New Volkswagen cars listed on Volkswagen Malaysia’s website

Volkswagen Passat CC

A delicious trio of the Volkswagen Scirocco, the Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk6 and the Volkswagen Passat CC are now listed on Volkswagen Malaysia’s website with specifications though there are no prices yet. I understand a preview of the Scirocco and the Passat CC (not sure about the Mk6) was done at Volkswagen showrooms a few weeks ago. According to sales advisors at Cartrade-ABT when they showcased their Abt-kitted cars a few weeks ago as well, the Scirocco is expected to go for around RM250k while the Mk6 GTI will be cheaper. But these are just preliminary prices and things may change.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Not bad Bro…………..

• raybrig on Oct 14, 2009 at 1:47 am

this car looks really nice in flesh..trust me..

• Tan Tee Lim on Oct 14, 2009 at 1:56 am

read/heard from somewhere (forgot where) that the price of the Mk6 GTi is about RM206k. Sounds like a good deal to me.

• unusual isnt it? both golf gti and scirocco are priced about the same in uk according to parker's website. why here different by rm 40000? trying to position scirocco as more premium than golf gti?

• the Passat CC VR6 4Motion, highest spec in the US, sells for USD$40k (roughly RM135k).

• GTI 4-door, starts at USD$24k (roughly RM82k).

• to raybrig, i see quite a few of those here in sg, n i agree w u bro..they look sleek…

• why is it that the sirrocco fetch a much higher price than the mk 6 gti? i thought that the mk 6 and sirrocco is priced almost the same in th uk?

trying to con malaysian again i guess

• yes, passat cc looks sexy n great to drive, hope the price is not so high, or wait till proton do the ckd, hahaha

• honestly, car prices here is getting ridiculous and very close to madness…an average car is almost the same price as houses…can't imagine in another 10 years..

• xavier_lert on Oct 14, 2009 at 3:34 am

so roughly the passat will tag wit rm300k++

• thanks to our lovely G tax schedule for imported cars

if merely based on sales tax + VAT, these cars are very affordable.

i wud love if VW Malaysia bring in d 1.4TSI Scirocco……

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Oct 14, 2009 at 3:50 am

well scirocco will cost more then golf's..its a matter of product placement as a sporty product or even a 'sporty looking' product will cost more…and our crazy tax band hear that's very model type dependant will push the price up..gotta give a hand to vw malaysia for not havin a crazy diffrence in pricing like alfa with thier 159 and brera(basically 2 door 159) whre there's like about 120k in diffrence in pricing!…now thats crazy…

• The Golf GTI was previewed as well… My brother took it for a spin… Would have done it too, but not in KL :(

• Littlefire on Oct 14, 2009 at 4:47 am

VW = People's car (Translated from it's name)…

In German it is suppose to be cheap, economical & realizable to become people's car… Something like Proton (In light years)…

But when it came to Malaysia, it becomes Rich man car… Damn.. I hate those tax.. Why in those old days VW beetle is so easy to own compare to now…

• BeemerFreak on Oct 14, 2009 at 4:55 am

Hey why only the top spec models are available. what happened to the golf and scirocco with the 1.4TSI engine that is paired with a dry sump 7-speed DSG? In singapore the lower spec models cost nearly sgd 30000 less than the higher ones.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:14 am

please make it cheaper…

• even the passat cc is priced similarly to the gti.

• When is the gov going to reveal the revised NAP? Still raya-ing ka

• blame the government tax la. these cars are pretty mid priced in britain, even in Singapore.

but damn, i can't wait to see these 3 cars on the road. all 3 look stunning. absolutely stunning in the flesh. how i wished i could afford them.

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:48 am

Paul, do you mind go to www.toyota.com.my and find out the forth slide show why there is Old Toyota Avanza, Toyota Vios 1.5S and New Toyota Rush?

• flopsy on Oct 14, 2009 at 6:24 am

so expensive… i cant afford it…to me better invest 1st in property

• Cronman on Oct 14, 2009 at 7:03 am

Want a cheap (or fair rate) from car? What you expect from a Cronisim country? The rules is distribute the wealth….to the Cronnies and back to them.

Since they dont know how to survive outside the world. I bet if our grand-children can have that benefits.

NAP 2010? i bet until 2020 you cant even get that. In 2020, its a time when Proton Sage III sells at RM80K and Passat CC sells at RM500K. With current inflation rate, it is possible, and if you see the S$ from RM1.5 old days to RM2.5 now…it will be RM3.5 then, and Msia still want to compete cheap labour…to Africa then (since China, Indonesia, India and Thailand already leap frog us, since we keep compare countries behind instead of infront)

• Mayonaise (Member) on Oct 14, 2009 at 7:04 am

The Scirocco is not supposed to be priced higher than the Mk VI GTI, the price between RM230K to RM250K is ridiculously overpriced for a Scirocco! VW M'sia can go f*ck themselves!

• riswanrahman on Oct 14, 2009 at 7:14 am

tax…. tax….. tax….. tax …….

• Annihilated on Oct 14, 2009 at 7:18 am

Paul,

The security of your website is still compromised (though it's only the front page). I suggest you take a measure to prevent it from prolonged. The symptom is more likely you have been "SQL-Injected". But I could be wrong.

• Paul,

your site is infected with Virus or worm:

HTML:Iframe-inf

on all sites not only on the main page as raised by Annihilated.

• Vezeroth on Oct 14, 2009 at 8:00 am

Zam said,

October 13, 2009 @ 9:41 pm

When is the gov going to reveal the revised NAP? Still raya-ing ka

Never… and if they do, they'll just call it something else… we can dream on… sigh

• bobdbilder on Oct 14, 2009 at 9:12 am

You know all the good things I said about VAG. Forget about it. This just sealed the deal. Yeah they could have given the Scirocco with a Polo engine. Nothing wrong with that. But NOOOO they want big bucks. They wanna beat BMW.

Its the auditors having another go at it ainnit? Trying to help the EU economy are we? Need to feed some vagrants in St Pauli. Shaven haired camouflaged cargo pants wearing rightist. Yeah lob off some high price high value kit so it could bring your EBIT up a notch. God knows they need it.

For that kind of money, I'd get a proper RWD, beat the crappy 7.1s to 60mph by 1.2s, has more racing heritage in its nuts than it could hope to achieve (diesel LMP? Bah!). Plus its a total babe magnet. Its called a Lotus Elise S.

• meteoranaic on Oct 14, 2009 at 3:34 pm

at 200k Mk6 is pretty well priced in Malaysia ( lower than b8 and 3series etc ) but to think is just a normal priced hatchback in other countries then theres no doubt we have been taken for a ride by our beloved G … Malaysia BoleH !

• i hope all of you who complained did NOT vote for the party that brought on this stupid tax structure…..and don't blame VW Malaysia, spoke to a salesman and they did submit an affordable price for the Passat CC but Gov refused to approve and wants the car to be priced higher in the premium segment. accept the fact that M'sian Gov is dirty and rotten

• Perdana Replacement on Oct 14, 2009 at 4:04 pm

Oh man!

it should be the Perdana Replacement Model…damn… why proton didnot accept WV last time..damn…..

I hope Proton produce replacement model same par with new Honda Accord and Toyota Camry..

• nighttrain on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:21 pm

bodbuilder, totally agree with you mate, but as usual, Malaysians will say 'whot, no backseat in the Lotus? How am I suppossed to move more than one babe in case a menage a trois comes along?'. Hehe.. gotta let WV win.

• mattyboy on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:30 pm

wtt – I was thinking exactly the same thing, in all other markets they are around the same price, I know we have to live with the tax situation here but adding on Rm50k over and above that is harsh.

I have the same problem with BMW Malaysia's pricing of the Mini

• nighttrain on Oct 14, 2009 at 6:41 pm

Lets hope our friends from P1 R&D and Mgmt, and folks from MITI read this thread and start bashing us for complaining about prices – again. Yeah, you know who you are.

• 2 door car will have higher tax compare to 4 door.

• mr_3m on Oct 14, 2009 at 7:03 pm

Don't SOLELY blame any car manufacturer on the prices set… given the choice they would wish for a LEVEL playing field in Malaysia to compete equally with the rest of the automakers (local & foreign) and may the best product (car) wins!

But then again this is Malaysia OK…. all of us can stay on dreaming about affording 'branded' or premium cars to buy with our hard earned cash…

Furthermore the Govt always have a say in everything just to ensure things are not easy for foreign automakers when they want to sell their things here… hence we have "Govt approved nett selling price" – what crap is this? Another form of market intervention to ensure survival of P1/P2 or cronies interest etc?

• Golf GTI MK6 – MYR208K

Sirocco – MYR238K

Passat CC – MYR250K

Friend told me that VW will bring in the 2 door version Golf GTi middle of next year. Apparently suppose to be priced around 250K. Way too high!

• nocars on Oct 14, 2009 at 9:21 pm

Just stop spending your hard earn cash in any new cars. Period.

• bobdbilder on Oct 14, 2009 at 10:40 pm

It is so easy to blame the govenment coz the alternative idea that companies are in business for profits is too hard to swallow.

I would say the manufacturer and the local agent is at fault. They had the option of the cheaper turboed 1.4. You cannot sell a 2.0l turboed car and say its for the masses.

Let's look at the Pug 308. It has an NA and a CBU turboed version in the marketplace. You get the options. Yet it is so much cheaper than the only Scirocco available. Pugeot wants market share. VW and associates wants profit.

• Vezeroth on Oct 14, 2009 at 11:30 pm

Cant see why gov would want to price passat cc at a premium, p1/p2 got nothing in the premium or even above the 100k segment anyway… except the perdana, but nobody buys that… 140k Pasat CC, i'd be the 1st one to buy it… damn… looks like i can dream on!

• lambov12 on Oct 15, 2009 at 12:37 am

I love VW !!!

• Tiadaid on Oct 15, 2009 at 2:42 am

Vezeroth said,

October 14, 2009 @ 3:30 pm

Cant see why gov would want to price passat cc at a premium, p1/p2 got nothing in the premium or even above the 100k segment anyway… except the perdana, but nobody buys that… 140k Pasat CC, i’d be the 1st one to buy it… damn… looks like i can dream on!

——————————–

If Passat CC is priced cheap, then Volkswagen will cry foul because Golf & Scirocco is much more expensive. Passat's not considered a volume car compared to Golf & Scirocco

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Oct 15, 2009 at 2:48 am

well the pug is localy built and the scirocco is fully imported…its got a lot of local content as well….but the prices will eventually go up..naza's sellin them to raise awareness about the brand..if this was ckd'ed it should fetch about 130….so yea..truth sucks eh…?…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 15, 2009 at 4:40 am

if its ckd the quality will drop, which beats the purpose of buying a VW which is well known for its quality built

• riswanrahman on Oct 15, 2009 at 7:05 am

"nocars said,

October 14, 2009 @ 1:21 pm

Just stop spending your hard earn cash in any new cars. Period "

why ?? you hear something yummy about revised NAP?

• willpower on Oct 15, 2009 at 8:27 am

As long as NAP remains in our shores, FORGET buying new Benz, BMW, Audi, VW, Toyota, Honda, Lexus…etc at REASONABLE price.

~moan~

• Made in Germany on Oct 15, 2009 at 5:36 pm

willpower said,

October 15, 2009 @ 12:27 am

As long as NAP remains in our shores, FORGET buying new Benz, BMW, Audi, VW, Toyota, Honda, Lexus…etc at REASONABLE price.

~moan~

——————————————-

i agree

• tikus (Member) on Oct 15, 2009 at 6:01 pm

Car lover forget about it haveing a nice car!! THIS IS MALAYSIA!!! So pay high price for a junk call viva,saga and etc…

• CAKAP_GUNE_FAKTA on Oct 15, 2009 at 10:59 pm

CAN ANYBODY ELABORATE HOW ON EARTH THE G SHOULD SUPPLEMENT ITS INCOME WITH SUCH LOW INCOME TAX?

CAKAP PANDAI ITU INI.SUME TAK BETOL SUME MAHAL.KAU DUDUK LA US BARU KAU TAU INCOME TAX NYA X MURAH THAT'S Y CARS CAN BE SIGNIFICANTLY CHEAPER IN THE STATES.

WE R NOT IN SINGAPORE.THEY R RICH.ITU PUN HARGA KERETA MAHAL JUGAK.

ANY SMART ALEC HERE WHO WOULD LIKE TO DIFFER?

SUCK ON IT.

• tikus (Member) on Oct 16, 2009 at 1:47 am

Cakap Gune Fakta,

U memang bodoh lar !! Duit Negara kita semua dimakan oleh ular besar lar…itu sebab kita nak tax banyak untuk cover xpenses lar!!Kereta perdana bikin lebih mahal daripada Merc, stadium 1 tahun runtuh and MACC tak buat kerja..FAHAM!! Singapore not rich but they know how to take care of their country wealth!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:42 am

CAKAP_GUNE_FAKTA said,

October 15, 2009 @ 2:59 pm

CAN ANYBODY ELABORATE HOW ON EARTH THE G SHOULD SUPPLEMENT ITS INCOME WITH SUCH LOW INCOME TAX?

CAKAP PANDAI ITU INI.SUME TAK BETOL SUME MAHAL.KAU DUDUK LA US BARU KAU TAU INCOME TAX NYA X MURAH THAT’S Y CARS CAN BE SIGNIFICANTLY CHEAPER IN THE STATES.

WE R NOT IN SINGAPORE.THEY R RICH.ITU PUN HARGA KERETA MAHAL JUGAK.

ANY SMART ALEC HERE WHO WOULD LIKE TO DIFFER?

SUCK ON IT.

———————–

u goblok, singapura punya kereta lebih murah daripada kereta kita

• Littlefire on Oct 16, 2009 at 7:00 am

If you work in Singapore and pay the money they offer is cheaper compare buying cars in Malaysia…

Memang katak di bawah tempurung… Never even went to Singapore and see…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 16, 2009 at 8:28 pm

Littlefire said,

October 15, 2009 @ 11:00 pm

If you work in Singapore and pay the money they offer is cheaper compare buying cars in Malaysia…

Memang katak di bawah tempurung… Never even went to Singapore and see…

————————–

don't have too….u heard of a magazine called "Autocar"?

• Scirocco at 240k is definitely not worth the money. Look wise, the backside is quite ok, but the front looks very ordinary. Also not really practical. Golf GTI 6 at 210k is also overpriced. I saw a few when I was in Spore recently. Bland and dull at best, even Mk5 is much more attractive.

I'd say VW cars are grossly over priced. But there are still many rich "water fish" around to be taken advantage of.

• Pro (Member) on Oct 17, 2009 at 1:11 am

These prices are bloody expensive. RM200K+ for just a VW hatchback. This is outrages. Better still migrate from here lah. Move to US or UK, where car prices aren't ridiculous.

• Safetybear on Oct 17, 2009 at 1:24 am

Maybe the agent is the one putting high price becos low volumes or some strategy.

Naza makes tonnes of money, not only taxes makes the cars expensive, profit margins too.

• talk lorr on Oct 18, 2009 at 10:05 am

cakap_gune_fakta.. you are the epitome of intelligence.. singapore income tax cap at 15% lah! below certain amount no tax lah.. singapore bring in car no need AP lah.. tak macam u punya umno orang bagi free AP kasih orang sendiri nanti kasi jual 30 ribu untuk orang lain.. itu pun tak cukup.. mahu underdeclare lagi! mahu fakta!? saya kasi lu punya otak kosong fakta.. gue dulu beli honda edix 1.7 sama WALD.. tengkok import document dia.. WALD kasi declare kereta saya RM15,000 sahaja.. kerajaan kena tipu.. rakyat kene tipu… orang umno makan gemuk gemuk pandai cerita dan paling gemuk itu pandai nangis sahaja.. mahathir lari nangis.. kena tangkap public nangis.. itulah hal sebenarnya.. mahu bukti lagi? tengok berapa orang melayu pakai kerate porsche, audi, bmw, mercedes in kl sekarang? kau ingat itu duit datang dari mana? duit kerajaan lah.. tapi kerajaan mana ada orang gaji sebesar ini? kau pikir lah.. dia kasi kau makan ketupat.. dia sendiri makan kerbau lah abang!

• Abang Fkr on Jan 10, 2010 at 5:18 am

Is there the vr6 4motion sell in Malaysia?

If yes, how much is the price?