Schumacher: Mercedes GP car not functioning in harmony

The 2010 Formula 1 season is fast entering its final stages and it’s obvious by now that Michael Schumacher’s dream comeback hasn’t materialised. The seven-time champ is finding it hard to enter Q3 on Saturdays and has only 38 points to his name, less than half of what teammate Nico Rosberg has amassed. Never mind seeing him do that famous leap again, Schumi on the podium is a shock result today.

The 41-year old says that the MGP W01 car is the problem. “The teamwork, with the engineers and with Nico Rosberg is going very well. The car we currently have is almost a ‘survivor’ from last year, which had already been shaped, moulded and developed for us and we as drivers have had to make compromises accordingly.

“The fact is that the car is not functioning in harmony, neither with the tyres nor with the drivers and obviously we must invest all the time we have in ensuring this is not the case next year,” he said in an interview with sponsor DVAG.

However, the German is positive that things will be different next year. “The fact is that I feel comfortable in the situation and I believe that we are moving in the right direction to ensure that next year we will be real contenders,” he remarked.

The next F1 race will be the Belgian GP at Spa-Francorchamps next weekend (27-29 Aug).

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Schumacher : Mercedes GP car not functioning in harmony with me
    MGP W01 : Do not wearing red crash helmet in silver arrows car lahhh…
    Schumacher : i want my opponent see how pass them…mesti bangga…
    MGP W01 : If that, i wont ran fast as u want..see even Williams car pass you..
    Schumacher : ok..i wont let he pass me..
    MGP W01 : Noooo..don’t push me into the wall…nooooo!!!..oh man..that was close..
    Schumacher : Arghhh..Williams pass me…its all your fault!!…
    MGP W01 : Not me lahh….u too old to drive…
    F1 Fan : SCHUMY!!!…try next year..clinch the 8th title…

p/s : just for fun….bored lor….hhuhuhuhu~

• emine on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:44 pm

takper Abg Michael….and Adik Nico…… prepare for next year’s car…… pas tu kita ROCK KAPAK next season….. :)

• KeretaKebal on Aug 18, 2010 at 2:22 pm

yeahhh chiill ..Schumacher tommorow never die heheheh

• azrai on Aug 18, 2010 at 2:23 pm

Do he thinks he will for sure driving for Mercs next year?

• Although i am not a big fan of M. Schumacher.. I prefer Hakkinen instead..
    but now I really wish Schumacher can perform better and regain his former glorious days :)

• “Blame somebody/something else when you’re not doing well”…

eternal excuses…

• one commentator 3-4 races before once said schumi car is meant for jenson button driving style which is set to understeer while shumi style very pointy car or oversteer car..when jenson switch team Mercedes has no time to redevelop the car for Schumi…the result is series of disappointed result

http://www.motorward.com/2010/07/jenson-button-explains-why-schumacher-is-struggling/

http://www.f1sa.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=23856:f1–jenson-button-michael-schumachers-formula-1-car-designed-for-me&catid=1:f1&Itemid=157

http://en.espnf1.com/mclaren/motorsport/story/24657.html

• drMpower on Aug 18, 2010 at 3:11 pm

so what happen to the after race that interview with drivers? especially with the winning driver/ podium finishing drivers

” the car feels right” bla bla ” magnificient work by our team” bla bla bla ” we are progressing forward” bla bla “awesome job by all mechanics, team principal, crews” bla bla bla

• http://www.motorward.com/2010/07/jenson-button-explains-why-schumacher-is-struggling/

• I think Schumi will do better next year provided they give a proper car. Its impossible 7 times champion struggling like this.

Give him the Maclaren n see.. He will be as good.

• mamat on Aug 18, 2010 at 3:56 pm

With Schumacher advice & experience in the development of next season car, we can be sure it will be better & more competative than this one.
    This year car got barton dirty hands on it ^^

• autojohndoe on Aug 18, 2010 at 4:08 pm

wasting Malaysia’s money…

• ekk?..wheres the Malaysian money came from?..aiyoo..its just a sponsorship..do you know how much it cost?..don’t talk w/o proof…u pembangkang ka?..enough la..at least u live in peace..go to other country if don’t like here….aiyaaa…

• autojohndoe on Aug 19, 2010 at 11:11 am

Petronas money is malaysia money la…

So, how much Petronas pay? even their exec level staff also dont know the amount….

aiyaa…

• donadoni on Aug 18, 2010 at 4:34 pm

he have lost his skills yet to blame people around him n the machine..WTH..LOL

• chronozome on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Oh c’mon! Blaming the car?
    How many slow pokes over the past 50-odd years has blamed their car for being too slow or undrivable?

Instead of wasting money to make the car suit you, why don’t u try adapting to the car instead? Nico seems to be doing one hell of a kick-ass job with what he has.

Primadonna should stay retired. Now you’ve ruined your reputation for eternity. Never mind winning down the road, fact is, it’s ruined!

Oh wait…Never mind. I take back that bit about your reputation. I forgot about those incidents with Hill and Villeneuve in the 90’s. Your reputation wasn’t that good anyway.

/rant.

• chronozome on Aug 19, 2010 at 2:38 pm

wow…i got thumbs downed.
      what’s the matter? did i struck a nerve?

let’s face it. a big number of his local fans were sudden F1 watchers when Malaysia started to promote the race in Sepang. at that time, he was the champ. naturally, those who don’t know squat about F1 chose Fur-lari and Scum-maker as their team to support.
      he’s the most successful, but undoubtedly, he’s not the best.

his dirty tactics are well known. go search up his final races against Hill(Adelaide 94) and Villeneuve(Jerez 97) on youtube if you don’t believe me.
      go read up here:
      http://en.espnf1.com/f1/motorsport/story/25524.html

now, go do your part. vote thumbs down.

• Setuuuuujuuuuuu…
        With damn good cars (ferrari) & 2nd division teammates – Schu won 5 times (2 with Benetton)
        Now… 2nd division car & 1st class teammate Nico – ha..ha..ha..

• leonardo on Aug 19, 2010 at 8:18 am

That’s what exactly why he is pais so highly – to get results in a less than competitive car, as Nico does. It sounds more of an excuse form a former 7 times world champion. As I have said before, and this time to Schumi, stop whining and start winning!

• keretatua on Aug 19, 2010 at 11:25 am

i’m not his fan…..but some you guys talk like you are a f1 driver……haiyaa…

• rossi46 on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:20 pm

Its F1…however good the racer, if the plane is crap….not much the racer can do

• chronozome on Aug 21, 2010 at 2:07 am

yes, but his teammate constantly out perform him, with what is essentially the same car.
      what does that say?

• hasfa on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:04 am

Everything is new for mercedes gp to be a real contender for this year. I dont see shumi make excuses about his perfomance. Let see next year. go shumi and nico.
    Penyokong tetap mercedes ni..hehe..