Shanghai VW to roll out new compact premium sedan

Shanghai VW to roll out new compact premium sedanThere will be a new premium compact sedan for the Chinese market rolled out by Shanghai VW, a joint venture between SAIC and Volkswagen. The new model will have the “most advanced platform and engine technology,” SAIC said. Apparently, Shanghai VW has long hoped to build a premium model.

Reports speculate that this will boost the profits of Shanghai VW nearer to the level of VW’s other JV in China, FAW-Volkswagen. Shanghai VW currently builds the Polo, Touran, Santana, Lavida, Passat and Tiguan, but FAW-Volkswagen builds Audi sedans, and premium marques carry a bigger margin. The FAW side also makes the Golf, Jetta, Sagitar, New Bora, Magotan and (Passat) CC models.

In the first quarter of 2011, Shanghai Volkswagen sold 227,835 vehicles, while FAW Volkswagen shifted 225,256 units including 42,667 Audi models. Big numbers.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Abu Talib on May 10, 2011 at 1:42 pm

paul thanks for this article. I never knew all these models, including Audi is Made In China. I will now stay away from these models. Yes, people may defend saying there is QC and all that, but, no way am I going to trust China. What a shame, prestigious brands like Audi now being made in China. I might as well buy a Japanese than slogging to pay for an Audi or a VW when it is actually from China.

• odi862 on May 10, 2011 at 10:17 pm

What’s wrong with products being made in China? Even the Apple products are made there. If not for China, most everyday products are sure priced quite high from now. Don’t be too skeptical man.

• ahmad on May 24, 2011 at 8:37 pm

no money that go N buy japanesse car lo……
      what wrong with the china products,and now in malaysia with family din’t use CN products…..!

• nobody on May 11, 2011 at 1:32 am

You are one of the multitude of ignorant people who do not know nuts about China’s automotive industry. Yes, their food safety is questionable, but automobiles especially for non-China brands are in my personal opinion built at a much higher quality standard than any our P1 or P2 does.

It’s a waste of time justifying my opinion about because as RPK says, perception is key.

Sigh. What a bunch of katak di bawah tempurung.

• deGonggok on May 11, 2011 at 8:23 am

Agreed. But please do not compare to P1 and P2. They are improving.

• nobody on May 11, 2011 at 11:13 am

Yes. Again, the perception is that P1 and P2 is improving. But to bash China’s automotive industry based on heresay and unfounded talk is really getting on my nerves. Again, CKD or foreign brands made-in-China are at high-quality. The technology in manufacture & assembly is much higher than what many people in general think.

I think Proton’s designs and product offering are on-par if not better than the general offerings of China brands. But what i find perplexing is why Proton’s presence in China is so minimal. This is really something to look into.

Perhaps with not so much wastage in motorsports and unviable sponsorhips and the perennial ‘under-table-selfish-greedy-individuals’, Proton can channel those funds to expand SERIOUSLY into the Chinese market.

• nitai2le on May 11, 2011 at 12:27 pm

It’s hopeless for P1 or P2 to crack up the Chinese auto market. To be honest, P1 and P2 is not at the same level as Chinese indigenous brands and more to the point, the Chinese dont believe anything made in malaysia and even in ASEAN except S’pore or maybe Thailand, as much as Malaysian dislike them.

• Beh Kok Wei on May 11, 2011 at 2:43 pm

It is not isolated to foods only. All products from China are lower quality than their Japanese or European counterparts. Even Malaysian made products are 100 times better than any China products. Foreign brands made in China are as bad as China brands. Look at your aircon or fridge. Those days, the Japanese Aircon or fridge can last for years, even sometimes 20 years without giving any problems. Now, one year also, problems crop up. I am old enough to tell you that I have seen all my electrical applicances last for 20 years.

You quoting RPK, a fugitive?

• nobody on May 11, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Wow Mr Beh Kok Wei,

You are using a mighty large brush to paint a picture. ALL products from China are lower quality than blablabla.

I don’t want to waste more time to debate about this. No point as both sides have their own arguments. So lets just agree to disagree.

Yes, I’m paraphrasing RPK, but he is NOT a fugitive. Please go read more www.malaysia-today.net to do more research as to why he is NOT a fugitive.

Sometimes, the mainstream media and the perception war really infects a majority of people. Time to really think outside the box – if one can challenge the norms.

side note: I am still hoping deep down although very remotely possible, that P1 would really do something radical to make a difference in the global scene. I just dont know how these Board of Directors or the decision makers come to what they have done. Really a load of disappointment. Anyway, I am through with this post. Cheers.