Infiniti EX and FX models spotted at JPJ Putrajaya

It seems we have more news from Putrajaya. Reader Akmal spotted two Infiniti models at JPJ Putrajaya. As mentioned before, Nissan’s luxury brand will be making an entry into Malaysia by the fourth quarter of this year along with an Infiniti Centre in Kuala Lumpur. Auto Dunia is the franchise holder and the Infiniti Centre will be operated by Inspired Motor which is a joint venture between Auto Dunia and Edaran Tan Chong Motor.

The dark red model we have here is the Infiniti EX which is a compact crossover SUV that is positioned below the FX range. Several models are available including the EX37 and the EX25 which is sold in China only. There is also a diesel variant called the EX30d. From the images, we can’t really tell which variant this vehicle is but it could likely be the EX37.

The EX37 uses a 3.7 litre V6 petrol engine with Variable Valve Event and Lift or VVEL. It makes 316hp and comes with a 7-speed automatic transmission with manual mode in the UK. Torque is set at 360Nm at 5,200 rpm. 0-100km/h takes 6.4 seconds while top speed is 240km/h.

The larger of the two is the Infiniti FX which is categorized as a mid-sized crossover SUV. This model is also available as an FX37, FX30d or as an FX50. Our guess would also be that the FX37 will be offered here. As the name suggests, it also uses the same 3.7 litre V6 and gearbox combo offered with the EX37. Power is also the same at 316hp and 360Nm of torque at 5,200 rpm. However 0-100km/h takes a little slower, 6.8 seconds to be exact and top speed is 233km/h.

Continue reading to view more images.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• jazzer on Sep 13, 2011 at 6:56 pm

ugly

• swoosh3553 on Sep 13, 2011 at 7:10 pm

Are these all destined for NAZA Autoworld? Why does NAZA always gets the “goodies”…. huhuhu

• Paul Tan on Sep 13, 2011 at 7:17 pm

I don’t think “AP” cars need to have type approval.

• Unforgiven on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:56 am

Interesting fact, are you able to imagine if you are AP king?

• swoosh3553 on Sep 13, 2011 at 7:11 pm

Are these all destined for NAZA Autoworld? Why does NAZA always gets the “goodies”…. huhuhu. AP king ma….

• To ugly and Infiniti.

• Black Dog on Sep 13, 2011 at 7:50 pm

The FX really looks ugly! Urggh!

• Kiddo on Sep 13, 2011 at 7:54 pm

Could it be the FX35? Elsewhere in the world are selling the FX35, like Taiwan, US etc.

The fuel consumption and the road tax of the VQ37DE will scare away a lot of potential buyers.

• Alpha on Sep 14, 2011 at 12:42 am

Nah,most of the similar segment SUVs starts with around 3.0 and above too.3.7 should be ok.Notice how many Alphard/Vellfire 3.5 V6 around??Or the Cayenne(which starts from 3.2 until 4.8) and even the CX9 is offered only in 3.7cc.If you can afford it,the road tax is something you won’t be bothered about.It’s somethg we called,”belakang kira”.Haha~

• prolover on Sep 13, 2011 at 9:20 pm

It OK with the Infinity.
    What about the Fiat Ducato or Citroen Jumper Or Maybe A Peugeot Boxer behind the EX. Any news from PSA Malaysia of from Fiat Malaysia.

• hisham on Sep 13, 2011 at 9:33 pm

As much as i appreciate such arts and performances…i dare to bet my 7 yrs old gen2 that only a handful of lucky bast*rd will get their hands on these…at 3.7l and a petrol’s engine…we all can kiss out fat yellow arse goodbye….sob…sob…

• CamryLover on Sep 13, 2011 at 9:46 pm

the FX is hideous! looks like some dinosaur head

• Alpha on Sep 13, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Have to say that the FX looks like one badass SUV~

• these cars must be brand new unit, not recond sold by grey importer cuz it undergo jpj tests..

• If that FX costs more than 400k, it’s overpriced.

• Alpha on Sep 14, 2011 at 12:50 am

Why is that??Even a Nissan Murano is priced more than RM300k.This is an Infiniti.The same level as BMW,Merc and such.And if you wanna compare with Lexus RX,even in the US,the price of highest spec Lexus RX350 is near to the cheapest Infinit FX.It’ll be not surprising at all to have this FX to be priced more than RM400k.

• clement on Sep 13, 2011 at 11:39 pm

i see the word “EXPENSIVE”…

• is that a renault van behind the EX? been waiting for a kangoo successor

• Yup, any info regarding the renault van? Looks like the Kangoo replacement or is it the pug version?

• Woo King Weng on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:34 am

a) If you do not have a lot of money, then a 50K proton is expensive, a casio digital watch is unreasonably priced, and chicken drumstick rice is out of reach…

b) If you are rich, then a 500K infiniti could be very affordable, a patek could be good value, and caviar is but a small indulgence…

if you are a), i hope you like your kancil, fake casio gshock, and federal bread loaf. Work harder to earn more money instead of showing us how dim you are…

if you are b), doesn’t matter, you won’t be reading this anyway

• in picture it do looks ugly, but trust me, in real life the car is sexy as hell!! and the v6 rumbles is to die for….woah!!! my dream car is here in malaysia!!! :D

• The smaller one is the same with Skyline Crossover???(which cost like RM300k for a recond unit)

• tattoo sleeves shop on Sep 14, 2011 at 11:36 am

hmm.. i dislike the design..

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:38 pm

yes the fx looks ugly. but having seen one in vietnam. yes the “vietnam”. i must say the fully spec fx50 is awesome. much better than the cayenne

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:41 pm

http://www.mudah.my/Nissan+Skyline+370GT+Infiniti+EX+coupe+crossover-11070814.htm?last=1 http://www.mudah.my/Nissan+skyline+crossover+3+7+demo+09-9584433.htm judging by the prices……don’t expect it to be cheap

• Mentari-o-korea on Sep 14, 2011 at 11:05 pm

Look similar to chery china type car!