Honda India drops Honda Civic Hybrid prices, sound familiar?

Honda Civic Hybrid

Honda Siel Cars India has dropped the price of its Honda Civic Hybrid sedan by Rs 8 lakh (approximately RM57,600), which means the car which previously costed Rs 21.5 lakh (RM155,000) since its launch in June 2008 now costs only Rs 13.36 lakh (RM96,250).

These prices are ex-showroom prices in Delhi. In comparison, the Civic 1.8V AT is priced at Rs 12.86 lakh (approximately RM92,650), making the Civic Hybrid with the 1.3 litre IMA engine only slightly more expensive than the regular 1.8 engine version.

Since the Malaysian government has given CBU hybrid cars a temporary tax-free period, sole hybrid principal importer Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd has also promised to drop the price of its Honda Civic Hybrid to between RM125,000 to RM130,000 although a final price has not been determined yet. The original price of the Japan-imported hybrid car retailed for more than RM160,000.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pujangga (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 7:32 pm

1st,
    good news!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 8:06 pm

hhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaiiiiiiiiiiiiizzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Dogster (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 8:09 pm

paul, could you be kind enough write a script to ban or remove these irrelevant and nonconstructive post like “1st”? Being 1st makes them great? Being 1st to post CONSTRUCTIVE comments would have been SMARTER. It goes to show that these id**s would tend to fill up VITAL spaces hosted by your server.

back to topic: what the heck is taking honda malaysia sooooooo longgg to drop their prices????
    Dropping prices to 125k to 130k really isn’t helping at all. If the motive of the country is to go green, the car must be in the affordable range or the low-mid income earners where most of the population are..

• mattyboy (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 9:03 pm

How on earth the removal of 100% import tax and 50% excise duty (or the other way round, I forget!) can only lead to a 20% reduction in price is totally beyond me!

I spoke to somebody who works for Honda and the reason they cant fix a price yet is no units have been shipped into the country since the reduction, as you know it is the G that set it’s value when it arrives not Honda, so they don’t know for sure what they are working with yet

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 9:29 pm

rilek la dogster. why so serious? Ni bukan forum professor cambridge ke, discuss psal stem cell ke apa.

Anyway, shows just how reluctant honda is to drop prices eh? Even now they’re already selling like 1 unit/month. I hv spotted a few in subang jaya, kl, pj etc. Dun think those foreign carmakers so nice la. Proton bashers always say when proton die, all toyota, honda, bmw, merc will drop to real price, do they ever consider the point of view of the ppl in those carmakers? “We’re selling well even when overpriced, why shud we lessen profit just cuz some car manufacturer from jungle clearing went bust? Who cares abt govt regulations n all? Just give them some duit kopi they sure will close one eye la.”

Hybrid cars are rubbish n hypocrite. We may feel good that we’re saving mother nature, except that the process of making the car itself kills her much more than saving her when using it. Worse still, it doesn’t do mileage significantly more than a modern small diesel, so saving fuel bill is definitely not what they can do. If I’m a hardcore environ-MENTAL-ists, I wouldn’t buy this even if its free.

• csv (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 12:21 am

well you gotta give them credit where its due. at least they have the mindset to do so. dropping prices. we’ll just have to wait.

this move should have been done a long long time ago. now what’s left is NAP and APs.

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:48 am

RM 155,000 for Honda civic Hybrid india , wat’s the old price at Malaysia? And don’t hope to drop until so cheap at Honda Malaysia.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:03 am

I would take a gander that the reason is that the taxes of all ex-stock is already paid. The discount/tax exempt only applies to new stock that is imported. Unless the Governemnt intends to give honda rebates on taxes paid……

Assuming ~90k is a good reflection of the open market price in india, what makes Honda Malaysia so special to price it at 130k with what is basically tax free car…… could it be APs?

• DRC (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:28 am

Another rompakan again? I thought it will be around 110k to 120k by calculation.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:45 am

4G63T DSM said,
    November 21, 2008 @ 8:03 am

I would take a gander that the reason is that the taxes of all ex-stock is already paid. The discount/tax exempt only applies to new stock that is imported. Unless the Governemnt intends to give honda rebates on taxes paid……

Assuming ~90k is a good reflection of the open market price in india, what makes Honda Malaysia so special to price it at 130k with what is basically tax free car…… could it be APs?
    ———————————-

you could be right on your last sentence.. i think honda still has to get APs from a “third” party if i’m not mistaken.

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:52 am

what if.. there’s no AP involved?

and let say.. if AP took RM20K per car…
    I believe they still can sell it below 90K!

but sorry.. honda also want make money much.. and dont worry.. no one care about overpriced one… they are all Japs wannabe. They only will curse proton for their own stupid reason… because they only can think Japan car price are high because of the proton…

exactly the point as TOKMOH said :
    “Proton bashers always say when proton die, all toyota, honda, bmw, merc will drop to real price, do they ever consider the point of view of the ppl in those carmakers? “We’re selling well even when overpriced, why shud we lessen profit just cuz some car manufacturer from jungle clearing went bust?”.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:55 am

india are so lucky

• red7 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:02 am

Hey Dogster! cool down bro, for me its fun to be the 1st one to comment haha

back to the topic:
    agree wit tokmoh, hybrid cars are not effecient as it’s believe to be, just another part of marketing gimmick

cheers~

• lambov12 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:27 am

I not so sure whether the Indians got cut cost on the build quality or not … Maybe there will be more plastic inside than the previous model ..

Very scare when you are doing 130km/h, the wheels just gone off ..
    Or the engine just blow to bits ..

Spare parts … only available from honda … So it will be quite costly .. And only Honda technicians know how to service or repair the Civic Hybrid .. .

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 10:22 am

Yeah, even VW bluemotion diesel beat this civic hybrid! Go diesel! But in bolehland.. diesel quality sucks… Haiz..

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 10:57 am

INDIA so lucky…. though bomb here and there, not like here….. money suckerzZZZ….. Malaysia going to ****** !!!!

• middels8088 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 11:14 am

India drops so low that Malaysia is still quite high……

But India is quite lucky…. Having the Hybird car in the RM90K’s….. While Malaysia is going to drop the amount to Rm125k- RM 130k only.

Malaysia is not very envoroment friendly.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 11:34 am

@TOKMOH:
    “Proton bashers always say when proton die, all toyota, honda, bmw, merc will drop to real price, do they ever consider the point of view of the ppl in those carmakers? “We’re selling well even when overpriced, why shud we lessen profit just cuz some car manufacturer from jungle clearing went bust?”.

Please use the brain God gave you a little.

If there is NO COMPETITION like our P1 and P2, then sure, they will think like that.

But the fact is, there are many, MANY car brands all with cutthroat competition, so please explain to me why the price will still remain high? This is the Keyword – COMPETITION, and is the reason why the blardy P1 remains so lousy to this day. Because no competition, no reason to better yourself – sell crap oso ppl need to buy because no choice.

You think other manufacturers like Mazda, Hyundai, KIA, Suzuki, Subaru, Mitsubishi don’t want to cut into Toyota and Honda’s market share? Come on man.

If say, Mazda suddenly drops Mazda 3 and Mazda 6 price by 10-20k after car taxes remove, how many people gonna keep buying the Vios and City? You think after that Toyota and Honda won’t be scared and follow the price cut? And if Mazda is not the one to cut the price, it will be Hyundai, or KIA. The Koreans desperately want business.

You can see it in the Telco industry now as all the operators Maxis Digi Celcom all embroiled in a price war due to competition.

So everyday I hope and pray P1 especially, which is run by a bunch of crooks and murderers who have sold tin sardin low quality pieces of crap cars to malaysian with no safety features for 20 years, will go bust and close shop.

Good riddance to bad rubbish.

• food_fan (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 12:09 pm

My opinion that Honda Malaysia just try to make big money over the reduction import duty from the G… Maybe they make profit that 40K – 50K per hybird car sold since UMW just initiate their move to import Prius to malaysia… So y not make money because of no competitor in the hybird car for the next few years..
    Just imagine that camry sell on the road for 148K just arrived at port with the cost 88K.. I imagine that the civic hyrbid only cost around that price also..
    btw, I wonder each authorised honda service centre a prepared to service the hybird car.. really each of the tehnician really know how to handle the hybird car…?

P/S: Just my opinion, coz im just a food_fan

MIEEE

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:13 pm

its the car price only… we dont know how the taxes work there, the rice price, the wheat floor, the fuel…. mybe after plus-plus all that, their spending is higher than us… who knows….

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:47 pm

not_ah_beng,

Hm…interesting insight. Except that even now Hyundai models are value-for-money, but I dun see people buying them as much as buying vios/city. Check this out: http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/article_1648/page_m.asp

The best-selling korean is naza citra, 18th best-selling. But that’s naza-ed, while an inokom-ed hyundai matrix is 30th best-seller. Apparently, a true korean-badged marque didn’t make it into top 40.

Also, ever heard of win-win situation? What all those foreign carmakers do will go to some place secluded n peaceful say, a golf course for example? While playing golf, they start la discussion:

T: Eh, proton edi bankrupt la *whack*
    H: Hm, ya lor. Pity their workers. *jampi-ing golf ball*
    MB: So how now? *smoking*
    T: Dunno lar. What u tink?
    BM: Nothing ler. My sales keep increasing. *pancung MB’s cigar*
    Mz: Increase eh? Wah, u gud business eh. *wiping club*
    BM: Ah, normal lar.
    H: Me too lar, my new model launch last Dec flying out of the shelf weh!! N that’s selling better than last one. More expensive than last one pula tu *whack*
    T: Me too. dugong are rly msians’ fav pet.
    All: Ahahahahah
    T: Hey, if so good….
    H: OOOOO!! Dun say it!! I know!! I know!!
    MB: Wah, U japanese pandai eh? But we germans also know edi, ehehe.
    Mz: But if gahmen-
    All: POTONG STIM LA KO NI!!
    BM: Mz, we all are here. Working together kan better.
    Mz: But my models not sell as gud as u all la.
    MB: Like this, like this. Oni u reduce a bit, if we all affected, payung2 la, ok?
    Mz: ahh……wah, u germans think very gud oso a.
    MB: of course mah….that’s how i stay no1 german brand here hehe.
    BM: I’m catching up ehehe.
    MB: So? Kite payung2 la each other. Now that’s what I call win-win situation!!
    All: korek korek korek!!
    BM: No wonder u foot this golf bill eh, hehe.
    MB: Well….u know me!!
    All: Ahahahah!!

Why else do u think if and only if Coke increase price, pepsi increase price almost same time?

Competition? Wau….that sounds like a very noble word. What are those carmakers boss, a priest? imam? monk? Or a bunch of beardies with beer belly scratching head how to save cost to buy own apartment in Monte Carlo?

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:51 pm

bmpower said,

November 21, 2008 @ 8:52 am

what if.. there’s no AP involved?

and let say.. if AP took RM20K per car…
    I believe they still can sell it below 90K!

but sorry.. honda also want make money much.. and dont worry.. no one care about overpriced one… they are all Japs wannabe. They only will curse proton for their own stupid reason… because they only can think Japan car price are high because of the proton…

exactly the point as TOKMOH said :
    ————————————–
    for 500,000 people, 3 million have to suffer. i’d sacrifice the 500,000 people.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 3:28 pm

@tokmoh:

1) Hyundai is not that much cheaper than Honda/Toyota right now. Maybe only around RM10k difference. But if AFTA allows them tax free import, then the difference may become RM30k. And definitely more people will take a look then.

2) Besides, you also didn’t mention the likes of Nissan and Mazda, who are also more than willing and capable to challenge the big 2.

3) Your story is very interesting. But so far, you don’t have ANY real-life example to back up your nice stories.

EVERY INDUSTRY in Malaysia where there is competition, consumer gets a better deal. Every. Single. One.

I already mentioned to you telco industry. Petrol station, with shell, esso, petronas etc all coming up with contest and rebate to attract customer. Even in your coke/pepsi example, the price of a bottle of pepsi and/or coke did not increase too much in recent times, the quality of the product is constant unlike P1, and they are constantly coming up with new innovation to capture the market, so is all good. Pepsi Twist, Pepsi X, Pepsi Fire and Ice, vanilla coke, cherry coke, mountain dew, etc etc. Unlike P1 which still selling the same crappy 20yrs old iswara with facelift even up till today.

Meanwhile, all the industry with MONOPOLY like P1 enjoy are full of screwing the customer in the ass. Look at screamyx. Tenaga which raise electric every yr.

Lets face it, P1 is a crap company which deserve to be bankrupt. Only god knows how many Malaysian lives could have been saved if they had been driving a car with BASIC safety features like airbags, ABS, antiroll bars when they got into accident.

Just look at your list – which are the most popular Malaysian cars on the list? Myvi, Viva, Saga, Persona. Most around the sub-60k mark where ppl have no choice.

What abt the great P1 Perdana? Is no. 35 on the list, damn shameful. And this is also because G use it as official car, if not, maybe not even on the list! Obviously this proves that if ppl can afford it, they rather buy an imported car than a piece of junk with 4 wheels.

I tell you – if tmr all the car tax lifted, P1 will gulung tikar in less than 12 months. Cos die die oso no 1 want to buy their car.

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 3:48 pm

india is lucky? what a joke… how many ppl there can buy this model…
    go google n find how poor living quality there..they need Tata Nano n not this hybrid car

• pujangga (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 4:08 pm

Dogster said,

November 20, 2008 @ 8:09 pm

paul, could you be kind enough write a script to ban or remove these irrelevant and nonconstructive post like “1st”? Being 1st makes them great? Being 1st to post CONSTRUCTIVE comments would have been SMARTER. It goes to show that these id**s would tend to fill up VITAL spaces hosted by your server.

back to topic: what the heck is taking honda malaysia sooooooo longgg to drop their prices????
    Dropping prices to 125k to 130k really isn’t helping at all. If the motive of the country is to go green, the car must be in the affordable range or the low-mid income earners where most of the population are..
    ————————————————————–
    Rilek la,everyone can post their own comment.
    (Why don’t you just admit that you can’t be the 1st one to comment)

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 7:16 pm

over there cheaper car prices compared to malaysia?

even though no tax, what is keeping the prices high?

• khengyi82 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 11:58 pm

malaysia gorverment is suck la, they just keep trying to safe sohai proton, in the end all people get accident or die because of driving milo tin proton cars. stupid proton does not care about malaysian, they just care about money ? so what for we should support this fucking gorverment proton cars ? why gorverment does not care about cars safety and cars function ? cibai gorverment is only think of money, so where the money go ? ma go into their gorverment staff lo, so mother fucker gorverment staff drive what cars ? sohai gorverment staff drive fully imported car lo. so who care ? malaysian gorverment don’t care is only malaysian trying to work harder and earn more money to buy a vios, city, latio and hyundai. so this kind of cars is very cheap in oversea such as thailand. SO THIS IS HOW MALAYSIA GORVERMENT MAKE MONEY EASY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 10:27 am

it pisses me off, when i want to buy a porsche 911 carrera, i’d realised i could buy a porsche 911 GT2 in uk

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 11:28 pm

autojohndoe said,
    November 21, 2008 @ 2:13 pm

its the car price only… we dont know how the taxes work there, the rice price, the wheat floor, the fuel…. mybe after plus-plus all that, their spending is higher than us… who knows….

——————————————–

my buddy went INDIA last year before going to Dubai, UAE…. You know what, all those items and things you said above are far more cheaper in india…. the rice damn cheap !!!! DONT COMPARE MALAYSIA WITH INDIA AND OTHERS, MALAYSIA STILL NEED TO LEARN MORE FROM OTHER COUNTRIES !!!! ASK THE “G & BN” TO TAKE A LOOK AT SINGAPORE OR EVEN THAILAND !!!!! 4 ur info, more & more automobil industries are plannin to build a plant there, in which it happen 4 toyota !!!! Try to think why they didnt choose Malaysia !!!!!

• scottloeb (Member) on Nov 23, 2008 at 10:05 am

oi idiot, try to think how much is the salary level in msia and thailand? toyota open here need to pay min rm 900 to 1.2 K, in Thailand equiv rm 600 to rm 900 min salary, in Indonesia min 1 mil IDR (now equiv to rm 320) so who the f**K in the right minds wants to open plant in Msia? if you dont mind working at very low level salary , just go ahead then. F**k la, even now also with 3~4 yrs exp they just paying 2.5K for snr Eng bloody kedekut Japs, join GLC/mat salleh co can get close to 4K, O&G already 5K+..

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 6:52 pm

move to denmark