BMW Malaysia spreads CNY joy with Open House at 15 dealerships and three Special Edition 3-Series variants

For BMW Group Malaysia, it has become tradition to celebrate Chinese New Year with events and the introduction of special edition variants, and 2011 is no different. This year’s CNY@BMW event will usher in the Year of the Rabbit with ‘Open House’ at all its 15 dealerships throughout Malaysia

Held next weekend (15-16 January), CNY@BMW open houses will have family activities such as Chinese Dragon Phoenix Caligraphy Method drawing, intricate Rice/Micro Carving and traditional performances such as Mask Changing and Lion Dance. Visitors will also have a chance to get their fortunes read and tuck into a Yee Sang buffet spread.

That’s nice, but for many the “main course” will be the cars. There will be three special edition BMW 3-Series variants on display – the 320d M Sport, 323i Exclusive Edition and the 325i Sports Edition. All feature exterior and cabin upgrades, additional features and Brake Energy Regeneration – the latter is part of BMW’s Efficient Dynamics measures.

With Brake Energy Regeneration (BER), the 2.0L turbodiesel in the 320d consumes just 5.3 litres per 100 km compared to 5.8 litres per 100 km for the standard car. Both the 323i and 325i, which are powered by a 2.5L inline six, now consume 8.6 litres per 100 km, half a litre less than cars without BER. That’s quite a big difference we’re looking at. BER has now become standard for all 3-Series models in Malaysia except the 320i Coupe.

Equipment wise, the special edition 320d M Sport adds on BMW Individual High Gloss Shadow Line window frame surrounds and BMW Navigation System Professional to the M Sport kit list, which already includes the M Aerodynamics package, M Sports suspension, 17” double-spoke M light alloys (style 194M), BMW Individual headliner anthracite and Aluminium Glacier Silver interior trim.

The 323i Exclusive Edition gets 17” star-spoke light alloys (style 339), a silver bar in the front apron as well as chromed window recess cover and kidney bars. This luxurious feel is carried over inside with Bamboo Anthracite trim.

Last but not least is the 325i Sports Edition. This athletic and sporty variant already has the M Sport package (M Aerodynamics package, M Sports suspension and 18” M Light alloys in Ferric Grey metallic) and new additions include High Gloss Shadow Line window frame surrounds, black chrome finishing for its double exhaust tips, black Dakota leather seats with blue contrast stitching and matching velour floor mats. Like the 320d, this 218 hp machine’s cabin is fitted with BMW Individual headliner anthracite and Aluminium Glacier Silver trim.

Besides the above, also on display are the locally assembled BMW X1 variants, the X1 xDrive 20d and BMW X1 sDrive 18i. This is what they cost:

BMW 320d M Sport – RM260,800
BMW 323i Exclusive Edition – RM275,800
BMW 325i Sports Edition – RM309,800
BMW X1 xDrive20d – RM298,800
BMW X1 sDrive18i – RM238,800

Head on down to your nearest BMW dealership to check out the cars for yourselves!

UPDATE: We have added image galleries of all three models after the jump.

BMW 320d M Sport
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1880]

BMW 323i Exclusive Edition
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1881]

BMW 325i Sports Editon
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1882]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Jan 06, 2011 at 5:44 pm

hmm the 323i looks worse to me now. honestly.

• New Lotus Concept Production Dream on Jan 06, 2011 at 11:23 pm

It was sold at 245k for pre-registered last year. Yet, it has full luxury specification. Better value buy as compare with 320i and 320d. It doesn’t look as good as the previous one, right? Go for the 2-door 335i coupe.

• 320d owner on Jan 07, 2011 at 12:57 am

New Lotus Concept Production Dream.
        You can take your Lotus and shove it up you know where!!
        Its an insult to even compare a bottom feeder Proton to a Beemer.
        And shaky at 160km only applies to your Proton in fact can it reach
        that speed in 10minutes ??.
        I’ve done 220km/h on my 320d easily. You are lying thru
        your teeth as you are a pauper who is struggling to pay your Proton loan.

• bmw/mini in my blood on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:33 am

agree , change ur d into i. you’ll scare the heck out of many 325 owners. haha

• Be fair, Dude! :) on Jan 07, 2011 at 3:13 pm

i think what he means to say is that the ride of the 320d is a little more bumpy than what most would deem comfortable. i know this for a fact because i drive a 325 sports myself and im sure it feels exactly like your 320d, just a little more powerful.

• rossi46 on Jan 07, 2011 at 4:36 pm

hmm…i think the diesel is more powerful in term of torque

• blash on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:47 pm

what? shaky? 160kmh is nothing for proton cars nowadays, it is very stable at high speed, even when cornering

• Matt Lim on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:53 am

BMW should spread CNY joy by firstly sorting out the constant breakdowns of their F10 5 series. That is more important than launching cars that are going to be replaced soon. Everybody knows the 3 series is due for replacement. So, you giving us CNY presents that are soon to be outdated?

Sort out the F10 problems first. So many complaints on it. And no point selling the E90. This is the king of problematic cars. Ask any E90 owner and they will tell you how many glitches and breakdowns the car has and they countless of visits they have to take the car to the Worksyop.

Banyak Masuk Worksyop = BMW

• sagatron on Jan 06, 2011 at 5:48 pm

am i 1,000,000th??

• Inline 6 on Jan 06, 2011 at 5:59 pm

do u guys think still buy this last batch of 3er? as the new model will be out at this year too 2011

• New Lotus Concept Production Dream on Jan 06, 2011 at 11:18 pm

Test drive the cars. Each variant has unique pro and con features. (i.e the latest 320i feels good to drive on bumpy road but the previous one is shaky when driving above 160km/h on highway)

• Bmw staff on Jan 07, 2011 at 8:57 am

The totally new 3’s only launch on 2013.

• rifle on Jan 06, 2011 at 6:40 pm

can i get 1 of the cars for free??
    hehe

• proton tuah will be a bit sleeker than 3 series if the concept reaches the production stage

• muittu on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:44 pm

couldn’t agree more, just saw it during klims 2010, koreans and proton may come up with really sleek cars in near future, no doubt

• subhero on Jan 06, 2011 at 10:02 pm

BMW 320d M Sport –
    BMW 323i Exclusive Edition –
    BMW 325i Sports Edition –

im sorry IF i was OFF Topic.

ive a simple Question for who Know the Answer.

this new BMW 3 series.. have no SPARE TYRE?

im sorry if sound like silly Question. but im intresting to know the answer.

tq

• nop..it dosent have
      it uses http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Run-flat_tire

• subhero on Jan 08, 2011 at 9:24 am

SORry again. RUN FLAT TYRE.

if the owner change to other rim, can the other rim support by this RUN FLAT TYRE?

• seancorr on Jan 06, 2011 at 10:19 pm

Better hold out on buying the 3 series until the new F30 comes out…then surely BMW Malaysia will give a handsome discount to the E90 hehe…that is IF ur still interested to get the obsolete model!

• New Lotus Concept Production Dream on Jan 06, 2011 at 11:26 pm

Bet you are ready to buy a BMW. Go for proton, it may not obsolete for ten years if you are lucky.

• kimi's fan on Jan 06, 2011 at 11:39 pm

seancorr, it is a beautiful car. But how to distinguish F30…E90..?

• tishaban on Jan 06, 2011 at 11:58 pm

The F30 is coming out but I doubt it’ll be 2011, that’s very optimistic since it hasn’t even been launched internationally.

• losantara on Jan 06, 2011 at 11:01 pm

This is harsh…… but I notice that most of the new C class and 3 series owners around me actually cannot afford the car ! What they matters is only the brand but not the comfort/handling/cabin size and other values. They are worried about the maintenance and always serve car loan between 7 to 9 years. I sincerely feel that they actually should drive an Accord or Camry. Of course there is a handful of C and 3 series owners are actually wife and children of a wealthy father.

In contrast I notice all the NEW E class and 5 series owners around me are really financially solid ! At least a few million cash in hand.

Of course the S class owners are definitely affluent.In fact most of them own a listed company. I do not know anyone who own a 7 series yet.

Does BMW find the above information useful for their marketing strategies ?

• arcana on Jan 08, 2011 at 3:49 pm

considering that u need at least 100k more to buy a E or 5-er compare to C and 3-er…..u must be rich for sure, while quite a number of them are really stretching their budget to buy a RM250K car when they are not supposed to.

• New Lotus Concept Production Dream on Jan 06, 2011 at 11:11 pm

Buy from trusted parallel importers. It makes no difference when actual car problem comes. BMW Malaysia cant help when you have a problem. Help yourself if you own one. Not really discount as the car is slightly overprice, yet the second hand value is bad. (Facts. 520i bought from AB at 286k (2005) sold to AB at 110k (2008). 530d bought at 390k (2008) from AB, worth <150k if sold to AB (2009-2010). I guarantee you be frustrated if you are unlucky to get car with problem. My experience is 3 out of 7 will face the problem. I almost become BMW foreman knowing the problems. Good Luck.

• Mohan Nair on Jan 07, 2011 at 5:20 am

Wow thats a rip off. The prices below are in Chennai, India on the road inclusive of all taxes and insurance

BMW 320d M Sport – RM260,800
    Price in India in MYR 225,890.89 in Indian rupees 3,322,379
    BMW 325i Sports Edition – RM309,800
    Price in India in MYR 250,609.73, in Indian rupees 3,685,941
    BMW X1 xDrive20d – RM298,800
    Price in India in MYR 162,493.04 and in Indian rupees 2,390,000.00
    BMW X1 sDrive18i – RM238,800
    Price in India 149,579.38 MYR and in Indian rupees 2,200,000.00

• Bmw staff on Jan 07, 2011 at 9:01 am

our prize is high b’cos of the gov. tax..

• this car are for the rich people – high tax … who care??

• inline 6 on Jan 10, 2011 at 12:02 am

Rich people being rich mostly is becos they know how to earn more and how to manage their financial well ~ very figures & aspect are taken into consideration while buying or investing ~~

so stop staying they dun care about the tax~~

why there is rich, and there is poor?
        what you getting now is depend on what have you done~

• BMWForever on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:59 am

320d with Navigation Professional? Does it mean that it comes with i-Drive??? pls clarify TQ!

• mirror mirror on Jan 07, 2011 at 2:13 pm

The other day a VW sales rep told me that customers who tested the Passat CC mostly claimed that the CC is a better car in terms of comfort and performance, and yet most of them ended up buying a 3 series instead. I suppose that is the power of branding.

• Be fair, Dude! :) on Jan 07, 2011 at 2:56 pm

bro, the prices here are higher because of the hefty taxes we all pay on our cars. although we pay huge taxes, our fuels are highly subsidised; give and take if you may. have you checked the fuel prices in india? insanely high! in my honest opinion, i think comparing car prices unfairly as you have is not the way to go. would YOU not mind if our subsidies are taken away and we are given at most a rm50k discount on a 3 series?

• BM172 on Jan 16, 2011 at 2:54 pm

50k? why BMW Malaysia allow the 3series sold like junk?
      come on , BMW M shud stop that. no wonder the resale value is dropping.

• Mister Potato on Jan 07, 2011 at 7:30 pm

You will, once you become rich. Most people that cares already migrated elsewhere because they don’t have to be rich to buy this car over there.

• regab on Jan 08, 2011 at 12:02 am

proton tuah beats 3 series anyday, very good looking, don’t have much curves, proportionate lines on upper and lower body, and of sporty with its twin tailpipes
    hope it comes out fast

go proton!!