Volkswagen Golf GTI Special Edition: limited units now available in Malaysia

Volkswagen Group Malaysia is currently selling limited units of the Volkswagen Golf GTI with a different set of equipment, but for the sale price of RM198,888.

This special Golf GTI features featuring vintage tartan Interlagos fabric seats (the retro design on the Polo GTI’s seats), 18 inch Detroit alloy wheels (instead of the standard 17 inch Denver), a sunroof, cruise control, electrically foldable wing mirrors, and an enhance multi-info display which allows the user to define options such as coming or leaving home lights, remote door unlocking and auto lock/unlocok functions.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• the stik (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 7:13 am

proton s.e… myvi s.e… golf also got s.e ka?

• myka206 (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 7:15 am

nice..but engine spec still the same?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 7:16 am

the stik said,
    December 22, 2008 @ 7:13 am

proton s.e… myvi s.e… golf also got s.e ka?
    —————————————————————-
    SE = Sexed-up Edition?

• Cire (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 7:46 am

Version looks like the first batch of GTIs that landed in Msia before… Like its name sake, the color perhap is limited to tornado red only??

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 8:22 am

Nice hot hatch! Unfortunately the price is also very hot!! :(

• tommy73 (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 8:50 am

Potential buyers are still waiting for the answer to the following question: When is Scirocco coming to malaysia? NZ is getting them soon.

• alamak (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 9:26 am

scirocco most likely middle of 2009 la

• jules (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 10:11 am

And also GTi Mk 6 is out too.

• 3S (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 10:22 am

VW want to clear out old stock 1st then replce by the new VW Golf GTI….

• I my (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 10:44 am

manual 6 speed gear box perhaps..??

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 11:01 am

I certainly cant appreciate this kinda of fabric. It makes me think bout fabric recycling from the Dutch ladies’ skirt :)

For the price, all the “special” equipment should be make standard already except the 18 inch wheel. Certainly the cruise control and sunroof and the customisable MID surely add to the ownership satisfaction. Hope VWM will make these standard in the Mk VI Golf GTi offering then it’ll be a TRUE luxury pocket bullet. Personally I preferred Golf GTi over CTR as I think it’s not so much bout speed OTR but more on how it delivers the speed all day long.

The Scirocco merely a repackaging of the Golf GTi with some mechanical tweak. It’s like the Gen 2 vs Persona OR City vs Jazz but Germans goes to the greater extend tweaking the mechanical setup so it drives differently. Given it’s more a tweaking than fundamentally different mechanism, the Scirocco shouldnt cost anything more than Golf GTi, perhaps a max 10k can be justified for its form factor. If Scirocco offering in Malaysia is at the RM250k mark, then the latest STi which is priced at RM290k becomes more attractive for its smart 4WD, selectable power output, boxer engine and the “oh so nice” boxer engine punching sound. Though R32 sounds sweet at another 10k more but technically wise, I think STi is more balanced.

• charles27 (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 11:28 am

remote door unlocking?
    erm… wats the diff.. dont BS me leh.. car unlock is remote one laa… abothen?

• vee (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 11:35 am

charles27,
    It was not made clear in the post. What it means is that the driver has the option to configure the door locking/unlocking features, i.e. selective unlocking.

Doors can be programmed to open all together or individually with a press of the remote.

This programming is usually done at the dealers but perhaps on the GTI SE, it can be done yourself.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 12:51 pm

real value for money…such a good car all around

• isharestuff (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 12:51 pm

2009 is at the corner which means VW also doing a stock clearance like Jusco etc.

It’s already made known that newer model is coming, who would spend the same money to buy the previous model? But newer doesn’t always mean nicer, I’d choose Golf V, much better looking than VI. If VW reduces the price to RM150K or 160K I’d say that is a good deal. Wahahaha…

Personally don’t think VI would do better than V. Further the Scirocco in many ways has the GTI DNA, and it’s definitely a much much much better looking car.

Hopeful that Top Gear or fifth Gear etc auto TV show will do a race review for 2000cc battle of Scirocco vs Golf VI vs Civic Type R. Drool…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 12:54 pm

sounds more like old wald units to me

• db8 (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 1:10 pm

i like this gti..but i hate its price..

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 3:45 pm

The rims are a must. :D

• csv (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 11:49 pm

everything’s nice except for the seats.

i prefer all black leather seats. sporty.

• gajen (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 2:15 am

this is the best car to buy…worth for money and its an all rounder…this SE makes it even better..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 10:03 am

if only we had more choices like the opel astra opc, ford focus st, seat leon cupra r and the skoda octavia vrs

• shianghorng (Member) on Dec 24, 2008 at 7:15 pm

I just gotten an offer at 190k

• alamak (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 5:39 pm

Vw cars sponsored 120 VW for Tour de Langkawi… for sure clearance sales after hahaha…

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/2/5/business/3195862

• Draza001 on Jul 15, 2009 at 11:04 am

Does anyone know if these seats from the 2010 model will fit in a 1996 GTI model???