Kimi Raikkonen coming back to Formula 1 via Renault?

Kimi Raikkonen coming back to Formula 1 via Renault?Many observers had expected Kimi Raikkonen to remain in the World Rally Championship next year, but it looks like the Iceman misses Formula 1 and is eyeing a return. Autosport reports that the 2007 F1 champion has approached the Renault team for a 2011 race seat. However, there’s no mention whether the approach was by the man himself or through his agents.

Apparently, this contact happened after Renault did well to score a podium at the recent Belgian GP at Spa, Kimi’s favourite track. The Finn has gone on record before that he would only return to F1 if he was in a competitive car.

Renault team principal Eric Boullier confirmed this news. “It is true that the summer has passed and we have had more and more requests – and the guy you mentioned (Kimi) is on the radar now. He is on the radar because he contacted us,” he told the magazine.

Kimi Raikkonen coming back to Formula 1 via Renault?
Will Kimi Raikkonen be holding this next season?

Robert Kubica is a certainty, but rookie Vitaly Petrov isn’t a confirmed goner yet. Boullier said that the team will keep Petrov next year if the Russian can improve his consistency. When asked what Petrov had to do to convince Renault, Boullier said: “He is not very far away to be honest. It is still very complicated for him to have a complete weekend and be faultless, and that is where he needs to work and focus on, and develop clearly his commitment and dedication.

“We need to think about it. But the priority is Vitaly, and to see how he will develop. If we are convinced then we will keep him definitely. This is the first option,” he added. A decision on Renault’s 2011 line-up will be made before the end of this season.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mfahd_88 on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:50 pm

wondering if his return will turn out the heat of f1 2011 season

• RadzLee on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:52 pm

cool steering wheel!^^

• Mata2 on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:19 pm

This guy can only drive Ferrari or Renault because he will whack the car to its limit and only these two engines can survive in his hands. I love Kimi, only him can stop the Redbull supremacy, give him Renault…but don’t give him Lotus with Renault engine (sorry Lotus just a joke).

• kaminski on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:44 pm

I think that Renault and Lotus have done a deal, if they get Kimi then Renault will provide Lotus with Vitaly.

• paddockbox on Sep 14, 2010 at 4:02 pm

I do feel Lotus and Renault engine deal along with renault gearbox package will also include Petrov been offload to Lotus.

The question remain is; if petrov is part of the engine deal package with lotus, who will lost their seat at Lotus? Heikki has said he have signed new contract but don’t wanna reveal the team’s name untill GP S’pore; while trulli also seem confident he’ll drive for lotus next year. Tony and mike both have said before they will keep heikki and trulli for next year.

let’s wait for further announcement from Lotus during S’pore GP

• kaminski on Sep 14, 2010 at 4:18 pm

I think that Jarno has done his time for Lotus, for Lotus to get more competitive they need more than just Renault drive trains. I also think that Lotus have not revealed all just yet!

• innocent on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:29 pm

I do hope he will return to F1 as he was my favaorite driver since he drove for McLaren. He has the guts and obsession to drive to the maximum….

• squawk on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:07 pm

From his debut at Sauber you can see he has raw talent. He is a true driver cuz he doesn’t care much for sponsors’ PR programs. :-D

• squawk on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:31 pm

Certainly adding another former World Champion to the grid will attract more to the sport. But will there be any difference if Renault buys back the team from Genii?

• campro on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:33 pm

but i thk he more interested to join Red bull racing…..but there is 1 good place to full up in renault…..i hope either “quick nick” or 2007 champion kimi would fill into renault….but currently quick nick been speculation to join Sauber vr soon….in singapore gp or next year 2011…..

• paddockbox on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:45 pm

Heidfeld is look set to join Sauber because peter sauber wanna make sure his team finish in 7th place ahead of williams; but don’t know yet if he will remain at sauber for next year.

as for kimi; he is gerald lopez, Renault current owner 1st choice to replace petrov and renault has been in contact with kimi since june this year but that was like one side effort but this time it was kimi who contacted renault… so the prospect is there for kimi’s return into F1.

• campro on Sep 14, 2010 at 6:49 pm

kimi is return is good for F1….add 1 more world champions driver fight for next year title…If Renault hv kimi, then Renault team is perfect strong team with Kubica & kimi…
        mercedes gp hv 7 time champion Schumi & rosberg….ferrari hv double champion Alonso & massa…. Mclaren hv both 2008 & 2009 world champion hamilton & jenson….Red Bull Racing hv 2 very very strong driver Webber & vettel….sure next year 2011 F1 will more interesting with 5 team potential to be champion winner….plus Lotus with new Renault engine….looking forward 2011….

• perhaps renault can give kimi a good ride

• blackbox on Sep 14, 2010 at 4:24 pm

This season F1 is so boring without Kimi, I stop watching after the first few race. If he come back, there should be much more interesting.

• nabill on Sep 14, 2010 at 4:40 pm

i like kimi , bt his personality jus sucks , so freaking quite , n talks like he jus woke up…! bt no doubt abt his talent , if he joins renault , thn hes starting from scratch all over again,which is a shame

• Tiadaid on Sep 14, 2010 at 7:36 pm

At least it’s way, way better than the corporate, prim & proper image of Lewis Hamilton et al.

• ramil on Sep 14, 2010 at 5:31 pm

good for f1, and probably the best line-up if kimi comes back, kubica is fast as well as kimi, it will be interesting to see who tops the timesheet

• acerman on Sep 14, 2010 at 8:39 pm

What a steering wheel. How did the driver able to control the buttons, eh?

• This is the day I’m waiting for…Kimi my favourite F1 driver…

• Citroën ds3 on Sep 14, 2010 at 8:44 pm

I know f1 seems to have more interest and publicity… But what about wrc now?? I just hope there canbemore update on it here on paultan.org

• mata katak on Sep 14, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Kimi or no kimi, I wanna see more excitement in F1…..

• mirror mirror on Sep 14, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Kimi’s most remarkable race was the 2005 Japanese GP where he came from almost last to win the race. I hope one year absence from F1 won’t slow him down too much, look at Schumi.

• Citroën ds3 on Sep 14, 2010 at 11:46 pm

I know its not relevant.. But I just watch an f1 news that reported that virgin racing is one of the most tech advance team.. By that I meant that virgin racing is using computer to “wind test” their cars.. Impressive

• Fuyiopo on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:11 am

I used to be a F1 fan but now I am not anymore. Just sick of the current F1’s idiotic rules and bias decisions. Really missed the F1 during 1970’s~1990’s.

• seriusSAM on Sep 15, 2010 at 12:56 pm

you tell me lah which sport has no bias rules and decisions on and off the field, track, stadium.. etc…

this is year is the best so far in term of championship fight; 5 drivers will fight all the to abu dhabi for driver championship…

• Schumi on Sep 15, 2010 at 11:17 am

fernando alonso is the best ferrari since schumi. he has the desire and balls when it matters.. kimi is just too smooth and slow..

• kaminski on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:27 pm

Alonso is a good driver, no doubt about that. It helps when your teammates let you pass or crash into walls!

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2010 at 12:43 pm

i guess nothing compare to sheer exhilarating speed of F1. 300kph in the woods was something in the past @ Group B racing.

• seriusSAM on Sep 15, 2010 at 12:58 pm

hehehehe… you’re right bro

do malaysians really watch rally?? nascar??

LOL

• spike on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:32 pm

I used to watch F1 but now WRC provides infinitely more satisfaction to me than F1.

Even without Group B rallying is still considerably more challenging and variable, where speed is not the only key factor but driving techniques, strategy (eg. road positioning), synergy (eg. absolute trust in your co-driver’s pace notes), weather (slippery surface can be advantageous/detrimental depending on your position), road condition (you never know any loose rocks or ruts out there waiting for you while driving at 140kp/h), luck and so on that dictate your final position.

• spike on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Looks like rallying proves quite a challenge for the former F1 champion.

With some many mistakes in the past 8 events and difficulty adapting to the pace notes (especially the retirement from Rally Japan just last week), it is not surprising that he considers giving up his rallying career.

Actually I think if he stayed in WRC longer he could have improved since this is only his first season. Nevertheless I have to say I am not impressed by his performance, nothing spectacular.