Lexus IS 250C Convertible now in Malaysia!

Lexus Malaysia is now offering its first convertible car – the Lexus IS 250C. It’s priced at RM432,000 OTR without insurance. Scary prices considering in Japan the list price is 4,950,000 Yen to 5,350,000 Yen. Apart from the standard colours available for the IS range, there are three special additional colours offered for IS 250C – Blue Metallic, Silvery Blue Metallic and Cattleya Mica Metallic. The engine is the same Dual VVT-i D-4 direct injection 205 horsepower 252Nm unit (detuned from the Japanese spec 215 PS) in the IS 250, 0 to 100km/h takes 9 seconds compared to 8.4 seconds in the sedan, thanks to the heavier weight of the convertible body.

The 3-piece hard top takes 21 seconds to come down and is made of lightweight aluminium. The air conditioning system has also been tuned for convertible usage, featuring a special top down mode that adjusts cabin temperature in relation to exterior temperature and the amount of sunlight. Air volume is also adjusted according to vehicle speed. With the top up, you get 553L of boot space which is more than sufficient for 2 golf bags. With the design to fold the 3-piece retractable roof using the least amount of space, the IS-C boot is still able to accommodate a 9” golf bag with the top down.

Look after the jump for a full gallery and videos of the car.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=989]
[zenphotopress number=99 album=280]

VIDEO: Lexus IS 250c Promo Clip

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• theanswer on Mar 25, 2010 at 1:59 am

what's the sales number for is250 compared to 3 series or c class?. still a jap car.

• BMW M-Problem on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:37 am

3rd world mentality…..

• theanswer on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:34 am

yeah 3rd world… its hard for lexus to penetrate market which already being conquered by bmw and merc. they straightly put the price tag even more expensive than basic 3 series. toyota fan only buy cheaper toyota..not lexus.

• Kambing Gurun on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:29 am

Because Toyota mark up the cost just in case they have to recall the car later after someone got killed driving their cars…

• BMW M-Problem on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:08 am

Bro

The reason BMW or Merc sells more than Lexus

1) BMW & Merc have better coverage. More showroom and service centre.

2) BMW & Merc register their car and sell pre-owned to grab marketshare.

3) BMW & Merc has been in the market longer.

4) BMW & Merc is cheaper cos assembled in Malaysia by cheap labour.

Lexus is for people who appreciate quality and reliabilty

Badge value is secondary.

In developed country Lexus is highly regarded. Only in malaysia people

have misguided mentality it is just a jap car. In UK… Lexus has topped the the coveted J.D Power Survey many times. These results are direct feedback from real users. BMW & Merc can only dream of achieving such feat.

Back in 3rd world Malaysia people are still backwards in terms of understanding cars. They rather live in denial and believe german cars

make the best cars and they are worth at any price. Do the Germans care about South East Asia Market. If they did their cars would be acclimatise. Too bad it will never be if fools keep supporting them blindly.

• Ericboy on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:10 am

Kambing Gurun : Agreed! LOL!

• just ignore them BMW M-Problem..i support u..they know nothing about lexus

• staff on Mar 25, 2010 at 9:57 pm

I think market penetration is no issue for the lexus.. bcoz they easily wins the market share in America in 2001 when Mr Suzuki (if i am not mistaken) of Toyota introduce the Lexus eventhough BMW and Merc has been there for so long…

from my reading of Toyota Way..

The marketing and advertisement should play the roles…

• staff on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:04 am

convertible in malaysia…

I think, the roof only open for some time in 365days…

• auto-junkie-but-not- on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:05 am

wooww.. expensive…..

• yeah, expensive. the design is so typical, better get a BMW roadster.

• Alpha on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:24 am

an E-Class coupe would be more appropriate.or wait for the E-Class Cabrio.

• Samuel on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:10 am

It's an American Car.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:24 am

i cannot see the logic of buying this over an audi a5 convertible or bmw 3er convertible

• BMW M-Problem on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:38 am

The logic is it is more reliable…..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:54 am

oh….the lexus….very reliable. with their sticky acceleration pedals

• BMW M-Problem on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:19 am

BMW with sludge problem, power window problem,gearbox problem, oil leak from gasket problem, camshaft sensor problem, suspension bushing problem, electronic module problem, overheating problem, power steering problem, interior creaking problem, DME problem,

should I stop?

Do you think I can blindly support a brand which as so many defects?.

• i sold my 5 series just after using it for 8 months. ( i bought it brand new from Auto Bavaria). i trade in for Nissan Murano from Tan Chong..because it is more reliabile. Japananse is still better then German.

Auto Bavario suck big time.

• Alpha on Mar 26, 2010 at 3:00 am

yeah,auto bavaria really sux.n the after sales service is like tuttt!!

• Tiadaid on Mar 26, 2010 at 7:17 am

I beg to differ. Some Japanese cars are reliable but some just isn't. And I'm talking from experience here.

• COMPARED TO BMW CONVERTIBLE, THIS IS NOT A GOOD LOOKIN CAR

• 1kereta on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:18 am

not worth the money…

• nabill on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:35 am

one of the the most pointless cars…..

• i think ultraman nexus buy this lexus

• Gajen on Mar 25, 2010 at 4:54 am

too exp

• jong84 (Member) on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:08 am

Sorry man, Malaysia is not suitable to use convertible car especially in city area. Makan ASAP sahaja ! Haha….. Only suitable in kampung area with fresh air.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:17 am

Original Japan price RM178k onwards.. Very scary. Not sure who wants a cabriolet with not so functional rear seats

• sutheshkumar on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:45 am

paul, in US the 350 version is also available which mean the IS C is available with two engine choices.

check it here.

http://www.caranddriver.com/reviews/comparisons/1…

• Paul Tan on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:50 am

Thanks. Will correct as soon as I get to my pc. Editing the blog theme has got to my head. And Danny is in Thailand trying out the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 for review.

• Korean on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:30 am

This type of car only suitable in Hawaii. Anyway I will take Z4 anyday if compared to this one.

• not a car for many people..most of us can afford to drive only p2, proton, cheapest honda, and cheapest toyota..coz we malaysians have to spent most of our lifetime to pay our car loan..this car is absolutely out of range..

• proton on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:19 pm

THis is so true.

Lexus is more visible in US, the dream land of petrol head. They buy Lexus becos they can afford, and becos its really good, and its is direct competitor with BMW and Merc.

Lexus is now available in japan as a premium brand.

And Long term reliability is on par with Merc ( which is the reason we can see a lot of old merc around, but not a lot of Old BMW around, probably due to expensive spare part problem)

• bloody hel… at rm432k , stuck throttle should come standard. lol

• proton on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:20 pm

hem, just like at RM60k waja, power window issue is standard, and the response from Proton Foreman," ini proton, biasa la" ,is priceless. LOL

• Convertible? aiyoo.. tak cukup panas lagi ke Malaysia ni

• Bolehlander on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:58 am

Please don't ever compared our car prices with any country or even Japan, it really makes me want to curse the Malaysian Govt. for cheating its own citizens. Its a thoroughly rotten govt. Everything is heavily taxed to feed those on economic crutches.

• Tiadaid on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Everything is heavily taxed to feed those on economic crutches? Pal, have you ever thought about the cheap healthcare at govt. hospitals? Or cheap education in IPTA? Are you willing to give it up for a cheap car?

• Horny_Male on Mar 25, 2010 at 11:44 pm

some people.

they can talk all day long.but still-NOTHING WILL EVER CHANGE.

1st world is what they aim for.

3rd world is where they will ever be.

keta murah,then tax x mau mahal mcm kat siam?siam tax individual mahal brader.murah lg kita.I'd rather pay less tax n drv a honda n not aim for a bmw.

• i drive a coupe cabriolet….memang malaysia panas,tapi takkan tak pakai otak pandu kereta dengan top down masa tengah hari…….even myself,i tend to drive top down around 7am to 8am….enjoying the clean morning air…….and of course,trips to kuala pilah via the old trunk road is simply a sight to enjoy while travelling top down in the morning : )

• theanswer on Mar 25, 2010 at 4:04 pm

based on UK feb 10 car sales figure, lexus only managed to sell 91 cars, bmw 3141, merc 2098. lexus might be the car with reliability and quality but bmw and merc is the one with technology. all we want to say here is it's good if lexus can sell their car more..it's business.

• proton on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:22 pm

no, simply because Lexus is targeted for US market, you should look at US sales figure for a more accurate insight. UK market is long crowded with european car, US,Jap car is a not as common.

• BMW M-Problem on Mar 26, 2010 at 1:40 am

In UK Merc and BMW are purchased by Company. Basically most are company cars.

Lexus are mostly personal purcahse….

• life in the slow lan on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:11 pm

the price of this car in Japan is approximately RM200,000, top spec. which means that i will have 9 airbags, traction control, climate control, anti roll control, adaptive suspension, corner slip control, ABS, EBD, EBA, ESP and a whole load of other stuff..

then comes the malaysian version which is watered down. but more than twice the amount???????????

just like the prius, they removed the solar panel and 8 other components and still charge you double the price..

high income country my ARSE.

• one of the reason why this is happening is because there are still people who buy the downgraded car at high price..so why should they sell the whole spec when you can get the same if not more profit for less?

• Tiadaid on Mar 25, 2010 at 10:05 pm

Malaysians are at fault. The know it's a downgraded car, but still buy, just for the sake of the badge. So don't blame the car company for exploiting the Malaysian gullibility and don't blame the government too. Blame the Malaysian consumer because they are so blinded by the badge that they're willing to accept an inferior product as long as the badge is right.

• Horny_Male on Mar 25, 2010 at 11:40 pm

300k is acceptable.400k?u r right!!!

• There are many better cars out there than this Lexus.

They are better priced, better spec, and better handling cars than this Lexus.

I think Lexus cars will remain in their showroom for a long time….

• you are an asshole on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:38 pm

why detune ?

• CH2NO on Mar 25, 2010 at 10:08 pm

detune to suits bolehland euro 2 gasoline

• bmw_owner on Mar 26, 2010 at 1:13 am

interesting comment… i cant say much until i test drive one… i used to drive japanese car.. but the feel is not there.. too light the door slam seem hollow .. noisy … since i drove merc… its seem so right.. the feel is amazing .. the car that response well.. then i bought BMW.. again.. driving BMW is fantastic…

but dont get me wrong.. i have yet to try lexus.. i heard alot about how good it is… i will give my view once have a chance to test drive one…

hopefully the Lexus salesmen will allow me to test drive one though… knowing that these salesmen will look at me up and down before they can allow me to test drive one… especially a guy like me.. haha… if they dont allow me to test drive one… too bad japanese car lover… its not the car.. its the attitude of the sales personels!

• Mirian here…theres IS 300C here…all brunei plates…but doesnt look fascinating…mercs produce the BEST lookin' convertibles still….the IS C feels like a normal IS with cutted roof…i still love beemers….lexus quality? hmmm i wonder~

• Japanese Rival on Mar 26, 2010 at 7:09 am

We are no longer convinced by any of Toyota makes!! So LAME

• nobody in his right mind would buy a convertible LEXUS.

Get a 2 litre z4 instead with 100k change.

Heck, based on looks alone i'll take EVEN the 207cc over this anyday.

Looks too squarey.

Lexus was thinking of a fridge when they built this.

• drchan on Mar 26, 2010 at 10:57 pm

WTF!! for that price?? Hello Toyota..! We could almost buy 2 Volkswagen Eos(GTi engine with DSG) with that amount!! Dream on

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 26, 2010 at 11:34 pm

buy nissan 370z bbetter

• cumi&ciki on Mar 26, 2010 at 11:37 pm

saw one white IS F near jln loke yew.. M5 killers…