New Renault Symbol sedan based on Renault Clio

Renault Symbol

The Renault Symbol (also called the Renault Thalia or Clio Sedan in some markets) is a low-cost 3-box sedan based on the Renault Clio platform. It also uses the same suspension as the Clio II (the Clio is now in its third generation). It will be unveiled to the public at the 2008 Moscow International Auto Show on the 26th of August 2008.

It looks like something you would expect out of the Saab design studio. The Symbol will most likely share the same engine options as the Dacia Logan, which is also a budget car based on the Clio platform. This is probably the same car with better styling to position it slightly higher in the market.

More images after the jump.

Renault Symbol

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• csv (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 11:51 pm

front kinda resembles the sx4 sedan.

maybe nissan take it and rebadge it?

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 11:56 pm

i think it looks like a nissan latio too, maybe the similarity

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:02 am

Wow! If this Renault is an entry level / low cost car from them. Then this is way better than our SAGA. Looks better than our Waja too. Shame…..

• azrai (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 7:11 am

Look like the Suzuki SX4 ‘A’ pillar has been move to be the ‘C’ pillar.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 7:41 am

azrai, I agree with you. It really does look like Suzuki SX4 with its A & C pillars swapped!

• abtm (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 7:45 am

the tacho doesn’t seem to redline until 7000rpm or beyond

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 8:37 am

They actually made a nice boot for the car, and a decent front… but why oh why with that C-pillar? :(

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 8:48 am

it looks really strange. something wrong with the proportions…

• farghmee (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 9:20 am

exterior: macam pernah nampak je..;)

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 9:29 am

I agree with BanyakMasukWorkshop. The shape is kinda strange due to the odd proportions. Along the same vein, the VW Gol also suffers from this which I think is due to the transition from a hatchback to sedan shape.

• Realeyes (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 10:20 am

Yuck! Please don’t come to Malaysia..

• Alifz (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 10:28 am

Look like now renault had learn from proton….hehe…

• normaluser (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:04 pm

So suddenly European carmakers come out with “cheap” B-segment sedans derived from the hatchbacks. Looks like they are seriously competing with the Japs to enter the emerging developing countries small sedan market. The far east got the new City, Mazda2 sedan (china), Vios, Versa/Latio,.. which is better looking (Vios excluded.. huhu) than the Logan.

This car looks totally out of place, with those huge side windows and weird C-pillar. No interior pics. It looks long and spacious, and probably it is as big as the C-segment competitor.

• szw (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:51 pm

looks like a sx4 front and a new c-class butt…

• Altezzar (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 1:25 pm

awkful……this car will never make it to our shores. why???…
    In Malaysia your either have Badge value or looks. If dont have either then
    dont bother.

• kennytan70 (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 1:57 pm

Look better than nay of the Renault’s offering in Malaysia. Well, Tan Chong, any plans to sell it here? You should have more model range instead of just offering Kangoo and its variant here.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 5:54 pm

Here comes the new Eintein theory:

Symbol = C-class + SX4 + Latio

Tada!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 5:59 pm

the design is not bad as this is a ‘low-cost’ car….

front and side looks pretty basic and normal, nothing too appealing, but somehow the rear is quite nice….

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 6:39 pm

very nice car, looks like a nissan latio

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 6:40 pm

Rear C class/Hyundai Coupe@Tuberon
    Front: Latio

Meter from Proton Saga?
    Problem is when it comes to Bolehland, people will not buy it, because you have saga, savvy, viva, myvi for baseline market. People will think twice to buy this car

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 8:28 pm

Worst than LOGAN…Yew

• trustgtr (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:19 am

aiya, its a nissan/renault shared platform..renault used to be pretty crap in terms relaibilty..with nissan’s input, they have learned a lot from the japs..best takeover ever for the french car..

• hegonc (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 6:38 am

hi everyone! i’m from Brazil and I really liked this site.
    I’ve been reading the comments and this Renault is based on Clio II (Thalia, in Brazil is Clio Sedan) and in my opinion the pictures are streched too much. Here im Brazil, The Clios never sold a lot, but who has one, do not change for any other low-cost car…

In Brazil we don’t have the Dacia brand, so our flag is Renault….tha’s wy Renault is reaching the 3rd world countries…

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:01 pm

hegonc, there are also many european hatchback based sedan cars in the mercosur region too right? care to share a bit from your side of the world? like what are the euro hatch based sedans there?

• hegonc (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 8:03 am

There are some hatchback based sedan but the majority is not the current european version..

In brazil these Companies has local manufactures.
    Chevrolet, Fiat, VW, Ford, Fiat, Honda, Toyota, Nissan, Citroen, Peugeot, Audi
    here some of the most popular cars of Brazil
    the GM Astra is the old astra(opel astra),
    Our current Vectra is the current european Astra, and the hatchback is called Vectra GT
    we’ve got the family Corsa, Corsa HB, Sedan, tiny Pick-up…
    www.chevrolet.com.br

Our VW there are the whole products, although our Golf is a facelifted version of generation IV, but the majority of internacional cars are imported from Mexico. The Gol is the best-selling car in Brazil.
    www.vw.com.br

Our Ford, now, is going to launch the new Focus HB(hatchback) and Sedan.
    We’ve got the local version of Ford Ka (www.fordka.com.br) its nice!
    www.ford.com.br

Also we’ve got
    www.citroen.com.br (C3, C4 VTR, C4 Sedan, old version of Picasso,
    www.renault.com.br (clio II HB e sedan, megane HB, sedan, convertible, Stationwagon, Sandero e Logan) No Laguna at all.
    www.fiat.com.br (Punto, Linea (is going to be launched), Stilo
    www.honda.com.br (Civic, Fit (Jazz))
    www.peugeot.com.br (the owlfull brazilian version of 207, 307 HB sedan Stationwagon)

Brazilian Currency (REAL) worths 1,65 US$
    Well, how your market works?