New Premium trim level for Lancer Evolution X

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution GSR Premium

The high price of a high powered version of what is still essentially a Japanese C-segment sedan may be a deterrent to those who are considering the Lancer Evolution X and find that its price comes too close to cars like the BMW 325i Sports especially in Malaysia. The BMW, while alot less powerful, still offers an interior that is so much more premium and ultimately to alot of people the nicer car to be in when you aren’t pushing it. It seems that the Evo’s interior isn’t much different from the Lancer’s – plasticky!

Mitsubishi attempts to solve this in Japan at least with the GSR Premium Edition, which slots in at the top of the line above the standard GSR and the stripped out RS. The Premium Edition adds 18 inch BBS alloy wheels, fog lamps, leather Recaro buckets, side and curtain airbags, and a Rockford Fostage 9-speaker premium audio system. It’s the seats that give the interior ambiance a whole different feel – the design and the leather gives it a much more premium feel compared to the standard GSR and the even emptier RS which comes with fabric non-bucket seats.

Look after the jump for a few more shots of the Evo X GSR Premium.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• CAKAP.Net (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 11:33 am

Damm!! nice black macho looks.. i love it very much.. :D

• jaygan (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 11:54 am

chun…

• Alifz (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 12:02 pm

Cool outside..but wonders about the ineriors. Looks like old school or to be exact 70’s cars..i wonders all recent jap’s sports car are like this? Have a look at Nissan GTR and can feel the same language..

• droll (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 12:09 pm

interior still looks crap.

• CFA28 (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 12:13 pm

How much more would it cost??? Closer to RM350K perhaps…

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 12:32 pm

Bra type speedo meter cap.
    i saw it before.. where ah?

• db8 (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 12:38 pm

if u guys want premium interior..go for bmw or audi or vw or lexus..
    evo is more to performance..no time to enjoy the luxury

• farhitech (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 12:41 pm

Aiya …. they ciplak proton persona punye design la . Then put waja punya bonet . Hmm … suda habis idea kaa ??

Kadang2 … design proton menarik minat pengeluar kete lain . Let see BMW X6 … the latest one . Gambar sisi tak ubah mcm Gen.2 … cuma diperbesarkan agar menjadi SUV . Take ur time … see it , judge it .

• knight_templar (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 12:59 pm

Yes if u want premium, go for premium. U can’t take a matchbox, line it with satin and then slap on a Tiffany’s logo. Luxury and class has to be built in, engineered in. This is a sham. Btw the best looking evo is still the one used by tommi makinen. True in form and function. This is just a pretender, a rather shameless one.

• Jaybond (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 1:00 pm

The dashboard looks quite bland.But, guess you’ll have to live with it, given that Mitsu was pretty tight on their cash during development stage.

Two tone interior colour should be better for this edition.

Everthing’s black? What the h…?

• sutheshkumar87 (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 1:06 pm

paul, will all the options you mention there above, dont you think our evo x is basically the premium version?

our specs has everything u mentioned there par the sat nav.

Paul Tan says: yeah, this is a Japanese market thing.

• Jack Sp (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 1:26 pm

Not much attractive. Less evo’s spirit

• l3ryan (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 2:09 pm

extra equipment, extra weight.

no no for performance oriented cars like evo.
    what is mitsubishi thinking =.=
    diluted evo swt

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 2:13 pm

its not the seats, its the plastics

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 2:36 pm

RM300K for a jappy? Guess what? I still prefer to spend that money to an European touch. BMW? Benz? Or even the new VW Golf. Just imagine what’s the girls feel when you drives a BMW and a Mitsubishi? Or if you’re a girl. Which car you choose to ride?

• torque (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 3:35 pm

Saw one near the Damansara PLUS toll yesterday (lucky dude), freaking gorgeous! :-) I personally think that Mitsu Evo X now have the upper hand in looks department compare to the Subaru new but not so desirable looks of it’s Impreza X (kinda love and hate situation). Anyway, I still and always fancy the Impreza version 9 looks! That just win my heart hands down….

• torque (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 3:44 pm

Oh…not to mention…very pricey to pay more than RM300K for an Evo!

• ReactiX (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 3:44 pm

bmpower said,

October 22, 2008 @ 12:32 pm

Bra type speedo meter cap.
    i saw it before.. where ah?

in Gen2 lol

• Hikaru (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 3:53 pm

At this kind of price, might as well consider AP imports, even if they are the previous generation as they are all equally fast. Besides, having grown up with the Evo generation since the Evo IV, I think the IV to the VI are what Evos are about. Those were the glorious times for Mitsubishi in Rallying in the hands of Tommi Makkinen and it really makes petrol head like me wanting one so I can pretend to be a rallying champinion.

Now, Evo is merely playing on their then heritage and is getting more and more removed from its rallying heritage, so is subaru because they have not been winning at all. We all don’t want to pay 300k to drive a loser’s car right?

Hmm….alternatives? There is no alternative to the Evo, Imprezza genre, however there are plenty of generations to choose from and this isn’t one which I would go for eventhough the SST transmission is attractive. Perhaps a IX if I have similar money to spare. Take the balance and either convert to X (like we all M’sian love to do) or soup it up to kick even a Ferrari’s ass. Should have plenty to spare.

• ignas (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 4:11 pm

drool…

• torque (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 4:18 pm

Hikaru said,
    October 22, 2008 @ 3:53 pm

We all don’t want to pay 300k to drive a loser’s car right?

Hahahaha! :-) That’s a good one dude! A very good point yet kinda funny!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 4:19 pm

a high performance 4-door supercar vs. a premium family sedan?

what’s going on?

if anyone who at first wanted to get the evo x but later decided to get the 3-series instead because of the pricing, i’m 101% sure he/she don’t know a damn thing about cars….

and for those who keep on blah blah blah about that blue ugly hatchback is better than the evo, just keep on, go ahead…. evo owners, drivers and fans know what is better…..

complaining on paying 300k for evo x? don’t blame mitsubishi, don’t hate Japanese, point your precious finger at our very own corrupted Gov and policy….

• Ralliace (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 4:53 pm

farhitech said,

Aiya …. they ciplak proton persona punye design la . Then put waja punya bonet . Hmm … suda habis idea kaa ??

Kadang2 … design proton menarik minat pengeluar kete lain . Let see BMW X6 … the latest one . Gambar sisi tak ubah mcm Gen.2 … cuma diperbesarkan agar menjadi SUV . Take ur time … see it , judge it .

============================================

What about the quality? Care to compare the quality of the BMW with a Gen2? Or this Evo X with a Waja and Persona?

I hope you were joking, man!

• torque (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 4:54 pm

Ayoyo…chill out la Mitlanevo! Anyone see your name also know which car is your favorite lor. Jangan la emo sangat! Plus, who ever said that the new hatchback Subaru is better looking than the new Evo? I don’t see anyone praise the “blue ugly hatchback” here…do you? Perhaps you should see a doctor and check up your eyes dude. Just an advise…read carefully!

Regarding on matters, “complaining on paying 300k for evo x?” Let me ask you a question, would you actually pay for that kind of money for an Evo when you of all people should know that an Evo isn’t worth that much (beside our bolehland country)? Everyone here knows well who to blame la on this matters…so, try to understand that living in Malaysia and paying more than RM300K for an Evo is just to much! Peace!

• torque (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 4:56 pm

Ralliace said,
    October 22, 2008 @ 4:53 pm

I’m also hope he’s joking when comparing Proton with the beemer!

• coolguru (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:16 pm

Saw one at the Pantai Hospital, Cheras last Saturday. I thought it’s Evo X but isn’t. For that price, design and completeness, I guess people will go for 3-series or even Civic Type-R.

True to Paul’s word – it’s the Japanese market-thing!

• longjaafar (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:16 pm

One cannot compare the Evolution with the 325i sports.
    People buy the Evo for out and out performance and ‘macho’ image. Thsoe in the market for the 325i are those that prefer a sophisticated image with some performance thrown in as well. Two different markets, and two exceptionally good cars!

• l3ryan (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:44 pm

>jolly_idiot

different people have different preferences, hence that is why we all have a choice.
    I like my ride to be exciting and fun to drive, hence for me even if it’s 300k for the Evo or 700k for the GTR i would still go for your so-called “jappy”.

imagine, u drive a 500k bmw but get blown away at the lights by a evo.
    that might not impress the gals, but to me, that’s priceless.

you on the other hand, is one typical badge-snubber.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 6:35 pm

l3ryan said,

October 22, 2008 @ 5:44 pm

>jolly_idiot

different people have different preferences, hence that is why we all have a choice.
    I like my ride to be exciting and fun to drive, hence for me even if it’s 300k for the Evo or 700k for the GTR i would still go for your so-called “jappy”.

imagine, u drive a 500k bmw but get blown away at the lights by a evo.
    that might not impress the gals, but to me, that’s priceless.

you on the other hand, is one typical badge-snubber.

—————————————-
    well, at least the girl’s parents won’t disapprove you

• teelim (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 7:20 pm

An Evo without a rear spoiler… just doesn’t look right :(

TL

• Beemer Freak (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 8:31 pm

Beautiful master piece? indeed it is. its a million times better looking than the new imprezza, even when subaru has launched the sedan version(catch it in Singapore).

However its the road condition that we have to really consider when buying one of these. We would not want to put such a great hadling car through the highways wouldnt we, that will be an insult to it near perfect handling. Our trunk roads are full with lorries and kancils that obstruc the way. Whats left? Federal Highway in KL???? So even if u have one of these what are you going to do with it, show off? i might as well modify the normal lancer EX to look like one. So its still wiser to stick with your BMW Mercedes Benz and Audi. They offer excellent ride, good(enough) handling, and they are head turners.

• csv (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 12:09 am

if you want performance, then you won’t care about the interior would you?

these cars are catered purely for the speed freaks.

those who prefer a nicer handling, better interior car (like me!)

either get an audi or bmw or european car. much better spent.

• farhitech (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 5:33 am

Ralliace said,
    October 22, 2008 @ 4:53 pm

What about the quality? Care to compare the quality of the BMW with a Gen2? Or this Evo X with a Waja and Persona?

I hope you were joking, man!

———————————————–

torque said,
    October 22, 2008 @ 4:56 pm

I’m also hope he’s joking when comparing Proton with the beemer!

———————————————–

Just comparing about the design . Quality …. amat jauh bezanya . Even kalau Proton mampu hasilkan the RM300k car , belum tentu kualitinya setanding dgn Evo atau BMW .

Jangan salah faham , dude !

Kita bangga dengan produk luar tapi tak semestinya kita memperkecil dan memperlekehkan hasilan nasional kita . Berikan Proton ruang secukupnya , at least untuk belajar dari kesilapan lampau .

• cyberx11 (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 6:25 am

wait for the hatchback one..

• Ralliace (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 9:22 am

farhitech said,

Berikan Proton ruang secukupnya , at least untuk belajar dari kesilapan lampau .

==========================================

Saya memang setuju untuk memberi ruang kepada Proton untuk belajar dari kesilapan. Tapi ruang yang telah diberi selama 23 tahun tapi tak belajar lagi, macam mana?

• farhitech on Sep 30, 2010 at 4:28 pm

23 years tu tak lama la ..

Berapa lama BMW , Toyota , Honda , Merc … or even Mitsubishi amik masa utk belajar … untuk sampai ke tahap sekarang ? More than 23 years right ?

• db8 (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 10:05 am

mcm mana x blajar..kalo asik dimanjakan oleh parents..(G).

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 10:41 am

a subaru has a bigger boot. and its faster.the steering wheel in the lancer 2.0gt is much better to hold.

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 10:46 am

Premium trim it’s but still overloaded with too many electro gimmicks at the wheels. Not to say that these gimmicks dont work but in fact some gimmicks like the SST, VSC is a blessing to the driving pleasure and it works pretty well but then again..why do they want to add others like AYC into the car? When the Jap did the Slalom test on this car, the AYC got confused and upset the chassis. Given the idea of the most recent development in jet fighters design with CAP programming, my bet is, the car isnt balanced mechanically. That’s why these gimmicks arent be able to turn off for some raw fun.

It maybe true in other countries where cars arent costing a bomb where EVO and WRX will be owned by many buyers as the no frill super fast transport to the destination but in Malaysia, to find RM300k for a car, unless you have inherited a handsome sum of $ from your parents or your parents are loaded or you’re as brilliant as half of Bill Gates, by the time you can actually afford it, your preference taste and priorities in life could be different already so as your partner’s. She’ll appreciate more in a comfortable and upmarket transport with reputable brand to add the little pride.

What’s the difference between the EVO 0 – 100km @ 4.9 vs 7.7 secs of the BMW 325i Sports? Yes, it’s almost 3 secs slower but these numbers are done by flooring the throttle pedal. Will you be driving it in the same manner on the road? That’s a suicide act not to mention bout irresponsible to other road users. Like the saying “Great Power comes with Great Responsibilities.” Imagine whe it’s gone into the hands of a wrong attitude. At of this price range, buying a Lexus IS250 for the Ultimate Ownership Experience if not Ultimate Driving Machine would be a wiser choice as it’ll give the least problems compared to the euro counterparts. Meanwhile, a Mazda RX8 RS version with a 50:50 weigth distribution setup coupled with the FR drive train will put your driving skill to the test and that’s what I called the Ultimate Driving Machine. The real fun starts with such type of setup.

• torque (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 11:26 am

WilliamSmith said,
    October 23, 2008 @ 10:46 am

A very fair comments! I’ll accept that!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 12:03 pm

Mitsu should consider coming out with a detuned version, maybe one that produces around 220-230bhp.

That way, it won’t be such a beast but you will still have the power to have a quick blast around. Perfect for Singaporeans.

• farhitech (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 8:06 pm

Ralliace said,
    October 23, 2008 @ 9:22 am

Saya memang setuju untuk memberi ruang kepada Proton untuk belajar dari kesilapan. Tapi ruang yang telah diberi selama 23 tahun tapi tak belajar lagi, macam mana ?

——————————————-

23 tahun utk belajar dalam industri automotif bukan suatu masa yg mencukupi . Even Honda , Toyota … telah menghabiskan masa lebih dpd 23 tahun untuk sampai ke tahap sekarang . Mitsubishi juga .

Tapi apa yg Proton berjaya lakukan pada usia 23 tahun … tidak dapat dilakukan oleh Honda , Toyota , Mitsubishi pada ketika mereka berusia 23 tahun .

Pandangan saya , jika Proton tidak terikat dgn tanggungjawab sosial serta tidak dimanjakan keterlaluan … Proton pasti boleh maju jauh ke hadapan … lebih jauh daripada apa yg kita lihat sekarang . Lagi pun Proton belajar daripada bukan guru yang sebenar …. sebagaimana Honda dapat belajar dpd McLarren .

Alangkah baiknya jika Proton dapat gunakan Lotus semaksimumnya untuk hasilkan kereta berkualiti … paling tidak , setanding bintangnya dgn Lotus Exige .

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 8:23 pm

brand, the power of the brand is everything.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 8:55 pm

mystvearn said,

October 23, 2008 @ 8:23 pm

brand, the power of the brand is everything.

——————————–
    which is why mercedes-benz survived eventhough they made really bad cars during the 90’s and toyota still is known for its reliability eventhough its last reliable car was the toyota supra

• Tracks (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 8:56 pm

A thanks to WilliamSmith for his explanation with respect of the argument of which is a better choice of cars. Glad to have someone to provide great comments such as this. After everyone is entitle to their preference.

To farhitech, I wish to point out an great error in your comparison. The techonolgy at the time when the Japanese marque was developing the does not allow rapid progress and advancement. However, by the time Proton started until now, tools such as CAD, CAE & etc is available. Development time could be shorthen significantly. However, the progress was extremely and hence the great dissatisfaction among rakyat due to continuous protection needed.

Look at the progress of the Korean marque. You can arque that reliability is still questionable but their design has vastly improved. Similarly, take a look at the Chinese marque as well, they maybe crap now but 5 years down the road they would improved in leap and bound and not mere tiny step as what Proton is currently doing.

I owned a new Proton Saga. Sadly, old problem still exist. Power switch failure after only two months. New air-vent (Middle LH) design looks cool but won’t stay in open position. Rattling sound at the F/LH door. Poor paint job. Some may argue what do you expect for a low end car. However, I wish to remind you that RM40k is not cheap to the mast majority of rakyat.

Point to note though, I send my car to COE for a service and warranty claim and they managed to rectify 4 out of 5 of my complaints. The one they missed hopefully could be rectified during my next visit. Overall service quality was okay but wish they had rectified all the problems.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 12:01 am

mr. torque, regarding the 1st paragraph, i think u are the one who should consult eyes specialist asap….

and 2nd paragraph is actually what i said and what i mean (as usual)….

no matter it is 30k for potong, 300k for evo, or 3 million for some exclusive Aston, Rolls-Royce or Maybach, we citizen of Bolehland know very well about OVERPRICING…..

if i have 300k, DAMN YES i will get the evo x because i like that car, and i know i got no other choice. Migrate to other countries so that i can get my favourite ride with lower price? 300k want to migrate to where? Pattaya? Bali? or Somalia?

the majority will of coz get a c-class or 3-series or any other European marque with 300k, but for those who really knows what is E-V-O, then different story lah…

• torque (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 12:50 pm

Mitlanevo,

Good to hear there’s still a hardcore JDM fans regardless what brand they choose. YES mate, I know if you got a RM300K…as your nickname suggest you of course DAMN WELL will getting this Evo X! Still, I trust my guts and my guts tells me that you’re SMARTER than I know you are (Yes we don’t know each other well but we share the same passion). If you, Mitlanevo have a RM300K…I still think you’ll smart enough to wait or buy another Evo version and souped it up to a tarmac monster and beat the crap of all those expensive cars from the Europe (maybe even scooby)! Hey, I never ask you to migrate mate but I just stress out the FACT that RM300K paying for Evo in Malaysia is just too much. Plus, living in Malaysia car prices depreciate like nobody bussiness and paying a fortune for the sake it’s NEW is useless to me, unless you grow money from tree la!

p/s: If I too had more than RM300K, I’ll not buying this Evo X not for the sake it’s NEW but I’ll personally order through dealers of getting me the marvelous Evo IX MR FQ360 since it is more rare la bro! I’ll look value for money in my book. Peace!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 6:26 pm

from evo i until the latest evo x, i like them all…..

but i’m not “hardcore JDM fans”…. and kinda anti-Toy-otak….. 300k for evo x is definitely too much, but i will still get 1 to drive if given a chance and 300k cash of coz… the pleasure of driving the evo and any other equivalant 300k car will be totally different…. (for me lah….)

and i get what u mean regarding price depreciation, the best example are the 350z and rx8….. then in the future there will be more and more nissan gt-r on the road….

anyway, dont get me wrong, coz i aint got 300k, lol~

p/s: get the UK spec FQ-400 or the JDM evo ix wagon, thats even rare….

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 6:44 pm

mitlanevo said,

October 24, 2008 @ 12:01 am

mr. torque, regarding the 1st paragraph, i think u are the one who should consult eyes specialist asap….

and 2nd paragraph is actually what i said and what i mean (as usual)….

no matter it is 30k for potong, 300k for evo, or 3 million for some exclusive Aston, Rolls-Royce or Maybach, we citizen of Bolehland know very well about OVERPRICING…..

if i have 300k, DAMN YES i will get the evo x because i like that car, and i know i got no other choice. Migrate to other countries so that i can get my favourite ride with lower price? 300k want to migrate to where? Pattaya? Bali? or Somalia?

the majority will of coz get a c-class or 3-series or any other European marque with 300k, but for those who really knows what is E-V-O, then different story lah…
    ——————————————————-
    sometimes its not about if you can afford the car or not, its the awful feeling that you can have a BMW m5 for the price of a bmw 525i here

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 6:45 pm

i mean a bmw m5 for the price of a bmw 525i in another country

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 6:45 pm

i mean a bmw m5 for the price of a bmw 525i in malaysia in another country

• Ford-man (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 10:51 pm

farhitech said,
    October 22, 2008 @ 12:41 pm

—————————————
    Wow,

I didn’t know Proton is so ‘HEBAT’…… Even BMW also want to copy cat Proton’s design

MALAYSIA BOLEH !

KO-P MONEY PUN BOLEH!

• ScoobyPower (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 11:17 pm

Tested Exo X last week (from LDP to Klang)

As a scooby owner, i have to admit the this Evo performs better especially when it comes to cornering. The AWC system works so well that it feels like the car is sticking to the road when sharp cornering….

When it comes to price, It’s a little bit pricey….but it is worth it. :)

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 12:13 am

alpina bmw, i get your point there….

but what to do? Bolehland is really boleh in everything, lol…..

• torque (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 12:06 pm

mitlanevo said,
    October 24, 2008 @ 6:26 pm

and i get what u mean regarding price depreciation, the best example are the 350z and rx8….. then in the future there will be more and more nissan gt-r on the road….

I PERSONALLY can’t agree with you more on that issue bro,well said….those cars price depreciate like shit man! Still, even the great car like the 350Z cost like a 100 grand to buy…I ain’t gonna buy it since the road tax cost nearly 4K per year.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 4:05 pm

torque said,

October 25, 2008 @ 12:06 pm

mitlanevo said,
    October 24, 2008 @ 6:26 pm

I PERSONALLY can’t agree with you more on that issue bro,well said….those cars price depreciate like shit man! Still, even the great car like the 350Z cost like a 100 grand to buy…I ain’t gonna buy it since the road tax cost nearly 4K per year.
    ——————————————————————
    i seriously dono who buys the second hand protons for insane second hand prices. plus cars like ferrari and porsches(except 924,944) never go below rm100k

• envee (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 6:59 pm

^.^ evo X is very good car , if got money , bmw , benz , or Japanese cars …. that time only compare la , sure you need to shop few days , bcos when ppl ask me about this evo x , = = my sales talk can go until 2 hours plus … ^.^ nice to share the feel to others.

• Ev0lut10n X on Apr 11, 2010 at 12:37 am

Wow so cool man……………..
    It’s turn me ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!