Isuzu launches D-MAX 2.5 Super Commonrail with 4×4

Isuzu Malaysia has launched the D-MAX 2.5 Super Commonrail fitted with a 4JK1-TC 2.5 litre engine with the Direct-Injection Electronic Commonrail system. This new model, available in the double-cab form only will be sold alongside the current 2.5 litre which is already on sale. It comes with a non-commonrail direct injection system.

This engine produces 79 PS at 3,900 RPM and 176Nm of torque at 1,800 RPM. The new engine on the other hand makes 116 PS at 3,600 RPM and 280Nm of torque between 1,800 and 2200 RPM. This basically means that the power difference is 37 PS and 104Nm, quite significant actually.

Furthermore, the D-MAX 2.5 Super Commonrail is available with a 4×4 configuration as the less potent variant maintains its 4×2 layout. The new variant continues to use the 5-speed manual transmission featured in the non-commonrail model. There are two trim levels available, including the base Type-B and the Premium.

The latter comes additionally with projector headlights, fog lamps, indicators integrated into the wing mirrors, dual airbags, as well as ABS with EBD. Also in the list is a 2-DIN audio unit with MP3 and WMA compatibility, Isuzu’s e-Lumax instrument panel with a multi-info display, aero-type side steps and a leather-wrapped gear knob. Both trim levels also benefit from a limited-slip differential and an anti-theft alarm system with key-coded immobilizer.

The 2.5 Super Commonrail will be available at all Isuzu dealerships nationwide beginning October 1st. Price details will also be available on the same date but expect the range topping Premium model to be priced at about RM89,000. Isuzu also announced the Smart Saver campaign where customers who purchase the double-cab D-MAX will be entitled to a free Garmin GPS unit and a cash rebate. This promotion is valid till November 30th.

UPDATE: The D-MAX 2.5 Super Commonrail Type-B is priced at RM82,155.40 OTR with insurance (for solid paint finish) while the Premium spec goes for RM88,411.40 OTR with insurance (for solid paint finish).

Continue reading to view an image gallery.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1545]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• wow!
    this giant is so awesome!
    plus fuel efficiency this giant is value for the money.

• andrew on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:06 pm

nais

• Modern on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:22 pm

Wow five speed manual transmission.

• littlefire on Sep 29, 2010 at 8:19 am

LOL~! I think what u mean is why still five speed? While others already went for 6-speed manual & Auto..

• the_fighter on Sep 29, 2010 at 7:38 pm

nothing new with the five speed manual…even the old land rover tdi have 6 speed manual

• almostthere on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:30 pm

Wow…finally the CRDi arrived for the 2.5l. If there was an auto 4×2 option it’d be a huge seller

• The Loner on Sep 28, 2010 at 10:38 pm

So Toyota Hilux’ 2.5L Common Rail is the least powerful turbo diesel engine available in Malaysia?

• Still lose to a Triton.

But, with good diesel tuning box, I’m sure it can beat the Hilux flat!

• littlefire on Sep 29, 2010 at 10:16 am

Triton owners now are having an aftersales issue, as parts for Triton are getting more & more expensive and the durability have been a drawback. Have seen a few Triton owners after a few years using have sold/trade off just to buy Navara…

• 4x4Fan on Sep 29, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Yezzzzzzaaaaaahhhhh…I’m Agree as a Navara owner..

• the_fighter on Sep 29, 2010 at 7:44 pm

i dont know about Navara, but i hv heard the old frontier owners hv some problem with the malfunction of the turbo unit..its cost rm7k to replace..donno weather the reliable issue or not poor maintenance by the owners

• sukasuki on Sep 30, 2010 at 1:27 am

never heard any prob regarding to turbo as my dad use frontier. just serviced the turbo, but at that time the mileage is 220k. reason to service : baru tau turbo mesti maw servis, ingat xpayah.hahaha.

• My 2004 Frontier was leaking badly and the estimated cost to repair the turbo is around RM 6k.

So, in the end, I trade it for a Navara 2.5 SE because TCM is offering up to RM 50k in trade in value. The offer was back in March 2010.

• Is that so?

I have 2 units of 2007 Triton 2.5 Auto and 2010 Navara 2.5 SE (6-speed manual).

What parts issue u talking about?

The only problem is the 2008/2009 batch with tilting chassis and 2010 with turbo problem.

For 2006/2007, no issues so far.

No doubt the Navara can accelerate faster but with a diesel tuning box, even the Triton can chase down a Navara at 175kph (recorded on GPS).

• shoon1983 on Sep 29, 2010 at 12:19 am

sorry off topic a while.

paul, i saw a trailer recently on the NKVE near the Subang exit stretch carrying 3 white peugeots. 1 of them is a 308 CC. The other 1 is a 3008 and the third i forgot.
    Anyway, what interest me is seeing the 308 CC. Any news on whether it will be launched by Naza group?
    Have personally seen it upclose a few times in SG and it’s really a beauty. If Naza can CKD this and launch it at a competitive price, then will be the best.

• Did you really see it? I’m going to buy this car. However, it hasn’t been launched.

• kennytan on Sep 29, 2010 at 12:44 am

Hi..everybody..sorry different topics.how about toyota alphard 2006 2.4 normal spec.
    any people got experince.how the maintaine ? expensive?car conditoin?market price?
    can shared with me?thank you all …

• E Bear on Sep 29, 2010 at 4:03 pm

2006 still quite new, quite many of them running around so it should not be too pricey.

• 4x4Fan on Sep 29, 2010 at 4:50 pm

kennytan: try to Ask whoever greasemonkey..Ask them, how to replacing the Toyota Alphard, Estima..or whatsoever MPV…Remember..Ask them “How to replacing timing belt”…You will konw it..hehe

• Suv Kaki on Oct 05, 2010 at 7:35 am

Bro! If you want to learn more about Alphard, log on to our club.
      All the sifu are ready to assist you.
      Dont just wondering around with those un-experience sifu.
      Cheers. See You There…!!

• i can say that i have a soft spot for d-max…nice and sleek..

• Huh ? only 116 PS at 3,600 RPM and 280Nm of torque between 1,800 and 2200 RPM.. it will take years for it to reach speed. Does it comes with VGM turbo ? When the red light turns green.. you will be crawling ..others wud juz overtake and look at you !!

• The Loner on Sep 29, 2010 at 8:57 am

For your information, this model do not have VG turbo. Only 3.0L Super Comon Rail sold in Thailand has VG turbo installed.

• Emak engkau on Sep 29, 2010 at 1:40 pm

It is more than enough to be driven fast. Look at the torque figures. Between 1800 and 2200, doesn’t mean you don’t get any torque at any other revs. Those 1st generation Ford Rangers had almost the same output, and they can shame most of the protons out there.
      But why the hell do you want to drive fast in a pick-up truck, You want fast get something else.

• Ooi, why no 2.5 Auto ?

• The Loner on Sep 29, 2010 at 1:18 pm

Automatic gearbox will ruin D-Max’ name for best in fuel consumption among pickup trucks.

• midnite on Sep 29, 2010 at 10:30 am

The Mother Trucker will have it for lunch after eating the Tit-on for breakfast…

• mitlanevo on Sep 29, 2010 at 11:24 am

well, at least D-Max is sooooo much better than the ridiculous sissy Tiga Tan…

• Midnite,

My Triton with unichip, I finished my lunch and saw the Mother trucker (so call for mum ) just placing order..

Fast is not the game for 4×4..

• midnite on Oct 02, 2010 at 11:44 am

Well just imagine if the Mother Trucker had a Unichip (aka one fry)… it’ll eat the Unichip Tit-on for breakfast, regurgitate it and pee all over it.

Who said speed is the game for 4×4? must be the jokers who let Karak hway spank them silly yesterday, was it you?

• JonLing on Sep 29, 2010 at 2:38 pm

I seriously hope that Isuzu will come up with the all-new D-MAX, instead of keep facelifting and launching new variant of the aging D-MAX. Good car, but in the face of newer competitors, I can’t help but notice its age already…..and hopefully with all-new model, the bouncy ride and cramped rear seats of the existing D-MAX can be resolved.

• Jimny on Sep 29, 2010 at 5:29 pm

Better buy the diesel pickups now. 2012 all diesel pickups will have to comply with EURO V and will come with high output diesel turbo and supercharger combo engine to generate 160hp from a puny 1.6 diesel. Probably the injectors are pumping at 3000psi! Imagine the maintenance and only the service centers can maintain it..

Google new global Ford Ranger due release 2012.

• The Loner on Sep 30, 2010 at 12:00 am

Are you sure our G will upgrade the diesel fuel to Euro V compliant, which sulphur content is reduced to 10ppm or less?

• 4x4Fan on Sep 29, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Well….What i’m thinking…all double cab model are the same..The main purpose is to make us moving to another place very easy..the point is.. “Different People, Different perception..” This is the real challenge to the inventors or innovators facing (market) peoples with different perception..

• flyguy on Sep 29, 2010 at 7:45 pm

like the desin outside with a great fuel consumption but ISUZU pls do sumthing with the rear seat .nowdays is not just typical contractor only likes pick up truck laa.family and outdoor guys loves it too.put more effort to make it more spacious n comfort laa.and when does the MU-7 (hope i get it rite) gonna bring in.our manufacture neigbour been enjoyin it for some years already.what a shame laa

• the_fighter on Sep 29, 2010 at 7:54 pm

anyone have idea about the fuel consumptions of this engine..whether its better then the super save 3.0 common rail unit?

• varrie on Sep 29, 2010 at 8:19 pm

The Hilux Vigo
    PS = 102 / 3,600
    Torque = 260 / 1,600-2,400

• varrie on Sep 29, 2010 at 8:23 pm

The Latest 2.5 Dmax
    116 PS at 3,600 RPM and 280Nm of torque between 1,800 and 2200 RPM.
    The 2.5 Hilux Vigo PS = 102 at 3,600 and Torque = 260Nm between 1,600-2,400 which one is better?

• texas on Sep 29, 2010 at 8:53 pm

rear tire fender look like Tata Telcoline !!

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 29, 2010 at 9:53 pm

the front looks like cadillac

• aging model

• subhero on Sep 30, 2010 at 9:26 am

d-max not my taste.

prefer navara or hilux.

• gobuk on Sep 30, 2010 at 9:28 am

They know that idea to producing the 3.0 ltr or 2.5 4×2 was a big mistake. That was a rubbish.

• Outdoor Person on Sep 30, 2010 at 11:45 am

D-MAx Rockkss..U shud google the xtreme version..wif metal bar n wide tires..

Triton tried but it look really oddball..Like Storm Troopers wif an enlarge head…wahahahah

• Suv Kaki on Oct 05, 2010 at 7:49 am

My collection of 4wd Ranger01 & Frontier05 both sold. Now searching for Auto truck. While deciding between 6pseed Actyon – High spec & budget too/ Navara – pricey & have to wait 4months / Triton – my third choice / Hilux – Saw at least 10 units terbalik at highway while i travelling. Any comment on Actyon ???

• Penjual_lorry on Nov 14, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Just email me for new ISUZU DMAX, call for the best price

• sam.L on Oct 16, 2010 at 2:18 am

would it be great if the bucket are made longer a few inches just like mitsu did with triton add a few inches to the bucket.

• Penjual_lorry on Nov 14, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Yo laa… i felt so frustrated to sell this car. when im think what have ACM done much to get Isuzu’s name in malaysian standard. Even the dealer ship still to be continuining, my feeling , JV with ISUZU seems to be ended. Bye bye Isuzu trucks, China truck will control your market segment in Malaysia in less than 5 years.( my opinian only)

We Sales people will continue our efford to sell what relevant product in the market. what people want and need.

• Hrk engineering on Aug 02, 2011 at 8:55 am

This is the best pick up among others in terms of technology.