Facelifted Suzuki Grand Vitara now with 2.4L engine

Suzuki Grand Vitara

Suzuki has unveiled a facelifted version of the Suzuki Grand Vitara flagship, now available with a new larger 2.4 litre engine.

The new 2.4 litre engine produces 166 PS in the three door body and 169 PS in the five door body. The engine features a balance shaft, a three-stage variable air intake and a tumble control valve for the intake to for the best possible fuel-air mixture.

Other changes include new ventilated discs for the rear brakes, extra shock-absorbing elements at the front to reduce pedestrian injury risk, and ESP is now fitted as standard. Apparently the interior and exterior styling has received minor updates as well but they are probably so minor that other than the new wheels, I can’t seem to detect any.

Look after the jump for a photo of the 3-door body and the new interior.

Suzuki Grand Vitara

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• assimo (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 1:09 am

whooahh..neat interior.The 2 doors version more nice and cute.

• l3ryan (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 2:24 am

price?

• Neoman (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 2:40 am

yeah, agree…
    3 doors is nicer and cuter than the 5 doors…
    who cares bout the 3ps diff…
    the losses might take it off…

• zaen (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 5:51 am

Paul,

I can detect one facelift – the new side mirror come with signal indicator lamp – previous model doesn’t have it..

:-)

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 9:22 am

finally a bigger engine, the previous engines were underpowered

• Roti Naan (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 10:15 am

underpowered engine is pretty subjective. My uncle drives one, and he think its fine. Put Takumi in the seat, it’s another story altogether.

• ATV (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 12:47 pm

YA IT’S LOOKING FROM INSIDE LIKE GORGEOUS!!!!!
    BUT WHEN YOU SEE FROM OUT SIDE IT’S LIKE INDIAN TYPICAL MARUTI MODEL. ISN’T IT?

• Pro (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 1:25 pm

What’s the price? Keep me informed. Thank You

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 1:32 pm

pretty much the same…… but still look nice. 3door looks good vs RAV4 3 door. What’s the price for 3 door or 5 door ? More info please ……. a teaser by Suzuki or Paul ? same price at RM109K or ??????

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 1:33 pm

that 2.4cc hav any relation to the once in toyota family ?> those in the estima and camry? sounds like same output

• l3ryan (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 2:02 pm

from the interior shots i see a 5 speed manual, but i doubt we’re gonna get that in our shores tho…
    if it’s a manual 2.4 with 160+ps it will definitely be powerful, especially the lighter 3 door model.

sad that manuals are so neglected in m’sia

• ignas (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 5:20 pm

suzuki malaysia never bothers to advertise their cars anyway. btw, does anyone knows why it calls Grand Vitara, like the nissan Grand Livina? Maybe someday there is also a Grand CRV/Stream and Grand Rush/Avanza lol.

• theanswer (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 6:19 pm

Ignas: the reason why grand livina is called grand..because there are another version of 5 seater nissan livina. the one we got here is 7 seater..thts why they put ‘grand’. u can google it b4 u ask. and for grand vitara..there used to be a small vitara(1.6 engine)..and the bigger size vitara was called grand vitara. so i think today they just stick to the name grand vitara..futhermore..latest vitara model is much bigger than the old one.
    ATV: suzuki and maruti..whats is the different between them? both share the same vehicle. Full name for maruti company is Maruti Suzuki. no surprise then.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 6:37 pm

the malaysian version has wood inserts in it…nasty

• Roti Naan (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 8:14 pm

Naming it “Grand” makes the car sounds premium.

proton should start calling their cars Grand Perdana, so ppl will be duped buying the car…. hihihi

• ignas (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 10:19 pm

hahaaha good one Roti Naan :)

theanswer: hey thanks for the informative answer. it just popped up my mind so i asked spontaneously. yea next time i will google it.

and as what i know of maruti, it joint ventured with suzuki because suzuki bought over majority of its shares. so all suzuki cars over there becomes maruti suzuki cars. put it simple, cars technology from suzuki but made by maruti suzuki, thus maruti swift, vitara, etc.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 11:03 pm

I will grab one if MT + 3-dr is available here. Bet we will see boring 4-AT 5-dr again.

• csv (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 11:30 pm

as with all Suzuki’s, the interior is very nice.

even better than Nissan, i must say, despite me being their fan.

still 3 door abit too “cute”. Kuga gets my vote.

• dr_carz (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 1:26 am

DREAMING ON OWNING ONE……….

BET KJ WILL RONG IZZAH ON THIS WHEEL AFTER THE NEW ERA

• Kelvin Lee on Apr 16, 2009 at 12:24 am

Is somebody know the 2,4L Grand Vitara price or not? because I go to Suzuki Showroom just have 2.0L model only

• Ive..just bought one eight months old £11900 3 door new price £16000 metalic red