Hyundai Tucson price in Malaysia gets a hike!

Hyundai distributors Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors Sdn Bhd have announced that as of today, new bookings for the Hyundai Tucson will be priced at a new increased price which is up by between RM2k to RM3k compared to the old prices depending on the model you buy.

HSDM says this new pricing is official from the 7th June this month, anyone who have made bookings for the Tucson before the 7th will enjoy the earlier price. The 5 year or 300,000km extended warranty remains.

Here’s the changes – for the specs of each model you can read our previous post.

Old Price New Price
Hyundai Tucson 2.0 Standard RM126,888 RM129,888
Hyundai Tucson 2.0 High Spec RM136,888 RM139,888
Hyundai Tucson 2.4 RM152,888 RM154,888

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• libralcl on Jun 21, 2010 at 7:05 pm

Bad news for Malaysian.

• subhero on Jun 21, 2010 at 7:50 pm

agree. muka buruk mcm ni pun dowang letak harga tinggi2.. murah2 sudah… murah pun takde org nak beli. ni lagi letak tinggi2.

brilliant!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 27
      • JULIAN LOO on Jun 22, 2010 at 10:43 am

dowang tu apa? bahasa indon ke?

• ST Chong on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:52 am

FYI waiting list is 8mths – 1 yr! This is actually a superb car compared apple to apple to the Honda CRV. Also, those who placed order for the car is already enjoying the fact that the price is higher now compared to what they’ve paid. Expensive car have different customer segment, same goes to cheaper ones. The question is, which do you categorise yourself in?

• What kind of logic where all Malaysia car is over price and expensive, and force consumer to get price with 300% price.

• Rhys Miller on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:03 am

Not logical! Just wants Malaysians to buy Proton/Perodua and support the local automotive industry, thats all. What? Pay and settle for sub-standard quality? Well, suck it up! This is 1Malaysia and our automotive policy is as such. Don’t agree, take the bus and put your money in the bank. Foreign I suppose.

• This is all because our government setting freaking high tax. Not the manufacturing or the company problem. Perhaps this car is very competable comparing prices wise? US selling 24k for high spec, Calculate in Myr 72k. lol

• Why?! Is it hyundai do too much of advertisement in FIFA and want to transfer the cost to their customer?!

• zaff1984 on Jun 21, 2010 at 9:13 pm

may I know why it bad for malaysia..? btw, the price quite okay (still cant afford it) but the warranty is 5 years..good.

• theanswer on Jun 21, 2010 at 10:56 pm

agree a bad news. but dont worry..after all these x mampu..harga makanan mahal..bla3 sad stories..msian still can afford to buy a car and smoke cigarette.

• Peter on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:00 am

FYI…
          Hyundai do internationally for FIFA marketing.

As for region, different distributors will do their local marketing instead. What Hyundai/toyota/Honda/etc do is just provide the distributors with products/Spare parts/etc and sell….

• Tommy on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:39 am

true! hahhaha

• zafny..buy 1, pay twice..lol…oh malaysiaku..hehehe..kem slm kt johnz..hohoho

• rosrose on Sep 18, 2010 at 3:05 am

i don’t understand, i booked the car 3 month’s ago, and now even after raya still no delivery.. all the tired salesman from hyundai glenmarie can say AP problem. anyone experience this? please reply..

• Rosrose, we’re in the same boat. I’ve been waiting for 4 months. My salesman doesn’t even know what is hold up. Told me its stuck at port. Been asking around the industry, it should take about 1 week to clear. But had been waiting for longer than that.

They’re really giving a chaotic impression of the way they run their dealership.

• i waited my new bmw e89 for 6 months man……a freaking SIX months!! but now im enjoying it everyday!

• mata katak on Jun 21, 2010 at 7:46 pm

Hyundai, please raise the prices. It’s ok. It’s ok you make more profit. it’s business.

Hyundai, please note that Malaysian love cars very much. Malaysian have no problem owning new cars, eventhough the prices are 100k above. They don’t mind paying installment even for 15 years, they don’t mind paying bank loan with crazy loan interest.

Malaysian do not mind paying through their nose, selling their kidneys, etc for their car. Afterall, a car represent their status. The more expensive one pays for their car, the higher their status it shows to their friends, relative, etc.

In addition, Malaysian do not even mind buying new cars with inflated tax by their beloved government.

Anyway, I look forward seeing Hyundai cars be priced at a minimum 150k in the future.

Go Hyundai, Go!

• PakAbu on Jun 21, 2010 at 10:07 pm

L :lol: L

I think 15 yrs is still too short. Should be 20 – 25 yrs. Just like buying a house. The price also like a house. In some areas at least. ;-)

• zoomzone on Jun 22, 2010 at 8:17 am

hehe… maybe new gomen ruling, to buy a car must loan minimum 30 years. 2 generations to pay lah. also, the car price must be adjusted from current say 139k to 193k, tomake it look big and fat in other ppl wallet. then the interest rate must be 25% lah, that is how to suck the rakyat bone dry… this is good for bznes mah. oh ya, they can add is special incentive, recoman a friend, u get a free ballon! haha

• bedos on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:01 am

haha,,,good one bro

• zoomzone on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:26 pm

hi bedos, hehe… oh, that is on the soft side blogging abt hyundai. they shud hv think nicely with their brains on the heads, not buttocks on their heads… :)

• my name on Jun 21, 2010 at 7:48 pm

what is the reason for the increase in price?

• For the high spec price, I rather pay 2k more for a peugeot 3008…

• iLOVEfifa on Jun 22, 2010 at 4:48 am

not really same league with 3008..

Tucson is larger…like CRV…for PUG,

5008 is the true SUV …3008 inside the space same like 308 only

• Good news 4 Gvmnt…

• acerman on Jun 22, 2010 at 7:24 pm

It’s actually not that lah, Sime Darby is losing money from their recent investments (not car related), so to make things look good for the investors, they hike-up the price and at least they’ll get side-income more. Read the news guys, not just blame others, just blame on the managing directors.

• JKucing on Jun 21, 2010 at 8:25 pm

HSDM make billions of loss and now increase the price of cars…

• ST Chong on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:58 am

To be accurate, not HSDM, its just Sime Darby. HSDM is under the motor group of Sime Darby and in fact, they are the ones making money for Sime Darby, apart from plantation. The billion RM loss was from accumulated losses overtime, mainly Bakun Project. If selling tucson is the way to recuperate the billion losses, they will have to sell 1,000 units at RM1Mil each! You can do the math…..

• mfahd on Jun 21, 2010 at 8:52 pm

depleting ringgit

• The Black Stig on Jun 21, 2010 at 9:24 pm

Looks like Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors is going T & H!!

and Malaysians are blaming the gov for high car price.. it is in fact these AP holders are making a fool out of them!! Poor Malaysian.. screwed left right front and back!!

• yinhan16 on Jun 21, 2010 at 9:38 pm

Truly a bad news.. My dream car is one step farther away…

• jahanam on Jun 21, 2010 at 10:01 pm

i’ll rather go for crv now…ahaks~ better 2nd hand value than dis tucson…

• DonkeyKong on Jun 22, 2010 at 2:10 am

Agreed.

In the Malaysian market where buyer maturity is low and they unconditionally support H & T even if these Japanese brands sell them bullock carts for RM100k, it’s a stupid move for HSDB to try and play the premium card. Come on, the brand power is not there yet. Engineering-wise the new Hyundais and Kias are superb. But they must understand the market. This is Malaysia. People worship Honda and Toyota. Price a Korean vehicle on par with Honda and Toyota, you might as well close shop.

• 3008 looks more value for money….excellent safety equipment with all the bags (curtain too), ESP..ect..Euro NCAP 5 star rating plus its diesel like torquey 1.6 THP engine

• ST Chong on Jun 22, 2010 at 12:03 pm

What do you mean price on par? They are offering the 2.4L High Spec at the 2.0L CRV price!

• iLOVEfifa on Jun 22, 2010 at 4:46 am

another “better 2nd hand value” fans here!

goodluck to u

• I driven a tucson in USA rent-a-car. I cant believe how bad the engine is, noisy, underpower, no pickup, but thats the previous model. I dont know how much improve can do from 1 model to another.

• No disrespect to any discerning drivers, but I do believe the latest generation Kias and Hyundais have shown a marked improvement in every department.

• KCivic on Jun 21, 2010 at 10:16 pm

Since this is the latest post, Paul why dont you do a test drive for this Hyundai Tuscon, it looks very “out of the box” as compared to other SUVs such as Honda, Nissan, Mitsu and the rest. In the papers it look quite garang too, and for the price at only RM140k for the 2.0L high spec, if you got time, do a test drive for us can ah? Also just want to ask anyone who knows, whats with the new Shell V Power Ron 97 which is “engineered together with Ferrari” as compared to the previous V Power? I know this one price cheaper at 2.05 per L. I was surprised i refilled the new one earlier, and i must say, maybe psychologically but the ride was smooth and just as responsive when i came out from Shell station and just rev away. Ok, the new V Power Ron 97 is smooth and responsive.. maybe thats why Sime increase its nice looking Tuscon by few k.

• iLOVEfifa on Jun 22, 2010 at 4:45 am

wei… paul already test drive this car months back in oversea… check the previous post here larrrrr

• 47ronin on Jun 22, 2010 at 5:30 pm

no difference v power 97 against previous one .

This is just Shell marketing tactic to lure people to justify why they should pay 30 sen more per litre against RON95.

Low demand for RON97, that is why they re-brand it as V power & all people happily pay 30 sen more for 1 litre petrol.

kah kah kah. people easy to deceive when you justify it with so called “additional value”

• MangO on Jun 21, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Trying to do a T&H but didn’t get the basics right. No one is going to buy it anymore now its gone up and adopt a wait and see approach for other brands.

• tokmoh on Jun 21, 2010 at 10:27 pm

Hyundai needs to seriously consider other distributors, this is just disappointing. Naza perhaps?

Off topic: on F1, so I heard LG was to partner Lotus, but now Virgin as well? http://goo.gl/o5NC

• Alpha on Jun 21, 2010 at 10:48 pm

seriously,ths thing is fugly to me.saw a few on the road,it looks like some alien katak thing..

• mkrafz on Jun 21, 2010 at 10:51 pm

increasing in price?
    perhaps due to staggering $ 2 billion losses in sime darby.
    M’sia people will suffer bcoz of that..?
    u decide!

• Eric G on Jun 21, 2010 at 11:02 pm

When will the all new Sorento coming here?

• Yeap…i think Naza will price the new Sorento better than HSD, …bring on the diesel R series diesel pls Naza…

• Tommy on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:43 am

The son of the Naza co-owner owns it already. hahahaha

• RAZIBAR on Jun 21, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Refrain from buying and i bet the price will be lowered. There’re a lot of choices out there besides Hyundai.

• Jimmy on Jun 21, 2010 at 11:52 pm

No resale value, not low resale value. If this car kena moderate accident after 6 months and you want to sell it (after repair by insurance), then ….

• Blurking on Jun 21, 2010 at 11:54 pm

At first thinking of getting one, but with this price hike, forget it! You can get something better perhaps for cheaper.

New sportage is coming soon. Wait and see. Rumours says ~RM115

• 1kereta on Jun 22, 2010 at 12:47 am

bad business decision…cheating…boycott…,

• buying hyundai, ford, alfa romeo, land rover means we are supporting inefficiency in that big org? be careful… use less oil in your cooking, good for health.

• epol says:
      22/6/2010 at 12:59 am
      buying hyundai, ford, alfa romeo, land rover means we are supporting inefficiency in that big org? be careful… use less oil in your cooking, good for health.

——————————————————————————————————————-

In that case …why dun you just boycott Sime property too!…say no to Bkt Jelutong/Denai Alam/Putra Heights/Bkt Raja….etc,…theirs Plantation products too, use soy based oil now??…illogical

• Some bonus to the prelaunch buyers…

Sime should have fixed the price earlier and now it looks like they are banging in the success of the car on the expense of potential buyers.

Just imagine, since Mar’10, 1,200 unit sold and estimated another 1,500 units to go till year end:

Sime could easily generate another RM4.5 million just like that like simple magic!

I think Sime should include some additional accesories to compensate the increase and to satisfy its customers as they aren’t all stupid

Moreover, RM3k means another RM45 extra as monthly installment based on 3.5% rate!

• klguy on Jun 22, 2010 at 8:04 am

don worry guys, in 2-3 yrs time the price will be 100k. typical hyundai sales strategy

• ST Chong on Jun 22, 2010 at 12:07 pm

Yes you are right! However, those were the days of Kah Bintang, typical hit and run! Today, it’s Hyundai themselves and together with Sime Darby. It’s a different management altogether and for the long term, for certain!

• SD mau cover itu kerugian, psl itu mau naik harga.

• messi_WC2010 on Jun 22, 2010 at 9:31 am

wow… that the correct answer on why the price increase even after ringgit value strenghten…lol

• Vincent on Jun 22, 2010 at 9:25 am

In fact, SDM already tell every one that the previous price was mean for short perior, lunching price. Will increase after weeks. So, this is the normal price.

However, demand and supply still play very important roles. If they are selling less than 500 units in 6 months time, sure they will give unofficial discount.

• Vincent on Jun 22, 2010 at 9:35 am

By looking on the strategy that they use, I doubt that Hyundai name can be maek alive in bolehland…

• E Bear on Jun 22, 2010 at 9:39 am

Must be becos of strong sales booking.

At least, we are getting new models

• Nazrin Rizal on Jun 22, 2010 at 10:12 am

In my honest opinion, this car is a great buy. I myself am getting 1. The first response i would get from my friends are “Why didn’t you just get a CRV?”
    The only reason everyone is saying this is because of Resale value. Do we actually buy a car and plan to sell it in the NEAR future? I plan to keep this, and i personally think that the specs for this Car is better than the CRV. So what if the resale value drops? I have 5 years warranty for this car and I don’t have to worry about spare parts.

About the looks of the car? I think its a personal opinion. If you like it, then you like it. If you don’t? you don’t.

About the Price going up? I don’t think it is fair to blame Hyundai, why not try asking Sime Darby About this? If it were Naza, I don’t think this would have happened. We don’t see the Forte being increased in price right?

• henry on Jun 22, 2010 at 10:04 pm

5 years warranty does not mean its free, the price of servicing the car at SD should cover what they give. like Insurance company selling Insurance
      eg. sell 1000 cars triple the cost of mantainence event 50% of the cars involved warranty replacement they still can make profit as the part cost actually are very cheap.
      you actually pay the insurance premium when u service ur car at sd if u don’t do schedule mantainence there your warranty is void. See the picture. I actually owned a HYUNDAI GETZ. Thats is why to mantain a korean car is expensive same as the french car.

• Sime Darby Corporate Communications and Marketing, I hope you guys read what motoring enthusiasts here have to say.

You think overpricing leads to exclusivity of the product, hence creating an illusion of luxury and perception of high quality to the general masses? You are wrong. Your sales are so going to plummet.

cover malu la tu rugi berbillion, nak recoup losses kasi kena hyundai fans (not that i’m a fan). i’m not gonna buy your overpriced properties ever! uweekkk!!

• pelams on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:04 am

all decision makers in SD shud quit

• cybermaster98 on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:19 am

Already Hyundai cannot compete with the Japanese makes and now increase price again….thats wht i call a suicide mission.

• ST Chong on Jun 22, 2010 at 12:15 pm

6 speed maintenance free transmission technology coupled with 5 years warranty, I will call that great value for every hard RM I earn. Those who buys the tucson is another category of buyers who knows what they are buying. At the same price in amount paying for an equivalent CRV, its certainly not for the Hyundai badge.

• u sure cnt compete?

• CiViC_7900 on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:44 am

wah nice nick

• jackieairasia on Jun 22, 2010 at 1:26 pm

Hyundai Sonata going to be launch this week on 24th June, 2010. Be prepare for the new generation to rock the Malaysian market.

• Sime Darby really make a stupid & unreasonable decision, izit the car sales like hot cake? Actually for the long run, Sime Darby can earn a lots from the owner, 500,000 KM warranty / 5 years, that mean the owner need to stake with them 5 years, let calculate betul Betul before launching and announced the price, dont increase the price within a short period. I will hold my order for HYUNDAI car.

• OpenMind on Jun 22, 2010 at 2:42 pm

3 highly stupidity actions:

1. Increasing the price would make it harder to sell, and coupled with the kind of sales organization that can only sell on price, hyundai brand will not be able to get substantial market share even with this good design and performing model (Tucson and Sonata). Bear in mind that the currently is the probably the best timing for them to leverage on their specification (6 speed AT, TCS, ESP, etc) because in a camry has just done 1 round of facelift and accord is also in mid life. 2-3 years down the road, the astonishing factor will be gone as camry and accord can simpy catch up. In fact, their already offering much better specification in other part of the world.

2. Increasing the price only after a few weeks of launching is simply the bad publicity, as some people might not even look at the car a this sort of price. They should get the crowd with either the price or the design or both, and take that opportunity to make the public aware of their engineering capability and build some goodwill around, educate the people that in a car like this, why 6 speed AT is important, why TCS, start/stop button is good, ESP is neccessity. All of these might be helpful to fence off T and H branding power to a certain degree.

3. There is actually no reason at all for the price increase, exchange rate?? imported CBU?? add features?? Any reason would be seen as excuse and this would piss the people off and make them look unprofessional. Do you think the person who bought the car at the original price would feel happier? It might just for a very short time before they realize that the company is not genuine in doing their business because these guys still rely on HSDM for the subsequent service and maintenance. So, the spare part price could also easier be increased without valid reason.

Guys, people is suggesting the petrol subsidy shoudl go away, but has there been any discussion or action that government is willing to remove the tax/duty to provide the people of malaysia a better chance of life in driving a better or more secured car. Some people complained and also the government tried to claimed that subsidy only goes to the rich who own big cars or more cars….in fact government already taken a big tax profit from the people who buy the car in the form of tax/duty and then make more profit from the corporate tax on car vendors (on their increase absolute profit). Some guys pointed out that Vios only cost 40-50k in other countries and camry 2.4 in other countries, we are paying as good as 1.5x -2x more. if you pay 20k-30k more on a car, you are actually paying for all the subsidy on your petrol and even more. Ask how much petrol we can buy if we save the 20k-30k (just use vios as an example) @ RM500/month and we can already pay for 4-5 years of petrol. This has not taken into consideration of the interest or opportunity cost……

• drputera on Jun 22, 2010 at 2:50 pm

i booked the car last month, seems i am safe of the price hike. i think it is a guy. for 2.4 with power seat and other accesories plus 5 year warranty..why would buying CRV…

hope CRV and other Japanese company will stop shortrchanged Malaysian .All thise while the Japaese cars were damn expensive with very minimal accesories offered.

• To cybermaster98: Do you see the fact? Nowadays the design from Hyundai already better than those Jpn maker. Open your eyes lar!!!

• vin86 on Jun 22, 2010 at 3:35 pm

u never testdrive the car oso condemned the car habis habis for wat.if this was done by toyota or honda u guys sure wun say anything even if the car was nothing more than basic.price hike is SD fault but the car itself is a good car compared to its japanese rivals

• oomph on Jun 22, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Let’s wait till the price drops! hahaha

• alpha999 on Jun 22, 2010 at 6:03 pm

why only RM 2k-RM 3k only huh ??? scared not enuff bonus for this year huh ????

• Syarif on Jun 22, 2010 at 7:06 pm

and still no final details of the Sonata price and specs

• Tiadaid on Jun 22, 2010 at 9:06 pm

There could be many reasons why the car price has to be priced higher. Maybe originally the car was sold at a loss to attract people to buy the car. Maybe Hyundai announced a new base price for the car. Fact is, if you like the car, it’s not like you’re going to have to pay an extra 10K. Over 7 years it will only cost you an extra 37 ringgit. Surely if you can afford a 100K car you could afford to pay an extra 37 ringgit a month. If you can’t, what are you doing buying a 100K car?

And as for resale value, let me ask you this. If a car’s very good but unfortunately is saddled by “poor resale value”, would you choose the alternative, inferior car, just because of its resale value? Come on, you don’t change car every year now do you? That’s why T & H can spoonfeed Malaysians lousy cars at inflated prices! It’s just plain dumb!

• oomph on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:58 am

it’s a matter of customer power. let them get their lesson learnt today, so they wont dare to play around with customers in the future.

• bad news to car buyer. Anyhow I have test drive the car, love the look & features but engine noisy (2.0litre) and pick -up not as good. To pay such a price for this car…. a big No for me.

• No doubt I have secured my Tucson at the “old” price. But I find this unacceptable, with the reasons given. Obviously HSDM is capitalizing on the popularity of the ix35 abroad and taking it to their fullest advantage.

• waterman on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:13 am

why don’t they do like Mazda… announced a “promotion” price and stated it’s gonna hike after 3 months or something. suddenly hike up the price really give bad publicity impression. Naza is possible to be new disty of hyundai if kia is doing good work since kia and hyundai are sister company.

• sayyousayme on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:57 pm

Always u guys blame the company who sale the car, perhaps the G should be blame also for high tax that applied to the cars.

• mkrafz on Jun 23, 2010 at 3:59 pm

yup for sure.
    Early they publish on press “.. the lost is about $ 1 bilion…”
    after 1-2 week (cannot remember the date) later on the other news, “…. nearly $ 2 billion were lost to cost-management failure…”
    hahahha. those ‘big’ guys think we are dumb enough to believe that.
    hmmm.. what kind of thing can buy with such a big buck?

• Littlebee on Jul 28, 2010 at 6:44 pm

My personal point of view,price increase will be a bonus for those who have booked the car earlier.most importantly,this action will strengthen the used car value of this car in near future.anyway,this car aldy has a long waiting period and it’s world wide shortage.I just got delivery if mine last week.for my friends that place booking now will only receive their car in 2011.I think hsdm done right by building it’s image thru strengthening the used car value.I made right choice for Tucson.well done hsdm

• Alitstar on Aug 03, 2010 at 10:07 pm

I have seen Hyundai rolling out cars with designs superseding some of famous European brands. The new Mercedes E-Class in my eyes must be the ugliest car after Cherry. Yet it sells probably because of its reputation in safety, quality and track record. It seems the same building up in Hyundai. Hyundai is progressing well in the world and I am not saying just in Automotive, but also their core industry in engineering and ship building.
    Therefore I braved to shift my paradigm about Korean cars, not that I’m disappointed with my Kancil, Saga, Wira, Altis, Camry, Accord and MINI. I have also had an opportunity to drive various models of BMW during my tenure with a certain dealership.
    About two weeks ago, I test drove the Sonata, Tucson, Getz and i10. Having satisfied with the vehicles performance, I signed the RCO – for an i10. My wife was nudging me for the Tucson, but I had to later entertain her that we are stepping into an unknown territory, let’s check out what I consider a disposable first. While waiting for the delivery, I read some rave reviews of its fuel consumption on a UK site and was waiting in eager to check it out for real.

The i10 All New 1.25 Kappa Engine
    To my surprise when I got it, the sound of the exhaust, loyalty of the gearbox and swift acceleration did remind me of my MINI Cooper. I love the gearbox keeping gears in lock; making driving at traffic jams a fun thing and allows engine breaking. But I am not at all impressed with its fuel consumption, getting only 340km with 28 litres of fuel, that’s an embarrassing 12km per litre; my Altis 1.6 can do the same or better. So what was it again the UK reviewer said about the 1.25 new generation Kappa engine?
    On other tests, above 120kph I can hardly control the car wondering left and right. Forget taking it to 150kph (which I did), one will have to stop at the fuel station every 300 km, or less. Overall, the car is good – for a City Car, of less 50k.
    On my way back from Bangi, I exited to Cyberjaya to get to Puchong. There is a nice, curling turn off to the toll plaza. I heard a soft ‘tick’ noise and when I straightened to approach the toll, I noticed a two inch hairline crack on the front windscreen, just above the rear view mirror. The next afternoon the crack grew about six inch.
    I showed the crack to the technical personnel of the dealership but they claimed it was caused by a stone chip. Pointing to a speck of dot in-between the crack line. So how can I argue?
    I do know that the frame of the i10, like most other cars flexed while taking a turn. Windscreen frames and wheelhouse are the most rigid assembled components but they do flex at certain applied energy. Therefore windscreens are normally installed with several rubber buffers over a certain thickness of sealant. Thick sealant when fully cured restricts movement and sometimes cracks a windscreen, during hard turns or climbing steep humps. But my explanation was thrown out and they insisted that I’m hallucinating.
    I gave in and opted to have it replaced by was told that my 21 days old car is not insured for windscreen damage. What’s more, the entire car is not insured. The E-cover had no dates because the dealership has not paid the agent for the insurance, although I have paid everything to them. When challenged, the Branch Manager denied responsibility should my car is involved in an accident of any claims against them.

SERVICE APPOINTMENT
    I decided to forgo the replacement until I get the insurance sorted. In the meantime, my car had reached 850 km and its due for the 1st service, in about 5 days (estimated). The dealership was full, so were others in the state. I was given an option to come on Saturday at about 7:30am and wait on a first come first serve basis.
    Now why would I want to ruin my Saturday to wait at a dealership for an oil change? Then I got a shock when I recalled the 5 years warranty.

5 YEAR WARRANTY / 300,000 KM
    Meaning, I have to put up with these nonsense of appointments, weeks ahead and probably spend the whole day at the dealership. Factor in the part where if I were to claim anything on warranty, they I can be regarded as hallucinating for a free job?
    Therefore, will I have the patience for 5 years, to put up with these ‘nonsense’ to be entitled for a possible warranty on my car repairs? It occurred to me not. That in a year or two, I will not be able to resists the fast, immediate and prompt attention of Ah Chong Workshop. In which, will render my 5 years warranty as void. Since I’m not in any better situation now anyway, what the heck. So I said to their 5 Year Warranty / 300,000 KM – up @#%$!

RESALE VALUE
    I am expecting to lose about RM 7,000.00 ~ 20,000.00 should I sell this car. Most of those who own a Hyundai claim that their legs are chained with the banks. They still have to settle a huge sum before they can get rid of this car. Is it that bad?
    When I sold my Altis for a Camry, I was delighted by the Sales person in UMW by offering me the best value, overtrade, free this and that that I fell in love with UMW Toyota.

LESSONS LEARNED
    I was planning to pass the i10 to my son but by now even he is not interested. He wants a MyVi which has numerous service centres in the country and there one just a stone throw from my place. So the lessons learned are that it may be a good car elsewhere in the world, it sure sucks here in Malaysia.

• 1Malaysia on Sep 20, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Same lengthy comment in every Hyundai post cut and pasted by a Toyota salesman.. Japanese method brainwashing against buying Korean cars..

• Alitstar on Sep 21, 2010 at 7:03 pm

1Malaysia, I have posted simillar lengthy comments on UK, Korean and US automotive sites in which it received more thumbs up than down.

I have more than 20 years working in motor industry before I moved up the ladder for something entirely different. While you were still sucking on your thums, I have owned, driven and tested many cars that you could not possibly have dreamt off.

My comments were very mild and was towards the Sime Darby Motors of the Hyundai dealership. But then again, its an understatement of me to say if the Hyundai is better than Proton.

Since you know now that I’m not a Toyota Salesmen, relects your lack of maturity to assume things, right?

But its OK, Mika Hekeinen once said opinion is like an @$$ hole, everyone has one.

• 1Malaysia on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:29 pm

Now we know Toyota salesman are also paid to write and give ‘opinion’ on car blogs.. Interesting..

• new tucson ix35 design proportion out….believe me, it will look outdated very soon!

• Alitstar on Sep 21, 2010 at 7:05 pm

It seems the designers of this Korean cars are exTransformer, UltraMan. Power Rangers or GiantRobort creators, noh?

Sorry guys, thats a joke…

• I bought a Kia Sorento a t RM175K in 2004 and can sell for RM40K now after 6 yrs. Very nice SUV to drive but repair bills are shocking after 3 years. Mileage now is only 120K as I have a few other cars. Naza’s service can be quite bad-once they clean the car and return without serviving during warranty period. Most of the time they cannot pinpoint the problems. I am thinking of changing the Sorento for the Tuscon which is quite attractive and test drive is good but is worried about the same problems with Korean makes. Still thinking. After 5 years, the value of the Tuscon should be RM20 to RM30K if it starts to have problems..

• I bought a Kia Sorento a t RM175K in 2004 and can sell for RM40K now after 6 yrs. Very nice SUV to drive but repair bills are shocking after 3 years. Mileage now is only 120K as I have a few other cars. Naza’s service can be quite bad-once they clean the car and return without servicing during warranty period. Most of the time they cannot pinpoint the problems. I am thinking of changing the Sorento for the Tuscon which is quite attractive and test drive is good but is worried about the same problems with Korean makes. Still thinking. After 5 years, the value of the Tuscon should be RM20 to RM30K if it starts to have problems..

• Dak's Quacks on Oct 04, 2010 at 8:56 pm

Had checked out this handsome boy yesterday… looks so much better is real. Love the sun roof, the center console, the start/stop button, and the height. Only regret is the missing climate control. Also noticed that the power window buttons are not padded, like waja ones, click click sound when pressed. Sales guy said waiting list 3-6 mths. Most importantly is wife love it (^_^*)

• cyberb on Oct 23, 2010 at 10:04 pm

can someone help me. to chose turson or crv ?

• dear all,

may i know can we install the autolock system(Speed control) for our new Tucson in HQ? is that anybody know about that , pls share it ….

thanks alot lot

• Ngu Seng Hing on Feb 12, 2011 at 4:20 pm

I am more concern about the resell value of this car. Can someone tell me what is the resell value after 3 to 4 years?

Thanks

• Ngu Seng Hing on Feb 12, 2011 at 4:28 pm

i am more concern on the resell value for this kind of car. Can anymore tell me what is the resell value after 3 to 4 years?

Thankis

• Its been almost a year now, after the launched Hyundai Tucson and it should be about the right time for the current Owners to come out from their shell err… i mean…their car, to give us their RM150K worth of opinions and review of this nice looking car.

Please..come forward and post your comments.. for those who had, had the opportunity to drive Hyundai Tucson yeah.. we are dying to know the performance of the car, after miles of miles and hills and puddles it has been through.

And most importantly.. any issue with the car? Big or small.. doesn’t matter..just share with us your joys, anger, disdain or sweaty moments owning this car.

Also, another important info we need : Servicing the car, expensive or not ahhh?? though, it’s with 5 years warranty.. im sure you still need to pay someting, hai mai??

Thanks.. and so waiting for the flood of response……

**tik tok tik tok tik tok……..the clock starts now…* :)

• Mr Lai on Mar 07, 2012 at 1:01 pm

I recently bought a Hyundai Tucson. The car has many major defects. I think Hyundai is selling cars that are not fully tested. My car engine stops in the middle of driving which put me in a very dangerous situation. My car is sitting in their service center for weeks now and they still haven’t a clue what is going. They told me they need to do more research with my car. They are offering me a Hyundai Accent now. What a insult after 5 weeks waiting!

• Cheng Kim Hoe on Jul 06, 2012 at 8:11 pm

Hyundai Tucson