Go the luxury route with Nissan’s GT-R facelift – fancy being an Egoist?

egoist gt-r

It sounds a bit pompous, what with a name like that, but there’s nothing wrong with being self-involved, especially if it’s exclusivity you’re looking for.

Aside from the usual fare editions that have come about with Nissan’s facelifted GT-R, there’s the Egoist version, which the company says is an exclusive luxury edition ‘created by Takumi, or “master with greatest skills.”‘

egoist gt-r 2

The Egoist allows each customer to tailor his ride according to indvidual taste. It starts with a combination of interior colours to choose from – there are 20 selections in all, with four upper area interior colors and 10 lower area interior colors. Once you’ve selected the colour scheme that you want, the parts of the interior are shipped off to leather specialists Seton Company in Germany, where master craftsmen sew and stick carefully selected leather by hand.

The seats in the Egoist feature an exclusive quilted design with single and double stitching combined in a reticular pattern. Enhanced body grip performance, smoothness and fit are all provided for in the design.

egoist gt-r 3

Next, there’s a Bose precision sound system that’s tuned to you, quite litreally – the sound quality is adjusted exclusively for each owner, depending on individual driving position. The model also gets specially developed carbon composite-based woofers, which offer high rigidity and damping.

The car also features a Wajima lacquer (Maki-e) steering wheel GT-R emblem, created by Sakae Kubota, an accredited traditional Japanese lacquer craftsman. The emblem’s deep coloring and glaze will deepen and richen as time goes by, which shouldn’t be a bad thing if you view it every day.

egoist gt-r 4

Of course, the flashy bits don’t get left out in all this exclusivity, with some common-to-SpecV parts strapped on for the ride. The Egoist adopts the dry carbon rear spoiler from there, as well as the latter’s Rays forged alloy wheels, though here it’s finished in a new five-layer Blue Sword Chrome shade. A titanium exhaust system completes the list.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1631]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• moriz on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:11 am

me like wan…

• nighttrain on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:17 am

My my, I do declare!

• mirror mirror on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:22 am

Hair stylist’s sports car.

• hvannees on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:23 am

is there GT-R humble exists? egoist is freakin good…………

• tengku rizal on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:25 am

I’m not afford to buy this car… :-((
    Before i still wonder why this car have good performance but lack in luxury? Be honest, we pay a large sum money and get only performance? Yeahhh..perhape people will say better get merc or bmw but come on! at least please give a little nice touch there.

But now, after they give a luxury touch…i still wonder if got enough money, will i buy this car? Hmmm……..

• rear light on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:12 pm

if i got money, i’ll go for ths 1 rather than merc, bmw, audi, or whtever car in ths world without thinking back…

• kealilanlalat on Oct 19, 2010 at 6:15 pm

that is bcos u dont have money. i doubt those people with money in malaysia context would go for this instead of merc, bmw, audi or whatever..

• hamiduden on Oct 19, 2010 at 6:39 pm

in terms of durabiliyty, tech wise, performance etc… yeah european car is better..

• Hayden on Oct 20, 2010 at 1:48 am

I has start saving to get this car…and in total i have 10 cents in my piggy bank..way to go! = )

• 4x4Fan on Oct 20, 2010 at 2:57 pm

u the man with egoist…Dude…!

• hamiduden on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:29 am

a very nice car..wonder what the price would be..

• buildiflying on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:29 am

My dream car…..save $$$ save $$$

• Hmmm… GTR egoist.. Doesn’t sound right on the mighty macho fierce godzilla… The brown interior really spoils the GTR IMO.. Look like for unker or gay buy the egoist..

• JonLing on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:57 am

Don’t really like some iconic sports car to go for luxury sometimes, but i think in new GT-R guise, it’s time for Nissan to do so, as I believe their aim is on different league already. Better watch out, Porsche!

• car lovers on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:27 pm

wow…. i wish i could have one…….in my dream huhuhu

• very nice car that suit and marketed to the rich people….wonder when will inspira egoist will be on sale thehehee

• CatmaN on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:47 pm

not so EGOIST when it comes to d wheel design. simple sgt (can say ugly)..nothing boastful abt it except for d brand (Rays) n 5-layer paint.

• zafedz on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:47 pm

How much will be the cost for this upgrading??

• awg1031 on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:49 pm

wow..i wonder how it feels to drive this car..

• fadhli p.edar on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:32 pm

trying too hard to be an italian supercar. sighhh!!!

• Samuel Tan on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:35 pm

The engine start & off button is also on the wheel. Kind of easy to press it accidentally? :)

• shawal on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:59 pm

the engine start stop button is the big red button near the gear lever , the one on the steering wheel is probably for cruise control or something

• junaidi on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:31 am

the GTR’s starter button is in front of the handbrake. Standard.

But heck if you have so much money, I think for you they can put the starter button on the roof also la..

• Johndeep on Oct 20, 2010 at 5:05 pm

…Ah Beng’s car “On/Off” button at his remote control and kept in this pocket.

• The start-stop on the steering wheel is that lap timer.

• Jho Low on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:49 pm

Hey.. should be a nice addition to my transit cars for my sole purpose to travel from my apartment to my yacht at the Marina. :)

• Japan Bently?

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Oct 19, 2010 at 3:06 pm

a thug wearing Hermes…

• chinaProtester on Oct 19, 2010 at 4:07 pm

The most desirable piece of japanese engineering indeed…with adequate power n handling, luxury is what we need in the equation. vote for me!

• nighttrain on Oct 19, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Looks exactly like the interior of a Bentley, which is a good thing.

• Jay C M on Oct 19, 2010 at 6:41 pm

I love the leather interior..nice and VIP

• shawal on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Frikkin awesome!!! , Interior wont feel out of place inside a bentley , truly exquisite!!!

• New Lotus Concept Production Dream on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:26 pm

It seems to target at european market. European popular colors but lack of dual tones. If it excels better than european car, please show GT-R true colors. (i.e. like to high tech instruments and some kind of unique colors)

• M-mealin on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:31 pm

sport car goes to luxury … totally not match at all. Sport car is about speed, power and performance…luxury is about rest and sleep at d back while your driver drove it…

• smokycar on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:34 pm

i would fall asleep while speeding at 300km/h…zzz zzzz zz z zzzzzz… the seat is too comfortable. z zz z zzzzz zzzz

• farizio on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:22 am

The reason for the Egoist? Porsche.

Porsche has always been known for being able to offer you a sports car than tear up a track and at the same time offer you a million choices in interior leather colors (you can even choose the color of your seatbelt and instrument cluster)

So this is Nissan’s comeback, they’ve proven they can beat the Porsche on the track and opened up a new kind of customer- The kind that would buy a Porsche -and offer them what the GT-R was lacking in the first place: Refinement. (even the suspension is revised to be more comfy)

Now all they have to do is get past badge snobbery.

• will be driven by uncle with lots of money…

us poor people will be drooling seeing him with good looking R and good looking chicks..

• skatax on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:13 pm

the front LED fog lights looks horrible and somehow disturbing. yuck~

• ezracopters on Oct 24, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Yahoooo…yesssss…im gonna get this one…on my my screen saver!!! hehehehe