Kia introduces high spec Cerato Limited in Australia

Kia Australia has launched the Cerato Limited, which is limited to “around 200 vehicles” Down Under. The Limited is based on the highest spec 2.0 SLi model, which pairs the 154 bhp/194 Nm Theta II engine to either a four-speed auto or five-speed manual gearbox – the latter not available in our Forte. The 2.0 is the only engine option for the Australian Cerato.

The SLi spec Cerato is somewhat similar to our RM93,800 Forte 2.0 SX. 17-inch alloys, leather wrapped steering/shift knob, aluminium look dash trim, steering wheel controls for the MP3/USB/iPod stereo, six airbags, stability control, climate control and auto air con are all standard in the SLi.

The Cerato Limited adds on kit such as leather seats, electric sunroof, body kit and a rear spoiler. It is priced at $25,990 for the manual and $27,990 for the auto (drive away prices). That’s $2,300 to $2,800 more than the standard SLi but the Limited provides net savings of more than $3,000 for those options, according to Kia.

More images after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1428]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• evoskylancer on Aug 19, 2010 at 12:53 pm

Nice additions. Hopefully Naza will consider to offer such kits as optionals at a reasonable extra price (or better yet as standard items in Forte 2.0 SX with the price maintained).

• duit internet on Aug 19, 2010 at 12:58 pm

my brothers use kia,it was a great car..

• roda2x on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Spare us the pain.
    Don’t include the prices they pay in Aust. !!

• nice…..

• DonkeyKong on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:26 pm

Still a 4-speed auto? When will they start using the Hyundai-Kia 6-speed auto transmission in their offerings?

• wolfsburg on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:34 pm

It probably will appear in the facelift model next year as Forte Hatchback was confirmed to have 6speed auto and will be launched in US by the end of the year…

• ahmad on Aug 20, 2010 at 8:35 am

they give us hatchback first then maybe end of 2011 will come with 6speed sedan…

• Baldwin on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:26 pm

nth specal…juz with the skirt only…

• diedout on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:36 pm

nice…looks like a skirting there as well

• cybermaster98 on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:42 pm

Australians are paying $28K while we pay $94K. The currency isnt important as we’re comparing dollar for dollar.

• ismetUlamRaja on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:13 pm

??hello buddy, it is RM 93,800.00

• gonggok on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:23 pm

RM 93,000.00? So if the Australians are paying the same as we are, are our car taxes really that high?

• Tiadaid on Aug 19, 2010 at 4:21 pm

It’s impossible to compare dollar for dollar, and it’s the only way to compare car prices. An Aussie making 2K there is equal to a Malaysian making 6K here. Comparing dollar for dollar sure it’ll look bad, but it’s skewed.

• BMW M-Problem on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:39 am

Guys
        Dont be mislead. The real correct comparison is Dollar for Dollar. Not exchange rate comparison. If a Aussie for a same type of work earns AUD5K and in Malaysia the same job pays RM 5K then if you compare the car price it is ridiculously high.
        Why is it so. There is number of factors.

1) High Tax
        2) You need alot of RM to buy 1 Korean Won. Exchange rate disadvantage.
        3) Car price set by authority. This is not a free market.

Remember if you want to compare the only real way is to compare in term of percentage.

Earning vs Price of Goods and Services

Another good example is Fuel. Fuel is relatively cheaper in singapore than Malaysia. Dollar for Dollar. But if you earn Sgp currency and convert to RM the of course Malaysia looks cheaper. But not have the luxury to work in a STRONG CURRENCY country.

• gilabangang on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:02 pm

ya as if RM1 = AUD1!?
          to be fair convert both prices to USD then compare lah. i believe biz dealings is done in USD in this region. while you are at it, convert the price offered in Singapore as well.. just for the sake of comparison..

• Nono… dollar to dollar wasn’t the right method in calculating the price of selling. It depends on the price of production and the location of the factory. The location of the factory decides the cost of production based on the labor cost and the materials cost. That amount of money is fixed up to a certain value. When the car is assembled and sent to other country. Here’s when the currency takes place.

Assuming the car is manufactured in china with a value of $200000. When the sales goes to Malaysia, It would be selling at a minimum value of RM92k. However, when it goes to Australia, it only sales at $33k. Aussie dollar.

In buyer’s point of view, dollar to dollar seems reasonable. However, it would be a bit vague to compare the price between two country.

• Ask your malaysia govt’ ridiculous 300% import tax.

• samkhairul on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:46 pm

wish kia forte in malaysia has sunroof

• Rondowner on Aug 19, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Naza is bringing in some limited units of 2.0 with sunroof
      however there is a addtional costs of 3K..

So if you wish for SR go grab it now..

• aryll8257 on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:54 pm

when looking at the title..
    i seriously thought that Kia have upgraded something under-the-hood..

but only interior ad exterior make-up
    Naza will do this also?

• lme like the bodykit….poison…..!!!!

• volks2 on Aug 19, 2010 at 2:08 pm

woh..expensive ler

• alpha999 on Aug 19, 2010 at 2:10 pm

plain simple body kit which looks great on the already good looking forte

• Facebook_User on Aug 19, 2010 at 2:15 pm

aud x 3 rite these days?

• alamak on Aug 19, 2010 at 5:15 pm

their salary not / 3

• Facebook_User on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:27 am

Anybody,with an IQ of an 8yr old knows that.mayb u should go there n exp life there yrself dude.my fren is there,mechanics charge u by he hour,tax is much higher.tp x kesah la.if bagus sgt we wouldnt b here anyway talking abt how we cant afford this n that bla bla bla.

• dude just do not heard from ur imaginary friend…go there yourself and then u can talk….about livin expenses over there…hey their quality of life much2 better than us anyway…

• alamak on Aug 21, 2010 at 2:18 am

lol….then why u asked the question at the first place?

• Kozlovski on Aug 19, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Nice car..what about its performance in terms of fuel efficiency and CO2 emission?

• taboogen on Aug 19, 2010 at 2:18 pm

wow… no lah.. same kia only ma

• JonLing on Aug 19, 2010 at 2:33 pm

Kia Forte / Cerato is a great car to look at, has a really comprehensive spec list, and with the bodykit is even more handsome than before. Only problem (for me at least) is the 4-speed automatic transmission. Can’t wait try out the Forte / Cerato with 6-speed automatic transmission…..

• bystander on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:24 pm

the cerato hatchback in us oledi has a six-speeder, so it’s only a matter of time just like the hyundai i10 kappa. but i suspect even if it’s offered here, it’ll only come with the 2.0 engine.

• JonLing on Aug 19, 2010 at 4:34 pm

that’s even better! Then Naza could have positioned 1.6 with 4-speed automatic as a base model, and 2.0 6-speed automatic as middle and high-spec model! Forte really needs that 6-speed auto……

• hinder on Aug 19, 2010 at 2:41 pm

$27990 equal RM93800, their country labor even higher then us but malaysia hav to pay up to 3.5times for same car. where all the money all been gone. crazy

• ismetUlamRaja on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:22 pm

could you try to convert for RM93800/dolar..how many you get.

• hinder on Aug 19, 2010 at 5:32 pm

i could convert their monthly salary too, GDP income of rakyat is low compare to other country but pay same amount like they do.

• wolfsburg on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:35 pm

Naza is so sincere to sell the Forte at this price compared to those expensive Japanese… Good job Naza!

• But the OZ cost of living is very high compared to us.. The maintenance of the car also expensive than us..

• littlefire on Aug 19, 2010 at 4:28 pm

You can do it urself! DIY style like most of them do..

• autojohndoe on Aug 19, 2010 at 5:11 pm

they never want to accept that…

they want the price follow other country. but they still want to live in malaysia… thats the problem…

• Facebook_User on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:28 am

Spot on!!

• cybermaster98 on Aug 20, 2010 at 11:03 am

autojohndoe says:
          19/8/2010 at 5:11 pm
          they never want to accept that…

they want the price follow other country. but they still want to live in malaysia… thats the problem…

• autojohndoe on Aug 21, 2010 at 1:22 pm

they question should be rephrase… many are willing to stay, but how many willing to make a change?

• cybermaster98 on Aug 20, 2010 at 11:05 am

ip says:
        19/8/2010 at 4:11 pm
        But the OZ cost of living is very high compared to us.. The maintenance of the car also expensive than us..

yes cost of living is high but wouldnt u be willing to pay for to have a better quality of life? better education system for your kids? Better environment for your kids to grow and mature? Right now our kids cannot even play in the field without the threat of kidnap, rape or murder. Look at the bigger picture. Dont just believe all that crap Gov propaganda about cost of living, etc.

• autojohndoe on Aug 20, 2010 at 2:37 pm

sometimes things happen like that because we ourselves doesnt care for other ppl…

last week, there is a case where an old man got beaten by Myanmar group at their flat…

no one dare to go out and help the old man…

It is our society that got problem… not only govt… when we talking about our society… it is malaysians..

Plus, i talked with one english guy few months ago…

He saw an accident, there are crowds surrounding the scene.. guess what he saw?

most of them just take pictures of the incident, not helping…

• what is the rate for the crime there?

• I think all of us want to have a better life? But people always talk only no action thoroughly. Everybody live in their own comfort zone.. Dont even bother with others.. So how we can develop good society system if we even do not know our neighbours name at least? C’mon la this is 1of the core to become world advance country. On top of that frankly do u think this 1 Malaysia will become success if we keep blaming and pointing finger to each other?

Btw this is an automotive blog okey not a forum about life.. Sorry paul..

• adek sutun on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:00 pm

tu dia…harga 28k je…best gile

• Kambing Gurun on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:27 pm

“The Limited is based on the highest spec 2.0 SLi model, which pairs the 154 bhp/194 Nm Theta II engine to either a four-speed auto or five-speed manual gearbox – the latter not available in our Forte.”

The thing that always put me off when it comes to new cars is “no manual option”…

• autojohndoe on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:37 pm

if you feels like migrating to Australia…

this is the time… haha

• gila2x on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:42 pm

AU$28,000.00 = RM$78,750.00

• cybermaster98 on Aug 20, 2010 at 11:01 am

Do not make a currency conversion. You are not a tourist. Only tourists make currency conversions.

• gilabangang on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:17 pm

why not, u should not compare different currencies at face value just like that.
        as if cost of goods = USD1, to be sold in AUD1 and RM1 respectively is it.. morons

• Chief on Aug 19, 2010 at 6:09 pm

RM93,800 – RM78,750 = RM15,050! (Pay for nothing!)

• jong88 on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:37 am

RM15,050 is our petro subsidy. Assuming they subsidized RM2 per liter it is 10033L, if you use 250L a month you need to keep the car for 40months (3.3 years). Remove petro subsidy can…. why not… remove car excise duty and ridiculous road tax for big engine car first then talk about removing petro subsidy

• jong88 on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:38 am

RM15,050 is our petro subsidy. Assuming they subsidized RM1.50 per liter it is 10033L, if you use 250L a month you need to keep the car for 40months (3.3 years). Remove petro subsidy can…. why not… remove car excise duty and ridiculous road tax for big engine car first then talk about removing petro subsidy

• Diesel on Aug 19, 2010 at 7:00 pm

nice car……

• bystander on Aug 19, 2010 at 7:14 pm

hey, Danny Tan, check this out!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7LLdBrzj2Y&feature=player_embedded

• bystander on Aug 19, 2010 at 7:35 pm

i saw altis facelifted thailand photos oledi, looks kinda different fr the euro version.

• altimate on Aug 19, 2010 at 7:28 pm

very handsome looking car, and with some handsome skirting on this.. very nice..

but i think the term ‘limited edtion’ is overused and abused nowadays.. nothing so special except with few minor side-dishes… no changes under the hood.. if like that, why limit it to 200, make it 20,000 units larr

• silver on Aug 19, 2010 at 8:08 pm

salary for fresh grad (australia) AUD$3,000-4,000
    salary for fresh grad (malaysia) RM$2,000-3,000

this car price in australia AUD$28,000
    this car price in malaysia RM$94,000

see the different?? :)

• that simple???
      how about living expenses..
      medical treatment which u can get for free in Malaysia..
      people who didn’t go to school also can do the comparison like yours..err

• isra` on Aug 19, 2010 at 10:40 pm

yes….stupid basyer

• hinder on Aug 19, 2010 at 11:55 pm

include most misdiagnose, how treatment and services u could get. Whether the Government subsidizes this service (based on the Medicare Benefits Schedule. Typically, 75% of in-hospital costs, 100% of General Practitioner and 85% of specialist services are covered.
        Whether the Patient is a Concession or Receives other Benefits
        Whether the Patient has crossed the threshold for further subsidised service (based on total health expenditure for the year.
        Where the Government pays the large subsidy, the patient pays the remainder out of pocket. That a benefit every country government compulsory duty.

• Facebook_User on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:30 am

U speak my language.at least ada juga lah yg x mcm sume kat sini – kaki komplen,ni forum kaki motor

• free medical my foot…….wait until u get cancer…and see how long ur turn is to get the treatment.

• korekidung on Aug 20, 2010 at 8:24 am

mcm la cukai keta tu je kerajaan wat byr sume subsidi kt msia…

cukai2 lain ape cite? nih nak on GST plak….

rakyat persoalkan nape keta msia mahal sgt even proton sekalipon as ‘our proud national car’ pon rakyat biase kene utang sampai 9 taun??? interest mcm KLCC nye tinggi

dlm mase yg sama kebocoran, ketirisan dlm gov expenses byk sgt…projek mega berlambak2, bail out lagi sana sini…

aku x nafi needs for collect hasil cukai…tapi nmpk sgt gov guna improper way cukai2 yg kite byr tuh…

proton pon jadi mahal sbb nk cover ‘all the leakage in country budget’…keta2 luar lagi apetah lagi…overpriced kaw2

• cybermaster98 on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:59 am

john says:
        19/8/2010 at 8:38 pm
        that simple???
        how about living expenses..
        medical treatment which u can get for free in Malaysia..
        people who didn’t go to school also can do the comparison like yours..err

I think its you who have no idea what living in Australia is like. There is also free medical there at Gov hospitals. Plus if its classified under a serious case, you dont wait in line for treatment unlike Gov hospitals here in Malaysia. Plus in Australia, if u go to a Gov hospital and they cannot treat u fast enough for a serious complaint you have the right to demand immediate treatment at a private hospital and it will be paid for by the Gov. Did u know this? Im sure u didnt.

Australia also has much better retirement benefits for its citizens. Go check out their Gov portal and see the listing of benefits.

Yes cost of living may be higher but at least in that country and many other developed nations, whatever tax money you pay is returned to you in the form of better quality of life, excellent health system and a world class education system. How many Aussie students have to go overseas for education in order to be recognised?

We are being cheated day by day in this country because of fools like you who fail to wake up and make a change.

• Oh really??haha
          BTW, I went there for my MBBS and specialty training..
          You dont have to enlighten about that.
          BTW, how many thousands you pay for your taxes annually?
          so many right???errrr

• cybermaster98 on Aug 20, 2010 at 1:39 pm

I rather pay more taxes and have a better quality life than to pay lesser taxes and see it being used to make a small group of Malaysians rich. if u have studied in Australia you wouldnt be saying this. Do i really doubt your credibility.

• alamak on Aug 21, 2010 at 2:37 am

remember to bring back the usable knowledge and not only the cert ya~

• aliBaPa on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:13 am

so frsh grad of australia takes 9 month to buy a car.
      and fresh grad from here takes 40 month roughly.

• aliBapa on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:16 am

australia fresh grad take 9 month to buy a car.

our fresh grad take 40 month roughly.

• appetite4d... on Aug 20, 2010 at 8:15 am

they don’t have 10 years installment plan…. hehehehe…

• Beep Beep on Aug 20, 2010 at 11:09 am

in australia ppl expect to finish paying a car in 3 to 5 years time typically but malaysians can take a lifetime to finish paying a camry

• Jimmy on Aug 19, 2010 at 11:00 pm

The test drive unit that I test-drove: the gearshift knob vibrated when the car is in idle. KIA, look into this problem(it doesn’t exist in Hyundai Elantra).

• taucu on Aug 20, 2010 at 9:04 am

really? why my forte no vibration and so quite heh.btw mine only 1.6ex.

• rossi46 on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:42 am

Just a T&H sales man…

• Jimmy on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:28 pm

Go and pay attention to it. Maybe it is just that particular test-drive unit. In this case, I will still call it an issue of quality control. Dislike criticism, sounds familiar, Malaysian culture? Salesman for car company? Ha ha you must be joking, I can buy this car with CASH. Pei !

• cyberspace on Aug 25, 2010 at 11:28 am

what a crap..dont talk rubbish jimmy..just another T & H salesman

• loollool on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:50 am

talking of good and bad living in malaysia~

the only way to drive nice car easily .. go do ur own business~ !!!

one good thing in here…many ‘lubang’ to get money , if u know!!

if u follow ‘good citizen’ pattern, u only drive proton.!

• shut-up on Aug 20, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Hey, dont talk crap here.. most of non bumi should change their perception to gov 1st. take role in country development. work in gov service n agency. make the change. dont simply put blame to other la…

• cybermaster98 on Aug 20, 2010 at 1:58 pm

U cant change a mindset till you change the head. When the head continues to dessimate negative propaganda the body will follow. The country is developing because of the private sector not the Gov agencies. The main income for the country is coming from the private sectors. Not the Gov units.

• autojohndoe on Aug 20, 2010 at 2:25 pm

then you are very welcome to leave the country…

• gilabangang on Aug 20, 2010 at 2:43 pm

maybe you look like shit!

• rickyll on Aug 21, 2010 at 7:05 am

Paul, please do something about all these negative comments. We are here to enjoy some interesting pieces of news about new cars, new developments and innovations. Why can’t Malaysians engage in proper and intellectual discussion. Why are we always ended up cursing each other. Bumi or non bumi, should we quarrel over everything on every issue? After over 50 years of independence, we are still at the starting block as long as racial integration is concerned. I, a fifty-seven year old man, speak fluent Malay, English and Mandarin, I have no problem working and mixing with fellow Malaysians of other races, So, let’s work together to propel the country forward, don’t forget Malaysia is lagging far behind now.

• i luv my forte sx,…!

• the rear spoiler spoils the butt.. …I prefer the original rear design, it looks fantastic already