Will USF1 make way for Stefan GP in Bahrain?

USF1

American team USF1 was missing at the Jerez test this week and rumors are saying that they are pretty much on the verge of just quitting F1. If this happens, it would hopefully give Serbian team Stefan GP an entry in the grid. They are ready as they bought Toyota’s car and renamed it the Stefan S-01.

There have been plenty of word being exchanged about USF1 – including a rumor that YouTube would be backing out of their sponsorship and moving the money to another team. “The bottom line is really simple: sponsor money didn’t come through the way it was supposed to and it has grinded down the company to a halt. They’re having trouble making payroll, they’re having trouble paying suppliers and that’s the situation they find themselves in,” said an anonymous source in news reports. USF1 Team Principal Ken Anderson admitted with a rather ‘glass half full’ view that “a couple of sponsors have let us down a little but, but we’re on track.”

In fact, yesterday the US F1 Team website went down, and many took it as a signal that the team had finally folded. But the team’s Twitter account posted a message saying “The US F1 Team web server is down and is being repaired as this is written. We are not gone, as many have reported. More news soon.” We’re definitely waiting for more news!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Awkward…

• l3 l i t z on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:18 pm

Maybe we'll see the White House painted on the front of the car huh???

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:19 pm

this is lol

• mr5zal on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:22 pm

well it's not easy to run an F1 team. but, i heard that the car will be piloted by sexy driver.hahaha

• race fan on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:35 pm

They're gone!

• f1 fan on Feb 19, 2010 at 9:05 pm

usf1 should change to 1MF1 so they will get govt backed money source…

• Try 1AmericaF1…..mana tau can get support one….

Tiru la macam 1Malaysia. It is sooooo sucesssful what. Now, everything oso ONE this, ONE that…..Everything oso 1finger….

• Jamal on Feb 19, 2010 at 11:45 pm

fantastic news. me never fancy the yanks.

• Serbia 1

USA 0

• Tommy on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:41 am

Aiyer…

• yankee_rob on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:13 am

Hey Jamal, go take a long walk off a short pier. How many Americans do you personally know? I would venture to say 0. So keep your racist comments to yourself.

yankee_rob

London, UK

• @yankee_rob, the comment that jamal made is not in anyway racist. He did not even make mention of any aspect of race at all. And guess what we don't all have to love the yanks. So please keep quiet.

Secondly GO STEFAN GP.

• yankee_rob on Feb 21, 2010 at 5:33 am

@Leon, no your wrong! To publicly state that you are glad that an F1 team might fail because you hate Americans is a racist xenophobic comment. What give you the right to pass judgement on an entire nations people.

How do you think people would react if Jamal said he was glad that an F1 team failed because he doesn't like Africans or Middle Easterns. Someone would be offended.

I don't like a lot of things I see on tv about American foreign policy, but I am not going to tar every person from that country with the same brush. We all love F1 and I for one would love to see it take off in the US.

Last, your right not everyone has to like the "yanks", but you do have to keep your offensive comments to yourself. The fact that you quite happily state you hate any person from the US without even knowing them shows how small minded you are. Look at yourself in the mirror because you have issues.

• race fan on Feb 21, 2010 at 7:15 am

Lets stay from racial comments shall we.

Back to the topic, I think USF1 are gone, finished, kaputt and best be forgotten. FIA should now review their selection process. How were these people even granted a slot. There was supposed to be due diligence. I remember USF1 seemingly having the longest lead time among the newcomers to prepare themselves and now it looks like they are the WORST prepared. And they're still spewing their usual PR BS.

The focus should now turn to FIA/FOM and how USF1 and Campos were chosen over reputable, bonafide applicants such as Lola and Prodrive. It's baffling.

• yankee_rob on Feb 21, 2010 at 8:40 am

Well said race fan. I would agree how did these guys get a slot? It has been the most unorganised mess I have ever seen from a professional sport franchise and yet they keep spinning their lies. The thing that f**ks me off is that they have deemed themselves the national f1 team of america and all they have done is embarrass us and the sport.

• Yankees_Suck on Feb 22, 2010 at 2:04 pm

Stupid bloody Americans wasting everyones time!

• lowprofile on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:05 pm

perhaps they should use their indy car to race ;)

• razin88 (Member) on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:38 am

this team is a complete joke..

the FIA have made new rules where teams could misses a couple of grand prix and new points system.. its all in favour of the yanks..

to attract them to watch real racing..with full of excitement..

not by circling that giant bowl until you puke..

but still they could not make it to the grid..