Renault to help smart with next generation forfour

smart forfour

Mercedes-Benz’s platform partner for its next smart car set for a 2013 debut will be Renault. “It’s a key component in plans to grow the Smart brand. We’re looking to diverge into other potentially lucrative market segments, and not only in Europe but on a worldwide basis, including North America,” said a Mercedes-Benz official to ANE.

Renault will be supplying smart a platform for a new four-seater smart (effectively a replacement for the smart forfour) and the word is that it will be a modified version of the Clio II platform that underpins the Renault Twingo, though I would have thought the Renault-Nissan B platform (Clio III, Latio, Logan, etc) would be more suitable in size for a smart forfour replacement.

The smart forfour was a hatchback based on the Mitsubishi Colt and was produced at Mitsubishi’s Dutch NedCar plant. Who knows, we could also see an electric version using technology from the Nissan Leaf.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• HARDRISK on Aug 07, 2009 at 5:36 pm

yahoo akhirnya no 1

• fenzo60 on Aug 07, 2009 at 8:07 pm

its a fun car to drive.

• flopsy on Aug 07, 2009 at 9:31 pm

good looking car

• JULIAN_LEE on Aug 07, 2009 at 10:19 pm

u guys dont even fucking read the story.

anyway bmw better

• barca on Aug 07, 2009 at 11:17 pm

it's really [insert suitable adjective] to be no.1.

got prize aaaa HARDRISK?

• Elvis on Aug 07, 2009 at 11:28 pm

I have tried the smart car before. Nothing to shout about it. And this car looked like Myvi to me. Not surprise if Perodua also insert electric engine to Myvi since basically you only need to change the gasoline engine. In fact, alot of electric car hardcore fans in US already replaced their gasoline engine with electric powerplant. Yet GM pretend that this technology is so difficult and advanced, what a joke! I think Mercedes Benz also realised that in near future, most buyers will convert to small and compact cars, or electric cars. No choice really, we all know that easy oil is getting harder to find. You have to drill in middle of the sea to get it in another 15 years, and imagine the price of this commodity in coming years.

• 4 spoke.

• Alifz on Aug 08, 2009 at 1:03 am

Savvy-Renault Clio

Smart 4 Four-Clio 11

Isetta-Clio 111?

• raybrig85 on Aug 08, 2009 at 4:23 am

to JULIAN LEE…

ure dumbass…plz read the story too…this is about smart…not about 'bmw always better'….plz stick to the topic..

• mitlanevo on Aug 08, 2009 at 7:34 am

hopefully that future smart will be smarter than JULIAN LEE……

• rear wheel on Aug 08, 2009 at 7:58 am

Renault is good.. But I can't afford to buy it..

The car look like MyVI..

• George on Aug 08, 2009 at 12:51 pm

What subject is that Julian talking about in here.Suddenly BMW

• saki77 on Aug 08, 2009 at 6:00 pm

biar je julian lee tu…

tiap forum mesti cuba cari attention…

• msian on Aug 08, 2009 at 6:29 pm

hahaha

• solarcar on Aug 08, 2009 at 10:12 pm

what? Mercedes-Benz with Renault and Mitsubishi based? what a mix!

• fauzi on Aug 09, 2009 at 12:00 am

How come this tiny car can be sell more than 100K. Kalau la proton bubuh lambang thundercat lepas tu jual dekat Malaysia mesti kena hentam gila.Exora yang besaq gedabak jual 70K lebih pun dah kata mahai.

• muryadi on Aug 09, 2009 at 10:56 am

hahaha

• Elvis on Aug 09, 2009 at 9:23 pm

This car has been around for few years in Malaysia. Pretty standard looking car with inflated price. Initially was hype up to so called 'breakthrough' or something. But once you drive it for sometime, aiyah, samesamelah with Myvi. So dont look at the hype alone, we Malaysian have been driving small cars for decades, no surprise there. Maybe for the americans with their giant size bodies may find this very entertaining just the their harley davidson bikes(i find it odd that small bodied Malaysians trying to ride their oversize Harley, rather buy bikes from Japan which better suit my body frame). As for the price, up to the stupid buyers if they want to pay for the inflamed priced cars.

• you a-hole on Aug 10, 2009 at 1:15 am

julian lee is as ugly as the new 5 series gt

• fenzo60 on Aug 10, 2009 at 6:16 am

Hahaha pity to Julian

• Brian on Aug 10, 2009 at 6:30 am

from which aspect that the forfour does look like Myvi??? …..

• P2_permanent_basher on Aug 10, 2009 at 6:54 pm

wow, it has been pretty boring in the motor world these few days…

• Bob_B78 on Aug 11, 2009 at 4:49 pm

This car is much better than myvi anytime. Strong acceleration with good handling for 1.5l and with top speed up to 190 km/h. Can vios or city hit above 180km/h? :)