Peugeot introduces THP 200 engine in 308 CC

308 cc

Peugeot has introduced a range topping variant to its 308 CC range, with the 1.6 litre THP 200 engine joining the fold. The 200 hp engine, already seen in the RCZ and 308 GTi, isn’t the only thing that’s new to the 308 CC THP 200, of course.

New to the car is a front suspension incorporating joints with larger diameter bearings derived from the company’s larger C/D-segment platform 3, as seen on the 308 GTi, as well as 18-inch Lincancabur alloy wheels clad with 225/40 R18 tyres as standard.

Bagging the THP 200 also gets you the attendant Sound System technology, where different engine harmonics are delivered according to vehicle acceleration, through the use of a vibrating membrane with an inbuilt time delay.

On sale from this month in France, the car will feature a unique Féline trim level, as befits its range-topping status, though an optional special Black/Vintage two-tone leather trim is also available.

Actually, this sort of jogs the memory a bit – the 308 CC is supposed to be one of the five models launched this year by Nasim locally. Now, when’s it arriving then?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• mohsin on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:27 pm

a better choice for “kakimotor”

• Jason on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:23 pm

Just curious, how much does it cost here in Malaysia?

• realistically, how much do you think it should cost here? don’t lah put rm100k. for reference the 207cc and the 308gt (manual 6 speed) was sold at about rm160k when they were still available.

• Nice engine, My friend bought a 308Turbo few months back, but now car having some electrical/sensor problems..Is it true that maintaning a Pug is costly?? Tq

• all car not perfect.. might 1 out of 1000 unit sold… since got warranty, no big deal for me… Previously i’m Japanese car supporter but now move to conti.. there are always complaint from customer for a car.. its good for potential buyer to decide..

realize that Japanese car price not really competitive now.. quality also not good as before… they got demand from malaysian.. i mean T, H n N..

for conti car, keep improve ur after sales.. more potential customer will choose u..

• Lim Kopi on Oct 12, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Which auto gearbox will it be paired with I wonder ?

• toyooot on Oct 12, 2010 at 8:28 pm

can sombody explain what is diff engine Pug 308 Thp, 308 GTi, and 308 CC,, all 3 hv diff bhp..

• Handsome*dude on Oct 13, 2010 at 4:57 pm

308THP, GTi, CC and also the Mini cooper S .. they all use the same 1.6 turbo Prince engine~ just how they tuned it differently ~

• what's a name? on Oct 12, 2010 at 8:35 pm

It will be a six-speed manual gearbox like the 308 GTi. No automatic gearbox, the French hate automatic gearbox with a passion.

• anti-first on Oct 13, 2010 at 10:17 am

high possibility that the car MAY come in auto as most Malaysians are lazy to play manual and peugeot to boost their flagging sales in europe.

ain’t nothing like a manual to sweeten that long drive home!

• anti-first on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:28 pm

as always, you can expect peugeot to whip up delicious-looking and fun-to-drive cars!

vive la motion et l’emotion!

• Jason on Oct 13, 2010 at 4:36 pm

It’s so disappointing that Nasim hasn’t lauched this car. If they had, I would be the first to own this car!