Lexus Malaysia launches 5-seater Lexus LS460

Lexus LS460

Lexus Malaysia has added one more model to their line-up here in Malaysia, the short wheelbase version of the Lexus LS. The Lexus LS460 is 120mm shorter than the LS460L but you may not notice it at first glance because it manages to maintain similiar proportions, unlike the luxury sedans from other manufacturers where you can see the rear door is obviously much longer.

Priced at RM663,117.50 on the road with insurance, it is more than RM100k cheaper than the LS460’s RM797,583.50 price tag. Under the hood is the same 380hp 492Nm 4.6 litre V8. The rear legroom remains impressive, and a single rear bench is now used to accomodate 3 passengers at the rear. The LS460L’s could only seat 2 because of the latter’s two individual rear seats.

Because of this, the single rear Ottoman massage seat is also gone. Also missing in this version are the ventilated leather seats and the rear entertainment system with 9 inch display. All the other premium equipment in the LS460L has been carried over including the impressive 19 speaker Mark Levinson 7.1 sound system.

Look after the jump for more photos of the LS460.

Lexus LS460

Lexus LS460

Lexus LS460

Lexus LS460

Lexus LS460

Lexus LS460

Lexus LS460

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 1:20 am

tis car can park itself!!

• mct (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 1:55 am

wow
    this car 8 speed auto have only 2 overdrive gear
    but the 8th gear ratio is higher then the honda jazz which offer 0.500 for the 5th gear ,while the lexus offer 0.690for its 8th gear

the auto parking is not practical lah
    and because of it ,the stering must be fully eps
    eps= not so many fun with driving the car

• n8cky (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 1:58 am

Cyberkayu said,

August 22, 2008 @ 1:20 am

tis car can park itself!!
    ——————————————————————-
    ???

• mct (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 2:48 am

this car can park it self into the parking lot if there were efficient space
    you can search video for this feature
    many toyota can do this , prius ,estima also can do this

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 7:56 am

yea… its a smart car tat it can park by steering itself into the parking lot… and a huge LCD display hanging on the ceiling for rear passengers as well… haih, juz for the rich n famous le… :(

• frossonice (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 8:19 am

yea, the car can park by it self. but by the time it is done, you’ll create a traffic jam 1/2 km away… so damn slow.

• hyundai (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 9:31 am

At this price you can easily get a S-class… So why bother this Japanese? Poeple buying this car willl probably for its spec and engine only.

• trustgtr (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 9:35 am

this car is better built than the S class..panel gaps,fit and finish is just excellent..more Americans and Europeans are buying this car as lexus tops the luxury market especially in the US…electronics would surely be reliable..can say the same with my German saloon..

• trustgtr (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 9:38 am

actually i meant Can’t..my MB has been electronics glitches since i got it..fed up already..

• funknuf (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 9:55 am

RM 700K !!!!!!. IS IT ON SALE???…DUMPING STRATEGY???… IT’S A GOOD DEAL!!!!. went to the Lexus dealer weeks ago, the salesperson told me that this car can get you to any destination without even starting the engine.

• cutester (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 10:18 am

So luxurious…. The first thing I would love to put my hands on in this car is the audio system. Drooling and keep dreaming….

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 10:47 am

this car is ugly

• Altezzar (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 11:12 am

LS460… True masterpiece…..Why buy german ….in this century
    You get more component & luxury for every single cent you spend.
    With German you spend more on badge\ego than the actual car.

German makes are like china car rebadge. No substance without the badge.
    Yes they have Soul…… apparently…… but with substandard physical form and questionable quality.

Gone are the days of W126,W123 and W124. Solid engineering & quality.

Germans are doing well worldwide so why bother with quality?.

Disclaimer : My comment exclude Audi…. Audi is like Lexus. Using quality to win customer not badge.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 12:56 pm

trustgtr said,

August 22, 2008 @ 9:35 am

Lexus thrashed in Europe. In America its cheaper than the competitors while in Malaysia, UMW only sold 100+ units last year. 10% of BMW & Mercedes, even less if I add up the grey imported BMW & Benz.

Altezzar said,

August 22, 2008 @ 11:12 am

In that case, may I suggest you get the latest premium saloon from Hyundai, the Genesis? It offer more bangs for bucks. 7 Series roominess, 5 series handling and 3 series pricing. Definitely better than a Lexus GS with that kind of money you’re paying.

Topgear tried that auto park feature and it bang itself isn’t it.

• GL3n (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 12:57 pm

ALPINA BMW said,
    August 22, 2008 @ 10:47 am

this car is ugly

==================

dude, r u an alien species??

• blazerSST (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 1:48 pm

Oh man i sat this car in Dubai to the airport, it was barelling down the highway at 130km/h and it felt like only 40-50km/h, but the seats were quite large and i’m small built so didn’t feel quite right.

• mahs (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 1:54 pm

sexy car
    nice spec, hey dude dun complaint it too much bcoz this is not a sport car

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 1:58 pm

GL3n said,

August 22, 2008 @ 12:57 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

this car is ugly

==================

Nope he loves the Honda City looks over this =).

BAck to the post: The colour just looks sick! Unique too

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 3:25 pm

Im not sure about this car.. except!.

it’s surely Overprice as well!

• king (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 5:12 pm

trustgtr said,
    August 22, 2008 @ 9:35 am

this car is better built than the S class..panel gaps,fit and finish is just excellent..more Americans and Europeans are buying this car as lexus tops the luxury market especially in the US…electronics would surely be reliable..can say the same with my German saloon..

___

you should go check your facts 1st… lexus tops the luxury market ONLY in the US… but what the hell does americans know about cars? american mucle car anyone?

• king (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 5:17 pm

i mean muscle car

• king (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 5:22 pm

americans like everything extra large…so lexus is the best choice for them since its priced 15-20% cheaper than the germans while offering the same size, try selling a viva to them and see what happen…they might just spit on you.

but look at the price here…its even more expensive than an s-class. thats surely overpriced as hell!

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 5:31 pm

Americans good at PUSHROD engine LoL

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 6:19 pm

GL3n said,

August 22, 2008 @ 12:57 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

this car is ugly

==================

Nope he loves the Honda City looks over this =).

BAck to the post: The colour just looks sick! Unique too

actually I DO LOVE THE HONDA CITY over this

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 6:35 pm

More practicality. I still like Ottoman or ogawa seat at the rear. Can relax while someone else drives

• ianlam (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 10:41 pm

drove this car before, japanese spec, powerful yet very comfortable, but fuel cut at 180kmh. think it beat many sport car on the road.

• legacy88 (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 7:20 am

Excellent and well built, even better than German. Heck it’s EVEN better than P R O T O N a million times. He he.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 10:42 am

the current seats are worse than those in a honda accord

• cikR (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 11:59 am

mct said,

wow
    this car 8 speed auto have only 2 overdrive gear
    but the 8th gear ratio is higher then the honda jazz which offer 0.500 for the 5th gear ,while the lexus offer 0.690for its 8th gear

DUDE…

do u think that Honda Jazz can travel 140km/h on 2000rpm? Personally i don’t think the Jazz can do it. By the way the 1.5 engine is not powerfull enough to drag the gearbox to make 140km/h at 2000rpm.

ALPINA BMW said,

the current seats are worse than those in a honda accord

DO U THINK SEMI ANILINE NAPAL
    LEATHER SEAT IS WORST THAN A LOCAL MANUFACTURED LEATHER SEAT???

• king (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 12:27 pm

Lexus LS = overpriced camry with osim seat and branded sound system

• db8 (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:25 pm

This car in Japan costs below RM200k…
    where the other rm500k go to??mystery..

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 11:43 pm

db8 said,

August 23, 2008 @ 4:25 pm

UMW overpriced everything they sell.
    There’s stupid Malaysians will buy it. So why they care

• Altezzar (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 8:29 am

IsaacVky said,
    August 22, 2008 @ 12:56 pm

Altezzar said,

August 22, 2008 @ 11:12 am

In that case, may I suggest you get the latest premium saloon from Hyundai, the Genesis? It offer more bangs for bucks. 7 Series roominess, 5 series handling and 3 series pricing. Definitely better than a Lexus GS with that kind of money you’re paying.

Topgear tried that auto park feature and it bang itself isn’t it.
    ===========================================

Topgear didnt know how to use it. Stupid people. Topgear show is for entertainment only not real facts. If you take this show seriously hmmm
    I dont know what to say……

==========================================
    Why are u comparing hyundai.? Hyundai is not the same class. ?
    It is like me saying Better buy saga cos 1/10th of the price cos it has steering aircon and wheels. Pls

Hyundai is nowhere near Lexus or German makes because it lacks technology. Korean are not know for technology. They focus more on looks to sell the car. You see Korean are not know for anything. German are known for Handling and Jap are known for reliablility etc.
    ============================================

king said,
    August 23, 2008 @ 12:27 pm

Lexus LS = overpriced camry with osim seat and branded sound system

Really………….. waoh…. well let me see Camry is good Osim also good and branded sound system also good….. so why are you complaining.

• Altezzar (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 8:51 am

Lexus is over priced cos it has
    1) Technology. world 1st 8 speed gearbox. etc too many to mention.
    2) Packed with features. Too Many to mention
    3) Quality
    4) Durability
    5) Reliability.

I know myvi also got the last 2 but I am talking in total package.

but it is ok to pay a premium price for a German for bad quality….less feature…..7G gearbox. Dont forget years of problematic motoring.

What is the point. If the badge is the reason you buy german then admit it .
    Do give excuse that Lexus is overpriced Jap rubbish blah blah blah.

Everybody know when buying german you are paying considerable portion for badge value not component.

Disclaimer : Audi is an exception.

• legacy88 (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 9:11 am

All morons who thinks that Lexus is Osim Camry is a totally badge w hor e. Know nothing and act pandai. Very nice!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 5:08 pm

i’d install an ogawa system in my car. in japan, nobody buys lexus. its lower class compared to a merc and bmw. nobody cares if the merc is shitty quality or less toys. the matter of the badge is most important in japan. must be the reason why so many recon units from japan in our country.

• ezal7065 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 8:20 am

That is very expensive…. Lucky, to live in Brunei.. I can get this car for B$160,010 for the LS 460 L that’s about RM368,000.

To Alpina BMW.. In Japan.. Lexus are remodeled as Toyota.. That’s why In Japan they don’t have Lexus…

• ehsan on Aug 23, 2012 at 2:03 am

i love