VIDEO: Ford Kinetic Design TVC

Ford Kinetic Design TVC

Ford shot this TV commercial featuring all of their new Kinetic Design cars, but despite having various locations for the scenes in reality the cars never left the shooting studio. This was done on purpose and highlighted as part of the main message delivered by the TVC – they want to say their cars look dynamic as if they are moving even when in reality they are staying still in one spot. Nothing beats having the car really out there though – in the virtualised landscape some of the lighting on the car doesn’t feel like they match properly. Watch the TVC after the jump.

And below you have “the making of”…

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• afoka on May 29, 2009 at 1:53 am

wow…a good car really speak for itself.

• Wak Rempit on May 29, 2009 at 1:57 am

I begin to like this new Kinetic concept from Ford… it is smooth and practical yet still have that dynamic look

it is love or hate thing you know… but you can't hate the Iosis… its too good

somebody mentioned about the "seketul" design in the previous post… hahaha..!! how true, more like "stool" to me… hehe

• Bangla on May 29, 2009 at 4:41 am

Ahh, looks much better than any of Proton's design tho!

• i am not a fan of this dynamic thing. well it looks masculine, but at the same time it doesnt make the car look … … different .it looks like what nissan toyota can do on their car.

but i have go agree on one thing, the benchmark for trend setter is still mercedes and bmw.

• turboKEV on May 29, 2009 at 11:22 am

they should put the uneven road condition in the CG as well, they car is moving but never "bounce"? sure got a bit on the road..

• sooaun on May 29, 2009 at 7:44 pm

interesting concept, very well done… only missing the bodyroll and road bounce like turboKEV mentioned…

• borncrazee on May 29, 2009 at 10:13 pm

I believe all the 3 cars are shot in the studio and then matted in with the background. Soon all TV commercials will adopt this style because this involves lesser production costs and shooting days on location. But to the average tv viewer, it looks like they shot it in expensive locales.

• jamsbong on May 31, 2009 at 3:12 pm

This is cool!

A car that gives personality is a lot more desirable than one just gives u more airbags at a cheaper price.

• John Foster on Nov 02, 2009 at 12:49 pm

Beuatifly lit , casting great, photographic triumph, what is the soundtrack…superb!