Hyundai i20 teaser before Paris 2008 debut

Hyundai i20

Hyundai has released the first image of the new Hyundai i20, a 5-door 5-seater hatchback which will replace the Hyundai Getz in the Korean automaker’s line-up.

According to Hyundai Motor Europe president Kun Hee Ahn, the new i20 is built on an all-new platform and is tailored to European tastes both in terms of looks and in ride and handling which calls for a firm and agile drive.

The car will be displayed to the public at the 2008 Paris Motor Show together with a “green” i20 i-blue concept which will feature a 90 horsepower 1.4 litre turbodiesel engine mated to a 6-speed manual. The i-blue concept is expected to achieve 68mpg and put out only 99g/km of CO2 emissions.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 8:22 pm

Another HYbrid, No need lah Hyundai jangan ikut angin aja.

• gogo2 (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 8:47 pm

i tot its satria neo..

• austin_cipan (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 8:54 pm

this isn’t a hybrid… this car will feature normal and ‘green’ trim in which the ‘green’ model will feature a turbodiesel engine which is tuned for economy, longer high gears for minimal rpm for cruising, low rolling resistance tyre, and probably more aerodynamic or less Cd, all of which each feature will save more fuel…

• PROTON SUCKS (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 9:31 pm

this looks like the opel agila, suzuki splash

• EnochKeng (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 11:32 pm

Better looking than Savvy and Viva..

• normaluser (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 12:01 am

Hope that the 100% import duty exemption on hybrid cars is expanded into green diesel compact cars. Then Inokom can rebadge the turbodiesel car and price it at RM50K (scrap the i10 please). Sure sell like goreng pisang panas.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 5:09 am

Paul, if you don’t mention it, I would have thought this is European car.
    Love it!

• azrai (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 7:22 am

Repackaged Peugoet?

• NiceCar (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 8:17 am

nice and good looking car, it show the Korean car keep improving…!!

btw, hybrid car is not “ikut angin” la… is a future trend..

• jaygan (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 8:19 am

The Koreans are at it again, but where is our….. (you know what and you know who :( )

Wonder if the Koreans are going to introduce any diesel sedan here in Malaysia.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 9:35 am

Not only the Koreans, almost ALL manufaturers will release modern diesel cars once our Malaysian diesel quality improves.

68mpg, if this is following the american mpg, thats 28km/L

Its a nice looking car. The old Getz isn’t a bad car, so this should be popular, “repackaged peugeot” looks not withstanding….

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 11:03 am

this is the new getz right….

• austin_cipan (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 11:26 am

it’s obviously imperial mpg… so, it translates to +/- 24.1km/l

• dzat46 (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 12:31 pm

+/-24 km/l…wow thats good & i believe ths diesel will surely hv good torque

• ReactiX (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 1:15 pm

another copycat korean…

• abtm (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 3:22 pm

it looks boring, somehow i don’t think it can live up to the ppl’s expectations after the Getz. That was a very good Korean car…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 3:47 pm

+/-24 km/l, not as good as the “”50 over km/l”” as claimed by nissan for the 1.8 livina 7 seater mpv.

the biggest problem with diesels in malaysia, is our poor diesel quality.

• MycarMyLife (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 3:55 pm

Hi guys,
    It is a refreshing change after having Getz for such a long time and we are bored to death, the irony is why launch I 10 or I 20 in M’sia when our neighbours have the I 30 running around in Hanoi and HCMC for months?
    It s cute like the Pugs 206 or 207.
    Please move with the market or be left behind !! Vietnam shucks!!
    We have the Honda Acura ( CRV big bro’ and the FCX too )

cheers to cheap beers

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 8:26 pm

Looks too much Vauxhallish

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 05, 2008 at 1:51 am

Whoa an oilburner and a manual… but 1.4 turbo? Hmmm and its meant for the European market. Nope, we’re gonna get a petrol and auto. There’s nothing wrong with a VXR mate. Its a bit rude with massive torque but I like!

• dzat46 (Member) on Sep 05, 2008 at 4:05 pm

Earlier, i thot it was a SEAT or FIAT…yep, very euro lookin, guess hyundai is concentrating on the euro mkt where they are doin quite well there..the i30 sure got a gud review there (If not mistaken they are one of the major sponsor of prev EURO championship)…

• csv (Member) on Sep 05, 2008 at 7:11 pm

looks pretty normal, decent.

praticality, just like the myvi and old getz.

• wakwai (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 12:00 am

It’s really has the continental look, just like it’s sister the i30, which could be mistaken for an Opel..

• CatDawg (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 11:33 am

noticed that the new hyundai generations all have distinctive european styling…even the i10. this i20 front lamps are really similar to peugeot’s…try looking at the 207cc and 308. way to go!at least we have refreshing looks on malaysian roads, amongst the sea of dull styling jappy/local cars…

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 4:03 pm

for the model that replace the getz… its suck coz look so normal..

too similar and blend with the current part of ‘uglier’ car design which IMO could easily dated. nothing to look forward to..

does not bring excitement as when as getz enter the market, surprised and captured the heart of many many people, including the european.

to press my opinion, take a look at what the upcoming ford fiesta look like .. now that worth praising!

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 4:07 pm

CatDawg,

this hyundai design got no design similarity with peugeot design.

they mind try a bit here an there (got what u trying to say) but this exact effort turn out ugly product. just compare this and getz, what happens?