New Mazda 5 joins the smiley faced family!

As Mazda replaces its range with the polarizing “smiley face” look model by model, a day will come when one will have to not consider the brand at all if he/she doesn’t “get” the design language (me for instance). The latest model to cross the bridge is the new Mazda 5 MPV launched at Geneva.

The standout aesthetic feature are those lines that flow along the 5’s profile, the first full application of the brand’s Nagare Flow design language previewed by its recent concept cars. The said lines combine with Mazda’s signature sculpted wheelarches and the curvy front end to create a cohesive look and a good Cd value of 0.30. Rear pillar metal have been deleted and the previous car’s high mounted tail lamps are ditched for conventionally placed items that go better with the new image. The 5’s segment unique dual sliding doors are of course retained. The overall look is very busy – either you like it or you don’t.

Inside, the 5’s cockpit follows the theme set by the current 3, but is less funky for this application. Seating for up to seven are available, including the occasional “Karakuri” seat, as per the old car, but comfort is improved via new seat designs.

The new 5 debuts alongside a new engine – the MZR 2.0 DISI (direct injection spark ignition) with “i-stop” start stop tech producing 148 bhp and 191 Nm of torque. This compares well to the current car’s 136 bhp/175 Nm, with 15% less CO2 emissions to boot. Paired to a six-speed manual with eco optimised gear ratios, its fuel consumption of 14.5 km/l is better than the 13.9 km/l of the MZR 1.8 engine with 113 bhp/165 Nm. Both engines come with single-nano tech catalyst and are Euro 5 compliant.

Mazda says that the 5, which was not bad to drive at all, is even better now thanks to increased spring rates and lighter stabilizers that improve straight line stability and makes body roll more linear. Rubber couplings added to the steering shaft and more rigid components provides a more linear steering feel while noise insulation is said to be improved.

Live pictures from Geneva and official gallery after the jump!

Mazda 5 live images from Geneva
[zenphotopress number=999 album=914]
Mazda 5 official images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=912]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Wow…….nice

• mohd hafizzul on Mar 04, 2010 at 3:25 pm

1st……….Macam Merc B Class

• dukenborg on Mar 04, 2010 at 4:27 pm

What a happy looking camper!

• dukenborg on Mar 04, 2010 at 4:28 pm

What a happy looking camper! Makes me smile!

• FIREPOLICY on Mar 04, 2010 at 4:35 pm

wah!! 6 gear manual…

i love it!!

• very ugly butt…hehe

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 04, 2010 at 4:50 pm

what happen to the rear???…so ssangyong looks!..euuwwwwwww!

• vbkcheng on Mar 04, 2010 at 5:15 pm

Mazda happy happy face

:-) …;->

• any idea when will this be coming on shore ?

• carcoon on Mar 04, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Now all Mazda lineups are one big happy family. (with the smiling face of course)

Sadly I'm not happy with it.

• LiuLaySan on Mar 04, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Damn cun!!!!

Ok, back to planet Bolehland, how much is the price going to be here?

• Nerddy on Mar 04, 2010 at 6:21 pm

cam Exora pun ada…kih,kih,kih….

• satrian on Mar 04, 2010 at 6:22 pm

ok but look very korean……………for me la..

• looks heavy and too much estima shape,

• Peter on Mar 04, 2010 at 6:24 pm

Nice styling….Very European style…Spacious as well….

• Terbaboo on Mar 04, 2010 at 6:37 pm

wow..the curves…

• monash.u on Mar 04, 2010 at 6:55 pm

2 is coming in May. Hatchback n Sedan. Woo~Hoo!!! is zoom Zoom ZOOM…

• Alpha on Mar 04, 2010 at 7:05 pm

it's an R-class butt!!>.<

• White Jack on Mar 04, 2010 at 7:21 pm

When is it coming to Malaysia ? :)

• madimat on Mar 04, 2010 at 7:36 pm

tak la cun sangat. Line yang kat tepi tu nampak macam side-body ikan paus biru pulak… macam resakse laut pun ada.

• zaff1984 on Mar 04, 2010 at 7:48 pm

yup… look like R-Class

• ignas on Mar 04, 2010 at 8:51 pm

the door gonna be so costly when kena langgar

• Oh dear. Mazda is losing it in the design department. The Koreans are doing a far better job.

Hideous rear. Busy sides. Ridiculous face. Put together in a haphazard manner.

• Cool Classic Cars on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:35 pm

Wow, I really like the front lower facia and rims.Sweet looking ride.I can't wait to test drive it!I always thought of putting some sort of display on the back of my car.May I should have painted it.Mazad’s Marketing still going strong.

• Paul Tan on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:13 pm

I think I can use the straight-on front shot as a Halloween mask.

• Brendan on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:21 pm

Won't fit 3 chils seats in the middle row. Few cars will, that is the big advantage of the Verso. Nice car, I like Mazdas, but need to fit 3 chils seats in the middle….

• xtend2damax on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:46 pm

wtf! why is the side so wavy!? imagine if you get into an accident, and the side is damaged, how the hell are they going to get back the original shape? Don't get me started on the back! A step backward for Mazda.

• MBX Boy on Mar 04, 2010 at 11:54 pm

Always been a fan of Mazda design, but when they started the smiley face with Mazda3, its lost its appeal to me. I don't want a smiley goofey car. I want sleekness/class, or "garang" sporty. Smiley faces will never be sporty, and won't pass of as classy in my books.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:31 am

I share the same sentiments as MBX Boy. I really liked the previous gen Mazda 6 2.3 (in pearl white), and still do. Anyone here wants to sell me one at a special price? :)

• mak engkao on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:46 am

They got sucked in design trend set by Toyota with the new wish and previa.

Still, front to mid portion nice, but rear too sanyong ish. door panel cannot be repaired/ plastered, so need to change the whole panel in the event of an accident. Or you ask the panel beater to shape the waves for you. Hahaha.

7/10.

• catatonia (Member) on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:34 am

Whenever I see Neggara design, I always imagine the Ah Pek at kedai ketuk cursing…

it's malaysia, we love our Ah Pek's at kedai ketuk! They're darn alot cheaper compared to the ori Mazda shop… especially when warranty runs out!

• Gajen on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:51 am

boring

• deldel on Mar 05, 2010 at 7:53 am

coming in year 2011

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Mar 05, 2010 at 8:03 am

a mazda. so its look good.

• yeah we should REJECT this design!!

• ikramfender on Mar 05, 2010 at 11:06 am

carcoon said,

March 4, 2010 @ 9:31 am

Now all Mazda lineups are one big happy family. (with the smiling face of course)

Sadly I’m not happy with it.

———————————–

i wonder if it hit front car bumper it'd still be smiling huhu

• We Malaysians always pay high attention to Wish, Stream, Estima and Odessey, but always forget about Mazda's MPV. Recall Mazda 5 and Premacy, these two models were fabulous!

• estimate price range?

• Neutral on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:13 am

maybe the new trend of styling is toward that style?don't know..

• waimak on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:13 am

this mazda smiley face cannot be implemented at all models I suppose.. I just love the old Mazda5 look..

• peYno F**K on Mar 07, 2010 at 9:54 pm

oh no!!!what have they done to one of my favourite mpv…it seems that the new toyota wish had a better looking…

• really dont really care about mazda..except impreza..

• anyone can compare with Mitsu Grandis?

• Really cute MPV!love Mazda smiley face :) unlike cheap sporty cars Proton!try so hard to make sporty but failed!

• Tony T on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:30 pm

Now most Mazda cars turned with Smile Flog Face, if with Light Green color you will imagine. I like it.:)