BMW X1 launched: RM300K for xDrive20d, petrol in June

BMW Malaysia has just pulled the wraps off its smallest X model, the X1 this morning. Billed as a Sports Activity Vehicle (SAV) by its maker, the X1 will be sold here with two engine options: one diesel, one petrol. Only the xDrive20d diesel model is available for now; the sDrive18i petrol will reach our shores in June.

The X1 is a compact SUV that slots below the X3, which will still be on sale. With length and width of 4,454 mm and 1,798 mm respectively, the X1 actually has a smaller footprint than a Honda CR-V. It doesn’t look that compact in the metal though, and Munich’s baby SUV has a pretty long wheelbase of 2,760 mm. That figure is similar to the 3-Series, which it shares a platform with.

The xDrive20d model uses the same drivetrain as the 320d that was launched here last year, which means you’ll get a 2.0-litre commonrail turbodiesel with 177 bhp and 350 Nm of torque delivered from 1,750 rpm to 3,000 rpm, paired to a six-speed automatic. 0-100 km/h is done in 8.6 seconds and maximum velocity is 205 km/h. Combined fuel consumption of 15.4 km/l and CO2 output of 170 g/km leads BMW Malaysia to say that this X1 is the most eco-conscious in the segment. There’s more weight to carry than the 320d (which manages 16.7 km/l) but it will still save you a lot of fuel money compared to petrol powered rivals.

The not yet available sDrive18i pales in comparison. Its 2.0-litre N46 engine pushes out 150 bhp and 200 Nm of torque for 0-100 km/h in 10.4 seconds and a 200 km/h top speed. Claimed fuel consumption is 11.9 km/l. This petrol version is rear-wheel drive only, as opposed to the diesel’s four driven wheels (notice the S and the X in the name). Unlike some other 4WD systems, xDrive can channel up to 100% of drive to either axle. It works together with DSC (which lumps in ABS, Dynamic Brake Control, Cornering Brake Control and Dynamic Traction Control) which can cut torque and brake individual wheels.

The X1 xDrive20d is priced at RM299,800 while the sDrive18i will cost RM263,800. Prices for both CBU cars are on the road inclusive of three-year BMW Service + Repair Inclusive package. Click here for a video and gallery of the X1. Live images from this morning’s event are after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1035]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• novabestari on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:38 pm

1st….

OTK can now look forward for his new post….. :-)

• StevieRayVaughn on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:41 pm

x mampu.tp lawa.thats all.just me n my JAP…..

• mohd hafizzul on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:43 pm

1.8cc untuk 300k…baik beli CRV atau tunggu Kia Sorento atau Hyundai Tucson…

• Paul Tan on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:49 pm

the sDrive18i is a 2.0 liter engine

• WJJ1989 (Member) on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:57 pm

paul for 2.0 still overprice

• Paul Tan on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:01 pm

it’s just a small premium over the 320i which is about 240k++.

but i agree that the 320i and sDrive18i is kinda unappealing for the price you pay compared to bmw’s own 2.0 turbodiesel and competitor engines. bmw seriously needs to replace its 2.0 normally aspirated inline-4 with something like a force inducted downsized engine.

• theanswer on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:04 pm

then u must be new in msia. its bmw for god sake! look at 320..u can even buy accord 3.5 with tht price. nobody argue abt tht because it’s bmw(same as merc n audi).

• kinkin on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:57 pm

Wjj1989, you can’t compare price with CC. It’s the quality and the emblem that cost that much.

how to do you compare Civic 2.0 with BMW 320i?

obviously you can’t say BMW320i is overpriced right?…both of them are 2.0cc…

• WJJ1989 (Member) on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:10 pm

well if u want to compare…… then y not pay a little bit more premium on buying nissan murano or a lexus RX350….. i believe this 2 are better than X1……

• WJJ1989 (Member) on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:21 pm

below 300k there are lots of choices too from various brands….

• CarFreak on Apr 08, 2010 at 7:25 am

Lol, paying RM300K for a Japanese brand, lol. You must be joking.

Pay a little bit more I can get Jaguar.

• WJJ1989 (Member) on Apr 08, 2010 at 9:16 am

pls la we are comparing mini suv here……….. jaguar dun even have SUV…….. if u dont know that please dont call urself car freak……

• Darius on Apr 08, 2010 at 3:03 pm

I dunno how people can make a connection between CC and Price. Kinda silly.
          There is a lot more that can make difference to a car price that just cc.

• Start to compare BMW with Honda, Kia and Hyundai??? Merc E200 also 1.8 but the price is 370K, so better by Altis or what??

• tokmoh on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:06 pm

Well… this X1 is a 2.0 diesel… I hope someone’s gonna come in and say Wira 2.0 diesel better ahahaha

inb4 Wira 2.0 diesel better :D

• Jarum on Apr 07, 2010 at 4:23 pm

You can’t compare a BMW to some Japanese make la! You will have to drive a BMW first to understand the quality and the technology that does not exist in Japanese cars.

Let me suggest this to you guys, drive up to any authorised BMW show room as ask for a test drive. They will oblige and not refuse you even they have spotted you coming in your Proton miles away and know that you have no intentions in buying their cars. Try it and most of you will eat your own words.

• WJJ1989 (Member) on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:16 pm

well i believe in toyota products more than bmw in malaysia……. in terms of reliability and so on

• Black Dog on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:40 pm

But if you to compare with another German product, the Audi Q5, it beats this BM hands down!

• Neonda on Jun 03, 2010 at 12:48 pm

Toyota..? in terms of reliability and so on..? are you sure..? after heard few crisis and recall…heheheee…
          actually to compare price, we have to look in more wide angle perspective…just like you buy an original Plane White T-Shirts with NIKE tag…how much it cost to compare with Pagoda brand T-Shirts…? heheee…
          and also..these are for those people who look for names, style and elegant…that is why got people buy RM2++k VW Golf rather than they bought any other 2.0cc car which is much cheaper than that..

• mohd hafizzul on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Paul….macam mana i nak upload gambar dalam ni? Bila kita comment akan keluar gambar sebelah kanan tu…

• Paul Tan on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:48 pm

you can go to www.gravatar.com and sign up for an account and upload your profile picture there. remember to use the same email address that you use to comment on this blog.

• fort minor on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:11 pm

it’s quite ok to me…comparable to tiguan and Q5.hehe

• 1 Malaysia on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:18 pm

bmw over price? all non-national cars sale in Mal is over price. wan to complain? just blame our gov for taken away 1/2 of the $ we paid for a car.

• i concur…..

• paultan fan on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:54 pm

agree

• then if the gov doesnt do this..u guys wont be able to get free school, free hospital services etc..if u think US has cheaper price, but u wont be able to get free services like in malaysia.

• So you think if take half you can buy ferarri la? Your head la. Want to buy this car work harder la.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:26 pm

You are only paying for the badge on that car. Here is a video review from fifthgear.

http://fwd.five.tv/fifth-gear/videos/other/fifth-gear-web-tv-bmw-x1-road-test

• anak dato' on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:50 pm

lol. u must not b in malaysia cause it says the vid cant be viewed from my current country or location

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:46 pm

Yes, I am not :P

here, youtube version. Unless malaysia has a “firewall” like china
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e1CMx3bGWxk

• anak dato' on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:10 pm

just find out it can be viewed at youtube

• If I were given a choice between X1 and Q5, and if everything else is considered on par, I think I’d go for Q5 for its interior. But yeah, the xDrive20d is very, very tempting.

• Sorry… Even though it’s cheap, but I still don’t like the design.

• mr_3m on Apr 07, 2010 at 5:29 pm

stick to ur F430 je lah…. this car is not in your league…. may be wait for a Bentley/Rolls SUV of some sort…

• this x1 is rubbish. even autocar says it is expensive compared to rivals

• Nicework on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:43 pm

No iDrive?

Front grill is just TOO big.. looks like FAN SHUE ( Sweet potato)

• BeemerFreak on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:52 pm

Yeah what happened to the idrive? Even the Q5 has MMI and is priced the same. Only bad point about the Q5 is 7.5 month waiting list as quoted to me by Euromobile glenmarie.

• Jong88 on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:43 pm

Paul is it a 5 speeder?

• sutheshkumar on Apr 07, 2010 at 4:20 pm

after the E65 7 series, all beemers came with six speed autos.

• Ben X5 on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:50 pm

YEAH YEAH.. I Want one :D.. in .. this is just so rip off.. 300 k in rm is about SGD 130K or B$ 130K … this car is sold for 68K in Brunei.. so expensive..

but i would love to have one :D

• prado700 on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:50 pm

a very nice car but too expensive for people on the street.

• wat is he doing there? looking for a new car?

• rexis on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:03 pm

Omg its 20d!

Talk about power and fuel efficiency!

• modan on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:11 pm

i’ve test drive both model i mean Q5 n X1,
    for the look, feature,material n technology i prefer Q5,
    for handling i’ve to admit that X1 is better.
    even do i’m Audi fan

• dont like the colour, and wheres the fancy rims from those official photos?

• Go for diesel!

• cordoba1 on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Wonder why there is such a huge price diff between the petrol and diesel version. 300K seems a little on the high considering this is the basic BMW range, the petrol version seems like the better deal. The recond Cayenne seems like a good deal too under 300K but I heard the repairs are very expensive 7-8K per service.

• 4agze (Member) on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:45 pm

don’t worry, somebody with cash to spare will buy this

• Anonymous on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:50 pm

price ok la acceptable.

X1, X3, X5,, then what? X7? X9? X11, X (all odd numbers)?

• acerman on Apr 07, 2010 at 8:30 pm

just like sony flagship model SE Xperia X1, SE Xperia X2…. SE Xperia X10…

• Anonymous on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Porsche make good decision not to make baby SUV coz it will hurt Cayenne sales. News from Autocar uk.

• Diesel on Apr 07, 2010 at 4:11 pm

hmm…. still prefer Hyundai R-Engine 2.0c 184hp 394nm

• Aariz on Apr 07, 2010 at 6:38 pm

What is so special about 184hp and 394Nm?

BMW 2.0D for Europe has 204hp and 400Nm of torque. And it’s in production since 2007 already… ;)

• Paul Tan on Apr 07, 2010 at 6:44 pm

That’s the twin turbo version… in the 123d and X1 xDrive23d. Been trying to organize a test drive for my correspondent in the UK for damn long already but BMW UK tak layan hehe.

• subhero on Apr 07, 2010 at 4:15 pm

NO TV

• khaix19a on Apr 07, 2010 at 4:17 pm

i choose Q5 over this……

• sutheshkumar on Apr 07, 2010 at 4:21 pm

and no navigation option?

• AUDEE on Apr 07, 2010 at 4:48 pm

Q5 anytime better in pricing, specs and design

and best of all … Q5 equivalent to X3 not X1

• used non national car owner on Apr 07, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Not my taste.

RM 30k, I might consider.

RM 300K… Ha..ha…ha..HA..HA..HA..HA…

• used non national car owner on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Just finished laughing….

The interior is so simple and basic.

Even the LCD monitor is missing.

Yet the price is RM 300k.

He He He ……

:-D

• bobby on Apr 07, 2010 at 5:20 pm

300k , even the navigation / screen get strip off and replace with storage compartment ? WTH ?

• VicTor on Apr 07, 2010 at 7:46 pm

Exactly what I am thinking after looking at the interior photos. Total let down, Looks so cheap for a RM300K car.

• The Loner on Apr 07, 2010 at 5:48 pm

BMW X1’s 2L turbo diesel engine, it’s best at 2.0L turbo diesel class in output. Currently not all engine manufactures can produce turbo diesel engine with such high output (don’t count Navara’s YD25DDTi because it’s 2.5L turbo diesel).

Sure in acceleration X1 definitely can beat those normal sedans with petrol engines below 1.8L.

• sixtythree on Apr 07, 2010 at 6:16 pm

BMW always be my UDM, (eventhough hv yet to own one) but 300k for this?? Harrier or Murano are much better in terms of value for money

• fuyiopo on Apr 07, 2010 at 7:07 pm

Fan-Bloody-Tastic!!!!!!!!

• albagmane on Apr 07, 2010 at 7:37 pm

all i can say is… DAMN YOU GOVERNMENT!!!

• 2fast on Apr 07, 2010 at 8:33 pm

Looks nice and at 250k it is a good alternative to the entry level 3 series.

• Maserati on Apr 07, 2010 at 8:39 pm

Interior is horrible.Looks so dated and bland.

• Victor Lee on Apr 07, 2010 at 8:50 pm

New facelift Civic 2.0 Rim? Now German copy Japs

• keluangman on Apr 07, 2010 at 8:57 pm

for RM300k x20d I expect for it to come with i-Drive. Anyway test drive review in UK and EU for x20d not really favourable due to BMW cutting cost with noise insulation material and the noise of the diesel engine really intrude into the cabin.

I would go for 320d anyday compared to this half baked SAV.

For RM300k you have the new Harrier(RM350k), Murano(RM330k), Mazda CX-9(RM330k) which I think is miles better than this “entry level” X1 series

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:06 pm

it’s overpriced. should be around rm 240k like this.

• The Loner on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:40 pm

Easy. Reduce the excise duty and eliminate import duty then you’ve vehicle priced the way you can expect.

• Aaron Ch'ng You Liang (Member) on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:21 pm

I would go for the 2.0d version because it is more powerful than the 1.8i version…….:)

• entry level car at premium price…..but will still sell because of the badge factor. we malaysians are so brand conscious that we forget to see what we are actually getting for our hard earned money.
    2 of my friends just sold their 5 series bought brand new,less than 5 years old now, with mileage less than 100K ,already engine leaking,needs major repairs and replacements.

• keluangman on Apr 08, 2010 at 11:28 am

haha.. maybe ur fren didnt heard that BMW stands for “Banyak Masuk Workshop” or “Banyak Makan Wang”…

Just chk Astro 734 Discovery Turbo channel the show “The Garage” and you can see all kind of weird and “should not happen” damages and repair to BMW cars.

The clever money still goes to Lexus or Mercedes…..

• whatever on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:26 pm

I’ll go land rover freelander II over this puny…

• not-quite-the-auto-junkie on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:59 pm

new LEXUS RX 350 la, no fool will buy a 2008-09 Toyota Harrier for RM 350k.
    i agree the pricing for x20 seems steep, considering this is just-above-the entry level 18i engine.
    rm300k , should be expecting the twin turbo x23d instead.
    u might say , ‘i rather spend rm300k on a murano or Harrier’… but at rm300k, are u really willing to keep holding to a Nissan/ Mazda or Toyota key? At that price, should easily be a BMW, Audi Q5 or even the XC60 Volvo.

many ignore the Tiguan too, which at rm250k, will definitely kick the 18i performance.

• little’s wife car… not for man la

• stickers on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:00 pm

These race cars are like life, they are powerful and there is a lot of energy,” said Koons. “You can participate with it, add to it and let yourself transcend with its energy. There is a lot of power under that hood and I want to let my ideas transcend with the car – it’s really to connect with that power.”

• firefox on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:12 pm

totally not confident with BMW right now, some more Interior is horrible….

• henryee on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:35 am

Stupid Government had made these affordable car to cost more than 150% higher than other country.
    This car is juz cost under 30K Pound in UK, but why here cost RM 300K?
    Government can juz tax on other items, but pls, dont impose such high tax on Cars and keep on continueing to support the “Kampung King” – Old Baby Infant Industry Protong to make their business here~

• khaix19a on Apr 08, 2010 at 10:16 am

what to do….in UK car price is cheap but the spare part is expensive…..

• MANBO on Apr 08, 2010 at 10:29 am

pehhh…comfrom..i booking this bmw…the price cheper

• Al-Kasbar on Apr 08, 2010 at 10:39 am

It sure sucks to be Ong Tee Keat at the moment. Knowing that he will be dropped off as a cabinet minister anytime but still have to go to work and face the media and people and pretend nothing happened.

• meteoraniac on Apr 08, 2010 at 10:47 am

good but overpriced car, but with the lowest spec…….

same old story…………..

• Most of modern car came with some sort of Multimedia interfaces nowdays and the dashboard is design to accomodate that fixed LCD somehow. But, the worst part when this car came to our market, those LCD gone and the dashboard turned ugly and not functional anymore..

Cannot imagine an expensive car like this loosing those big multimedia interface on the dashboard and replaced with cheap looking cover.

• Sharviin Sasasey on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:29 pm

300k car no sat nav?

• 325i Performance Edition on Apr 08, 2010 at 2:05 pm

the headlamp with the white eyebrow is UGLY !!!

• ahmed on Apr 08, 2010 at 6:07 pm

sorry to say,but the design(rear) is totally ugly!
    btw it is BMW,who care.
    -just my 2 cent-

• sheikh mohd nasir on Apr 08, 2010 at 7:05 pm

emmm…waiting for new kia sorento xm.. is it possible to compare with this x1??

• At RM300k… No i drive, no dual aircond, No Toys!!! No buy! it better to purchase a 320i sports with toys,

• Not bad. Think of buying this for my wife. Then she can trash this piece of junk to pieces for all I care. Ugly looking small beast with overprice due to government tax compare to other country out there. Our top potatoes also not using local made product. So why should we? Ye laaa…these people got millions. Don’t be so proud la. It’s only money. You can’t take them to your grave.

• Amiran on Apr 11, 2010 at 11:57 am

Welcome ugly duckling!
    Nice inside, at heart… but sadly UGLY outside!

So who want one?

• delio on Apr 11, 2010 at 10:07 pm

paul, does it have the idrive?