Audi A5 range facelifted with changes under the skin

The Audi A5 range has been given a refresh, four years after the four rings impressed us with a graceful, beautifully proportioned Walter de’ Silva coupe. Audi has since added soft top Cabriolet and four-door Sportback variants to the family. Besides some minor exterior upgrades, the facelifted A5 comes with changes under the skin as well.

As you can see from our combi image, the signature Audi grille of the new car (on the left) has a different shape – the top edges have been sawed off to make it a six point box.

The new bumper features pronounced air inlets with big struts, revamped grilles and flat fog lights. The engine hood has been give some sharply chiseled edges for a “3D look” and the front end now appears lower and wider.

The headlights are also new. Their lower edge forms a wave and the LED daytime running lights runs a ring around the main projector, a more distinctive layout than the underline of the pre-facelift A5. The rear lights have also been redesigned and are optionally available with continuous LED light strips. The bumper has been reprofiled, too.

Audi’s benchmark cabin gets some updates as well. There are new steering wheels, including an option for a flattened ring, and new steering column stalks. A button is used to directly adjust the optional seat heating/ventilation in three stages. Also updated were the ignition key, the automatic gear selector lever and controls for the air con and Audi drive select.

Displays are now illuminated in white. There’s also a new selection of upholstery and inlays. Additionally, the originally four-seat Sportback can now be ordered as a five-seater.

The engine lineup consists of three petrol engines and four TDI units, all with forced induction and direct injection. Start-stop and brake energy recuperation is standard across the board.

Audi highlights the redesigned 1.8 TFSI that features new innovations in the control of the valves and their lift, thermal management concept, injection system, turbocharger and the integration of the exhaust manifold. This 170 hp/320 Nm engine consumes just 5.7 litres of fuel per 100 km and spews 21% less CO2 than before.

Models with quattro AWD and S tronic transmission also feature a crown-gear center differential with torque vectoring. In normal driving, this mechanical component sends power primarily to the rear wheels. It redistributes drive if necessary, up to 70% to the front and 85% to the rear. Torque vectoring uses targeted, minor braking interventions to improve handling.

Another new feature in the A5 series is the electromechanical power steering, which reduces fuel consumption by up to 0.3 litres per 100 km and up to 7g CO2/km because it consumes zero energy while driving straight.

All S5 models are now equipped with a 3.0 TFSI producing 333 hp. Compared to the older 4.2-litre V8, the supercharged V6 consumes on average 20% less fuel per 100 km. Accelerations remains impressive with a 0-100 km/h dash time of 4.9 seconds. Top speed is of course limited to 250 km/h.

Visual cues to distinguish it from the old S5 include new lights, modified body details and new crystal-effect paint finishes. Like the rest of the range, the S5 also gets the crown-gear center differential and electromechanical power steering.

The A5 is sold in Malaysia as a 2.0 TFSI Quattro for RM399,900. Hi res gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2383]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• What a great improvement on the 1.8TFSI!!

• With the new facelifted A5 sportback, it makes A7 look overpriced and redundant.

• LadyGaga on Jul 13, 2011 at 1:09 pm

Gaga Oh La la la, caught in a seductive romance with Audi A5

• Gajen on Jul 13, 2011 at 1:24 pm

looks really good,the best coupe just got better…however the current A5 is 400k for a 2.0..really overpriced..a bit more and already in the boxster price range

• Demon on Jul 13, 2011 at 1:50 pm

looks sweeet!!

• tun tansari on Jul 13, 2011 at 2:06 pm

looks sweet n sexy..but way too exp in our bolehland

• Mr Mogoo on Jul 13, 2011 at 2:28 pm

Head light, front bumper air inlet almost to our new wajalancer.
    Its hard to make a design right… :P

• confused on Jul 13, 2011 at 2:48 pm

i’m just going to stick with A4… ekeke…

• This car has a simple design no complicated/futuristic like japenese/korean design. And yet it exudes elegance and grace. Simply a stunning piece of design!

• ferrari, bentley…yes a piece of art..this is just a three box design with 2 doors..nice but plain

• aiman on Jul 13, 2011 at 2:51 pm

i designed this car

• LatukBandar on Jul 14, 2011 at 1:55 am

Really, I design this car also!!! nice to meet me myself.

• Love the new DRLs. We should be seeing the facelifted A5’s here in Malaysia in March 12. EM doesn’t order cars in the last qtr of the year and production of the new facelift only starts in Ingolstadt from production week 37 onwards. Means new facelifted cars will only be ordered in Jan 12 and arrive in March 12.

• Alpha on Jul 13, 2011 at 4:39 pm

God!!Although it’s a mere facelift,the new front lights made it looks like a newer gen!!I’m always a fan of A5,n now I love it more~

• tikus on Jul 13, 2011 at 4:55 pm

New facelift looks like Starwars Strom Trooper face lar….Cool!

• coolcar on Jul 13, 2011 at 4:57 pm

2.0 liter 4 potter for 400k, ingat kita bodoh lah?

• coolcar on Jul 13, 2011 at 4:57 pm

2.0 liter 4 potter for 400k, ingat kita bodoh kah?

• only idiots will pay 400k for a 2.0 car…

• luffykewl on Jul 14, 2011 at 12:28 am

if i a rich man, and i can afford to have this car..
      why not? this car is a symbol of wealth and power.

• Even the new E class r using 1.8 Turbo and cost around 400k but that’s 2 times faster than the Honda Civic 1.8 and good fuel consumption ‘ not simply says coz my dad own one’!0-100KM take 7.5 second,top speed 150 mph = 240Km/h ‘ search from Benz Info ‘plus Germany premium brand!premium brands r always overprice coz they ‘ premium ‘ so they r for people who can afford it…i must say proton inspira 1.8 and 2.0 without tax r overprice!expensive than Lancer in Langkawi!whatever Potong says no money don buy then!i’m not angry but i totally agree!Jojo u r poor men and without knowledge!

• tell dady he just bought a german taxi for 400k..poor or not i’ll buy used cayman rather than a german taxi..premium or not 400k is for status concious fools..

• berombon on Jul 14, 2011 at 12:04 am

haiihhhh…go lah buy second hand..no, i beg to differ! Those who have the money can simply afford whatever they want. Only people like you will go around saying stuff like ‘status concious fools’, ‘idiots’ la….becareful, you could be one of them too..look at the stuff that you use daily..err..iphone?ipad? ha,ha….you definitely cannot afford one from the looks of it…..

• please come for track day this saturday 13th at sepang if you want to see what i drive..my car no. is 78, the only one there with the no..ohh, plse get dady’s permission first..’by the look of it…’ wtf…

• coolcar on Jul 14, 2011 at 12:15 pm

how childish u are jojo, even if u are driving a ferrari so wat?who cares?no body will care an idiot driving a ferrari, only will tease him..anyway i bet u are juz driving a civic..

• Timothy Dalton on Jul 15, 2011 at 10:27 am

YoYo…Mercedes Benz, Audi, Volkswagen are good brand cars best quality many can afford. Range Rover is a superb SUV but its really tough parking at basement, similar to Ferrari. Whatever car or brand we drive, it sure satisfying so long its Bersih!

• berombon on Jul 14, 2011 at 11:25 pm

haiiihh..no need to go to sepang track la to see your car. I don even care what car you drive..it can be an aston martin or even a souped up kancil……Err, no, I don’t have to get anybody’s permission to go anywhere I like…anyway, you’ll probably get lapped by everyone there..and that would be really boring for me…nahhhh.

• Don worry we stay in 1 Malaysia so i think eh i never saw any New E class Taxi on the road yet…yes it’s my father car but not my car coz i cant afford it!i bet ur daddy buy you a no.78 as the toy car lolx anyway no one care about what things u’r driving now coz Malaysia are full of Luxury and super cars so pls…boy even u’r older than me but u’r so childish…

• Vodka on Jul 14, 2011 at 8:10 am

A used cayman at RM400k is compromise for folks who can’t afford a new one. Performance cars like the Porsche, M car, Ferrari, Lamborghini age fast more so if they are tracked and will not give the same pleasure as a new one. Enjoy tracking your car!

• MrDDR on Jul 14, 2011 at 8:33 am

Better buy Lotus Evora

• mazda fan on Jul 14, 2011 at 11:20 pm

Better buy Altis. Both look plain, but Altis is cheaper.

• redboy on Jul 15, 2011 at 11:07 am

Prospect buyer: How much is this?
    Audi salesman: 400K.
    Prospect buyer: Oh well, is it a V8 or V10?
    Audi salesman: Errr….Inline 4.
    Prospect buyer: Hahaha.. you are joking right?