New 2011 Dodge Durango – it’s big, black and blinged!

There’s a lot of 4X4/SUV talent at the Chrysler Group, and shortly after they unveiled the handsome new Jeep Grand Cherokee, comes this equally good looking 2011 Dodge Durango, which they call a “Performance SUV with a Soul”.

We won’t be betting on it against the Porsche Cayenne and BMW X5, although Dodge makes a lot of enthusiast noise – lines like “performance-tuned to thrill anyone who truly loves to drive” and “the Durango’s stiffened unibody structure is engineered with the driving enthusiast in mind” for instance. But from the looks of it, this black and blinged “rapper spec” car looks like its targetting the hip hop circle.

The big SUV has a monocoque body and three rows of seats for seven occupants. Dodge says that the Durango’s cabin is one of its main selling points – it’s a place where you’d want to “jump in, hunker down and thoroughly enjoy even the longest drive”. It’s flexible too, with a staggering 22 different seating configurations and “crossover versatility” for the family.

The Durango is powered by a 3.6-litre Pentastar V6 or a 5.7-litre HEMI V8 engine with fuel-saving, Multi-displacement system (MDS) four-cylinder mode. Both engines feature variable-valve timing and can be paired to AWD.

Towing capacity is important in the US and the V8 can pull 7,400 lbs while the V6 does a best in class 6,200 lbs. The example given is that the Durango V8 can tow more weight than a 24-foot boat plus trailer. Fuel efficiency must be factored in these days, even in this segment, and the Dodge can go past 800 km before needing a refill.

More pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1471]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• dukenborg on Sep 03, 2010 at 11:06 am

Its nice & all, but will it make it to Malaysia?

• xavier lert on Sep 03, 2010 at 11:19 am

800 km before refill…hah and the oil sump capacity is 800 gallon ….

• koro koro on Sep 03, 2010 at 11:42 am

lampu belakang mcm lampu BMW je..

• mitlanevo on Sep 03, 2010 at 12:01 pm

big, black & blinged !!!\

love the slogan~

anyway, such a handsome suv i must say :-)

• i want another car... on Sep 03, 2010 at 12:02 pm

beauty and the beast in one package! wow!

• congek cakdong on Sep 03, 2010 at 12:06 pm

look like ninja king with more musle…

• pesod on Sep 03, 2010 at 12:34 pm

damn nice….luv it…

• i tought it was Fortuner from the back.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 03, 2010 at 1:22 pm

and that design gives a huge potential for pimping

u like ?

I like !!

• yang suka kereta on Sep 03, 2010 at 2:25 pm

SUGLY !!! WILL BE FOREVER UGLY !!!! =)

• Drifter on Sep 03, 2010 at 3:20 pm

american muscle.ESp the HEMI 5.7 V8 wow….love it but can’t afford to pay for the roadtax and insurance… ha ha

• can i put the ‘lashes’ on this ride paul?? :)

• JonLing on Sep 04, 2010 at 9:12 am

maybe you can try to put the “lashes” on the rear lamps of the car, to flirt the drivers following you as well…..hahahaha…..nice suggestion!

• RAZMAN MAJID on Sep 03, 2010 at 4:40 pm

this American Dogde looks a bit like TOYOTA FORTUNER… but with better feng-shui design!

for KL market, no go lah… especially with its gigantic engine.

• bangmo on Sep 03, 2010 at 5:02 pm

buttock looks like BMW

• acerman on Sep 03, 2010 at 8:10 pm

Bling Bling yo!
    Anyway, this car sure parking space failure.
    With a “Performance SUV with a Soul”…I won’t agree with that.
    U wanna car with a soul and passion, get an Audi.

• Is this the size of Ford Explorer? I like Chevrolet Equinox and GMC Terrain more or even Lincoln MKX

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 03, 2010 at 9:57 pm

Wait till they drop in the Viper V10 for the Durango SRT10 moniker

• shawal on Sep 03, 2010 at 10:19 pm

American SUV are humongous , our Malaysian roads and parking lot won’t fit them,
    This car looks years ahead of Dodges of old… its an evolution
    However… Alot of american cars are deemed unreliable…and interior is not as sophisticated or luxurious as their japanese & european rivals…

• Jimmy on Sep 03, 2010 at 11:20 pm

Vs Ninja King, which is bigger? If not bigger, nothing to be proud of.

• With lowered suspension and 26″ rims, this car rockss!!

• Aspen on Sep 04, 2010 at 3:04 am

Based on the same platform, shared with Mercedes-Benz, which underpins the new Grand Cherokee.
    The nearest competitor from japan is Toyota Land Cruiser or more precisely Lexus LX11.
    Toyota Fortuner is out of the league.

• danial farouk on Sep 04, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Nice…Tough looking…But as long as the very high road tax were given to certain country especially Malaysian drivers…It will be just a dream in those Taxes Lands.

• deathstar on Sep 04, 2010 at 2:41 pm

rear look dosnt look like european now more to japanese

• 5.7litre engine, phew the road tax gonna be painful….

• Anti Proton on Sep 04, 2010 at 11:40 pm

can somebody shout TOYOTA FORTUNER? xD

• cheri on Nov 23, 2010 at 1:34 am

omg its so SWEET! i cant wait for it to hit my local dealership…& im so happy they kept the 5.7 hemi POWER BABY!