Lotus Exos Type 125 to make track debut at Vallelunga

More news on the Lotus front – looks like the Exos Experience is getting underway. The Type 125 F1-inspired track-only car revealed last August was on display at the Autosport International show, and news is that it will be making its track debut this week with a test at the Autodromo Vallelunga Piero Taruffi in Italy.

Following this, the car – which is powered by a 650 hp 3.5 litre Cosworth GP V8 engine mated to a six-speed semi automatic gearbox with paddle shift – will head over to Abu Dhabi next week, where the first lucky customers will get the chance to put the car through its paces on the F1 track at Yas Marina Circuit.

The holistic Exos Experience should see the limited number of Lotus 125 owner drivers getting a whole lot for what they pay for, among this plenty of track time on various circuits such as Paul Ricard in the south of France as well as the Autódromo do Algarve, Portimao in Portugal. As they rightly should.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• littlefire on Jan 19, 2011 at 12:42 pm

Proton still need to seeks RM2.35B just to fund Lotus.. Is this good or bad?!?

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/1/19/business/7821744&sec=business

• Peter on Jan 19, 2011 at 2:36 pm

I’m getting more and more confused.

So this car is under the Lotus group or the Lotus RACING?????

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 19, 2011 at 2:40 pm

It’s under the Group Lotus umbrella.

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:37 pm

lotus group produce car…

lotus racing only licensed name for racing team (no matter what race that doesn’t involve any lotus road car)….

but i wish i could see lotus racing and lotus group to stand united in racing…where lotus group sponsor/support lotus racing…not by going to sponsor other team……haish….1 malaysia only on the lips but nothing more than that….

• osh_kosh on Jan 19, 2011 at 8:42 pm

there’s no more Lotus Racing.. this year it’s Team Lotus

• ignoramus on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:30 pm

It’s bad because if Group Lotus 5-yr plan doesn’t work and they can’t repay the commercial loans, Proton will have to settle it as they are raising the loans for Group Lotus. And Proton is a GLC. I’d rather see Proton spend that money to build up Proton towards a world class car maker rather than for Group Lotus.

• frossonice on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Yes, this is bad. And to think that they use some of this money to sponsor Renault F1 team is utter nonsense.

They try to promote Lotus by sponsoring Renault? Oh yeah, I forgot. Dany Bahar said it is okay to buy success.

• Tiadaid on Jan 19, 2011 at 4:51 pm

Read properly. They’re asking loan from CIMB to fund their new stable cars. So don’t worry about your tax money being used.

I knew bashers would pounce on the news!

• seriusSAM on Jan 19, 2011 at 8:39 pm

if they fail to pay back the loan.. who’s gonna bail them out? British Government? Luxemburg government? French government?

:D

• littlefire on Jan 20, 2011 at 10:43 am

Anyway All Malaysian also know that CIMB is own by Najib brother… In the end if cannot repay who will help?

• yippi33 on Jan 20, 2011 at 4:57 pm

then..why did u take a car loan??a study loan??a house loan???if u cannot pay then who will help?? applying loan is a norm what in business…no own opens a business using cash money…i dont see the issue of proton unable to pay it back. .they have their own plan..only short sighted people will ask a lot of question..

• wat u think..they get their money through loan not from gov its good rite..i don think gov will give that kind of amount to proton/lotus..RM100million maybe but not 2.3billion

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jan 19, 2011 at 6:14 pm

Littlefire,yes 2.5 billion is bloody a lot of money,but the thing is they never touch our so-called tax money,CIMB give them loan.
    But,I thing this 5 years plan will end up good because Lotus is good in handling,what they lack is a proper car with some luxury inside it.
    If they can produce a good quality car,then no doubt they can beat Porsche(I hope the spelling is correct),Ferrari and Lambo.
    Current Lotus is not that practical and their focus is more to perfomance and they forgot comfort and luxury.

• ariff on Jan 21, 2011 at 12:15 pm

none of the comments are for Lotus Type 125 F1 car