2009 Honda City set to hit the European market

2009 Honda City
Click for hi-res photo

A new set of photos of the new 2009 Honda City have been released, this time a left hand drive version as a preview to the car’s official European unveiling at the Istanbul Motor Show this October 2008.

The European market Honda City will be fitted with a 100 PS 1.4 litre i-VTEC engine mated to a 5-speed transmission, and apparently the new City – like its European Jazz and Civic hatch siblings – will feature a 6-speed i-SHIFT automated manual transmission with steering-mounted paddle shifts will serve those who do not want to bother with a manual clutch on a daily basis.

The 5-speed manual transmission has been improved over the previous version, now featuring a carbon synchromesh for smoother gear changes as well a new set of gear ratios optimised for the new engine.

Other than the left hand drive interior, something new shown with this new set of photos is the fact that the car features an automatic climate control system with digital display instead of the three-knob manual air conditioning controls that were shown in the previous set of photos. The exterior also looks a little different, with some extra side strips somehow giving the car a more stout look. Frankly I prefer the Asian version’s exterior.

Look after the jump for the new set of photos.

2009 Honda City
Click for hi-res photo

2009 Honda City
Click for hi-res photo

2009 Honda City
Click for hi-res photo

2009 Honda City
Click for hi-res photo

2009 Honda City
Click for hi-res photo

2009 Honda City
Click for hi-res photo

2009 Honda City
Click for hi-res photo

2009 Honda City
Click for hi-res photo

2009 Honda City
Click for hi-res photo

2009 Honda City
Click for hi-res photo

2009 Honda City
Click for hi-res photo

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cutester (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 1:49 pm

Very nice….

• sudha (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 2:07 pm

Given the new technologies and the new design…the new City would be a better buy compared to the VIOS..

• altimi (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 2:40 pm

I think this Euro version is better looking than Asian bound……

• ignas (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 2:50 pm

perfectly beautiful.

• pju_3 (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 3:39 pm

Hmm…Euro version got cruise control…
    Guest Honda will have a J version of City? with manual transmission… ? A good fight with the Vios :)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 3:41 pm

from the photos, seem that unlike previous euro-honda’s, this city is practically the same as the asian version, except for some minor trim changes.

but the more pics i see of the car, the better it gets everyday.

• azrai (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 3:56 pm

Nice, but the rear bumper look quite unproportionated.

• alihms (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 4:16 pm

Being able to enter Europe, means that city is now fully homologated. First and 2nd Gen H. Cities meant only for Asia market. As such certain parts of the car (ex. Headlamp, Seatbelts etc) were not sent for approval (homologation process) by regulatory authorities. While non-homologated parts do not necessarily mean they are sub-standards, not-doing-it allows manufacturers could cut corners whenever they see fit.

So, another winning point for City against Vios.

• csv (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 4:17 pm

yeah, the european version got climate control while we get knobs i think.

and the boot looks kinda small.

but it still looks hell lot nicer than previous version or vios.

wonder what we get here.

sekali bring in 2 variants, one got climate the other knobs….hm….

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 4:47 pm

It is so nice…if my wife didn’t buy latio sports earlier, I think she will chose new city too and it is bit cheaper too…

• painsama (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 6:02 pm

A manual City? Hmmm nice.

• vpam5221 (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 6:22 pm

we want climate control…… since we are paying much higher price than rest of the world.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 6:25 pm

euro people won buy, they prefer hatchbacks, and they have much better cars there like the honda jazz which isnt too expensive over there

• sutheshkumar87 (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 7:23 pm

the euro version looks…..better.
    i guess the digital climate control changes it all.
    and the shots made the car look better!!

• FrozenHeart (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 9:31 pm

Gimme a larger boot space, so that i can put in 56 durians~~
    Why did i said 56 ? LOL~~

• chris (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 11:00 pm

Euro accord & Beemer 3series wana b?C’mon honda,go get more designer to design new model.

• ignas (Member) on Sep 22, 2008 at 11:49 pm

hmm i dun see anything wrong if it has similar design like its siblings. what about bmw series, all of them look almost similar. audi, volkswagen, volvo…etc.

• lee1 (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 12:46 am

Nothing special somthing similar design with the europeon type r civic or the europeon honda civic font view.
    Overall fine but boring because its remind me honda civic design since 1992-1997 model.

• mct (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 2:21 am

wow
    the interior look much nicer with the digital control aircond /auto climate control
    honda should bring this version to malaysia instead the ugly analog version

• azrai (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 6:51 am

Last weekend this City make an appearance for their local ad at Putrajaya’s bridge. It is come sooner than we think. Yes.

• shaif (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 8:00 am

Love the color, hope Honda Malaysia can offer this colour with manual transmission and digital climate.

• arc_knight (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 9:15 am

haha…wat a nice car from honda…how’s da price would it be in malaysia…

• arc_knight (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 9:16 am

design is nice n da interior look great man….

• BlackJKX (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 9:37 am

A good car.Only torsion beam is not good.

• TheDuck (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 1:04 pm

The exterior looks great. I bet the car will do great in Europe.

• gods twin (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 4:13 pm

price of this honda is set to be at the range of 89-98 k. source, honda insider. If honda is pitching this car against vios at suach a high price at this testing times, than i think vios sell like hot cakes yet again.The car is set to be launched here in malaysia 2nd to 3rd week of december. waiting for thier revised hybrid civic price though.

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 11:01 pm

Good effort from Honda. Honda really need to work hard there as the sales drop continuously and even Mazda has surpass their number. Hyundai and Kia has also surpass Honda.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 6:42 pm

when’s the new mazda 3 going to come out?

• tehcho1 (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:47 am

go ahead city…..

Re: COMPLAINT ON BAD SERVICES, WARRANTY, BAD QUALITY ON ABSORBER

I am writing to express my disappointment and dissatisfaction towards the quality of my Toyota Vios and the service attitude of Subang Jaya service centre, I have really bad and most unpleasant experiences of my life.

1. On 29 Sept 2008, I went to Subang Jaya Services Centre address Lot 61716, Jalan SS16/1, Bandar Subang Jaya, 47500 Subang Jaya, Selangor, Tel: 03-5621 5566 to log a complaint regarding my car Vios which I had acknowledge that my car is not very comfort and feel very bumpy when moving. So, at that time, here come the technical people names Mr. Ang served me and bring me together to test the car. Before testing the car, he brings the car inside the plant and did asks other technician to check the tire air pressure which is normal. At the same time, he take a look at the below of the car to have a glance of the absorbers and found out that rear right side of the car absorber has leakage full of oil without even testing the car. So, I am glad that he allows changing the absorber since it is still under warranty. I request him to check another side of the absorber, but he refused to do that but instead of take a look from outside only and he confirms it is still in good condition without open it to verify clearly.
    And he show me the procedure that there are varies type of criteria of the leakage only consider reject or can claim for warranty. I though that when an absorber has a sign of leakage, no matter minor or major is consider defect?

After changed the one absorber, the problems still happen. I still feel the car very bumpy, not comfort and seem like the suspension of the car not working and does not response well. This can be really differentiated with my other Vios car. So, I went the same service centre 2nd day to log the same complaint. Now Mr. Ang refers me to other technical people name Mr. Sham after he explained to him my condition. Then, Mr. Sham brings me together to test the car. After testing, he explains to me that the car tires have alignment problems and the tire is old since it use from year 2006. After that, I request for repair or anyhow need to solve the problem. But Mr. Sham said that the machine for checking the alignment got some problem which today cannot be use. So it seem like I need to come another day or 3rd time come to this services center to solve the problem. It seem like this services center is using the strategy of dragging all customer complaints until the customer eventually feels tired and fed up till the warranty expired?

I wonder and suspecting how bad the quality of the TOYOTA ABSORBER since my car mileage has reach about 35K only? And I doubt that TOYOTA has been categorizing one of the most comfort and reliable cars? This has changed my perception although I have own another 2 Toyota cars in my family and I am very regretful and disappointed to own it. This may also change my perception not to recommend my relatives, friends, all the people that I know not to consider buy TOYOTA car.

Other than the above issues, I got another complaint regarding the number plate and viper. The color of the number has change from white to yellow after 1 year only. I have doubt what type material that has been used? Secondly, the viper that has change from the Subang Jaya Service Center has been worn off after 6 month of use only. This is the most horrible experience and one of the lowest and bad qualities that I had never encounter before.

Lastly, I do hope and really appreciate that the service of the mention above service center needs to improve and appropriate action need to be taken to satisfy customer needs. I think this is also one of your company vision and mission to fully satisfy customer requirement and to have lowest quality defect or lowest DPPM in order to continue become a successful automotive in this industry.

• gods twin (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 2:20 pm

Dear techno 1.

You are not the only person who has been the lab mice of this so call best quality, and best customer service provider car company, Its CRAP!!!!.

I have even more quality issues with latest edition VIOS, My car is 5 months old and belive it or not, it behave like 50 year old car.

When i was given the car, the paint job was already ruined by the sales center, by wrongly using the polishing machine or wat so ever. made a complain, they polished and it got even worse. Than, i called thier UMW customer care and yelled at them, the sales center caleed my car for a special polish where they will sand paper the surface and then repolish, it did nt work and the a guy from the plan was sent over to inspect, he asked 1 good question. ” Which idoit said i you can sand paper a brand new car? i told him it was the ppl from toyota who called me up and did for mr for free and he shut hiss ass up.

Since than my car 31000 on the clock, 5 months old has:

1. steering which is not centered since it was given- action: sent to service center twice and it was the same, and they even had the gut to tell me that it was production defect, and it was mis alingned with my ABS, so it wont be centered and i have to drive it like tat, since when we had to use steering to apply brake to our cars.

2. Car stalled on the middle of the road, at first i lost my EPS(electronoic power steering) and then my ABS and finally it came to a halt on PLUS at 3 am. I poured RM110 worth of petrol to come back to kl from JB.and yet it ran out of petrol half way.

3. All my absobers are spoilt, it will sound like a TATA lorry going rally. MY car is undriveable on extreame comditions such as crosswind, and rain. I have escaped hitting lorry’s from opposite direction twice.

4. accelerator pedal jammed twice while over taking on the trunk road, missed hitting the lorry on the opposite lane.

5. Left side – side mirror will whistle at speeds over 100km.

6. Interior plastics vibrates on un even roads

7. Fuel tank opener need 2 person to open, 1 to pull the lever and the other to push the cover inwards.

8. Car will vibrate at 140 after sending it for a alingment and balancing with toyota.

9. After the incident where the car stalled on the road, my engine sound like a lorry on steroids.

10.my rear pasenger seat belt missing after my last service, the mechanics, fixed it under the rear seat to give extra support for the fual tank, just in case if get stollen at the fuel prices are going up. Kind of them.

11. The ECU wiring cables are badly insulated with, LOY taoe(plastic tape used to insulate the wirings at home), and the best part is, they insulated on 5o% of the wires, the rest just left like tat.

I toatlly agree with tat thier quality and service is no more,it looks like they are more profit oriented than e quality, I am planing to get rid of this crap junk and get the new city, i actually ahd a chance to get a brand new honda for discounted rate, but my loyalty towards the brand has thoughtt me a good lesson. i have 5 toyota in the fly and none of those has these stupid problem. I was told tat the new versions, esp Malaysian editions has tones of problem.

Sickening and disappointed.

• tehcho1 (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 10:15 pm

it is their jobs and responsible to change the defective parts!! no
    questions!! but what the hell they change one obsorber one? where got ppl
    sell one batang? all come in pair mah!! where got balance, common
    senses!! use ur brains toyota!! big head no brain, big brain grow grass!!

u think i very free ah, no need to work, every day go TOYOTA SC, if like
    that, ask TOYOTA to hired me work there lah!!! fxxx

my car 24 hrs never under the sun, the Wiper also can wear off, stupid
    TOYOTA!!

my car only drive to work, come home, go shopping, very seldom go back
    home town….like that u call rough use?

anyway, i already send complaint letter to HQ and TOYOTA JAPAN!! the most
    important thing now, i wont recommend any friends to consider TOYOTA!!
    sickening!!

thanks buddies for your reply…..

anyway, maybe i also will change mine after use 1-2 yrs…..to other brand…..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:47 pm

why we don get climate control…what a pity

• SHYan on Jul 06, 2009 at 10:08 pm

oh what a buy HONDA CITY !

I had much qualms on the car …but my son was engrossed with it.

Ok… we like the car – surely it was much better as compared to our previous car.

Then again price for price DOUBLEd – It was not giving double the joy.

….. consumption economical ahhh you try it. Pick up….. just like the current economy sluggish.

Then repeatedly we were told if you make any adjustments HONDA will void all warranty. We complained that the alarm can hardly be heard -just like a sick dog- weak and short of breath! What to expect the sound all muffled in the boot- no exterior "speakers" NOW my boot was broken into. The locked was picked. When we asked why wasnt the alarm sounded. Again another surprise – the boot is not connected to the alarm – If need to we need to pay a "small " connection fee to active it. This they say is done for the convenience of the owner… B*Shit .. for my interest??????

When I called customer service I was blantantly informed that they appreciate my feedback and be assured will be used as improvement for future developments!. So hear me well – YOU BUY YOU GUINEA PIG –

I looked up the internet and realise so many cars had been stolen and it only takes 18mins to drive it away. So actually what about the super immobiliser and the key they required coupled with no boot alarm and soft blasting alarm when the car manhandled!

Search into the net and you will find lots of news that is very upsetting and disturbing for trusting HONDA.

Very sad !

• satish kumar saini on Feb 27, 2011 at 1:38 am

Sir I want to install auto climate control in my indian Honda city car 1.5 VMT i-vtec.Pl advise& guide me. From where i can buy ? Thanks-SATISH INDIA