Lotus Omnivore 2-stroke HCCI engine – details

lotus-omnivore-graph
Click for enlarged image

You remember the Lotus Omnivore project don’t you? We first heard word of this project back in August 2008 and Lotus exhibited a concept engine at the Geneva show earlier this year. It’s basically a monoblock (integrated block and head) engine that runs on a two-stroke operating cycle that Lotus says is more suited to flex-fuel operations than conventional 4-stroke engines.

There is a whole load of tech packed into the Omnivore. Other than being unusually 2-stroke in a world of 4-stroke car engines, its got variable compression ratio, direct fuel injection, and the ability to run on HCCI mode, which is basically diesel-like sparkless ignition, except that it isn’t a diesel engine.

omnivore-specs-1
omnivore-specs-2

“The automotive industry, including Lotus Engineering, has quite rightly advocated engine downsizing for four-stroke engines. This is as a result of the dominance of the four-stroke cycle in the automotive world and its generation of throttling losses at part-load, where vehicles run most of the time,” says Jamie Turner, Lotus Engineering chief engineer of powertrain research.

“The two-stroke cycle, conversely, does not suffer from significant throttling losses and in many ways is a more natural fit for automotive use. With the thermodynamic disadvantages of throttling losses removed, the two-stroke engine is free to be sized according to its improved part-load fuel consumption. Downsizing therefore isn’t vital and, due to the improved light-load efficiency and emissions performance we see with Omnivore, this technology approach and ‘upsizing’ could permit a more efficient engine,” adds Turner.

Look after the jump for a 6 page detailed technical description of the Omnivore.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• first!!!!

• Jugaus on Dec 11, 2009 at 3:31 am

Fantastic

• squawk on Dec 11, 2009 at 4:04 am

Can eat meat & plants… cool!

• english plz???

• ariff on Dec 11, 2009 at 6:21 am

haha @ squawk: standard 4 science subj.

2 stroke is noisy

so..this thing need 2T engine oil also ka?

autocombust diesel-like engine should perform better with lower petrol RON number la kan.

If this engine don't require 2T oil, quiet & cheap, it will sell well in m'sia since 2-stroke engine maintenance is cheaper coz it don't have camshaft/cam/rocker that can wear off over time

• Littlefire on Dec 11, 2009 at 6:44 am

I think this engine will sell well in India.. Remember Tata.. Wow.. If Tata buy this technology…

• Sharin on Dec 11, 2009 at 6:20 pm

This appears to be a very hi tec engine.Not in any way like a tipical 2 stroke engine. Ispeculate that it would not require 2T engine oil,should give nearly 25% real world fuel savings under city driving mode,if you compare it with a modern petrol engine without GDI (direct ignition).Nevertheless we have not seen a viable commercial engine using variable compression,they have not really sorted the challenges of sealing the combustion chamber under variable compression for everyday use.

Lotus is also noted for displaying hi-tec concept which never go into commercial production. I remember that they talked a lot about active suspension, noise cancelling technology etc which have not been translated into commercial use.

• 500cc cars. omg, can our car even move with such small cc… excluding kancil and viva…

• mystvearn on Dec 12, 2009 at 9:37 am

The engine will be released some time yet, so don't get your hopes up yet.

Still not sure if the noisy 2 stroke will be addresed in the monoblock version of the engine

• littlefire on Dec 12, 2009 at 10:10 pm

Saab already have this technology for some time…

Here have more details: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saab_Variable_Compre…

They have won the award during 2000 & 2001…

• whitefox on Dec 13, 2009 at 12:14 am

hope development of this engine benefit proton in new small segment car like Savy. since it say the size is expand able :)

May be this one of the proton phoniex projext?

• Haiya, lotus sell technology, not the whole engine eventhough sometimes they build engine for some companies if they paid them. they sell technology such as Lotus' cam profile switching tappet system technology to proton, porshe, etc, lotus patent variable intake manifold to proton, porshe and chervolet and etc. they also develop engined if their client required.

u must know how to differentiate lotus cars corp and lotus engeneering. it is different in term of product and services.

just surf lotus engeneering website n u will know how many research and technology that lotus create and being used around the world by car manufacturers(not only protons, thay are loads of company(more than 10) used lotus engeneering wheteher it is confidential clients or non-confidential clients.

• lotus clients non-confidential, to name a few such as FORD, MACLAREN,HYUNDAI,KIA,GENERAL MOTORS, HONDA, SAAB, BMW, PROTON, NISSAN, ISUZU, DAEWOO, OPEL,PEUGEOT, DAIHATSU(familiar name, so lu pikirlah sendiri ada satu client confidential yang ada kaitan dengan daihatsu yg bagi lotus full access pada sume jenis enjin diaorang termasuk blue print n lotus ada terlibat dalam projek LFA, cari sendirilah sapa dia), ASTON MARTIN, JAGUAR, RENAULT and many more.

• lotus clients non-confidential, to name a few such as FORD, MACLAREN,HYUNDAI,KIA,GENERAL MOTORS, HONDA, SAAB, BMW, PROTON, NISSAN, ISUZU, DAEWOO, OPEL,PEUGEOT, DAIHATSU(familiar name, so lu pikirlah sendiri ada satu client confidential yang ada kaitan dengan daihatsu yg bagi lotus full access pada sume jenis enjin diaorang termasuk blue print n lotus ada terlibat dalam projek LFA, cari sendirilah sapa dia), ASTON MARTIN, JAGUAR, RENAULT and many more..

• Littlefire on Dec 13, 2009 at 6:28 pm

If lotus so hebat, why they lost a lot of money and bought by P1? Even when controlled by P1 still they also got a lot of debt need to clear..

• shaifz1 on Dec 14, 2009 at 5:30 pm

They might be the best in niche engineering or superb car handling….but it needs a lot of money for R&D…so whatever they achieve, most of it went to R&D.

But, Proton should take advantage more on Lotus…not just 'ride and handling tuned by Lotus'.

Hopefully we could see more in Proton car that derived from Lotus.

• Actually the Lotus ride and handling make Proton cars the cars to drive if you are a real driver. I am sure Campro was tweaked by Lotus.

• if toyota so good, why they need lotus?

if jaguar so good, why they were for sale and bought by tata?

if porshe is so good, why vw bought them?

there are many more example, so google ur self little fire

that is my answer to ur childish question.

and if i not miastaken, there was a story in paultan mentioning lotus in profit again, maybe u can search it.

• if toyota so good, why they need lotus?

if jaguar so good, why they were for sale and bought by tata?

if porshe is so good, why vw bought them?

there are many more example, so google ur self little fire

that is my answer to ur childish question.

and if i not miastaken, there was a story in paultan mentioning lotus in profit again, maybe u can search it.