, i believe that there are still renault, citroen, SAAB, alfa romeo etc etc fans out there who doenst go mainstream.. these cars used to have its glorious days ere in malaysia before the japs got strong.. will be great to see varieties of cars around.. raybrig85.. is AR 159 coming in??

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 11:51 am

yeah..159 will come bt dunno when…n i dunno when cn i gt it…its the same case when i bought 147 back in 01…i hv to wait for a long time..almost 9 mnths…hehee…still b patient…now onli can c dat car in the picture n with singapore plate onli…hehehe…cant wait to receive it…

• rexis (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 12:13 pm

oooo, so when can we see diesel sedans in malaysia at a reasonable price and road tax?

• ilmondo (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 12:39 pm

wow raybrig85 u must b a happy man! haha.. seen it in flesh, SG plate too.. its a lot bigger and it has got great road presence to me.. Howevr 156 still looks fresh tho..

well.. this article kinda remind me of the future of diesel in msia.. :(

• lowprofile (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 3:08 pm

raybrig,

i like the way you think!! :) if only more malaysians were like you (meaning, understand the essence of driving a superior handling car), companies like renault, citroen, alfa, fiat, peugeot , saab, volvo etc. will have a better chance. i hope that the after sales of these companies can also match the japanese. sadly it is a fact that the japanese have a better developed system for after sales.

i do hope to see the european brands make a strong come back one day in all aspects of price, after sales quality and spare parts price / availability.

• moonier (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 3:18 pm

wah lawa lah… design very kemas.

• MyviKiller (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 4:07 pm

yeah, agree with you all. Autocar UK once asked the British public to buy more French or Italian cars as the German domination on the British road makes the motoring scene boring, same goes to our Bolehland as well.

• chee89 (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 4:39 pm

looks a bit like the Jaguar XF.. maybe the headlights?

but awesome looking car.
    Ford can really do a good brand positioning if this car is able to sold in Malaysia.
    Toyota Camry sure wouldnt stand a chance

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 5:16 pm

desperately need some new Ford models here in Bolehland……

the Focus, Escape, Everest and even the best-pickup-in-Malaysia aka Ranger are getting boring…..

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 5:31 pm

looks like mitsubishi GT from the front
    from the side looks like gen2…

i found nothin’ luxury bout the design…

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 7:37 pm

Looks a tad like Gen 2… Just alot better thats all!

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 8:19 pm

dats jz my 2 cent and dats wat i thought…mmg boring tgk kat jalan x abis2 merc n bimmer..then toyota n honda..duh…no offence k..peace…

ilmondo…im hepi bt nt really hepi bcoz still didnt gt my new baby yet…still counting the day when can i receive it…im jealous to c it in sg plate…y they alwiz a bit fast than us….

• mystvearn (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 8:23 pm

This is a brilliant car. With new trim, maybe even better

• csv (Member) on May 08, 2008 at 12:57 am

looks like mazda 6 new one.

not surprising since ford has a stake in mazda and both share platforms.

but i prefer the Ford badge. more exclusive than mazda i think.

• topgunthang (Member) on May 08, 2008 at 1:29 am

159 looks nice and muscular. i’d love to get one and see what the fuss is all about.

mondeo is currently the best handling fwd. looks good too. but the mazda 6 will sell more coz it looks better. most claim the mazda 6 handles better but loses comfort.

i think you cant blame the malaysian mentality for buying jap cars. apart from reliability, the other culprit is the high tax/duty for cars of non proton make. This greatly contribute to people’s car preference to choose cars that will return maximum resale value. hence toyota and honda.

instead of asking buyers to choose non jap/german cars….i think the italian and french need to build better cars as in screwed together better.

• charles27 (Member) on May 08, 2008 at 6:07 am

nice photoshop work…
    think the real ‘car’ will not be nice… y? cause the shape, design, and the seat is low quality.

• chap_de_x (Member) on May 08, 2008 at 8:43 am

looks like aston martin db7 at the front….yup i agreed at side its looks like gen2 heheheh..hope car like this is well accepted in malaysia because toyota and honda is become boring and lousy day by day…honda have something fresh at their garage at least…from the pic its look nice hopefully in reality its the same…not like camry or accord…too big ass for me hahahaha

• ilmondo (Member) on May 08, 2008 at 12:22 pm

charles27.. its not photoshopped.. correct me if i’m wrong.. its a new variant launched in europe.. n bout quality.. altho i havent seen the car in person, journalists around d world do think that it is of good quality.. looks can be subjective tho.. IMHO.. this car looks great, especially in this form.. saloon version looks a bit elongated to me.

topgunthang.. is Mazda 6 and Mondeo sharing its platform? from wat i understood.. Mazda 3 – Focus – S40 are sharing d same.. and the C1 platform is further enhanced to make the s80, Kuga..

• szw (Member) on May 08, 2008 at 8:25 pm

whao… titanium

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 08, 2008 at 8:48 pm

nope…dis mondeo shared its platform with s-max and galaxy….later will b use in several volvo….it doesnt shared with mazda 6…

no doubt to say dat mondeo is the class leading…so…it is better than camry n accord…cheers…

• v0ices (Member) on May 08, 2008 at 11:16 pm

excellent car.. but unfortunately, most of us are the minority here.
    On a business perspective, Ford Malaysia wouldn’t want to bring in a car that can’t fight in it’s own segment. It doesn’t make business sense. Bringing in a car will mean support it… that means tech support, spare parts, etc etc.

and oh btw…. Ford Malaysia, isn’t under Ford anymore…. they pulled out and Sime bought over the remaining shares.

• topgunthang (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 12:05 am

ilmondo
    mondeo is using thier new platform. the new mazda 6 uses a revision of the old platform.

im not sure but i think both are fine. double wishbone front and multilink rear. thats what platforms need to be built from upon. after seeing what happened to the porsche turbo vs GTR. and integra generation 2 and 3.

chap_de_x
    did u mean honda has something good upcoming? quite apart from the new accord euro.

ford steering wheels are hideous.

• kruzer (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 12:35 am

nice car. But wonder why Ford still likes to use the bee sting antenna when most have already gone to windscreen printed antenna. And Mondeo and Focus are supposed to have a ‘premium’ tag to it.

• charles27 (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 5:34 am

haiya… photo always look nicer.
    eg. the lancer GT.. photo super nice and quality.
    but lately on the road, the body is worst that waja. terrible experience.

when it come to design, not many car can do it five stars.
    IMHO… Ford is not in the list.