Claer T5: a 680hp Volkswagen Transporter

Claer T5

The Volkswagen Transporter T5 is a commercial vehicle that was launched in 2003 replacing the old T4 model. It’s versatile and configurable like the Weststar Maxus LDV and back in school I have known of some very rich families that actually own and use such vehicles as a people mover instead of a goods mover whenever they need to entertain a large group of people. The Caravelle model in the UK offers plenty of space for 6 to 7 people and creature comforts such as tables and refrigerators.

The most powerful version of the Transporter you can buy now is the 235 horsepower, 315Nm of torque 3.2 litre V6 version. The most torquey is the 2.5 litre inline-5 TDI turbodiesel with 174 horsepower and 400Nm of torque.

But what if you wanted a more powerful version…

German tuners Claer probably got inspired by the Brabus Viano V8, a commercial van with a 6.1 litre V8 engine producing 426 horsepower and 621Nm of torque. You could probably just turbocharge the 3.2 litre V6 engine but Claer decided to do what the Volkswagen tuners of the past have done, plonk a Porsche engine in!

A twin-turbocharged flat-6 engine from the 996 Porsche 911 is used in the Claer T5, producing a Viano V8-beating 680 horsepower and 720Nm of torque. It can reach a top speed of 300km/h. For additional stability at those speeds and for better cornering ability, the ride height has been lowered by nearly 75mm.

Additional stopping power is provided by the upgraded brakes which use 380 x 32 mm discs with 6-pot calipers in the front and 330 x 28 mm discs with 4-pot calipers in the rear, which can stop the van from 100km/h in just under 40 meters.

Perhaps a new installment of the movie The Transporter might feature this monster one day if Jason Statham ever needs to transport something much larger than his luxury sedans can fit.

Claer T5

Claer T5

Claer T5

Claer T5

Claer T5

Claer T5

Claer T5

Claer T5

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 6:31 am

any Interior?

• droll (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:18 am

Goodness, gracious!

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:22 am

not bad..

• alamak (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:30 am

This is the van u need to drive your race team to Sepang!

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 9:35 am

crazy Van~~

• gattaca (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 9:57 am

“the ride height has been powered by nearly 75mm.”.. i dun get this paul..hehe

• the stik (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 10:59 am

very very nice kereta mayat

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 12:17 pm

reminds me of the ford supervan based on a ford transit some years back, running an F1 engine detuned to 650hp. crazy crazy..

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 3:34 pm

That’s a whole load of power man… I wanna test drive one! :D

• arie1968 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 5:36 pm

boxy is the trend now

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 6:10 pm

better than alphard but uglier than estima !!!

• BW (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:04 pm

Wow… Van nowadays are getting more and more powerful haha

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:44 pm

hmm, rims like that on van look out of place

• oodane (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:54 pm

definitely for this type of transporter is very good in terms of spaces if you going to Sepang for a race..
    since vito can fit 2 sportbikes..with limited spaces for other equipment..im pretty much sure this van can satisfied the need of space..

• takeo1070 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 9:09 pm

german can never be good in designing MPV…….veto and this one ….

• szw (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 10:25 pm

a van wif more power den my car ?
    T.T

• csv (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:09 am

totally unnecessary. but i love to see the look on those people face, when this car wins their wajalution, wiralution etc.

• varman24 (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 9:09 am

silver look cool.Blue look like little mafia.If put sporty side skirt rear and front bumper black tinted.and sound sys with lcd and music box………….Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm cun gilo!!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:12 pm

ze ulti van

• i wanna get one of this….is VW Msia bringing in? whats the OTR price for 2.5Tdi?

• Anyone know the make of alloy on the silver transporter?

• hello
    I have one problem. Im owner of this silver T5 Multivan on the picture. I must change disc, but i dont know where to buy it. Disc and brakes are CLAER but i dont found it on net. The van is still in prfect condition like new. I have 380×32 front disc and 330×28 rear disc. Pleas hellp me. Thanks for everyone.
    Regards from Slovenia