Nasim expands Peugeot network, introduces Rapide service

Nasim Sdn Bhd, official distributor of Peugeot in Malaysia, has launched a new 3S centre in Ampang as part of a network expansion plan. It’s the fifth Peugeot 3S centre in Malaysia after Glenmarie, Johor Bahru, Penang and Kuching.

Not only does the new facility use Peugeot’s latest branding and logo, it’s the first in Malaysia to offer Peugeot Rapide, a service offered in selected markets to reduce customers’ waiting time for routine maintenance work. Things like engine oil change and diagnostic checks will be completed within an hour. Four service bays are dedicated to Rapide while customers wait at the lounge.

Nasim also announced that two more branches will be opened in Ipoh and Puchong in the coming weeks, the former a 3S centre. With these two, Nasim’s network will total 20 outlets comprising 13 branches and seven dealers.

The Naza Group subsidiary is also seeking to reassure customers on parts availability and affordability, pointing out that it has a well stocked inventory worth RM5.7 million including spares for all current models as well as previous gen cars such as the 406, 307 and 206. The company also recently reduced parts pricing by 20%.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Wow, that’s efficient… Sounds like Toyota.

• Toyota drivers are idiots on May 03, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Any news on KIA showrooms?

• lol…i thought aston rapide

• Alpha on May 03, 2010 at 6:24 pm

i thought u were gna say Naza is bringing Aston Martin Rapide in!!haha!!

• Mpower on May 03, 2010 at 7:16 pm

peugeot is a good car but i wonder why many malaysians don’t really prefer this. Understood that maintenance of it kinda costly which more less like bimmer, merc, or even a audi.

• Motorist on May 04, 2010 at 1:20 pm

French cars have a bad reputation for unreliable & workshop queen. Citreon perhaps gave the worse impression due to it’s hydraulics suspension.

However, you see French cars running fine in ex-French colonies in north Africa, where the weather is even more severe & harsh than our tropical climate.

I think the spare parts are slightly more expensive than bimmer, merc cuz’ economies of scale. Bimmer & mercs build more cars than Pug/Citreon, thus parts cost are lower.

• aksMs on May 05, 2010 at 3:39 pm

I beg to differ sir. Been driving a 2002 C5 since it was launched here. Never had any problem with the ‘hydropneumatic suspension’ until it reached 300,000++km. And, which parts do you referring to that is more expensive than Bimmer’s and Merc’s? From my experience they are still cheaper than the Germans.

Anyway, sold the C5 for the current 407. Thinking of 2007 C5 but lost faith in Brooklands.

• Mpower on May 07, 2010 at 6:04 pm

well defended both of u, somehow i still have a scandal towards the peugeot…lol Bro aksMs nice choice of u getting the 407. Its wide n spacious. :)

• Fat Bear on May 03, 2010 at 9:16 pm

Heard a 407 in the parking lot n it sounded v harsh……i wonder if the heating problem really solved.

Takes time to build momentum like Audi is attempting to do.

• ya lor..engine sound is teribble..I heard too from Naza Bestari model..sound from the engine is very loud..maybe cable problem or what..i dunno..

• mangkok on May 03, 2010 at 9:28 pm

dear paultan,
    i thought there is gonna be a branch in melaka..no news yet?

• Bullfarce on May 03, 2010 at 9:29 pm

RM5.7 million worth of inventory and u ask them if they have a replacement battery, they tell u whole country no stock.

• Tiadaid on May 03, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Why do you need to go to Naza to change battery? Peugeots don’t use abnornal batteries now do they?

• Squawk on May 04, 2010 at 1:07 pm

Bullfarce, is it because they’ll void the warranty if you go out to get your own battery? Seems like a lot of Pugs have premature batt failure. Something’s wrong somewhere.

As much as Naza is trying to change consumer perception and improve, if they don’t change the people behind it…. it’s just a waste of their time and our money.

• Tiadaid on May 04, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Is the battery part of the warranty? I never heard of that before.

• Squawk on May 05, 2010 at 1:03 pm

Regardless whether it’s part of the warranty, there sure seems to be a lot of cases of failed batteries on fairly new Pugs.

• Tigerwoods on May 07, 2010 at 10:31 am

Maybe Nasim / Naza have their own way of doing things, I recently heard they have got the accurate / correct specifications for local batteries to be fitted into the Peugeot cars which was approved by the principle. To my understanding, Batteries cannot be transported via AIR FREIGHT due to it being labeled as “DANGEROUS / EXPLOSIVE GOODS” All of it can be only transported via SEA FREIGHT which I think takes 2 months to reach Malaysia from France. As far I’m concerned, I never had any problems with my Peugeot 407 at all, runs like a lion and highly recommended to get one!

• takeo1070 on May 04, 2010 at 1:23 pm

agree with u……or probably they using li-ion batt..Hu..hu..

• As usual..they just wanna sell the car. who cares about parts and aftersales service?

• The Loner on May 03, 2010 at 10:36 pm

Open more 3S with plentiful of spare parts and reachability to make after sales service good.

Better after sales means higher second hand value.

• BSLee on May 03, 2010 at 10:50 pm

Hope more M’sia will buy Peugeot so that 2nd hand value of the car can be improved.

• Ya lor..This situation is same as Kia model..Salesmen told me that maybe 2nd hand value for Kia model is increase coz the introduction of Forte..Forte is like ‘pisang goreng panas’…many people want to buy..

• 308 Owner on May 04, 2010 at 12:05 am

Stronger presence (through service centers, sales, spare parts availability) will build stronger impression of this great brand to Malaysian owners. Peugeot is a long established brand in Europe. If Nasim takes time and effort (and money) to build this presence, malaysians will continue to receiveintroductions to Peugeot’s lineup of great cars at great value. Malaysians have been long been “trapped” into the Toyota and Honda mindset we tend to fail to consider the other gems around us. I’m a proud owner of a brand new Peugeot 308 and i strongly recommend those potential car buyers to expand their horizon and look beyond the common and usual brands. I’m neither a Peugeot car salesman or a Nasim employee – lol – but i hope to play my part in educating Malaysians on the Peugeot brand.

• Hi 308 Owner,

How much the average maintenance cost for 308? I’m kinda interested with the car especially 308 VTi model. Seems the overall quality of the car is well enough and the price is considerably reasonable for European car. Will start savings now! ;)

• Yeap, pug are very good car….if only our fuel are suitable for those excellent hdi range of diesels…..their top/bestsellers of the range are mostly the diesel

• kenny_lim on May 04, 2010 at 8:18 am

yeah, i’ve heard how good peugeot car is but after getting the locally assembled 206, i jus lost the confidence. why?

1- absorber cracked after less than 2 months
      2- car cant start bcos the battery connectors are not tightened
      3- alot-lot more…..

not to be discouraging others but i try not to get any cars from Naza. from sales to after sales service, all are crap. i’ve talked to some owners at the SC, some loves their car but the foreman screw up their cars.

for now, since peugeot is under naza…..i swear that i will never get this car from them.

• Motorist on May 04, 2010 at 1:26 pm

When Proton was assembling rebadge Mitsu’s Wira & Saga, they had the same problems. Poor assembly coupled with poor quality control coupled with poor after sales service.

I remember waiting the whole day just for them to rectify problem #2 above for my 2 day old 1st generation Wira Aeroback. No apology given by after sales, just “sudah siap bang” at 4pm.

• i want another car... on May 04, 2010 at 10:38 am

hear hear!

i hope they’ve put friendly types at the reception desks though. the only good service i’ve had is the one at glenmarie… although you can forget about walk in… setting an appointment is about three weeks. i’ve tried chan sow lin…. where i felt like i was talking to some guru besar who just refuses to smile…. secn 51… recommends unnecessary stuff prompting you to spend more… so this new “rapide” branch…. far as it may seem, is a welcome addition.

• kennyhills on May 04, 2010 at 1:18 am

Good to see Naza taking the lead in improving their
    after sales service.
    Next – How about extending the warranty to
    5 year -Unlimited mileage since the 308 is such a reputable brand?

• Mazda 3 MPS on May 04, 2010 at 3:42 am

a simple showroom. that’s all it needs. the cars looks so good

• pokdik on May 04, 2010 at 9:00 am

I luv pug

• 5 years or 300,000KMs warranty like what Hyundai is offering would be nice!!

• Went there to test drive Peugeot 407.

the sales person dont know how to operate this and that.. and some function of the car also they dunno how to explain…

• I’m a proud owner of a 206m, less than a year old.
    The way this car moves… unbelievable!
    Great to hear they will have ready parts for 206 although it’s now no longer available and hence now only available as a ‘limited edition’ pre-owned

• azrai on May 04, 2010 at 12:59 pm

Lower sales will translate into lower time waiting for service actually.

• Correct3…not many car at SC to service…thats y low time waiting..hehee

• Alanore Chong on May 04, 2010 at 3:14 pm

VERY GOOD !!!

• tikus on May 04, 2010 at 10:05 pm

When and where is Puchong 3S will be open? Anyone from Nasim or paul?

• puchong only 1S lah

• wow…same as Jusco..have laluan express..hehehe

• rexyu on Oct 02, 2010 at 5:11 pm

same with others Proud to be a owner of Peugeot 206, really nice handling and many features on car. its a design since 10 years ago BUT still in sale in the earth. i think less car can be like this! and naza assembled work REALLY need to improved. >.<