Honda Brio spied in Thailand, to be launched tomorrow

The Honda Brio will be launched in Bangkok tomorrow, but it has already been caught testing on a Thai motorway. As we can see from this white example – which doesn’t wear badges, but is undisguised – the production car stays true to the concept’s lines. This is of course assuming that the mule seen here is production ready, which we think it is.

We were there at the Thai Motor Expo last November to bring to you live coverage of the Brio Prototype’s world debut. It was revealed then that the A-segment Brio is 3,610 mm long, 1,680 mm wide and 1,475 mm tall. That’s 45 mm longer, 85 mm wider, but 65 mm lower than a Hyundai i10. These profile side-by-side pics show no difference between the concept and the white mule (except for body coloured B pillars), which pics appeared on a Thai website.

This blur shot of the rear also shows no changes to the Brio’s rear, which features a distinctive hatch that’s blacked out entirely. The spied car also wears a rear spoiler like the concept. We’ll have to wait for the launch for more info, specs and price. It was mentioned that this Thai eco car will cost approximately 400,000 baht.

Click here to see more of the Brio.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Paul Tan on Mar 16, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Having the B-pillar in body colour instead of black makes the car look cheap.

• nolan on Mar 16, 2011 at 1:52 pm

hope Honda Malaysia will bring this model ASAP…..if below 60k, its a good bargain…

• Unforgiven on Mar 16, 2011 at 2:51 pm

They should placed it around RM50k, somewhere around i10/Alto price…

• nolan on Mar 16, 2011 at 11:43 pm

i don’t think so bcoz for sure government want to protect the sales of Myvi…i bet the price will be 60k-65k slightly lower than City…..

• PaulT on Mar 16, 2011 at 1:57 pm

That won’t be a problem – this car will surely be very popular and will have loads of accessories available. I’m considering getting one as a second car. I’m just 5 mins from the Motor Show hall, so I’ll be checking it out:) I think the top model will be about 500K or less, and the base model below 400K. I guess we will find out tomorrow!

• wolfsburg on Mar 16, 2011 at 2:05 pm

A terribly looking car… The i10 and new picanto make this car looks so outdated…

• LandCruizerzz on Mar 16, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Ugly…

Really looking forward for Mitsu’s concept global small…

• 4agze on Mar 16, 2011 at 2:09 pm

so 400k bath is around rm40k+…if this EVER launch in malaysia, the price would be almost 55-60k…myvi killer perhaps?

• akinablue on Mar 16, 2011 at 2:24 pm

if assemble in Alor Gajah, then the price will be around that..but if completely import..forsure jd macam jazz

• memek on Mar 16, 2011 at 2:17 pm

i thought it’s another viva facelift on first glance

• Kambing Gurun on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:03 pm

True enough. Without looking at the title, I thought this is a Viva. The side profile looks similar.

• Samurai Malaya on Mar 16, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Look at the antenna…reminds me the 90s on wira and iswara…Damn…cost cutting and yet many will worship this car

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 16, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Honda Brio,no matter how good the quality is,the design is totally hideous and looks cheap.Sorry Honda.You’re going to the wrong way.

• breaL on Mar 16, 2011 at 2:29 pm

honda rarely make car this ugly

• gangully on Mar 16, 2011 at 2:44 pm

harks back to the days of the Honda City in the mid 80s

• Nice looking car for some, Ugly to others. As far as I’m concerned , as long as it doesn,t give problems , and have good resale value, then it will be fine to me.

• azrai on Mar 16, 2011 at 3:11 pm

So Paul, the car is for Indian and ASEAN market only? That’s mean Japan won’t see this?

• brandonctt on Mar 16, 2011 at 4:17 pm

This car will only be available in Thailand and India for the time being.

• angrybirds on Mar 16, 2011 at 4:27 pm

We need an automotive news related to the earthquake/tsunami in Japan… is honda factory (insight) affected? nissan japan stop production? why?

• VoidDance on Mar 16, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Bloody hideous looking car.

On another note, Malaysian will flock Honda’s showrooms to buy this car no matter what.

Hehehe.

• in thailand,
    Honda City’s price:
    694 000 Thai baht = 69 638.268 Malaysian ringgits
    Malaysia actual price: RM85k to rm90k

Honda Brio’s price:
    400 000 Thai baht = 40 137.3302 Malaysian ringgits

if using ratio calculation:
    Brio’s Malaysia price should be: RM50k to RM55k.

just bring this on.
    of course if the car priced at rm50k. it’s the most reasonable price and…
    welcome to malaysia.

enough of Myvi conquering in Malaysia. This Brio is much more fuel efficient and we can say it’s reliable. . though it’s abit non-photogenic.. but who knows… have you guys really seen in or sit in it?
    May be you may still dun like this car later.. but i like that if Brio entering the competition.

• akinablue on Mar 17, 2011 at 9:24 am

city can be in that price coz assembled in malacca. how bout if assembled in siam or japang?

• Pray that Brio with Nissan March would be sold in bolehland around 50-60k mark

• better we buy myvi….

• armandd on Mar 16, 2011 at 7:57 pm

Oh my.. Why can’t Honda design compacts like VW Polo? It’s design is simple but elegant. No need complicated/strange/disoriented lines like this hideous Brio.. If they can make the Jazz look good, why can’t the Brio?

• peYno on Mar 16, 2011 at 8:52 pm

gomen won’t let it to be in Malaysia market… otherwise, it will kacau viva and myvi market… gomen has to protect our “nasional perodua car”.. same goes to HONDA FREED…they sell it above 100k to unsure alza market

• p3Yn0 on Mar 16, 2011 at 9:33 pm

yea, let saga blm rule the road.

and your rubbish savvy

• peYno on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:31 am

BLM is small sedan… not same category ,,..
        this car direct competitor to myvi and viva

• @ 60K , this Honda will sell-out in record-breaking time …

• maniac on Mar 16, 2011 at 11:59 pm

astonishing masterpiece…its been a while since i saw a car manufacturer built a wheelbarrow…good job there

• I will choose Nissan Micra anytime if both are available in Malaysia…

• akinablue on Mar 17, 2011 at 9:40 am

i drove mirca when i worked in milan..it’s a terrible machine..much better punto..but when compare punto to gen2..i vote gen2..

• budleee on Mar 17, 2011 at 1:44 am

Can’t wait for this to be available here…

• nesterretsen on Mar 17, 2011 at 11:33 am

You can see more spied shot at

http://www.pantip.com/cafe/ratchada/topic/V10344767/V10344767.html

and this link is BRIO Official Website but not yet completed !!! (They modify from Jazz webpage)

http://www.honda.co.th/th/brio/honda-brio.html

?????? ?????? ??????????????????????? ??????????????????
    ??????????????? i-VTEC 1.2 ???? 90 ?????? ???????????????? 20 ??.
    / ???? ?????????????????????????? ??????????????????? ???????
    ???????????????????????????????? 120 ???? / ??. ??????????
    ???????????????? Euro 4 ?????????????????????????????????
    ???????????????????????????????????????????????????? ???????
    ??????????????????????? ????????? ???????????????????????
    ????????????????????????????????????

Engine i-VTEC 1.2 Lites 90 H.P
    20 km / Lite
    Euro 4

• nesterretsen on Mar 17, 2011 at 11:35 am

and this link is BRIO Official Website but not yet completed !!! (They modify from Jazz webpage)

20 km / Lite
    Euro 4

• nesterretsen on Mar 17, 2011 at 11:36 am

20 km / Lite
    Euro 4

• harry on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:46 pm

if i were to decide to buy this range of cars….? i m totally stuck with Brio & i10 cause both has it Pros and Cons.,

Luv Brio with its Wide and Long yet Lower dimension but when it come to Looks i10 seem so much better in proportion.

Only part now that ,this Brio should come up with a good Spec & features,built and engine first! ~ then only If it matches with the price!

• john merlin on Jun 13, 2011 at 5:51 pm

any one know when the brio will be on sale in thailand?