New Audi A8 is a moving WiFi hotspot!

Audi is future proofing its new A8 limo by factory installing a WLAN hotspot for wireless internet connection as an option. Which means that passengers not only have business class comfort, but can conduct business in the car too, as they can access internet wirelessly via the WLAN module and UMTS with up to eight devices.

Wireless surfing, accessing information, data and e-mails from company networks, and downloading the latest apps for the iPad can be done securely, as the connection contains WPA2 encryption for transfer of data. Connection speeds can go up to 7.2 Mbps.

The first car in the world to offer such a function, using the WLAN hotspot will involve inserting a data capable SIM card into the Bluetooth online car phone. There is also the option of using Bluetooth from a mobile phone to establish a connection. Internet connectivity is channelled through the rooftop antenna of the Audi A8 using its own UMTS module, which is said to have outstanding connection stability and reception quality.

A huge gallery of the A8 is available here.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• 4G63tDSM on May 24, 2010 at 12:58 pm

I suppose that wont be the same but one could very well spend a few hundred RMs and get a 3G wireless router and mount it in your car….or have an Iphone with wireless tethering..haha

• Citroen DS3 on May 24, 2010 at 1:09 pm

wah lau.. throw in a permanent driver and a secretary.. its like a moving office with the office boy already.. now who needs brick and mortar now?

• shawal on May 24, 2010 at 1:14 pm

Put in a coffee machine~! then we all dont need to go to starbucks~!

• The Loner on May 24, 2010 at 1:28 pm

Whoa, moving WiFi. Suitable for chinese bosses, A8L plus WiFi. Can conduct any conference with ease.

• just hate the fixed rear seat middle console

space waster and makes car cramp !

STUPIDITY at its max

• Rich ppl have more than enough money to buy 10 or more luxury people mover if they need more space. You shud try to sit in it first, i bet will sleep peacefully

• Not a question of money but designers who are not in touch with the real world

Cars should be designed to make life easier… just like the RR Phantom’s suicide door… may be ugly … but much easier access.

I bet many can name 100 more reasons to have a foldable rather than fix middle console.

Its rubbish and totally not practical design ,,, eg you can’t slide to other door to exit in case of emergency ! Cant even pick up a water bottle on other side of floor. Cant even reach to the front for a pack of sweets. These are all the basic stuff HUMANS do in the rear of the car… chaffeured or otherwise

Tis is just like the X6 … rear seats suxxs

Otherwise better buy Panamera instead …

• titanium on May 26, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Haven’t you all heard of luxury sedans? please be aware that the Audi A8 is a luxury executive sedan. It is a car for CEOs and directors -not for families.. If we are talking abt a family car, then it would be sensible to remove the center console.

• citroen ds3 on May 24, 2010 at 2:31 pm

toyota should think about the wifi, plus a coffee makes, a robot secretary, a robot driver, telephone, video camera, multiple screens, a fridge, a microwave and a mini toilet. Then they can tapau the senior exec market. Haha. Joking only.

• monash.u on May 24, 2010 at 3:16 pm

execs better buckle up before an accident happens. their head will smashed into the LCD in front. the design is an accident hazard. wonder can pass Euro NCAP.

• venven81 on May 24, 2010 at 4:29 pm

do you think they did not consider that matter when doing its design? c’mon dude…

• Monash

u r right… there are just so many ways to make a box on wheels every 5-6 years….

designers running out of ideas to make their cars attractive.

so resorting to idiotic ideas…. esp the Germans these days

look at the new Eclass – a piece of crap in exterior design
        but interior add all kinda nonsensical stuffs in the rear … to attract.

i.e 4 zone climate control ? – it just dont work when in such a small compartment

• Tiadaid on May 25, 2010 at 12:32 pm

Well, in Europe backseaters buckle up too. Malaysians however are a different story. So Audi, keep the car in Europe

• Jonnie on May 24, 2010 at 4:35 pm

Aiyo my lousy car also got la.. Using huawei e5830 mifi connected to cigi adapter…

• power on May 24, 2010 at 9:26 pm

must have LAN for DOTA and storage place for keyboard and mouse.

A8 is a moving wifi hotspot is a pretty stupid headline.

McD is a wifi hotspot is more like it.

I’m sure those super rich guy who bought A8 will not turn their car into a moving wifi hotspot, lol.

• keretasorong on May 24, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Peminat setia A4…tetapi blom mampu….

• wochomi on May 24, 2010 at 10:36 pm

Can I get free wifi if I drive up to it or do I need to ask politely?
    Subscribe to telco dataplan can d lah…

• zafedz on May 25, 2010 at 12:19 am

Next Jason Statham car in Transporter….

• P4k4bu on May 25, 2010 at 6:46 am

All right…. Maybe this time he’ll be transporting a nerdy blogger who can’t without his/her blog, facebook & tweets…. :D