GPS navigation unit integrated into rear view mirror

This is something quite interesting – a Garmin satellite navigation unit that’s integrated into the side of a rear view mirror, offered by Ford to any Ford vehicle except for the Ranger and Ka 2009. GPS instructions are displayed on the touch screen 3.5 inch display integrated into the rear view mirror. The whole system is called the MirrorNavi system and it clips onto your existing rear view mirror. It costs £299 plus local dealer fitting charges in the UK.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kecy82afr on Sep 03, 2010 at 12:03 am

this is really convenient. i would love to have this. should be oem in every car made.

• Cyrus on Sep 03, 2010 at 11:31 am

prefer reverse camera to be integrated and agreed that its too high to put gps there

• Lim Kopi on Sep 03, 2010 at 12:11 am

clever, but … wont it be abit too high above the eye level ??

• Imranayid on Sep 03, 2010 at 12:15 am

It will make your car high tendency to be broken.

• I think the better way would be to make a socket hole to attach in the GPS instead of integrating GPS into the rear view mirror. Not all countries are safe to leave these stuff in the car unoccupied on the street. Besides, how would u do transfer maps between countries if u need to? Also, don’t u think looking at the rear view mirror is inconvenient as u need to turn your head always and not to mention when u are driving at night with car headlamps shining on your rear view.

• Alpha on Sep 03, 2010 at 12:42 am

i dun think ths is convenient.and it might distract u from the rear view mirror.and a pain in the neck~

• definately not a clever design, it’s an inconvenient location to place the GPS, with eyes AND head having to divert to pay attention to the GPS for a few seconds at a time while driving.

• Ahnik on Sep 03, 2010 at 1:28 am

Really Nothing impressive

• c14man on Sep 03, 2010 at 3:29 am

personally wouldn’t buy it…
    not a convenient design..
    too much eye movement to look at traffic and the small screen…

even a RM10 suction cup phone holder placed above the central panel is much better..
    works fine for me and less eye movements…

• imagine u have to lift ur hand so high up to select poi..tiresome..

• reuben how on Sep 03, 2010 at 6:58 am

i prefer the “follow me” navigation option on the toyota camry hybrid (not available in malaysia) It looks like a single unit thing 2 DIN but you can detach the navigation bit and leave the HU behind and still use the MP3 function. Perfect for crime ridden malaysia

• The Black Stig on Sep 03, 2010 at 7:16 am

Not a good idea if you travel a lot and have to rely on GPS to navigate. You could have a sore neck and shoulder at the end of the week.

• crazyboutcrv on Sep 03, 2010 at 8:16 am

INCONVENIENT and INAPPROPRIATE.WE should be looking ahead for in/oncoming vehicles when driving.Instead strain your eyes LOOKING UP??.Some more Touch screen on rear view mirror?.End up in no time -Car doing TOUCH UP.Rear view mirror with LIMITED vision.Best place to place GPS just below rear view mirror at eye level ON the windscreen 5 inch wide nothing larger than that please,you can`t have 40 inch on windscreen..Ha..ha..ha.The inconvenience of having a portable GPS…got remember to remove it when getting out of car.

• Jonnie on Sep 03, 2010 at 9:01 am

For men, sure will crash onto car in front a lot.. For women, less mirror to put on makeup.

• many cars with these here may be broken into

• Iskandar on Sep 03, 2010 at 9:28 am

Bad location. In fact, it is worse than the center console.

A GPS system that projects the map on the lower windscreen is news. This is nothing but a marketing gimmick.

• plasma16 on Sep 03, 2010 at 9:44 am

The reason 4 this is the US DMV’s rule that you can’t affix anything to your windscreen.

After trying bottom right and bottom middle, I find the best location for a GPS in terms of visibility without obstructing my view and ease-of-reach to be on the top right corner or the windscreen (as seen from driver’s point-of-view).

I just stick my Garmin on top right corner of the windscreen. :)

• bryan.jones on Sep 03, 2010 at 9:45 am

dude, inside the photo was for left-hand driver, if right-hand driver surely they will place on the right of the mirror.

• Bloggerooi on Sep 03, 2010 at 10:08 am

Paul, don’t you it will be a distraction to driving especially if the images are too small?

• If P1 and P2 launch this,everyone will say ”20 over years this is what they can think of?”

Ford launch this,seems like no one says they are brainless.

• pretty good idea actually.. we dont need to keep looking at the GPS for direction. All GPS have voice navigation and only look when is unsure.

• Smarter than you on Sep 03, 2010 at 1:05 pm

(1) this is dangerous
    (2) plain stupid

• Good idea to make your car mirror pecah……GPS kena curi nanti

• I think those flip up screens on dashboard would be better or the normal LCD screen. This one looks a bit small, might as well use a GPS phone.