Alfa Romeo Mito GTA set for Geneva debut

Alfa Romeo Mito

The MINI John Cooper Works will have a new rival come the Geneva show this March in the form of this hot little Italian number, the Alfa Romeo Mito. The Mito will receive a new top of the line variant called the Alfa Romeo Mito GTA and it will be powered by the 1.8 litre T-JET engine from the Fiat Bravo. Autocar claims the engine will be tuned to put out 240 horsepower, which looks likely as a nice and punchy 180 has been demonstrated by a smaller 1.4 litre engine used in the Fiat Grande Punto Abarth Essesse. Even the 1.4 litre in the Marangoni M430 Mito has 220hp. The Mito will get a Q2 differential at the front to reign all the torque in, since it is a front wheel drive vehicle. Power to weight ratio will also be helped by lightweight materials exclusive to the GTA like carbon fiber and aluminium.

[cpg_album:1]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• knight_templar (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:32 am

it looks better in red. But somehow the front end just seems a tad too large. But Alfa has really got a mountain to climb in terms of breaking into markets.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:35 am

i never admire the front looks of alfa…

but, beauty is in the eye of beholder rite?

• a18 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:12 am

AutoConnextion…..
    Hope this babe will be in Malaysia soon and price it competitively.
    RM130k and below is an ideal price

• overflow (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:53 am

so beauty..dream car

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:53 am

i hope it will sell. looks fabulous but then, which alfa doesn’t look fabulous? if it comes with the 1.4 with 180 horses, it will give the pug 308gt a good fight!! less cc but more horsies!!

i’d say (my guess) the price would be about 130k to maybe 160k. auto connexion wouldn’t want to place this car too far away from the 308gt nor price it too low to lose it’s premium status above the japanese models. but even if it is a smidgen above the gt’s price, it will still be ok.

• CatDawg (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:01 am

meleleh siok!!!ter-wet my pants……

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:26 am

Oh man… I want one!!! But size-wise would be an downgrade from my current Alfa…

• narrowband (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:10 pm

Almost perfect. Almost because the front looks abit swollen. But then it will probably look much better in flesh – photos just dont do the car justice. Can’t wait to see it in real.

• gods twin (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 2:30 pm

The thing is tat alfa’s become alive and beautiful when its being driven. Till then the photos will not do any justice for them. Miss my uncles 155 2.0 twin spark’s screaming. Hope one day i can afford my dream 156 2.5 V6.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:20 pm

i love this car. however it will be a long time till alfa romeo decides to convert back to rwd

• chrisyht (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 6:30 pm

saw this lovely car recently when i was in italy… it looks so much better in real, trust me on this… :) but i highly doubt it will make it to malaysia though… :(

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:05 pm

Nice, but conventional people will not like it that much. Looks good though. Then when it comes to bolehland, it will have a price tag that will rival a 150k car

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:45 pm

i prefer the fiat 500

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:58 pm

i rather prefer the fiat 500 abarth …

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 2:15 pm

they should bring the 159 and brera first…i cancel my booking over 159 and switched to the new a4…frustrated…come on guyz…

everytime i c 159 when i was outstation..it makes me feel angry…damn…it should be mine…btw..i satisfy with my a4…still feels gd wit it…at least…

this mito..i tell u..u should c this car in flesh..its really sexy..meleleh..trust me…i already c 1 of it…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 10:44 pm

this car is very cheap in europe, its like a high class punto

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 11:31 pm

aiyah..ah beng 90’s b18c civic also can smoke this clean wan ahhh.why spend so much?? show off la….sad….but awesome paint though!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 1:46 am

hidrogentank said,
    January 24, 2009 @ 11:31 pm

aiyah..ah beng 90’s b18c civic also can smoke this clean wan ahhh.why spend so much?? show off la….sad….but awesome paint though!
    —————————————————————-
    It’s already hot so why wanna smoke it? Rilax bro, cruise around slowly, you might even pick up a chick while on the way…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 2:51 pm

MyviKiller said,

January 25, 2009 @ 1:46 am

hidrogentank said,

—————————————————————-
    It’s already hot so why wanna smoke it? Rilax bro, cruise around slowly, you might even pick up a chick while on the way…
    ——————
    agree.ask a chick, will she rather be in ur ah beng civic or this cheap 8c competizione?

• torque (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 7:39 pm

hidrogentank said,

Hahaha…what a joke la bro! Ok…even the ah beng 90’s B18C can smoke this HOT HATCH but with 240bhp…it still can keep up with the Honda. Plus, the only chicks that’s gonna ride in ur ah beng 90’s B18C are ah lien…NOT Helen or Lindsay Lohan! And please…don’t get me started with the interior built quality k?

p/s: Happy Chinese New Year Paul!!

• torque (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 7:41 pm

Hey?! Where’s my comment? Aiya….

• gods twin (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 6:28 pm

hidrogentank said,

———————————————————–
    Ha ha ha, the fact is you need to ah bengize the honda to be in a level playing with the alfa, where as the alfa is still stock standard, any you think the honda will give the same experience as the alfa, dream on la fren.
    Dont play play..

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 3:34 am

wah..late post …very sleepy but….

torque said,
    ——————————
    Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    —————————————————————
    lol..whose talking about getting chicks or interior quality..relax ler..were just humble ol JDMmers.

gods twin said,
    —————————————————————-
    ofcourse you need to bengize the honda..the alfas already cheating if you know what i mean…oh and nothing will feel like spending $few hundred k and be beaten by cheaplak honda rite?im sure it will be a good EXPERIENCE…
    think “the fast and the furious” (supra vs ferrari?) …ofcozz play play ler…

ps im still dreaming of rx7..lol

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 3:36 am

anybody “WISE” think im a chauvinist?? pls continue