Volkswagen Group Malaysia CKD local assembly plans to be finalised by mid 2010!

We could be looking at more affordable CKD Volkswagens in Malaysian showrooms by early 2012, if Volkswagen Group Malaysia’s plans are on schedule. VGM MD Andreas Prinz said yesterday at the opening of Volkswagen’s new 3S centre in PJ that the company would be finalizing its CKD plans by the first half of this year.

The company is currently still finalizing various options such as local partners as well as where the plant will be. Once finalised, it would take another 12 months to 18 months before the plant is ready to churn out locally assembled Golf GTIs for local consumption. The plant will apparently cater for both local consumption as well as regional exports. It would be Volkswagen’s second ASEAN assembly plant after the Touran assembly plant in Indonesia. The Indonesian plant is expected to slowly become a full fledged manufacturing plant instead of just doing assembly.

Mr Prinz also revealed that there will a few interesting Volkswagen launches this year. He mentioned a 1.4 litre Golf – could it be that we’re finally going to see a twin-charged Golf Sport TSI here in Malaysia? Or is it the Golf 1.4 TSI with the single turbocharger making 122 horses? Other models coming up by the middle of this year are a 1.4 litre version of the Scirocco and a 1.2 litre version of the Polo. He didn’t mention this at the event but according to VW’s website itself, the Passat CC is also apparently being updated with the DSG gearbox, replacing the 6-speed auto.

The new RM1.2 million PJ 3S centre is located at Jalan 222 and is operated by F A Wagen Sdn Bhd, a member of Federal Auto Holdings Berhad. It is also the first authorised outlet in Malaysia to achieve total compliance with Volkswagen’s new corporate identity. The branch has a 4,600 square feet showroom capable of displaying up to seven cars. The service centre is equipped with 8 work bays and the latest diagnostic systems and specialised tools needed to service the new generation of Volkswagen models offered here in Malaysia. There is also a dedicated body repair and painting facility with a baking oven. F A Wagen plans to open two more branches within the next 12 months. This includes a purpose-built 6-storey flagship in Glenmarie, Shah Alam that is targeted to commence operations in September 2010 and a 3S branch in Johor Bahru that is scheduled to open in 2011.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kamal on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Very good!

• abangmawi on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:43 pm

yay!…more affordable ones…soon it will be come like any other Honda civic on the road…so the current GTI owners don show off so much..:)

• Horny_Male on Mar 25, 2010 at 11:39 pm

apasal.lu dengki ke?get a life dude

• people that owns a gti can consider very low profile, trust me… maybe you make 1 angry and smoked you?

• tokmoh on Mar 26, 2010 at 6:29 am

Ntah. Yg show off tu biasanya myvi, vios dugong n honda city. berlagak gila, macam diorg ni tgh bawa ferrari. macam peyno slalu cakap la, ah beng japanese-wannabe.

prrrrfffftttt

• Kambing Gurun on Mar 29, 2010 at 4:57 am

I smoked them with viva only… (though got smoked back later)… Wish that I can afford a GTI…

• Danny on Mar 26, 2010 at 6:39 am

I second that, golf GTI exterior look low profile too, from there already can reflect the Golf owner how they are!

• brossprocps on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Harap2 dapat menjadi kenyataan. Proton boleh jadi partner. Naza cuma tunggu peluang je tu he..he.

• joe jambul on Mar 28, 2010 at 10:58 pm

I don't see partnership will be either company, but we could predict that it might be assemble in sec 16 , SA…

• finally..very good news..

• ericfoong81exe on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Can't wait to see the launching of scirocco in Malaysia.

• perey on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:38 pm

scirrocco already launched in malaysia

• redwings on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:29 pm

saw a few on the road… green color..

• saw plenty near my bro's college, sunway college. all the modded one's fu-yohh. dam nice. did you mean local scirocoo?

• tokmoh on Mar 26, 2010 at 6:36 am

Just saw one yesterday at Taylor's lakeside campus. A white Scirro ^_^

• DiscoStick on Mar 26, 2010 at 8:35 am

launching of scirocco 1.4 in mid-year… how much does it cost? 1.4 turbocharged or normal engine? :)

• time to save some money to get the Golf GTI or Passat CC before 2012.

• The Royal Academy of on Mar 25, 2010 at 5:57 pm

really good news? no.

• Btw Paul. Congrats on the new layout. It looks nice. I have been a reader for almost 2 or 3 years now. However the font is a little bit too small.

• any news regarding the 5-seaters passat cc c/w DSG in malaysia? can't wait to be the first batch owner. ngehngehngeh.

• Yes! I love Volkswagen ! They have the "can do " spirit ! Finally Volkswagen make it!

• yeah! would be getting golf gti at price of honda civic to the very least?

• i think it'll be around 160-180K… depends on who is the partner..

• tikus on Mar 26, 2010 at 2:57 am

Better choice Naza coz what they dine to pug is pretty goood. Look at 308 turbo !!

• wan_knox on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:21 pm

Good news for me.. Perhaps the price for Golf Gti MK6 is below Rm100K .. hahahaah!!

• ijnek (Member) on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:26 pm

sweet.

this will be better than the P that naza is offering.

better 3S centres :D

• its still a long time to go. So, there is no need to get all excited about.

Even though when it become real, let see the car's price tag first (if priced competitive enuf or not) before celebrating and buying a VW

• A more realistic price level would be around the RM150k-160k level for the CKD GTI. Anything less than that would be a steal. Whatever it is, I am delighted with this piece of news!

• Muddy on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:58 pm

Wow! have to postpone getting my Scirocco then!

• Great news!..

but too long have to wait for it before everything materialised.

Have to settled with Mazda3 Hatch for now.. :(-

I'll be at your showroom VW….. maybe 3-4 yrs from now… ohhh my baby scirocco… you'll have to wait for me…

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:01 pm

VW golf 1.4 for under 100k got chance arrr after CKD???

• Tiadaid on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:08 pm

After all the hoohaa about broken deals with Proton, VW still chose to assemble CKD here? Interesting…

• droll on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:09 pm

i think the govt is the one laughing in the end "see, told you so, VW will still come to m'sia because we are ".

oh well, better choice for the consumers i guess!

• wuttaheck on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:16 pm

will have to start saving up for my ckd scirocco…wuhuuu!!!

• good,i waiting to buy VW cars.my current car loan also finish at tat time,i can get new car,haha

• fasgen on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:40 pm

peole said sc vw also teruk.. ye ke?

• Yes and No depending on where you take it to. I dont like the guy who arranges the service appointment at FA Wagen PJ(some Mamak fella). He's arrogant and doesn't know a damn thing and very confusing. but their service team is good and salesman are quite friendly. Wearnes so far so good with bryan and his team

• JULIAN_LEE on Mar 26, 2010 at 3:52 am

same here oso, my proton ss in taman inderawasih in butterworth reception oso oarrogant, oso that mamak guy Neela.

• where is your speed? on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Faster faster….i want cheap GTI!

• niuhje on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:46 pm

huhu… price point rm70-80k?? flood the market dude, floooooood it baby!!

• yay.. finally my dream car will be more affordable :)

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:02 pm

if non gti polo can get around 80k…yippie!

• teh kah kin on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:12 pm

If I am not mistaken – under the AFTA – cars imported from Indonesia (where VW is now assembling VW cars) does not attract any tarrif. We are already importing cars assembled in Thailand – ie – maybe like Toyota Vios, Cambry (noticed the newspaper on the car mat in in Thais)

• niamafufu on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:32 pm

good new…the real competitor for Japanese car maker ..

• please gov decrease on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:34 pm

sure2 la volkswagen semurah macam di negara lain spt US, China dan Jerman

• good…bley keje ngan volkswagen lps nih..

• staff on Mar 25, 2010 at 9:01 pm

When there is hope, ppl will start dreaming…

• vw should open a service centre in klang…..then i will trade in my car to go for passat cc

• 1 Malaysia on Mar 25, 2010 at 9:37 pm

no one expect luxury car service center at each & every town. just say u dont, or rather to say cant buy VW.

• Snotmaster on Mar 25, 2010 at 9:24 pm

Volkswagen, like Mitsubishi, used to be the powerhouse in Asia. What the heck happened. Now VW is nonexistent in some countries. Will this be the first step to a comeback?

I hope so. I want to buy a Polo in the Philippines man. It's funny that I even envy the Indians, who just 5 years ago have only access to Tatas and Suzukis.

• hopefully on Mar 25, 2010 at 9:44 pm

i saw on d volkwagen malaysia website. d polo gti cost rm138.888. Hopefully after ckd it will cost around rm6xxxxx or even lower.

• proton on Mar 25, 2010 at 10:02 pm

i'll start saving, to change my P1/ P2 car to golf GTI.

MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!

• MengQ on Mar 25, 2010 at 10:20 pm

I want a Golf GTi before hopefully before im 25. Am working in Bangsar, the VW HQ is just a few hundred meters away, i dropped by from time to time… found out that i could actually afford the down payment, but not the car installment… still a fresh grad, what to do? haha…my dream car~ 3 more years to go!!

Dont mind Polo GTi too…

• why don't u invest the money in something else first to create passive income. and from the passive income you buy your Golf GTi. it will be wiser then. you are still very young dude.

• Tiadaid on Mar 26, 2010 at 1:11 am

Yep, don't fall for the old "Biar papa asal bergaya" trap.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 26, 2010 at 2:28 am

No worries man, work hard and u can get what u want at 25. I paid full for my scirocco 2.0 here in Singapore SGD 125000 at the age of 27 last year. young people can do it… just remembe to work hard and be skimpy on therest, then it will be adream come true like me…

• i didn't mean don't buy at all. but prioritize things. unless u can create more money with that car. we must differentiate between greed and need. IMHO, the car that one afford is the car that it's loan can be settled within 5 years. some financial gurus even recommend 3 years.

and last but not least, buy a car with your head and not with your heart. ;)

• Better save and invest.. i can understand youngsters always tempted to buy CARS (summore expensive ones) first thing after graduation.. Go after decent first and invest the rest… I got my 1st Hyundai @ 23yrs old, 1st apartment @25yrs old and 2nd Condo @27yrs old.. turning 29 soon. still hope to get a VW in my life time :p

• initial R on Mar 25, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Wohooo…. good news… that we all waiting for…. just back from VW showroom. Place booking for my new ride after review many time… Taureg will replace my problematic Accord…. so after this no more Japs car in my line. All Europe handling…. hahaha…

• Sure or not Taureg…

• initial R on Mar 27, 2010 at 12:20 am

Aiyahh…. "Touareg" wrong spelling also make noise ka ?…. Nevermind… as long as I have 1… wait for documentation only… So i have good lineup already. Savvy, Exora, Touareg…. ok, enough already right now….

• cheaper scirocco and golf gt woohoo

• Hopefully they could bring down the price of Passat CC less than 200k.

• then there will be less "cukup-cukup makan" 320i on the road. the equipment list of the 320i is not that impressive.

• ljndead (Member) on Mar 25, 2010 at 10:58 pm

It would be nice if there is VW Golf 1.4 TSI twincharged on the road of east Msia. The motor BLG with 170 PS horsepower really gives you the satisfaction of overtaking others. The Golf seem very quite and responsive to the gas pedal, and no problem having 5 fully grown adult inside.

• Revised NAP

"Foreign firms can apply for manufacturing licenses to hold 100% shares in firms to produce vehicles with engine capacity of larger than 1,800cc AND costing more than RM150,000. This will open up the upper end of the market while keeping the lower end where Proton and Perodua are protected."

VW still need to tie up with domestic manufacturer for below 1.8L model and

dream on to get Golf under RM150K

• where is your speed? on Mar 25, 2010 at 11:08 pm

but second thought…the tax imposed by gov..maybe in the end also LPPL..

• katak on Mar 25, 2010 at 11:13 pm

potong will kill VW idea wit a bang shoot wit gomen assistance and some one take the blame, yah

• Vezeroth on Mar 25, 2010 at 11:37 pm

I wish it to be cheaper, but i doubt it will, with inflation and our government policies, expect the golf gti to cost around 200k no less…

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 26, 2010 at 12:26 am

So Malaysia will get a small fraction of what VW's original plan to use Malaysia as a hub for vehicle manufacturing. CKD Golf Gti is very nice, but then I hope VW open more showrooms like in every region/state instead of concentrating along states of the PLUS highway.

• Jaybond on Mar 26, 2010 at 12:27 am

Could be a very strong competition for the traditional Local/ASEAN CKD Japanese players (Toyota/Honda/Nissan). VW cars are definitely rates high on quality, almost close to premium segment car quality. And the latest cars looks nice too.

• VW Fan on Mar 26, 2010 at 12:37 am

Hopefully got the golf 1.4 diesel version..

• klaka seram on Mar 26, 2010 at 12:39 am

hopefully VGM will bring Golf 1.4 twincharger.. really cant wait for it

with CKD the cars will be more "affordable"

• Mr BoB on Mar 26, 2010 at 1:13 am

Bro……dreaming lah GOlf GTI will be cheap……i can cut my hand lah….

• amouse on Mar 26, 2010 at 2:32 am

thats what i wish too.. i dont want to lose much on 2nd hand value. ^^

• yippi33 on Mar 26, 2010 at 1:14 am

where is your speed? says:

25/3/2010 at 3:08 pm

but second thought…the tax imposed by gov..maybe in the end also LPPL..

after ckd, tax should be lesser..unless VGM increase their profit per car margin(tamak)…the price will be higher..

p/s: sorry paul…just remembering the good old days of cut & paste…hahahahah!

• mirror mirror on Mar 26, 2010 at 1:27 am

It is good to see that the new auto policy is able to attract some european investment in the country, hopefully more will come and set up factories near my hometown, create employment and boost economy. very good news indeed.

• proton on Mar 26, 2010 at 1:49 am

i love this gomen.

• amouse on Mar 26, 2010 at 2:02 am

i would say maybe slightly cheaper parts. dont expect it to drop so much la, they will still control the price. Im just waiting for the R version…

• staff on Mar 26, 2010 at 2:04 am

100k for a car?

if it is me… i rather buy a house… rent it to ppl….

then buy another house, rent it to ppl…

then, do it again….

lastly, after got some houses, then i buy a VW… money no issue, coz got easy money from the houses…

if i am a fresh grad… i just buy a car that affordable and keep my pocket full enough till end of month…

• gattaca on Mar 27, 2010 at 3:58 am

second that.. car is rugi punya investment… anyway depends on your pocket then..

• loveMazda3 on Mar 26, 2010 at 2:45 am

ready for another defect CKD product..

• Alpha on Mar 26, 2010 at 2:57 am

coolness!!do u think 1.4 scirocco or golf will be priced aroun130-140k??if so,COOLNESS!!!

• Salamander on Mar 26, 2010 at 4:28 am

If the new Polo CKD can be priced to be competitive with Swift/City/Vios it would be great!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 26, 2010 at 4:49 am

im divided. cbu volkswagen mean good quality volkswagens but ckd volkswagens means more affordable. how?

• valandil on Mar 26, 2010 at 5:59 am

VWs are known for their built quality worldwide…

sincerely hope even if we have CKD, MOST (pun intended) built quality remains…

• does anyone knows tat vw scirocco 2.0L more expensive than golf mk6 gti? why izit ha?i go c overseas website..such as UK…even vw Singapore also rocco more cheaper than gti.,..y in msia opposite 1…any1 knows?

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 26, 2010 at 6:37 pm

Maybe coz of two doors vs four doors tax kind of thing

• YeapyEvo on Mar 26, 2010 at 6:57 am

Hope they can make the CKD up and running in 2012 with Polo GTi in their range.

• Japanese Rival on Mar 26, 2010 at 7:13 am

Hope to see how VW going to work for the quality out! VW Passat cc fans

• tienzyee on Mar 26, 2010 at 8:59 am

hey, if everyone buy golf gti,

boring la tengok gti line up kat traffic light :D

• looking forward to have VW Msia offer more affordable golf here..

• VW loves Proton on Mar 26, 2010 at 12:17 pm

hehe.. so passat cc will be assembled at tanjung malim plant eh? time so say good bye to perdana now.. haha!

• New Sharan wt the TD please…..big mpv wt around 6l/100km fc

• alf147 on Mar 26, 2010 at 6:28 pm

hope the price to be competitive coz i notice a lot of cbu..now ckd price is still over than average…dats y still many proton on the roads…

• syarif hidayatullah on Mar 26, 2010 at 7:10 pm

I hope the CKD VW will give the overpriced, underspec Japanese makers like Toyota, Honda and Nissan a run for their money. First punch started with Pug 308 and 407, then Kia Forte. Full spec Mazda 3 and 6 CBU also show how much profit margin their Jap brothers are eating with CKDs. Hopefully the VW will give KO punch to the Japs to wake up and give Euro spec cars at current price or current cars at lower price.

• http://rockybru.com.my/
    proton with vw?

• Jo Lim on Mar 26, 2010 at 8:01 pm

1st thing come in my mind… do we get cheaper price for engine parts too? Cos the bill for repairing my cross polo is killing me!!! Engine damage due to water coming in from air intake (as they told me).

By the way, any VW owners here encounter problem when driving vw cars across water puddles (height of water – half tires)? Just wondering whether VW cars are catered for the tropical weather in Malaysia and the norm of having puddles of water all over Klang Valley roads after heavy rain.

• same prob wt those old days citroen ZX's…..if ckd, they might modified it to suit our Tropical weather

• jo lim on Mar 27, 2010 at 8:48 am

really hope that dzat… perhaps i should install a splash guard or purchase insurance for flood.

Any chance to claim for warranty due to the fact that their car cannot cater for tropical weather whereby the cross polo suppose to be "rugged all terrain"… :p I doubt that myself

• lchan on Mar 26, 2010 at 8:09 pm

i guess we will definately be seeing 1.4 tsi golf, jetta's and 1.2 polos running around. Maybe passats too. Nice. More options for the public.

• it's good for ALL… VW can sell more… more ppl can buy VW with lower price

• Lower the price??? more like increase the price like T and H always do

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 26, 2010 at 11:31 pm

golf r please

• Good news…a very good news indeed…errrr…where should I submit my resume…surely there are going to be many vacancies in VW new "manufacturing" / assembly plant…hehehe…

• pekan on Sep 18, 2010 at 4:35 pm

VW is not setting up new plant.. They will contract the assembly works to DRB-Hicom.. Much like Mercedes Benz

• klaka seram on Mar 27, 2010 at 8:40 pm

VGM will introduce new model with smaller engine capacity mid this year, maybe slightly cheaper too. Better get the CBU rather than CKD. You all know how great the quality of our CKDs hihihi

• Peter on Mar 27, 2010 at 9:31 pm

No point CKD……I hate CKDs………Why not CBUs instead? Lesser problem……..Furthermore, given to the limited skills that our local had, i dont trust CKDs in our own local country……..I rather take CBUs instead……..

So what more expensive? Look at Perodua, Nazas………..I have seen alot of horrible problems just like what Proton has done before for the wiras, sagas………

No point, our own local products will never match the standards of Thailand……….

• no doubt.. eager to see VW 1.4TSI twincharger in the up coming CKD Golf as the Best 1.4L engine and the greenest engine which won last year
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_Engine…

I wan 1 :D

• Not really a good news cause the middleman will always make money from 'the sky'. NAP will surely get its way. At least the price will go down slightly (due to the local parts introduction and duty import release). A piece of advice to Volkswagen, just find yourself a good local partner. Just don't liaise yourself with Proton. You don't want your power window to be powerless.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 29, 2010 at 8:32 am

CBU for the win

• beamer28 (Member) on Jun 04, 2010 at 8:47 pm

wonder if theres any progress on this ? its now june :)

• LousyProton on Aug 12, 2010 at 10:13 pm

Is CKD same as rebadge?
    If buy now the price will drop like hell later?

• west meets east on Nov 11, 2010 at 6:06 am

haha… i guess 3 volkswagens to be CKD are Golf, Jetta, and New Beetle, because they shares the same platform. If Audi and Skoda are included, the CKDs will be Audi A3 and Skoda Octavia.