Lotus F1 reveals driver line-up – it’s Jarno Trulli and Heikki Kovalainen!

lotus-f1-hq

After the long wait, Team Lotus F1 (or 1Malaysia F1 Team, as many Malaysians know it as) has finally announced its official driver lineup: Jarno Trulli and Heikki Kovalainen will race for the Malaysian backed team in the 2010 Formula 1 season!

Both drivers were in search of a race seat for 2010. Trulli, 35, is a seasoned veteran left without a drive after Toyota pulled out of the sport, while 28-year old Kovalainen was Lewis Hamilton’s teammate at McLaren, recently dropped and replaced by World Champion Jenson Button. Our own Fairuz Fauzy will be the team’s third and reserve driver, as suggested by team technical chief Mike Gascoyne earlier. Trulli should have a good working relationship with Gascoyne, who was Technical Director at Toyota.

In Trulli and Kovalainen, Lotus F1 has two highly experienced drivers that are no strangers to the podium, and we wish the team all the best for its maiden season.

UPDATE: Quotes from the drivers and Team Principal after the jump!

Jarno Trulli
What were the reasons behind your decision to join Lotus F1 Racing?

“I am really pleased to be joining Lotus F1 Racing. It was quite a difficult situation at the start of November with my former team withdrawing from Formula 1, but I was convinced I would stay in Formula 1. I was in contact with Mike (Gascoyne, Chief Technical Officer) about the possibility of joining the new Lotus team and it became quickly clear that it would be a very good opportunity for me. I have been in Formula 1 for many years but there is something extremely motivating about helping to build a team from the ground level up. There is a lot of ambition from Tony (Fernandes, Team Principal), Mike and in fact the whole of Malaysia as a nation, and that level of enthusiasm is infectious for a driver. I am really looking forward to the challenge.”

You are one of the longest-serving drivers in Formula 1 – how important will your experience be for the team?

“I have driven for quite a few teams in my career, both manufacturer and independent teams, so I have a wide range of experience. I hope that this experience will be a positive asset for Lotus as we begin this new challenge together. We should not underestimate the task in hand. Formula 1 in 2010 is an exciting prospect with brand new teams, established manufacturers fighting back and of course other young teams looking to repeat their 2009 success. Everyone will be fighting hard for results, but we still have all our foundations to set, so we have a lot to do.”

Do you expect the team to be immediately competitive?

“We have to set realistic targets for the first year. We are one of the new teams, so we have to prove ourselves and to gain respect in the paddock. We have to establish ourselves as the best of the new teams and see what gap we have between us and the rest. Only then will we really understand what gains we need to make during the season. The points system has changed to reward the top ten drivers, so I would like to see us making progress towards the top ten by Abu Dhabi.”

What do you think of the team’s approach to Formula 1 based on your previous experiences?

“Having spoken to Tony and to Mike, as well as being in Malaysia this week, I can see a very sensible attitude and professional approach to racing. Of course everyone supporting the team wants results but everybody knows that will take time. We certainly have the capabilities and the tools to do the job. I know Mike very well from our time at other teams and I have a lot of faith in his technical operation.”

What do you think of having Heikki as a team-mate?

“It’s great to have a younger driver like Heikki on board. He has been in Formula 1 for a few years now, so he has matured into a competitive and well-rounded race driver. His experiences at other teams will certainly help Lotus F1 Racing as a whole and I am looking forward to working alongside him. He is bringing a different character and driving style to the team which I think will benefit all of us during 2010.”

Heikki Kovalainen
You are entering your fourth season as a Formula 1 race driver by joining a brand new team in Lotus F1 Racing – what factors were behind your decision to join the team?

For me there were a couple of major factors – Tony and Mike being the two leading figures in the project, and the backing behind the team were both very important, and having spoken to both of them I became aware that the whole operation has a lot of potential, and a very good chance of being a successful team in the future. I saw Lotus F1 Racing as the best choice for me to progress my career, after considering several other options that were available to me.

What have you seen of the team so far?

I have visited the base of the team, as well as meeting Tony and Mike, and I can see that everyone involved is very motivated, excited and happy to be pushing this program forwards. The team has ambitious plans for the future and everyone will see Lotus F1 Racing in Bahrain GP as a professional, competitive yet very humble group of intelligent individuals.

What do you think of your new team-mate Jarno?

I have known Jarno for many years now and I think together we can push the team forwards very quickly, and develop our car and the team in a professional way.

Do you have any specific targets for your first season with the team?

I always race to win and I will do everything as if I was preparing to put the car on pole, but of course we have to be realistic and keep the focus on developing the team to a state where we can operate like any other current top F1 team. It will not be easy and we will have tough times at the beginning, there’s no question about it, but as long as we keep improving all the way through the year and have the earned respect of the other top teams on the grid, then we can be pleased about the first year.

Does the Lotus name add any pressure on you or the team?

Well maybe at the beginning we will get away with some difficulties, but of course Lotus has been a winning team in the past and, like I said earlier, the team has ambitious plans to become successful, so after a little while we need to be making progress to keep the Lotus name at its current high status.

Tony Fernandes – Team Principal
There has been a lot of speculation recently about the driver line-up. How did you reach your decision?

“Firstly, I would like to say this is an historic day for all us at Lotus F1 Racing as we announce our first driver line-up. We have three drivers who I believe complement each other excellently and who I think represent what Lotus F1 Racing and 1Malaysia is all about. That is not to say it was a straight-forward decision because we spoke with other drivers who I rate very highly, but ultimately we have opted for a careful mix of experience, youth and ambition. In Jarno we have the F1 veteran who proved in 2009 that he is as quick and determined as ever. In Heikki we have a continuing rising star who is still hungry to prove himself, and in Fairuz we have a Malaysian national driver who is eager to progress up the F1 ladder to fulfill the hopes of a nation. It’s the full package if you ask me.”

What do you expect from the drivers in 2010?

“It is more a question of what we all expect from each other rather than just from the drivers. 2010 will be the first season for Lotus F1 Racing and we have a lot to achieve in a short space of time. As with any new venture, it is a case of ‘all hands on deck’. Everybody has a vital role to play but it is about bringing a new team together and gelling. The drivers each bring different experience to the team and I think the combination of their skills will help us quickly establish ourselves as the ones to watch in 2010 and beyond.”

Did you ever think you would see two race winning drivers in the team’s first season?

“I am still pinching myself. We have not even finished our first race car, so to attract two race winning drivers to the team is a huge achievement and honour. I think it is a testament to our ambition and our long-term vision that we have such talent on our books in year one. It is further proof that we are serious about what we do and I am sure the other new teams are looking at us with some envy right now.”

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• chelsea~ on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:20 pm

1st~~

Jarno Trulli and Heikki Kovalainen???

ok what……

• I would prefer kamui kobayashi, he is very talented racer..

• i would prefer kamui kobayashi, he is talented racer..

• donno on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:24 pm

2 good and experienced drivers. All the best Lotus F1!

• not_ah_beng on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:25 pm

LOL wheres the "Jaguh Kampung"?

1Malaysia F1 team with no Malaysian drivers? Hahahhaha what a joke. Even Force India could manage to find some Indians to drive.

Bloody Gahmen. Taxing us with GST to fund this "syok sendiri" project.

• moreno on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:25 pm

1st!!!..

• CommiePig on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:34 pm

You just jealous coz u dont have the requirement to be a F1 driver. i'd say, if you have talent, then Lotus F1 sure will pick u.

• Tiadaid on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:34 pm

not_ah_beng said,

December 14, 2009 @ 12:25 pm

LOL wheres the “Jaguh Kampung”?

1Malaysia F1 team with no Malaysian drivers? Hahahhaha what a joke. Even Force India could manage to find some Indians to drive.

Bloody Gahmen. Taxing us with GST to fund this “syok sendiri” project.

——————

Bodohlah. If they put Fairuz Fauzy in you'll be the first to say he's not qualified. Bodoh, really bodoh!

• dotdot on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:35 pm

all the best to them

hope can get at least one podium finish.

• azrai on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:36 pm

How much the pay for the 2 of them? Salary? I guess it is as the same as the fuel subsidy that to be scrapped in May 2010.

• fareydo on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:36 pm

people, just look for bigger picture… no such thngs as "syok sendiri projek"…..narrow minded

• jeffvip on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:38 pm

I also prefer kamui kobayashi then established driver. It certainly will be much more interesting…

• penang_lang on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:38 pm

so, not_ah_beng, are you volunteering to drive for the team?

• MyCarMyLife on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:41 pm

Yes we will have chance at the next Melbourne GP where there's lots of crashes and maybe 8 cars remaining at the C flag. Yes GP points and Mumms fizzy and all.

• Darius Drake on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:42 pm

I would have preferred it better if Kobayashi was chosen as one of them, but no doubt they value experience in driver selection. Hopefully he'll find himself a seat for next season, it'd be great to see more of his daredevil style of driving. Nevertheless, Congrats to the Lotus F1 Team on the selection of two reliable drivers and may they achieve consistently good results for 2010.

• prefer nico rosberg

• Annihilated on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:48 pm

Not bad. That is a good line up. Hopefully they will deliver.

Kawan.. for the sake of motorsports and auto industries, please take your politics some where else. Thanks!

• Fuego66 on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:50 pm

At least we have our 'own' team to cheer next year! All the best, F1 Lotus!!!!!

• trav_da_man on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:51 pm

Despite i not a fan of Najib's Bn administration, i really behind this F1 Team Lotus. With 2 experienced drivers I bet this will be the best among the 4 new teams. Now bring it on!

• 3gp Big Collection on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:53 pm

I think Trulli still very good, nice job by our first F1 team..

• Ah Tan Workshop on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:55 pm

Until now, we can't see clearly the target benefit from this project..

Tagline 1Malaysia "rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakan"… so whree is the relationship between rakyat and F1 as overall?

Always think this is a money burning project as well… 1 million yearly mahh!

• Ah Tan Workshop on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:56 pm

not million.. billion…maaa :D

• isfufushah on Dec 14, 2009 at 8:57 pm

Lotus F1 have its own website…

http://www.lotusf1racing.my/

isfufushah – iskandar hidayat

• Think positive! good driver means good position for manufacturer category, means that Malaysia will have good names, more laku mah, then proton can sell better also in other country, then more invest from outside, more money also, then can advance better with more money, like tansri limkokwing, he put his brand and market it worldwide, its a crappy brand but good marketing strategy still gives great income but have to put big modal too. risky and costly, but worth it for better tmrw. damn good line-up = pays high = good quality is important.

go LOTUS F1!! i suhpot yu

• Ford_GT on Dec 14, 2009 at 9:11 pm

It's this what you called "Syok Sendiri Project" is part of 9th 1Malaysia plan for development really doesn't take into our current GDP acct, I should say it's more on wasting amount of waters whereby keep flowing to elsewhere that we are unaware of thus I believe our gomen would not able to achieve target 9% this year to recover the old debts.

• iskett on Dec 14, 2009 at 9:15 pm

Impressive… To get two experienced drivers!

Should be good for car development.

But I still don't like Trulli, snobbish Italian geezer..

Hope Trulli can get injured once in a while, hope to see how Fairuz fauzy fare.. kekeke…

Good luck Lotus F1!

• Kereta Superseded MY on Dec 14, 2009 at 9:36 pm

FAIRUZ???

• raist86 on Dec 14, 2009 at 9:43 pm

Those who are whining about the lotus f1 project need to read more about the nature of F1 before they start looking like idiots to others.

Due to the limited amount of seats for F1 drivers, teams usually do not have to pay drivers alot of money for their services unless they are people like shumacher, hamilton, alonso or other high profile drivers. Drivers like kobayashi, trulli, and kovaleinen are selected based on their experience and also most importantly the money that they can bring to the team through either driver sponsorship or personal funds.

• not_ah_beng on Dec 14, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Who says?

Fauzy or even Alex Yoong is for sure not qualified, but at the least, they are Malaysian. We may laugh at them, but they are our fellow countryman.

If you want to put the name of the team as 1Malaysia F1, then hire 2 mat salleh to drive, what you are really saying is, Malaysian not as good as mat salleh in driving?!? Then what you wanna call it 1Malaysia F1 team for? And paint a huge red white and blue Malaysian flag all over the car?

Malaysia became a laughing stock again thanks to some "Syok Sendiri Projek" or known as SSP………sigh.

• not_ah_beng on Dec 14, 2009 at 9:58 pm

Think positive! good driver means good position for manufacturer category, means that Malaysia will have good names, more laku mah, then proton can sell better also in other country, then more invest from outside, more money also, then can advance better with more money,

Think positive doesn't mean daydream.

Even Toyota ran out of F1 business after losing money like water. And they are one of the biggest in the world.

You thought Potong can do better? All I can say is LOL!

• Colin Chapman on Dec 14, 2009 at 10:01 pm

What I really would like to know is how they plan to finance this team.

I want to know that our taxpayer's money is not being used to fund such an activity.

There are much better uses for public money eg. healthcare and education rather than motorsports.

• theanswer on Dec 14, 2009 at 10:15 pm

LOL wheres the “Jaguh Kampung”?

Bloody Gahmen. Taxing us with GST to fund this “syok sendiri” project.

ni lah die org malaysia..karang bile kite amik driver malaysian..die kate nnti jadi alex yoong..x laju..slow.. ni amik experienced driver..kate 'syok sendiri'. susah nak puaskn hati semua org kn?

ini projek berjuta2..so kne la amik yg berkualiti..supaya pulangannye berpatutan.

• not_ah_beng on Dec 14, 2009 at 10:16 pm

Sorry ppl for my narrow mindedness.

• theanswer on Dec 14, 2009 at 10:21 pm

in some situation we cant be too patriotic. see what happen to our national football team..we dont want to use foreign player (of course we give them msian nationality) for our national team for patriotic reason..see what happen? Where else even japan got Brazilian player in their national team..spore got an english player playing for singapore..

• Mysticmind on Dec 14, 2009 at 10:23 pm

All the best.

• firdausasri on Dec 14, 2009 at 10:36 pm

It may be a good news that at least Fairuz got the spot in the team just being a ‘tester’ giving him more mileage under his belt before having a crack at F1. But with test ban in place these days, test drivers are just well filling up the blanks with almost zero mileage of drives. I quote Mike Gascoyne’s statement “He has the talent but we don't want him to 'crash and burn' in the race because of his inexperience”. How can he get more experience by just filling up the blanks and now tell me why should this team branded as “1Malaysia F1 Team” and why it should be supported by Malaysians and why it has to be funded mostly by Malaysians’ conglomerate?

If you look at the stats, Fairuz has participated more formula series than Alex Yoong (touted to be Deputy Team Principal?) and this year finishing runner up beating the likes of Jaime Alguersuari, the Renault driver this year (and almost be certainly be on the second cockpit of Toro Rosso). He certainly deserves F1 seat more than Alex .What more convincing work he has to do now? At the age of 27, it’s now or never!

Of course, he doesn’t score that well in GP2/F3000 but let me give you stats to this argument. Michael Schumacher, Mika Hakkinen, Kimi Raikkonen, Damon Hill, Jacques Villeneuve and newly crowned Jenson Button did not even drive in any of these championships, and yet still became F1 champion. The only person who’s ever won GP2 and doing well in F1 is just Lewis Hamilton. Past GP2/F3000 champions like Björn Wirdheim, Bruno Junqueira and Jörg Müller didn’t even entered a single F1 race.

Well I may be short sighted in this case compared to Tony Fernandes and Mike Gascoyne but I surely think it’s not worth our massive investment. Oh before I forgot, they’re hiring more Malaysians people but let’s hope it’s just not filling up the blanks again. The chassis is designed by Litespeed anyway…

• kobeng on Dec 14, 2009 at 10:37 pm

all the best to lotus F1!

hell with all politics whores who whining about WANG RAKYAT.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 14, 2009 at 10:55 pm

waste all the malaysian's people money….

• car fever on Dec 14, 2009 at 11:11 pm

I wanna see NAJIB in the race seat, LOL !

• Malaysia Motorsport on Dec 14, 2009 at 11:12 pm

Wish the team – all the best in 2010 season

• Hekki!? Whoa!

• apexg2 on Dec 14, 2009 at 11:23 pm

stop arguing about the project la….if u dun like just leave it, the racer and the team have announced, so wut else, just be patriotic about ur country a bit can ar? if put schumacher oso people will complain…we cannot fulfill everybody likes…but think its as our country, nobody want to support others country if we own dun like to support it…if u think ur country always make u upset, stop a simple thing, stop buying subsidies fuel, subsidies rice, sugar, flour….hey, even u eat pisang goreng beside the road also have given subsidies u know….stop bubling la….nobody want to put their capital if there is no profit…simple la…

so, STOP blaiming…take it or leave it…u dun like, dun read…

• Nester Ishmael Rudve on Dec 14, 2009 at 11:24 pm

ah_beng.. wanna knw something, shift to other country, like SINGAPORE or somethg, malaysian dont need you. Maybe u r just a dumb guy that go against everything, because you'll get nothing. Wanna knw? this thing might not bring us back 1Billion a year. But there, there are some students and people, that will learn something from F1, and bring the technology, and adapt it as their carrier, to pump more than just a billion into the country.

Yah, i still promoting you to shift to other countries, that you think much better than malaysia, maybe like US, that pump into GM BILLIONS OF DOLLARS that might be TRILLION ringgits. or Maybe Singapore, that have nothing, just manufacture other people products, and relying foreign investments and their very proudful Pulau Sentosa. Or, you are already a Singaporean, if u are, you are very much appreciated not to say anything here.

and

——————————————————–

theanswer said,

December 14, 2009 @ 2:21 pm

in some situation we cant be too patriotic. see what happen to our national football team..we dont want to use foreign player (of course we give them msian nationality) for our national team for patriotic reason..see what happen? Where else even japan got Brazilian player in their national team..spore got an english player playing for singapore..

aiyo,

they are not brazillian that played football for japan, neither english played for singapore,

it was just their dad/mom is japanese or singaporean, and they live in brazil or england

• theanswer said,

December 14, 2009 @ 2:15 pm

ni lah die org malaysia..karang bile kite amik driver malaysian..die kate nnti jadi alex yoong..x laju..slow.. ni amik experienced driver..kate ’syok sendiri’. susah nak puaskn hati semua org kn?

ini projek berjuta2..so kne la amik yg berkualiti..supaya pulangannye berpatutan.

——————————————————–

eleh, apesal plak?

• question on Dec 14, 2009 at 11:38 pm

so this is where my tax is being used…

• Jumbsuck on Dec 14, 2009 at 11:57 pm

Now Everybody Can Enjoy watching the silly crashings! Have fun lah folks!

• Just_Once on Dec 15, 2009 at 12:04 am

Never try, we never know what will happen..

Don't worry about the results, the important are these will become histories and guidances for our future child..

Don't be stupid DAD!!

• kimi_ on Dec 15, 2009 at 12:14 am

car fever said,

wanna see NAJIB in the race seat, LOL !

——————————————–

ROTHLMAO….i dont think he can fit into the sit. There is no place for his belly :)

• kimi_ sux on Dec 15, 2009 at 12:21 am

Just let fairuz be the 2nd driver. RAKYAT DIDAHULUKAN! PENCAPAIAN DIUTAMAKAN!

• budzer on Dec 15, 2009 at 12:25 am

At last, I have a F1 team to support. Congratulation and good luck to Lotus F1Racing.

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 15, 2009 at 12:29 am

Deep inside the suburb of Sarawak and Sabah, we still have Malaysians lack of food and clean water supply.

Some of these tough students have to endure jungle terrain while 'kayaking' in their long boats to nearest school.

Somewhere at East Coast of Malaysia we have students almost drown going to school everyday because it is rain season.

For the middle class people, most of us are suffering paying insanely high duty tax for imported cars and being taxed again by year end. Not to mention other rising living cost.

Furthermore we're forced consumption of Tin Milo Proton.

Even the great Honda, Toyota and BMW pull-off from F1 due to economic recession.

Now, we have some "syok-sendiri-projek" SSP to sustain some "nafsu-haiwan" conglomerate.

What has become of Malaysia?

What is clearly WRONG is defended as right, and

What is actually RIGHT is said as wrong.

Ignorant people are taking its place in the country's leadership.

If this is a private-initiative "syok-sendiri-projek", I wouldn't care less.

But I really wonder, where does the money from?

After all, it uses 1Malaysia motto. What 1Malaysia?

• stephenstreets on Dec 15, 2009 at 12:34 am

British team, Italian driver , one poor malaysian chap and none stop unnecessary spending by malaysia

All for the sake of 1malaysia that no one really wants to know…..sigh malaysia boleh..i guess…for europeans..

:(

• stephenstreets on Dec 15, 2009 at 12:45 am

Blood sweat and tears of the rakyat each time they pump fuel into the F1 car. I am so ashamed instead of helping our own people like in pahang terengganu whom are homeless with the flood and all, they cant even spend their raya haji decently and we spend so much on entertaining other rich nations who could actually afford an F1 ticket.

No matter who wins we have lost a long time go, even before the flashing green light and the checkered flag.

• car fever said,

December 14, 2009 @ 3:11 pm

I wanna see NAJIB in the race seat, LOL !

yes! let him be in! then crash & burn and die! then have to pay for a new car, waste money again. .LOL!!

• isfufushah said,

December 14, 2009 @ 12:57 pm

Lotus F1 have its own website…

http://www.lotusf1racing.my/

isfufushah – iskandar hidayat

you guys wanna talk bout money wasting? visit the website. for the amount of money used on the project and the website is so not nice. looks cheap. damn cheap like they hire a freelance web developer to create it. shibby. lets talk crap about the everything malaysia!!! its our style! =D

• prolever on Dec 15, 2009 at 1:08 am

here go our cukai, dan lain2 lagi…..

here also go milion ringgit duit rakyat….

better the goverment help poor people at sabah and sarawak and also at kampung2 around semenanjung,,,

very stupid things….

waste money on something that bring back the banefit to the negara and the first is RAKYAT………………

PEACE NO WAR>>>>>

• Looking A Round on Dec 15, 2009 at 1:10 am

heran aku dgn org malaysia ni..buat salah..xbuat salah..nk pe korang ni?..huhu

• sparkoeng on Dec 15, 2009 at 1:14 am

APAKAH FAEDAH LANSUNG DAN TIDAK LANSUNG YANG ANDA SEMUA DAPAT DARI TEAM F1 MALAYSIA INI?

• konon on Dec 15, 2009 at 1:15 am

WELL SAID syoh n stephenstreets!!

i support ur statement!!

• Arcane (Member) on Dec 15, 2009 at 1:50 am

1Malaysia..Trulli Asia

• sparkoeng on Dec 15, 2009 at 1:54 am

People are avoiding doing this F1 business,while the 1malaysia crime ministers are spending tax payer monies like their own.

• mystvearn on Dec 15, 2009 at 2:12 am

Najib dreaming of making another brawn result…

• iskett on Dec 15, 2009 at 2:26 am

Arcane said,

December 14, 2009 @ 5:50 pm

1Malaysia..Trulli Asia

——————————

kikikiki!

• sparkoeng on Dec 15, 2009 at 2:29 am

WTF. wake Malaysian is this the Gov that you want. No responsibilities governing the country and resources like their own? wake up and stop this nonsenses.

• bobby on Dec 15, 2009 at 2:31 am

Fairuz should be given 2 nd placement ? Base on what ? Nepotism ( google yourself ) ?

He is lucky he being given reserve place. He got a reserve place because he is a malaysian and this is a malaysian team.

Those F1 driver out there are like hot cakes since their respective manufacture gulung tikar in F1. There are so so so much talented and experience driver out there and what is Fairuz ( our jaguh kampung ) have ?

Think again.

• Anonymous on Dec 15, 2009 at 2:39 am

Where is Petronas? Still loyal to Sauber ka?

• lotus f1 boleh on Dec 15, 2009 at 2:50 am

hehe..nk buat mcm mana..kapala org malaysia da di tuning mcm gitu..buat salah x buat salah…apa salahnye kasi la sokongan…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 15, 2009 at 2:53 am

THIS 1 MALAYSIA PROJECT IS A CASHCOW FOR THE CORRUPTED. AND AS USUAL YOU MALAYSIAN COWARDS SURRENDER YOURSELF TO THE GOV. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE A LEE KUAN YEW F1 TEAM AND A COMUMNIST CHAIRMAN MAO CHINA F1 TEAM.

• Remedy (Member) on Dec 15, 2009 at 3:02 am

prolever said,

December 14, 2009 @ 5:08 pm

here go our cukai, dan lain2 lagi…..

here also go milion ringgit duit rakyat….

better the goverment help poor people at sabah and sarawak and also at kampung2 around semenanjung,,,

very stupid things….

waste money on something that bring back the banefit to the negara and the first is RAKYAT………………

PEACE NO WAR>>>>>

———————————————

really? get your fact right dude.. dont mislead others.. read this..

http://www.mstar.com.my/variasi/sukan/cerita.asp?…

• lotus f1 boleh on Dec 15, 2009 at 3:04 am

haa….malaysia….jarno TRULLI ASIA….maybe sbb nama belakang dia kot lotus pilih dia jd driver tuk team nih…haha..

• osh_kosh on Dec 15, 2009 at 3:10 am

i can understand why they pick Trulli but Heikki? owh.. come on…

• kalid on Dec 15, 2009 at 3:13 am

Goodluck 1MalaysiaLotusF1 team!!!

• malu aku on Dec 15, 2009 at 3:16 am

salam…

maaf jika aku berbahasa melayu…

sebab aku ni orang melayu yg tinggal di MALAYSIA

ok..kepada sesiapa yg menyokong projek ni..tahniah…masih ramai orang malaysia yang berfikiran terbuka..alhamdulillah….

kalau korang semua nak tahu…

kat malaysia ni..kita ada satu penyakit keturunan….

yakni..Narrow minded!

diturunkan oleh mak bapak yg jugak ada penyakit yg ibarat kurap ni….

paling ramai yg kena penyakit ni..orang melayu…so..kita pon kena berhati2 dengan orang yg ada penyakit ibarat kurap ni…bukan hanya H1N1 je kita kena banteras..Dadah..kes ragut, dan yg paling penting penyakit narrow minded ni…baru malaysia boleh maju…

• Ferruccio on Dec 15, 2009 at 3:45 am

Damned if you do, damned if you don't. I now feel sympathy for Tony. Best to just dig his heels in and focus on the job. Let the results do the talking..

• Nester Ishmael Rudve on Dec 15, 2009 at 3:53 am

——————————————————————

dear, opposition dickheads,

that go against this idea,

read. all of you just know how to assume. Read, all of you just lazy to read. SYOH, KONON, AH BENG,

I think all of you just like typical DAP's, PKR, PAS people that always assume everything was so bad done by the government. Shift to other country, i bet the country will be pleased if you go. And find another country, that you just dont have to read, and assume, then u will always be right. maybe a country named, SINGAfool, or maybe Hong Kong, which you will have, yah, the government will not use your money, but you wont get the subsidy.

then you will still be angry to that contry gov, because they give no subsidy. Every year, the gov gives billions of subsidy, the flour, the rice, the gas n petrol, you schooling fees, your IPTA fees guess how much? HUNDREDS of BILLIONS!!!! In fact, this project, wasnt funded by you, it was funded by 3 anonymous or not very well known billionaires. If its Naza, it wont be a problem, that company worth billions . If its Lotus, dont worry, lotus no longer runs on our money, they can earn it. If its from Air Asia, Tony has lots of money.

What all the fusses about tax?! If you all are opposition, what do they do?! look at selangor! what improvement they have?! at least the GOV tried to take malaysia to a better place in automotive technology.

Please, change yourself, there are pros and cons, but in long term, the cons can be overcame by the pros. With godwill. I'm a permanent resident in malaysia. But i'm still proud being malaysian.

• eVilsin on Dec 15, 2009 at 4:01 am

lotus f1 boleh said,

December 14, 2009 @ 7:04 pm

haa….malaysia….jarno TRULLI ASIA….maybe sbb nama belakang dia kot lotus pilih dia jd driver tuk team nih…haha..

agreed hahahaha

• Nester Ishmael Rudve on Dec 15, 2009 at 4:03 am

Regarding the remote area residents in Sabah and Sarawak, dont worry, our Gov cannot interfere the Sabah and Sarawak administration on their states. Because it was stated in the agreement in the Malaysia formation in 1960's. The federal govt cannot interfere how the Sabah and Sarawak government manage the states. And please, they have been living like that, they wont have much problem with the no electricity, or pipe. Just because we are used to have all the luxuries, doesnt mean we need it. so like them, they wont need the luxuries to live, if they do, they will go to kuching or miri, or KK to earn the luxuries. ok? Read, Think, Talk, Listen, Accept Opinions, and Learn. That's how to be smart. Not, Read, Assume. and thats it.

• raybrig on Dec 15, 2009 at 5:31 am

Tune Racing, now we're racing!, hahaha…

• Good combination of drivers, the experience and the young. Goodluck to the Team.

• sparkoeng on Dec 15, 2009 at 6:06 am

Betulka private fund? Do you belive everything that the Gov tells you? Do you suck all up? Sweet!!

• Komen INI DARI Orang Melayu juga ni tau…

INILAH PENYAKIT PALING BAHAYA YANG DIHIDAPI OLEH KHASNYA ORANG MELAYU MALAYSIA… IAITU PENYAKIT… 'BIAR PAPA ASAL BERGAYA' BANYAK PROJEK NAK BELAGAK DAN BERGAYA INILAH YANG MENJADI NEGARA TADA DUIT DAN RAKYAT DITEKAN DENGAN CUKAI…. NAK BERLAGAK DAN BERGAYA INILAH YANG DITIRU OLEH MELAYU YANG SANGGUP MENGIKAT PERUT DAN BERHUTANG BESAR SEMATA-MATA NAK BERKERETA BESAU… PADAHAL DIRI TAK MAMPU APA PUNYA IDEA NI… BERHABIS SEMATA NAK MENUNJUK-NUNJUK DAN BERLAGAK-LAGAK……

P/S: INI DITUJUKAN KEPADA PEMINAT BLOG PAUL TAN YANG TAK PANDAI BAHASA INGGERIS… DENGAN PESANAN JAUHI PENYAKIT NAK BERLAGAK DAN BERGAYA SEDANGKAN DIRI TAK MAMPU DAN JADI BAHAN KETAWA ORANG…

• DirkTooth on Dec 15, 2009 at 6:07 am

agree with malu aku..

aku pun malu ngan orng Malaysia ni..

otak sempit nk mmpus!!

x penah kuar negara so they dont know how lucky we are here..

agaknya negeri kelahiran dier pun x nah kuar..

lg2 si mazda 3 ni..

otak cam orang kg asli mane tah..

suma bnda nk condemn..

bl brng jepun..

fuyoo…

mak dier orng jepun agaknya..

• paxter on Dec 15, 2009 at 6:13 am

Seriously la malaysians dont be an asshole la… they choose two top drivers you kutuk them for NOT being "1 malaysia" if they took an malaysian you kutuk the driver kaw kaw… i am not a supporter of this project but even i know the diffrence between kutuking for a reason and kutuking for the sake of kutuking….

Grow Up la people

• Nester.

U are an egg head.

The govt can always intervene in Sabah and Sarawak if they want to.

But the Federal Govt only think of Sabah and Sarawak as a caged golden goose. 95% of oil money from Sbh, Swak goes to Federal Govt. And what do the states get in return? Less than what they are entitled too.

I dun think KL/Malaysia would be what it is now if not for the oil money from Sbh, Swk.

Yes, the state govt in both states suck big time, cronyism and all that. Where's the MACC to investigate? Nope, they just let it suck so that they can suck the oil out of the states.

What abt the people? Suffering. Not all, the cities are ok. But the ppl living in the interior could do with water and electricity. Not all people want to live like cavemen. It's just that they have no choice. Clean water, electricity is not considered luxury in this day and age. It is a necessity.

Talking abt earning a living, salaries in Sbh and Swak are lower by 15-20% compared to peninsular, while living expenses are 5-10% higher. U think the ppl are happy with that? A lot of ppl are not. It's just that most ppl tend to not make much noise abt it. Sometimes, I think the Borneons are too meek for their own good, and that's why the get bullied.

I know a lot of ppl from these 2 states wish the states did not join Malaysia. The states might be more well off with it's resources and smaller population.

It's not to say we are not unpatriotic, don't get me wrong, we are still proud and appreciate living in a harmonious country and all. It's just that the way it's being run makes us sad. So do you wonder why people from Sabah and Sarawak are always Sabahans/Sarawakians 1st and Malaysians 2nd?

Ppl from the peninsular will never understand how the people from these 2 states feel, cos there dun even care to know and understand. Even in terms of racial harmony, most west malaysians only know melayu, cina, india. What abt all the native groups in Borneo? Most west malaysians don't even know much about them. Over here, we practice 1 Malaysia since before independence. There's less racial polarisation. Eg. there's no real single race party in Sarawak. Even the SUPP, which is a Chinese Majority party have natives among their members and leaders. Whereas the native majority parties like SPDP have chinese member and leaders. Race is not a major issue there. Very seldom do you see this in West Malaysian Parties. Over here, the agenda is mostly about development and welfare. Not as much over money politics. Sure it exist, and a lot of ppl know who the biggest culprit is. But with no real alternative, is it a wonder why the ppl continue to vote the same govt? The west malaysian based parties (PAS/PKR/DAP) don't really care what happens in borneo. There are only there to pursue their own agenda, and to grab parlimentary seats so that they can form the fed govt. Is it any wonder, esp in S'wak that West Malaysian parties don't fare well? Where's the domestic politics? Ppl there care more about domestic politics 1st then national politics.

You are telling people to be smart, not read and assume. How about you? Do you do the same? From the tone of your writing, you are a hypocrite.

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 15, 2009 at 6:22 am

Nester Ishmael Rudverg said,

December 14, 2009 @ 7:53 pm

——————————————————————

dear, opposition dickheads,

that go against this idea,

read. all of you just know how to assume. Read, all of you just lazy to read. SYOH, KONON, AH BENG,

I think all of you just like typical DAP’s, PKR, PAS people that always assume everything was so bad done by the government. Shift to other country, i bet the country will be pleased if you go. And find another country, that you just dont have to read, and assume, then u will always be right. maybe a country named, SINGAfool, or maybe Hong Kong, which you will have, yah, the government will not use your money, but you wont get the subsidy.

then you will still be angry to that contry gov, because they give no subsidy. Every year, the gov gives billions of subsidy, the flour, the rice, the gas n petrol, you schooling fees, your IPTA fees guess how much? HUNDREDS of BILLIONS!!!! In fact, this project, wasnt funded by you, it was funded by 3 anonymous or not very well known billionaires. If its Naza, it wont be a problem, that company worth billions . If its Lotus, dont worry, lotus no longer runs on our money, they can earn it. If its from Air Asia, Tony has lots of money.

What all the fusses about tax?! If you all are opposition, what do they do?! look at selangor! what improvement they have?! at least the GOV tried to take malaysia to a better place in automotive technology.

Please, change yourself, there are pros and cons, but in long term, the cons can be overcame by the pros. With godwill. I’m a permanent resident in malaysia. But i’m still proud being malaysian

———————–

Man, there is no such thing called subsidy but tax payer money."Subsidy" is just word use by ruling goverment to woo sympathy from voters. May i know where the so called "subsidy" money comes from?

So what's wrong with Selangor G now? No development talk only? Another narrow minded people. I never see government like what Selangor is doing now. When water tycoon earns RM500K salary/month they come to fight the people rights. At least its a releaf.

• ThatWhyWeHate! on Dec 15, 2009 at 6:23 am

Satu lagi project BN! berapa lagi billion dibakar begitu saja!

Service tax, here your money goes!

Sucking bloddy duit rakyat!

We hate you!

• Stupid drivers… ish… especially hekki…

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 15, 2009 at 6:51 am

Trulli and Heikki made up a good pairing but the inconsistency of both drivers may jeopardise Lotus F1 any point finishing position.

• Tiadaid on Dec 15, 2009 at 7:13 am

Automotive_Critics said,

December 14, 2009 @ 10:22 pm

So what’s wrong with Selangor G now? No development talk only? Another narrow minded people. I never see government like what Selangor is doing now. When water tycoon earns RM500K salary/month they come to fight the people rights. At least its a releaf.

——————–

I'm living in Selangor. My area's still the same, no difference under Opposition rule than when BN ruled. The only difference is there's more banners proclaiming more ceramah organized by them.

• xptmsb07_09 (Member) on Dec 15, 2009 at 7:25 am

jgan jd katak bwh tempurung la… nak belajar kena melabur.. hitech ma.. takkan nak buat keta lembu sepanjang hayat.. nak g bulan kena wat roket.. nak wat roket pun kena la wat yg elok2 n hitech.. ni la masa nak belajar.. kalau wat roket pakai mulut je, nanti takut terlanggar bulan lak.. karang pecah dua lak bulan 2.. skrg kita leh tengk ape yang kida dapat wat benda mega2, org dah kenal kita, kita mampu buat,, nanti ada org dtg melabur dan rakyat dapat keja.. dapat la idup.. so nak belajar kena la buang duit sikit.. tak salah untuk ilmu..

• scottloeb on Dec 15, 2009 at 7:27 am

so fakup lah. Take your politics elsewhere. This article is about LotusF1. Its there, you like it you can support it. If ask people even FIFA world cup is a waste. There's market, if its a flop then let them suffer. Naza and Tony own money. You dont like, dont take AirAsia, don't buy Naza AP cars/Mazda/Ferrari. Take SQ, Garuda, TG. Pay lah.

• Freedome on Dec 15, 2009 at 8:32 am

stupid people do this u say like that and do that u say else

waste there waste here…..burn people money la mcm2

if u all care about your country and then why u buy other county brand

other county product…support other country sport like football or other

why u all not support your owen county player in what ever spot the in

why u all not buy Malaysia brand

why u all not get tour in your owen county

n bla…bla…bla….

say patriotic la……waste money la…….

but the one who relay waste that Malaysia money money k

buy other county product n support their spot or else

make our money by the flow like water to their county like bilion even trilion

u all watch their spot only just make them rich not ++ with buy their product

than u all want 2 say about money flow

sport other international player…team….like football as we no

like AC MU or else than u say about patriotic

shame on U…just know 2 say something but not know the meaning

sorry to say

• Nester Ishmael Rudve on Dec 15, 2009 at 8:34 am

KY said,

December 14, 2009 @ 10:15 pm

Nester.

U are an egg head.

The govt can always intervene in Sabah and Sarawak if they want to.

But the Federal Govt only think of Sabah and Sarawak as a caged golden goose. 95% of oil money from Sbh, Swak goes to Federal Govt. And what do the states get in return? Less than what they are entitled too.

I dun think KL/Malaysia would be what it is now if not for the oil money from Sbh, Swk.

Yes, the state govt in both states suck big time, cronyism and all that. Where’s the MACC to investigate? Nope, they just let it suck so that they can suck the oil out of the states.

What abt the people? Suffering. Not all, the cities are ok. But the ppl living in the interior could do with water and electricity. Not all people want to live like cavemen. It’s just that they have no choice. Clean water, electricity is not considered luxury in this day and age. It is a necessity……..and somemore he said.

—————————————————–

sure? man. I'm no hypocrite more than you are.

ok fine. your opinion is accepted. but still, the money is there for them. its the leaders who dont do the work. if they ask for money from the Fed Gov. sure they will give it. But then? Its not the Fed Gov fault. And dont worry, the developement takes longer time. The development here, in small peninsular, it takes us more than 50 years to be in this state. Sabah Sarawak is much bigger, double the peninsular. and they get the independence slightly later than us. Not everyone can expect them to develop at same rate like us. It takes billions of ringgit, that's why there are many new dams build at the west of Malaysia. to get them better supply of water and generates electricity. Development aint cheap. There are some place to be developed first, to attract some money, then you can develop the other places. I love reading your comment.

And to reach them are days of travelling, to go back and send the information takes another few days. The info will be late, as well as the development. Its not that the Gov aint trying. I bet every Gov will do the same help the poor. Just it takes time.

thanx KY. love to know a lil bit more.

——————————————–

and sparkoeng,

have you read? it wasnt the gov who said that.

———————————————–

and auto critics,

and? what that guy do?

and the tycoon is politician? i dont get it. and i'm not bothered to say anything from you. You better be like KY, its a better guy to argue with. than just an empty talk.

• teamslepnine on Dec 15, 2009 at 8:46 am

errr…this is automotive blog not malaysia kni

• Nester Ishmael Rudve on Dec 15, 2009 at 8:48 am

The F1, if its funded by the gov, i promise you it wont be funded 1billion a year. Whats the use of sponsors if the G supports all right? Its not that i want to win all about the project. It just that, i wish we are more open to accept new things, to face the down or up of a possiblities. If we are not that open, we aint go anywhere, cause then we will be to coward to have risk of any oppurtunities. Each step further comes with risk. We are malaysian, we have an F1 team, we support together, we have ill fated or misfortuned friends or families in Borneo, we try to help them together. I'm a dutch, but i'm malaysian. My wife is a chinese, and she is malaysian. and you out there, might be an indian, or malay, or murut, Iban or any other ethnics, we are malaysian. just hope we can go thru all of this as one.

p/s: i wish there is no more term of bangsa, kaum instead, cuz for me, bangsa is nationalities, and kaum is ethnics, correct me if i'm wrong.

• malu aku on Dec 15, 2009 at 8:54 am

huhu to mr olan…

why? do u ve the disease? i think u are…

thats why u so piss off hahaha…

hmm..but im agree with u bout u said…

"biar pape asal bergaye"

but for this project i dont think, our government stupidly throw their money!

n we r not gonna broke (papa) like u said…

huhu whatever mr.olan..u ve the disease…better im not talk with u…

huhuhu for those…stay away from mr.olan..he ve a Narrow minded disease..

afraid to be laughed…mean u afraid of losing…

n u r not going anywhere…stay behind mr.olan…bye2…owh i cant see u…

u so faaaaaaaaaar behind!

• LotusF1 Supporter on Dec 15, 2009 at 11:07 am

I don't understand where people are coming from with the whole "ZOMG, OUR MONIES IS GOING TO GO TO THIS. BAD GOVERNMENT BAD!"

They specifically said that no money from government will go into this project, all funded by AirAsia and Naza primarily. Sooo yeah. <_< And if money does come from us to go into the project, they'd cover it up pretty well and you wouldn't know and would probably go on with your life none the wiser so it makes no difference. And if it does come out that we're actually funding the team, well…more fodder for your great Pakatan to take over come next election and we'll see what they do with an ideologically divided party. :) Pakatan is a marriage of convenience…if they come into power, the coalition will be rife with infighting and we all suffer. However, I hope I'm wrong on that.

Another thing, I'm glad they didn't put Fairuz as primary driver. Boy has no experience yet. Better to have him prepped and then go rather than letting him take the race just because he's Malaysian. That would be foolish at best.

Anyway, congrats LotusF1!! MAKE US PROUD AS YOU FLY THE JALUR GEMILANG PAST THE FINISH LINE TO CLAIM FIRST PLACE! =D We can all hope. ;)

• psikotix on Dec 15, 2009 at 11:30 am

bukan ni projek swasta ker???tony,naib presiden dia,dgn tokey naza yg keluarkan duit untuk projek ni???tokey naza sendiri ckp dia guna duit sendiri melalui pinjaman bank untuk melabur.apala rakyat malaysia.suka sgt kutuk kerajaan.pdhal kerajaan hanya letakkan nama 1malaysia jer dan bg sokongan logistik.ptuih!!klu dah pembangkang,pembangkang jugak

• INsecticon on Dec 15, 2009 at 12:30 pm

If Najib drove for F1 , imagine Rosmah as the umbrella lady …picture that dickheads !!! Now your occipital lobe is crying haha

• apexg2 on Dec 15, 2009 at 4:37 pm

want to ask something…since when u all pay tax witout the profit?

roadtax…..sure u use the road rite?have to pay la..

incometax..u get salary by working in malaysia….have to pay la…

export tax..u use the other country product, have to pay la…

service tax…u eat at mcD or other restaurant….they give u the service, have to pay la….

then compare it with ur everyday use…..i think lots of subsidies thing u use everyday….government have to pay la…so,government not support u or u not supporting your government…stop the typical minded la bro….we are all malaysian….wut more u hope…government give u free roti canai at mamak stall for free ar?

dun be so typical…me oso malaysian……so, im very proud tobe malaysians….are u?

• scanzew on Dec 15, 2009 at 4:48 pm

alamak WTF…..i prefer Jacques Villeneuve as senior driver and Kamui Kobayashi..trulli is favor maybe because Mike Gascoyne is in the track….not so good decision i think….heikki Ok for second driver…………

• paxter on Dec 15, 2009 at 5:10 pm

http://en.espnf1.com/f1/motorsport/story/5062.htm… OMG!

schumacher returning to f1 btw petronas sponsorship is now for mercedes not sauber… dont believe me wait a few days.

• lotus f1 supporter on Dec 15, 2009 at 5:41 pm

biar la mereka yg berpikiran sempit nih….f1 ni xde kena mengena ngn projek BN ke G or so on…ni ada lah projek swasta..kolobrasi antara naza..proton ngn air asia….goverment just kasi support dr segi logistik sahaja…again..SAHAJA…plz open ur mind n open ur eyes….kalau x nk sokong…kalau x suke…u can blah…..kita disini utk memberi sokongan kepada mereka bukan nye menghentam mereka..BLOM TRY BLOM TAU….n aku pelik kenapa boleh pulak bukak topik yg x de kaitan ngn permotoran….wei..nk bukak topik lain..g tmpt lain la….surely xde point nk hentam kerajaan jer…hampeh la…especially pembangkang2 sekalian nih….to mazda 3…jgn libat kn org bukan malaysia….they r not malaysian !!!jd..ayuh sama2 kita bg sokongan kepada mereka..sekurang2 nya..beri la mereka peluang tuk mereka lakukan yg terbaik….good luck LOTUS F1 RACING

• dzulx on Dec 15, 2009 at 5:49 pm

Dear some of the commentator..

Congratulation… PR has educated you very very well.. to believe more in rumors/hype/lies than fact… Please somebody show me the fact that taxpayer money is being used in this project… any report from treasury or PAC perhaps??

If you dont have the fact please dont be so hype up over rumors… I dun believe in govt either but without fact we can only speculate..

Being a neutral minded… I welcomed this project as long as no govt monetary involvement.. (indirectly they might give some support here and there..) … at least I have a home team to support..

But I just concern than this project will be one-off with no good result… they are putting Malaysia and Lotus name at stake…

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 15, 2009 at 5:52 pm

Good luck to Tony Fernandes and Lotus F1 Racing! I've always been supporting Williams F1. Now I have 1 more team to support alongside Williams F1. Yeah!! Go Lotus F1!

• stephenstreets on Dec 15, 2009 at 6:12 pm

Technology advancement? Narrow minded? Not Gov funded?

LOL- I think lotus would give our country men the opportunity to wipe the tyres and clean the car from each race. Its a british team handling highly precision formula 1 car with advance telemetry and electronic chips.You think some white dude gonna let you touch the car in the name of 1malaysia(regardless you put money on the team or not) and hope for the best. They would rather trust the germans, spaniards , itallians and even the indians, at least these guys have their own f1 teams without the aid of the aid of their gov.

As for Narrow minded mentality , what are the ideas outside our mind that you talk about? Is malaysia gonna spend an annual RM200 million each year on a british team only to have 1malaysia staple on the rear end of the car(and on the teams rear end fire resistant suits). Next time when your kids ask what is 1malaysia we point to the british rear end whenever they squat.

We are the only country in the world spending tons of money on another foreign country team, malaysia Boleh or 1malaysia or whatever suits your Technology advancement and Narrow minded arguments and help you sleep.

Damn stupid to spend…seriously!

• dzulx on Dec 15, 2009 at 6:33 pm

stephenstreets said,

December 15, 2009 @ 10:12 am

————–

Dear Stephen.. can you provide fact that Govt is going to spend RM200mil each year for this?? It is not in budget 2010.

I am interested to know too so that I can bash govt like crazy…

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 15, 2009 at 6:47 pm

lotus f1 supporter said,

December 15, 2009 @ 9:41 am

Hello? Excuse me, Proton is government property, hence it's Rakyat property. Hello? Which part of Malaysia you're staying?

Proton is made up from the government controlling tool of Khazanah Negara. Under the banner of car manufacturing, Proton is given the ultimate protection for it to operate for the past 25 years (even with losses).

So tell me "abang bukan pemikiran sempit"? What kind of "private financial initiative" money they're using to fund this "syok-sendiri-projek" when the rest of the world is suffering from recession? It must be from our abundant tax payers' money right?

Perhaps your "advance economical" advice will be great for struggling Malaysians. I'm waiting for your "pemikiran terbuka" opinion.

• racer on Dec 15, 2009 at 6:50 pm

OK project swasta…pinjam bank…billion billion…good. Lastl last bungkus…siapa akan tolong…goverment juga (dah banyak gov backup private comp)…gov guna duit siapa??

3 comp ni…kenapa tak buat join research to produce very good cheap car for malaysian…macam kia/hyundai produce engine! They will get the benefits for sure!

• dzulx on Dec 15, 2009 at 7:16 pm

SY0H said,

December 15, 2009 @ 10:47 am

lotus f1 supporter said,

December 15, 2009 @ 9:41 am

Hello? Excuse me, Proton is government property, hence it’s Rakyat property. Hello? Which part of Malaysia you’re staying?

————————–

Wah… so Proton has something to do with the project??

Tell me more…any financial report saying that Proton spend money on this??

If for advertisement… give 'em a break will you… they gonna spend that amount of money anyway…

I thought Proton get more revenue by licensing "Lotus" brand??

• dzulx on Dec 15, 2009 at 7:19 pm

racer said,

December 15, 2009 @ 10:50 am

OK project swasta…pinjam bank…billion billion…good. Lastl last bungkus…siapa akan tolong…goverment juga (dah banyak gov backup private comp)…gov guna duit siapa??

—————

This is what I afraid gonna happen.. Hope not… But dont you think its not fair blaming govt for the thing not even happening yet?? Unless it is contractual..

But if it does and govt need to bail out… theyll know where my vote gonna be..

• apexg2 on Dec 15, 2009 at 7:21 pm

paultan…please look at this all comments…please do not arguing here in paultan blog…..this story will never settle…so please…if want to support, go on, if not dun comment…

• stephenstreets on Dec 15, 2009 at 7:21 pm

dzulx said,

December 15, 2009 @ 10:33 am

stephenstreets said,

December 15, 2009 @ 10:12 am

————–

Dear Stephen.. can you provide fact that Govt is going to spend RM200mil each year for this?? It is not in budget 2010.

I am interested to know too so that I can bash govt like crazy…

————–

Hi dzulx,

The last time we got news on this f1 team, we hear that its gonna get its money from a very generous private malaysian company for the amount of RM165 million and more.(why would they give that insane amount of money- god knows?) I m pretty sure its definitely not in the budget then again so is bailing out MAS, proton and tons of other glc companies. I dont bash for the sake of bashing , i merely provide my concerns. If no one hears them fine, if some one notice them good. But at the end of the day when shit hits the fans i can say " I told you so"

• dzulx on Dec 15, 2009 at 7:38 pm

stephenstreets said,

December 15, 2009 @ 11:21 am

————–

Hi dzulx,

The last time we got news on this f1 team, we hear that its gonna get its money from a very generous private malaysian company for the amount of RM165 million and more.(why would they give that insane amount of money- god knows?) I m pretty sure its definitely not in the budget then again so is bailing out MAS, proton and tons of other glc companies

—————————–

So in other words you assume and do not have the fact…. In fact you even said it was a Private Malaysian Company..

Wah… I want to know too when Proton bailed out by govt?

Anyway…. I am happy with the fact that we have our home team..Gimme me a reason to follow F1 which I didnt for sometime…

• Ah Tan Workshop on Dec 15, 2009 at 7:56 pm

Petronas income decreases now, so our G will carry on with hutang/defisit to support this F1 expenses of USD300 million every year.

So our Boleh G will looking for alternative income from rakyat on new lines of tax like credit card, properties sold.. etc

• awg1031 on Dec 15, 2009 at 8:06 pm

fairuz got no/less experienced?? so when will he have it other than now…the government always takes the faster route.sigh…slow2 la~

well, what technology transfer? can someone explain?? NAZA is not a car manufacturer..airasia is ofcoz not..all of the sponsors are not related directly with producing car..in the end, will proton needs to pay more for the technology??

gomen just want to take part to promote more of the country name. yet. the profit won't be share to us..mostly will go to their pocket money..trust me, or u still have ur eyes shut!!??

• awg1031 on Dec 15, 2009 at 8:10 pm

this is a mess ever since the government wants to put their name on it..just put airasia or naza there, or another name instead…

government should not dwell too much on not-so-important things like this……syuh2..go do something else important..this is not our necessity

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 15, 2009 at 8:13 pm

Tiadaid said,

December 14, 2009 @ 11:13 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

December 14, 2009 @ 10:22 pm

So what’s wrong with Selangor G now? No development talk only? Another narrow minded people. I never see government like what Selangor is doing now. When water tycoon earns RM500K salary/month they come to fight the people rights. At least its a releaf.

——————–

I’m living in Selangor. My area’s still the same, no difference under Opposition rule than when BN ruled. The only difference is there’s more banners proclaiming more ceramah organized by them.

———–

You people maybe high income person. To me so far many changes brought by this new Selangor G to appreciate. Water scheme, Tawas programme etc is not huge but at least a relief for me as low income earner. I didn't see any of this under previous G. Thanks.

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 15, 2009 at 8:27 pm

Nester Ishmael Rudverg said,

December 15, 2009 @ 12:34 am

KY said,

December 14, 2009 @ 10:15 pm

and auto critics,

and? what that guy do?

and the tycoon is politician? i dont get it. and i’m not bothered to say anything from you. You better be like KY, its a better guy to argue with. than just an empty talk.

————-

I'm not saying tycoon is politician. The matter is the they put water tariff sky high and everytime demand for tariff increase with unchange service just to pay the boss with very-very high salary. Water is come from sky not like oil that need huge cost. So was the act of the new G is wrong? It just suit their manifesto to work for poor like me. I don't want to call you stupid but you yourself deserve to be called stupid.

• stephenstreets on Dec 15, 2009 at 8:28 pm

dzulx said,

December 15, 2009 @ 11:38 am

stephenstreets said,

December 15, 2009 @ 11:21 am

————–

Hi dzulx,

The last time we got news on this f1 team, we hear that its gonna get its money from a very generous private malaysian company for the amount of RM165 million and more.(why would they give that insane amount of money- god knows?) I m pretty sure its definitely not in the budget then again so is bailing out MAS, proton and tons of other glc companies

—————————–

So in other words you assume and do not have the fact…. In fact you even said it was a Private Malaysian Company..

Anyway…. I am happy with the fact that we have our home team..Gimme me a reason to follow F1 which I didnt for sometime…

————————————————

Hi dzulx,

Here's some fact for your statements

this was the company
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/spor…

this is when it loss your money
    http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20…
    this is when it got bailed out
    http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601080&a…

I could get tons and tons of facts for you and what astounds me is not that proton got bailed , who paid for the f1 team and the tons of money spent and etc but your love for f1 irregardless of more important matter in our tanah air.

With ref to your last statement

I m actually happy to find an f1 fan as yourself like me but the only reason i can give you not to follow f1 is this
    http://www.mysinchew.com/node/29340

enuff said. thank you for reading dzulx

• http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/1…

its not just the 2 foreign driver.. so fairuz got in aswell huh! die lah like this. until he shows us he can get a place on the opodium then ill salute him LOL

• malu aku on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:20 pm

hmm well said…

for those yg TAK NAK support this project..just stay away!…

ok if next year..this team, Paling Busuk pun Ranking in TOP 5….

Do u NarrowMinded fellows..still whining bout…"ah..my money"…"oh no our money been using stupidly..bla bla" and so on?

just asking..are u guys still whining?

lagi…yang korang kata pakai duit rakyat bla..bla.. itu ini…korang ni hidup susah sangat ke?

dah merempat sangat ke?

boleh dok blajar tinggi2 (yang MARA taja pon ada)

boleh dok hisap rokok lagi walaupun naik harga…boleh dok tukar2 keret lagi..

boleh bat kenduri kawin lagi…

boleh makan kat gerai mamak lain…boleh renovate rumah lagi..tukar sport rim kereta…CUKUP je duit…biasa la…kat dunia ni..lagi banyak duit lagi tak pernah cukup!!

BERSYUKUR LA APA YANG ADA!! n KALAU RAJIN BELAJAR LA TENTANG SEMANGAT PATRIOTIK OK…tak payah tgk jauh! indonesia je CUKUP! dorang lagi susah dari kita…tp semangat patriotisme dorang kuat..bukan mcm sesetengah kita…FIKIR2kan lah

• squawk on Dec 15, 2009 at 11:10 pm

If the govt had a more liberal auto policy, the tech transfer excuse might work a little. Otherwise, with a stagnant or shrinking industry or market, there's not much reason to transfer anything.

And if you see Amanah Saham F1, you know you've been screwed.

Btw, on the Selangor issue… from all the feedback I get from people having to deal with the local councils, it seems positive. Cases of "admin fees" needed to get work done are rare now. And there's actually work being done although there's a lot of cleaning up & changing of work ethics to do still. But that's just hearsay.

• not_ah_beng on Dec 15, 2009 at 11:52 pm

All those who claim Tony F financing this from his own pocket are either:

1) don't know anything about finance,

2) liars

AirAsia post profit of only around RM300million for WHOLE of 2008.

Cost for running a middle of range F1 team, around RM100-200 million….PER YEAR.

So you meant to tell me Tony F gonna take 1/3-2/3 of his whole company PROFIT to pump into the stupid F1 team? Every year? You thought he is that wasteful ah?

Dey, AirAsia is not Tony Fernandes' company nowadays okey!?? They got other shareholders and investors, even though Tony hold the biggest share. Even if Naza put in 100 million and Tony F put in 100 million (not that Naza net income is even close to Airasia) its ridiculous to think they will pick up the whole bill when the benefits is so much less.

• Tiadaid on Dec 16, 2009 at 4:17 am

Automotive_Critics said,

December 15, 2009 @ 12:13 pm

You people maybe high income person. To me so far many changes brought by this new Selangor G to appreciate. Water scheme, Tawas programme etc is not huge but at least a relief for me as low income earner. I didn’t see any of this under previous G. Thanks.

——————

High income? Hah, I wish! Yes water scheme is there, but for how long? When it's not feasable, surely that program will go away. And all I can see in my area are banners proclaming another ceramah. The roads are the same, the facilities are the same, nothing is different at all. And it's almost 2 years into their reign! All they can do is petty politicking, like stepping on the mat with the faces of the three Perak reps.

• sparkoeng on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:26 am

Even the BN gov canot give free water for its 50 years under them.

• makan makan on Dec 16, 2009 at 9:31 am

not ah beng macha…

How old are you ahh..seriously!

You thought Tony and others will spend the money without get nothing..Ever heard about revenue from advertisement..Lu ingat Petronas paid 200 ringgit to place their company name and logo on Sauber car! Airasia and other companies can reroute some of the duit iklan to iklan on Lotus F1 as well. Lu tgk baju Formula1 cukuplah..mcm-mcm logo ada, sampai tak nampak kain..thats all generate income lah macha..lu igt boleh suka-suka ke nak tampal logo ni.

Dont underestimate Tony lah macha..If lu really concerned about money spent..buat apa susah susah trained team bola, bagi duit + datuk lagi pada badminton player..bukan boleh apa pun. Might as well, guna allocation utk sport activities ni for poor/deserve people. Kalau menang world cup pun, boleh apa? excitement, proud..boleh makan/kenyang ke excitement and proud ni?

One more, ask people, why wear 2-3 thousands Ringgit watch..? yg 50 ringgit kat Petaling street could not do the job ke?

Psl water scheme..interesting, due to the issue with water meter etc.. those yg duduk kat low cost flat( which really deserved this) yg ni tak dapat pulak..so much so of the failure to properly plan

• nhl (Member) on Dec 16, 2009 at 4:59 pm

I think the goverment money are people money so it should be used to serve the people,currently we have a lot of people problem…

1.flooding

2.budget deficit

3.high taxes such a income tax and car import tax,meaning the country is not having enough income..and more taxes to come like gst.

4.bad public transportation.

5.etc…etc

then again

I also support f1 involvement…and lets hope those who got involved actually learn and not just go holidaying…but the financing part I would say the program cannot use people money because this not the people immediate problem,this is more to a hobby with international exposure and hopefully technology transfer and most countries can thrive without one,for example..korea,japan,usa and germany.So the money should come from the

1.Generous private company sponsor.

2.advertisement.

3.fans,just like epl…..f1 fans should pay for the stuff they like.guess this should be fair to the epl guys who is paying rm 12 more for their astro rights and of course tickets,and fair to those who don't watch.

4.Ok,maybe the country can help a bit by not imposing excessive tax on the f1 team,if they ever make any money but not the team staff and drivers.

5.Make sure the whole team payroll do not escape malaysian income tax,they have to know their patriotism as a malaysian since its everyone knowledge f1 have fat cat pay check.

• tengkurex on Dec 17, 2009 at 6:48 pm

Sir Richard Branson issues a challenge to AirAsia boss Tony Fernandes to dress up as a Virgin cabin crew attendant if Virgin Racing fare better than AirAsia-sponsored Lotus F1 next season.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/motorsport/formul…

• Whoeva on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:48 pm

not_ah_beng said,

December 14, 2009 @ 2:16 pm

Sorry ppl for my narrow mindedness.

Thank you for admitting! narrow minded!! boo..