Peugeot introduces 308 GTi with 200 THP engine

Peugeot has released information on the range topping 308 GTi, which sits above the GT in the 308 range. To earn that status, it naturally comes with more power and torque than the 175 bhp/240 Nm GT, which is sold here in Malaysia at RM160K. The GTi gets the 200 THP engine that also goes into the RCZ 2+2 Coupe. It’s a 1.6-engine with twin-scroll turbo and direct injection that makes 200 bhp and 275 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 4,500 rpm.

Like the GT, the GTi comes with a six-speed manual ‘box, enabling it to do the benchmark 0-100 km/h sprint in 7.7 seconds, which is fast, but not as fast as the similarly badged VW Golf. What’s really impressive is the fuel consumption, which is rated at 14.5 km/l in the combined cycle. The 200 THP engine is built with Sound System technology, which delivers different harmonics according to vehicle acceleration. This is from a vibrating membrane controlled and amplified by an acoustic duct – quiet when it’s supposed to be, louder when you’re pressing on.

Peugeot-308_GTi_rear

Chassis wise, the GTi’s front suspension gets joints with larger diameter bearings derived from platform 3 (C/D segment) and specific damper settings with particular attention paid to the uprated front units (22 mm damper rods compared to 20 mm). The GTi rides on 18-inch alloys (same design as GT) with 225/40 tyres.

Only available as a five-door, the super subtle GTi is differentiated from lower powered siblings by a black carbon-style insert under the front bumper, a lower front panel derived from the 308 CC, a rear diffuser bumper with twin pipes (GT strangely had no visible tail pipes) and a slightly louder rear spoiler. And of course, GTi badging.

Inside, sporty features include an aluminium foot rest and gear knob, leather steering wheel with slightly flattened lower edge and piano black fascia. All these are present in the RCZ, as is a more modern and integrated layout for the stereo system.

UPDATE: Hi res gallery added after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1148]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Tiadaid on May 20, 2010 at 10:11 pm

Surely it’ll be priced in the Golf range. But Peugeots have been selling briskly, so I don’t think they’ll have any problems moving the metals.

• _Zephyre_ on May 20, 2010 at 10:33 pm

It’s a four-door? O_o

• power on May 20, 2010 at 10:54 pm

nowadays 2 door doesnt mean fast, and with this funny design, 2 door or 4 door no difference.

• Gajen on May 20, 2010 at 10:35 pm

i wonder how much

• Choon on May 20, 2010 at 10:44 pm

If this car is 170K, I think worth a look! :)

I saw the previous GT, the seat at the back is like a coupe – dog seat… I’m expecting the same with GTi.

Hopefully they don’t price it like GT, I still think GT is over price…

• power on May 20, 2010 at 10:53 pm

if its 200k, lets go buy Golf GTI.

This car cannot beat golf GTI in badge, reliability, sportyness. and come on, its a french car. Ask Jeremy how he think of peugeot.

308 GTi if around 160k can sell, 180k very dangerous. 200k, no need sell at all.

• Tiadaid on May 20, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Meh, not much difference. Golf have an extra 10hp and 5Nm of torque. And if you rely on Jeremy Clarkson’s reviews, well I’m sorry to say you’re gonna miss out out many good cars! To say Clarkson’s impartial would be like saying Perodua design cars!

Anyway, reliability-wise I don’t think this pug’s gonna cause much trouble. French cars of today I believe have improved over the bad old days. It’s only our mentality that’s holding it back.

• i would say golf cause the bigger cc mean it got better torque across its rev range.

• Power is not everything, especially for a GTI class car. Handling and all round usability is just as important, if not more so. The gearbox is just a class above the Pug GTI, DSG vs manual. That probably explains the huge 1 sec performance deficit of the Pug GTI to the VW GTI. The big disadvantage of the Pug GTI is the torsion rear beam compared to the independent suspension of the VW GTI, so handling wise I’m sure the VW will run rings around the Pug. I don’t mean to slam the Pug (I drive a 308T), but the Golf and 308 are in a different class. Like some other people said, if the Pug 308GTI is priced well, say below RM170k or RM160k, then it might sell. Anything above that just gets too close to the VW.

• lchan on May 21, 2010 at 9:36 am

so you are Jeremy’s bitch eh?

• true, better price around 140k, so i’ll get one ASAP.

• Cannot priced like Golf la, sure kenot sell… This is a mom’s grocery car, even thou it has a GTi badge slap on it’s butt.

• and a 200 horsepower that never gets used? lol haha

• michaelk on May 21, 2010 at 7:58 am

agreed.308 has ‘nothing’ to shout about compared to golf gti or civic type r..collectible items soon lo for type r. by the way, the look & stance of the 308 doesnt give u d confidence in terms of handling & braking.

• perts on May 21, 2010 at 3:55 pm

have u drove the car mate….?..why don’t u try it first ya….

• electropro10 on May 22, 2010 at 4:56 am

hahahah. Mom’s grocy car ke. wat car u drive to buy ur grocy bro. alfa GTV 2000 ke.

• VW_fans on May 21, 2010 at 2:26 am

Is this car confirm coming to M’sia??? These days European goes “Turbo” while Japanese flagging off sports car ha!ha! except Mitsu & Boxer.

• Sheep9 on May 21, 2010 at 2:50 am

NICE!!!!!!!
    It may lose to Golf in terms of performance (slightly only that is)…but looks wise, this 308GTi looks so much better then Golf….

• phas3r on May 21, 2010 at 3:20 am

well if the gt is rm160k of course this one is higher

• hiruma kecil (Member) on May 21, 2010 at 3:30 am

Jangan pandang rendah peugeot.. cuma orang yg pernah drive peugeot tahu beza peugeot dengan kereta lain.. jangan lupa.. peugeot penah menang rally WRC, bukan sekali.. tapi banyak kali..

• tarmiziali on May 21, 2010 at 8:09 am

well a more superior car with value for money would be the Satria Neo R3 Lotus.

• michaelk on May 21, 2010 at 11:02 am

value 4 $ for neo lotus? what a joke.let’s not mention p[r]otong car here. peugeot vs vw golf gti vs honda tyre R…. no pasar malam stuff here please..

• tarmiziali on May 21, 2010 at 9:23 pm

I was being sarcastic. But someone did claim r3 lotus is gives much better driving feeling than the 308 turbo in some other local automotive forum.

• electropro10 on May 22, 2010 at 5:00 am

bro we are talking about car’s . not over price metel toy’s.

• desmond on May 21, 2010 at 8:18 am

we can compare apple to apple, it is individual preferences. moreover some dudes will always stick to jap car all their lives. each and every brand built has their flaw and they wouldn’t claims that its perfect.

to my opinion this jerk jeremy clarkson he is a mad nerd in the sense that all car editor’s from british decendants are biased when commenting or review a car especially french or italian made.

• wackko on May 21, 2010 at 8:45 am

over at US can price same as golf la.. but in malaysia cannot la.. 100% wont sell.. i think..
    cannot rely on jeremy clarkson’s review 1 la.. for an average joe like me la..
    peugeot cars not tat bad la.. except for the spare parts la.. >.<
    my dad use to own a PUG 405.. my uncle a PUG 406.. both seriously nice cars to be in..
    i can sweep through karak highway's corners at a constant 160kph without feeling will this car skid on me.. still can push further but don wan la… 10 years car liao.. don wan push too "zhun"..

• Bro, european cars at those range all can cruise stable at 160kph la… some Jap car at same range sure feel a bit wobbly than the conti.

• beatnik on May 21, 2010 at 9:10 am

IF this car only comes with a manual gearbox, i don’t think it will sell well here.. because majority of malaysians prefer autobox (lazy? hehehe). only a fraction enjoys the fun of driving with a stickshifter! most ppl want high powered car but with autobox.. sigh..

• locally assemble pls… then can be affordable to the masses… surely it will sell more than ur suria if locally assembled…

• ong chin aun on May 21, 2010 at 9:37 am

HEHE, this is the car i`m looking for ! 1.6 Litre, Manual tramsmisssion plus petrol comsumption reasonable good. Moreover very stylist and pick up as reported very forceful . Congrat Peugoet ! Keeep it up.

• Jules on May 21, 2010 at 2:06 pm

And u believe their FC? they said it’s 7.9 L/100km for the 308thp combined cycle but in reality driving in traffic around the klang valley without highway? 12L/100km & that’s with minimal jam in a stop-go traffic. if u r always caught in a crawl, expect no less than 14L. yup, that’s looking at >25c every km of ron95.

14.5 km/L? that’s 6.9L/100km, expect it to be 13.5L/100km.
      So if it’s meant for mom’s grocery car as some put it, go get a myvi la. Never buy a car that is as heavy as this ( >1.4 tonne ) that seldom hit a free flowing highway. Don’t contribute to more CO2.

• I admit that I said it is a grocery car, but I believe it’s FC claim. Turbo does wonderful things. :-) I am looking at below 10L/100km. I had a 2L (N/A Merc) and like the situation you mentioned, it did 0.23rm/km. A 1.6 will certainly be better and with a turbo, it will be even better as it reduce your need for lead foot. 1 dated (near outdated) thing about this car is it’s 4 speed tranny.

• 1 dated (near outdated) thing about this car is it’s 4 speed tranny.

which car r u reffering? 308 or merc?

• Oh yea.. a heavy car makes cruising at high speed or meeting humps in your neighborhood much more comfortable. That’s why it feels comfortable in conti cars as they are always heavy. >.< But downside is FC. To compromise that they put turbo.

• rayzel on May 21, 2010 at 9:44 am

i am driving a 308T.. worth every money spent.. looking forward to this car coming to our land…

• odi862 on May 21, 2010 at 9:45 am

Very nice….but at RM160k the price won’t sells the car. The “high performance junkies” might just opt for Imprezza or Evo.

• Cynical on May 21, 2010 at 10:39 am

Naza, please rebadge this car

• beamer28 (Member) on May 21, 2010 at 11:59 am

Personally I think we should all recognise the fact that French makes just isn’t in the same league as The Germans (although both Conti), hence the pricing.

and if Pug wants to sell more to the masses, they may want to come out with something other than just a normal Manual gearbox. (eg. DSG perhaps)

• The 308gt manual at RM159k also not many takers. I’m sure this will cost much more due to the higher specifications.

• CiViC_7900 on May 21, 2010 at 1:36 pm

Nice!!!

• dont think this car will see day light here…308T is selling good way bother.

• Henry Tang on May 21, 2010 at 4:15 pm

They’ll probably price it at 180k here. There will be a few fans.

• iLOVEkimchi on May 21, 2010 at 4:55 pm

I am a 308THP owner.

no doubt driving pressure its fabulous given the money spent..and very comfort too..
    but one thing for sure, PUG dun have good gear box..yet. seriously, the whole is nice, exterior,interior..power, comfort…and only big down fall its the gear box! and 4 speed for my THP is kinda not enuf~

that’s y for this 308GTI or the GT they can only give u manual which ….

I’m looking forward PUG would have new gear box soon, and must be very soon! sure the dual clutch should be in the picture!

one thing to share… I have experiencing few times my gear box jerking, dun ask me why it jerk, its a auto rite? during 50-60km/h or faster .. kind of scary… any bro out there have the same problem with your 308?

• iLOVEkimchi on May 21, 2010 at 4:57 pm

ohya ..

for 308 fans or owner..have u seen the rear spoiler? cool ya… different from the standard available here~ not bad ya…

• teelim on May 21, 2010 at 5:17 pm

Naza… pls bring this in and keep the 6-speed manual gearbox intact :P~

• Arcane on May 21, 2010 at 6:58 pm

Hell of a time for the Traction Control to handle 200HP on an FF car

• twin scroll turbo and direct injection? wonder what grade fuel to use. only Vpower?

• hen rou on May 23, 2010 at 12:56 am

i heard that the AF student will get this car for free??

• paultan fan on May 23, 2010 at 9:38 am

nice car. i ilike it

• forgot-my-name on May 24, 2010 at 12:04 pm

I’d consider 208 Rcup.

• Is any plan that Naza/Peugeot going to release new gearbox to the 308?

• zekbeemer on Jun 30, 2010 at 8:25 am

I’m owner of the latest BMW 3 series and test drove 308T for my xyl, I think, it’s worth every penny and almost place a booking on yesterday, luckily my friend called me to KIV due to the 4sp VS 6sp, still waiting for 6sp announcement otherwise, I change to another options.

• zekbeemer on Jun 30, 2010 at 8:27 am

I’m the owner of the latest BMW 3 series and test drove 308T for my xyl, I think, it’s worth every penny and almost place a booking on yesterday, luckily my friend called me to KIV due to the 4sp VS 6sp, still waiting for 6sp announcement otherwise, I change to another options.

• Cosmos on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:31 pm

doesn’t really look special enough.