Chinese demand for 3-Series outstrips supply, BMW to ship in 10,000 units from Germany to satisfy hunger

With increasing affluence comes the increasing appetite for luxury goods, and China’s nouveau riche are gobbling up more BMWs than what local plants can supply. Cars from elsewhere are therefore needed to fill Chinese hunger and the Munich carmaker’s German and American plants are operating at full chat.

BMW will ship 10,000 units of the 3-Series to China from Munich, revealed personnel director Harald Krueger. “Rising demand in China has meant that our plants in Germany and the United States are at full capacity,” the BMW man told Financial Times Deutschland.

Sales in China more than doubled in the first half of 2010, something BMW did not expect. This has resulted in their local plant in Shenyang, north eastern China not being able to keep up with the demand. Construction on a second plant there has only just started, so German workers will be working overtime for some time to come.

In April, BMW raised its sales target for China, now the world’s biggest auto market, to 120,000 vehicles for this year from 100,000 in 2009.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• CatmaN on Jul 14, 2010 at 4:23 pm

kelam kabut BMW nak supply kereta to China..hehe

• squawk on Jul 14, 2010 at 4:41 pm

Despite the sizeable number of lower income people, China is like a huge Felda scheme that just got compensated for their land. A lot of 20+ year olds paying cash for condos in Shanghai and Guangzhou.

• Dusun on Jul 14, 2010 at 5:03 pm

What is Felda scheme?

• mystvearn on Jul 14, 2010 at 6:12 pm

So, if like Felda scheme, 20, 30 years later, all of them will be broke. Remember the govenrment compensation to plantation owners at the original KLIA site, instant millionaires. Now back poor. No idea how to invest in money wisely

• squawk on Jul 14, 2010 at 8:57 pm

Well, there’re not-so-financially-savvy people everywhere but trust these Chinese BUSINESSMEN to keep their wealth growing. I personally know 1 who just bought his 2nd condo with cash. He’s not even 30 yet.

• Motorist on Jul 14, 2010 at 4:52 pm

120,000 vehicle sales forecasted, 2nd assembly plant… WOW China is on the roll.

Meanwhile, back in M’sia …… :-(

• lkf0512 on Jul 14, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Is it possible for us to have some “kosong” BMW with an “attractive” price in M’sia?

• andymervingeorge on Jul 14, 2010 at 5:13 pm

LOL! Bagaikan lembu lepas kandang they all! All the pent up pressure is now released! Eat your heart out USA! haha

• drMpower on Jul 14, 2010 at 5:29 pm

yes,

and some of them are working dirt for lunch. and that may not enough for dinner.

• squawk on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:12 pm

It’s the same here except China has 1b population so proportionately they have more.

• wow! they can’t keep up with the demand? and here in Malaysia new BMW’s remain the luxury of the lucky well to do.the rest of the rakyat have to stick to the reality of using local,korean,japs or recond contis.really wish or cars could be more reasonably priced.

• Motorist on Jul 14, 2010 at 6:55 pm

The lucky ones like you & me at least can somewhat afford cars.

Think of the marginalised hardcore poor that can barely afford 3 meals & ride around on a kapchai that might fall to pieces at any moment.

Our rich-poor divide is widening at an alarming rate.

• a 3 series is not expensive in china starting @ RM140k after conversion….

i have many friends working in beijing earning more than RM10k per month working only as a assistant manager in bank. only the uneducated labourers are paid dirt money.

they all easily can buy a 320i cash with one year salary……unfortunately can’t say the same for bolehland…

• wutaheck on Jul 14, 2010 at 7:56 pm

so do you ever consider to move there?
      when’s your flight?

• ricki on Jul 16, 2010 at 3:03 pm

hello i was in Beijing 1 yr for SAP Project. I was paid 150,000 RMB per month salary. In the project there is more than 100 IT Consultants. They even gave us a condo to stay, transportation from condo to office. And BEST is the weekly Spa package and Karaoke/Entertainment session at high class club.

Now that I am back in Malaysia, i miss my life in China. If only I can get citizenship there, I’ll definitely buy a 3 series with CASH.

• rookie on Jul 14, 2010 at 6:10 pm

those beemers much be alot cheaper there i guess…

• Korean on Jul 14, 2010 at 6:13 pm

China people like BMW and they call BMW ‘PRECIOUS HORSE’. In the old time China, PRECIOUS HORSE is only available for the big warrior. Ordinary people will use donkey.

• Anti Proton on Jul 14, 2010 at 7:11 pm

hahah so who is going to get the local made while who is going to get cbu?

• AverEng on Jul 14, 2010 at 8:09 pm

BMW is popular business man luxury car in China. Officials will like Audi. Benz is far behind. Anyway, BMW has to be careful for their future brand image. Ppl are saying BMW is car for China “orang kaya baru” but not to Audi

• shawal on Jul 14, 2010 at 10:35 pm

When you only have 1 kid to feed, you can pretty much afford anything…

• squawk on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:33 am

Actually, permission is given to the eligible group i.e. those who can afford BMWs and the like, to have more than 1 child.

• Freeman on Jul 14, 2010 at 11:55 pm

Well, if any of you had driven in China before, you will know there is not much use of having a BMW, except maybe the X5.

If you are driving in the metro areas, there are always jam, regardless peak hours or not. You will have to drive like a then mini-bus driver to get from point A to point B in time.

If you are driving in the rural areas, you will either wish your BMW is fitted with 195/65-15 to counter pumpy roads or you have an X5 to face those kamikaze-like, zero traffic-sense drivers.

And if you are driving on the highway, you will see speed radar at every 3 km. Worse, you will need a pair of sunglasses for night time driving cause 95% of them are driving with their hi-beams turned on, all the time!

What’s so great about owning a RM140k brand new 320i in China anyway?

• VW_fans on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:52 am

China…. sooner to be our NEW “Tai Ko” in everything, population, car volume, etc…..

• 2fast on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:07 am

Really have to thank all the China businessman. They have helped the global economy to escape the crunching economic downturn caused by the western bankers.

• omahabojan on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:03 pm

didn’t know they got so much money

• /k tards on Jul 17, 2010 at 3:38 am

hellow caina …/k iz kambing to you country to work for 2 yrs …..i iz wan earn 1million