2009 S-Class facelift to feature Mercedes-Benz SPLITVIEW Screen Technology

Mercedes-Benz SplitView
Click to enlarge image

The 2009 Mercedes-Benz S-Class will debut an enhancement to the vehicle’s COMAND navigation and entertainment system called SPLITVIEW. Yes, you got it right, it’s going to appear in a production car. Basically, the COMAND 8 inch LCD screen at the front will be able to display two different screens depending on the angle you are viewing it from.

For example, the driver sitting on the left (in a left hand drive car) will be able to view a screen displaying GPS navigation maps and instructions while the front passenger viewing the screen from the right will be able to watch a DVD. To prevent distracting the driver, the passenger can use a supplied pair of headphones for the DVD’s audio.

This is achieved by a technique that places pixels adjacent to each other, then using a filter that divides the image in such a way that only certain pixels can be seen depending on the viewing angle.

What about the rear passengers you say? Won’t they be looking at something a little jumbled up when viewing straight on? Well, I suppose SPLITVIEW is going to be a high-end specification and in cars that will have it available, the rear passengers could most likely have their own COMAND display integrated into the backs of the front passenger seats.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 4:38 am

How bout children in the middle?

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 7:55 am

is it safe?…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 8:33 am

MisterBenjo said,
    December 12, 2008 @ 4:38 am

——-

Either they wont see anything or a double image. hahaha.. that’d be something…..

• pju_3 (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 9:56 am

MisterBenjo said,
    December 12, 2008 @ 4:38 am

——-

There are more LCD screens at the back… I guest…. :)

• keane09 (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 10:51 am

hurm.. what about the audio for the rear passenger?

• wookie00 (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 1:45 pm

outrageous toy…. too much distraction in the car.. might as well put all that technology to good use and make the S class auto pilot.. the driver can view a good movie or surf the net, the passenger can watch a dvd.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 3:02 pm

wookie00 said,
    December 12, 2008 @ 1:45 pm

outrageous toy…. too much distraction in the car.. might as well put all that technology to good use and make the S class auto pilot.. the driver can view a good movie or surf the net, the passenger can watch a dvd.
    —————————–

the thing is, in malaysia, practically all s-class mercs are chaffeur driven.. so the owner doesnt even need to bother himself with all these details.. he only needs to know that it is an S-class Merc that he is being driven around in ;)

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 3:54 pm

Something similar to our school days time we used to play those cards that can have 2 image? Flip flop around u can see different thing. Sounds like Merc is learning from our school time toy. Haha

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 4:08 pm

WERDER BREMEN VS SCHALKE 04

• layman (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 4:14 pm

This is becoming crazy, next step ‘ a Samsung 52-inch LCD on the windscreen’.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 6:31 pm

@layman: I’ll have mine with HD and surround sound system…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 6:34 pm

Oh and don’t forget the fridge, freezer, microwave, washing machine, tumble dryer, gas stove, kitchen sink, dining table, leather sofa, jacuzzi…and so on…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 7:23 pm

Akazamabamaboo said,
    December 12, 2008 @ 6:31 pm

Oh and don’t forget the fridge, freezer, microwave, washing machine, tumble dryer, gas stove, kitchen sink, dining table, leather sofa, jacuzzi…and so on…

————————————————-

how about high definition Plasma Screen, maybe say about 64″ inch…. with car theatre system….. hahaha…. lol……….

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 7:37 pm

Is this technology the same like that dual picture you get behind sharpeners? When I was in school, I used to buy this sharpeners with some image which changes into another image if you tilt it at different angles. Only 2 pictures though

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 7:54 pm

can it support pirated dvd? i need to watch my japanese porn movies

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 8:37 pm

Autodrive is gonna be on in that time. :/ no harm done.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 9:32 pm

Akazamabamaboo said,
    December 12, 2008 @ 6:31 pm

—————————————————————-
    You guys might want to check this out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3rspOa3QVh0

• csv (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 12:34 am

like a dual channel tv without the line in the middle seperating them.

cool, but a distraction?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 2:59 am

I forgot to mention Wi-Fi…

• alamak (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 9:06 am

stupid la. think too deep into tech and come out with crap like this. Isn’t having 2 different LCD screen better, cheaper more cost effective? Furthermore you have to look off angle to see this SPLITVIEW, i rather have a screen right in front, much more comfortable.

• charles27 (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 9:25 am

haiya.. will be like chicken and duck talkin later… haha.. different input output.
    just get 1 more lcd lo.. simple wat. :P

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 2:54 pm

wow, put this tech in mobile phones, sure will be very COOOOOL !!!

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 4:24 pm

got 3g, 4g, 5g

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 8:39 pm

just wait and see the feedback from the buyer… if… they want to feedback…

• nescartel (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 1:27 pm

i believe this splitview-display unit is displayed in Continental’s booth
    during the Proton Tech Week in Proton Shah Alam…
    i dunno if you guys saw it, but i did!

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 4:33 pm

but this in a proton, what a joke

• nescartel (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 10:32 pm

why is it a joke in a proton?
    why is it not a joke in a mercedes? /:)

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:53 am

imagine something like this in a proton, nasty, sure breakdown