GM Advanced Design boss moves to Renault

GM Europe’s Director of Advanced Design, Anthony Lo, will move to become Vice President of Exterior Design at Renault. In France, he will work under recently appointed Design Director Laurens van den Acker, who replaced Patrick le Quément.

GM Advanced Design boss moves to RenaultVan den Acker’s flowing style (he previously headed the Nagare movement at Mazda) is in contrast with le Quément’s fascination with boxes – the latter was responsible for daring designs like the Avantime, Vel Satis and the previous generation big booty Megane.

At GM, Lo designed one of my favourite concept cars, the Saab Aero X concept (2006 Geneva), and the Opel Flextreme (2007 Frankfurt). The sleek Saab’s windscreen, doors and windows moved upward in one piece, which not only looks cool, but is a good solution for a low slung sportscar. Prior to GM, Lo sketched for Mercedes and Audi and began his career at Lotus after graduating from the Royal College of Art’s Vehicle Design program.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• GO SAGA on Mar 16, 2010 at 8:54 pm

LIKE JET FIGTHER

• sayapdewa on Mar 16, 2010 at 9:27 pm

jet fighter also…the cockpit…

• ideally the the sleek Saab’s windscreen should be opened at the other opposite end – towards the boot. Sometimes mechanics need to 'fine tune' the engine while the engine is running.

• lowprofile on Mar 17, 2010 at 12:00 am

had the pleasure of meeting the hong kong born chap when i visited saab in sweden. nice understated guy and i wish him the very best. his recent work with saab had brought the designs into the modern world. was a good match with saab's design boss, simon padian.

• o well on Mar 17, 2010 at 2:52 am

one of my dream career to be a designer for super cars….wah lau…chun !

• 2-Sen Opinion.com on Mar 17, 2010 at 4:59 am

That Lo chap looks like me. Serious

• I looked up Lo's profile on the net. His comment on the career as a designer is hardwork, hardwork and more hardwork. He also said that it this job is not something you can picked up with on the job training, it is important to find a industrial art college which can provide a solid technical foundation and broad range of training and back up for their students. As far as he knew, none such college exist in asia, not even in Japan. Looks like Europe is still the Mecca of industrial art. It is no accident that the other famous Hong Kong car designer Pinky Lai who designed the Porsche Cayman graduated from the same college as Lo. My first dream was to become a car designer, now I have to be content with desiging boring stuff like IT solution :(

• bad news..??