Honda Accord Sedan and Coupe facelifted in the US

Honda has given the Accord a minor mid-life facelift in the US. Both the sedan and coupe body have been facelifted, and the sedan now sports a similar back end to our very own Malaysian market Accord as it has gained the two reflector strips on the boot lid that were missing from the USDM model.

On the front for both the sedan and coupe model, there’s new grilles and bumpers, and there are also new alloy wheel designs. The Accord Coupe also gets a revised brakelight appearance. There are some new features on the inside including a USB audio interface, new seat fabric for cloth seat models, an updated instrumentation panel design, and a new reverse camera for satnav-equipped cars.

There are pretty much no changes in the engine bay. Interestingly the 2.4 litre engine for the Accord comes in two tunes for different models. The LX, LX-P and SE sedan models get a similar engine tune to our Malaysian market car which produces 177 horsepower (180 PS) while the EX and EX-L Sedans as well as the LX-S, EX and EX-L Coupes get a slightly more powerful 190 horsepower model.

I’d expect the Malaysian market Accord facelift to be pretty much identical to the US model facelift but to get a clearer picture we’d have to wait until Honda launches an update for the Honda Inspire in the Japanese market as that car is almost identical to our car for the pre-facelift models.

Look after the jump for a full photo gallery for the USDM Accord facelift.

GALLERY: Honda Accord Sedan
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1241]

GALLERY: Honda Accord Coupe
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1242]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Im the first !! I still see a very conventional design . I hope the all new model would be on par with the current Hyundai Sonata

• my name on Jun 27, 2010 at 10:45 pm

The facelift I can see is the grille only. Wth?

• pororo on Jun 28, 2010 at 3:52 pm

LOL…… you all are better than me…. i only see the rims…. LOL….

• Shooter on Jun 27, 2010 at 11:58 pm

I dont know about you guys, but to me the coupe looks pretty good. It’d be great if Honda M’sia could get to plonk the 190hp 2.4L engines in our Accords and maybe bring the coupe too. Man… That would be sweet!

• Wow!! They expect to beat Sonata with this??

• Beat or not beat, Accord will sure still sell 10 times more than Sonata in Malaysia. Can’t even see the Sonata in the Top-50 list in May 2010.

• xenogearz on Jun 28, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Of course lah cannot see Sonata in the Top 50 list in May 2010. The new Sonata is only due for launch on July 2nd. Wait for the July or August lists.

• Get a grip, John. Like it or not, Hyundai and Kia are coming. Google up the net or wiki and you’ll get what i mean. Check out the awards garnered by this model alone in US, not to mention Genesis and Elantra. But then again, it’s thanks to Malaysian mentality like yours that car savvy guys get to enjoy such terrific cars( ie.Elantra) at such affordable(or should i say downright cheap) price . Once again, thanks John.

• King Samurai on Jun 28, 2010 at 12:16 am

The rear light reflectors, the USB audio, the wheel design…pretty much what we have here…save cost take from what the other part of world have..What’s next for us on the facelift Accord next year? Exchange with the pre-facelift USDM?..Honda have done that before in the previous gen Accord…grill change with butt-lifted = failure.

• Aaron Isaac on Jun 28, 2010 at 6:19 am

The perception of Honda cars in the US is similiar to the way we look at Bata shoes

• 4G63tDSM on Jun 28, 2010 at 8:08 am

The reason for the 2 power levels is that North America does not get the base 2.0 that we get here.

There is a rather large power disparity between the 2.4L and the 3.5L V6, so they basically put a slightly detuned variant of the more powerful 2.4L from the Acura TSX (Euro Accord) to fill the gap.

I had an opportunity to test the V6 Coupe manual last year, not a bad car, but as good as it is, the main let down is its FWD chassis. Having problems with the TC in the first 3 gears. Rather lousy sat-nav though…….

• Neonda on Jun 28, 2010 at 8:33 am

Based from picture…It’s V6 model..but the spec equal to 2.0 Spec in m’sia..so pity…

• thomas on Jun 28, 2010 at 8:53 am

Camry, Accord & Sonata, which one will you choose?
    in term of outlook: Sonata
    in term of technology: Sonata
    in term of value of money: Sonata
    in term of resell value: don’t bother as my change cycle is 5yrs.
    What about you?

• Neonda on Jun 28, 2010 at 9:30 am

Accord.

• kitman on Jun 28, 2010 at 10:08 am

well sonata looks way OVER design to me, so fussy with lines and folds everywhere. tech wise, i will go with the proven, too much tech in the car is also problematic in terms of reliability when the car age. i like the new level of equipment in the sonata, it will raise the bar so that we get a better accord :)
      what i like to see is more safety equipment – where is the side and curtain airbags?

• blacky on Jun 28, 2010 at 11:43 am

i got d same feeling oso…. tryin too hard to look beautiful….like make up gao gau…

• Peter on Jun 28, 2010 at 1:55 pm

In terms of engine, Accord..

Sonata engine is noisier…Furthermore, I Vtec is much reliable…

Accord all the way

• Definitely not sonata

• shamazlan on Jun 28, 2010 at 7:04 pm

camry 2.4V

• squawk on Jun 28, 2010 at 10:12 am

Our local Accord’s rear reflector strips looks like a housing for some missing bulbs.

• vbkcheng on Jun 28, 2010 at 10:13 am

I feel like those Japanese has out of juice…they cannot break through to get new design DNA…

• sekali imbas dari depan mcm Persona plak..

• coolguru on Jun 28, 2010 at 10:23 am

This is like exporting our Accord to US…

Perhaps we see an exchange back of US version to our land :)

Any spyshot, stories, features for the next totally new Accord?

• Teacher says: on Jun 28, 2010 at 11:46 am

Their new Laws required the car plate number imprinted on the bumpers ? very cool idea!!

• cool…i like it.

• mata katak on Jun 28, 2010 at 12:51 pm

This accord really, really beginning to look like unker car…..

Where is the excitement???

• ibk9955 on Jun 28, 2010 at 1:00 pm

just imagine change the hundai logo at sonata car to Honda logo how do u feel

• Carss on Jun 28, 2010 at 1:21 pm

just a cheapo car, come on, its just USD 25000, anyone can afford that.

other than the poor kid in the movie transformer.

• shawal on Jun 28, 2010 at 2:36 pm

I see few Accord coupes ere (whr im studying) from various generations, they all look gewd, but this latest one in gray colour, looks absolutely stunning… until the vodka-influenced owner decide to ‘pimp’ it up….

• Elvis on Jun 28, 2010 at 4:22 pm

For americans, this car is SMALL…as americans are fond of BIG cars. 2.0 cc Honda is really a base line car Just look at them, bodies so BIG like dinosaurs, definately need lorries rather that cars to transform these oversize humans!! A malaysian friend complained that policemen in New York always pull him over because he looked like little kid driving an overside GM car. Mind you, GM cars are HUGE. If true american cars are bought here, it wont be commercially aviable as we have smaller build for oversize cars.

• paparadzi on Jun 29, 2010 at 1:40 pm

Don’t forget, they don’t have any c.c-based tax either.

• alldisc on Jun 28, 2010 at 5:37 pm

8th gen accord accord just launched in malaysia in 2009. it is simply too soon for a facelift – its just too far off its mid-life.

by doing so, Honda Malaysia will be seemed as desperate to woo buyers. the new accord is way bigger and a lot better than ACV40 camry but still struggling to beat camry in terms of sales.

i dont think of any facelift for this accord any time soon but some time in 2011, yes probably there will be.

• Shaycoat on Jun 29, 2010 at 1:42 pm

“Honda Malaysia will be seemed as desperate to woo buyers. the new accord is way bigger and a lot better than ACV40 camry but still struggling to beat camry in terms of sales.”-Not agreed with u on this

I know a lot of Malaysian are more to Honda rather than Toyota. It is not the sale that Honda is struggling but due to its factory constraints. Toyota factory in Rawang can produce up to 40,000 a year while Honda factory in Malacca can only produce 10,000. I have a lot friends that at first booking Honda, but then divert to Toyota due to long waiting list.

• http://www.mmail.com.my/content/43347-owner-faces-ceaseless-brake-issues-honda-car-no-resolution