Hyundai Eon launching soon in India, sits below i10

Hyundai is ready to roll out a small car in India that sits below the i10. Called Eon, the affordable five-door hatch will be Hyundai’s weapon against India’s best seller, the Maruti Alto (not to be confused with our Suzuki Alto, which is called A-Star there) as well as high spec versions of the Tata Nano.

These sketches show that although the Hyundai Eon will be a bargain basement model, design is still very much on the agenda. We can see the company’s Fluidic Sculpture design in full play here – familiar cues include Hyundai’s hexagon grille, long headlamps and wavy surfacing on the profile.

The rear end is also unmistakably Hyundai with those long vertical lamps. With such sophisticated design, this is a cheap car that doesn’t look cheap.

The same goes for the interior, which is dual toned and equally curvy. The design, which directs one’s eyes to the centre console, is also in line with Hyundai’s latest products.

Reports from India are speculating that the Eon, codenamed HA, sits on a new platform that’s not shared with the i10. Apparently, it will be powered by a 814 cc SOHC 3-cylinder petrol engine with 56 PS and 75 Nm. The speculated ex-showroom price is 2.5 to 3 lakh rupees, which is roughly equivalent to RM16.2k to RM19.5k.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• taboogen on Sep 21, 2011 at 1:24 pm

wah EON = edaran Otomobil Nasional….. hahahaha

• eon ftw on Sep 21, 2011 at 1:29 pm

nicceeeeeeeee

• Ash Menon on Sep 21, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Below 20k for it…. sakit hati seriously…

• Edaran Otomobil Nasional

• Expatriate VN on Sep 21, 2011 at 2:09 pm

Nicely sculpture car.

• lazyf on Sep 21, 2011 at 2:15 pm

rekabentuk EON ni jauh lebih megah dari i10…

• Abhijit Gupta on Sep 21, 2011 at 2:20 pm

Thanks for sharing this. Hyundai is set to hit the Indian auto market and has already spreaded a roar throughout the auto industry. Hyundai is really going to hit the competitors very hard with such a low price. In addition the car looks very smart and the exterior is just stunning. There has always been a high demand for small cars in India. So, I think the car would play a leading role in the small car category.

• alldisc on Sep 21, 2011 at 2:26 pm

wah! suddenly EON become a car model… after 25 yrs being car distributor.

• wonder if we can get a car this nice with this kinda price in msia..haha..dreaming~

• EVOVII on Sep 21, 2011 at 3:03 pm

The dashboard looks overdone to match the exterior

• Really cool car… how much if sold here? RM40K?

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 21, 2011 at 4:02 pm

this might replace the current Hyundai Santro

• Hello Protongkat, that’s how Savvy done right ok!

• Awesome design !! Can I book one now !! RM 16.2K to RM 19.5K , holly I would like to have 2 of these

• Wowww! The look inside out, the price, all great! And I guess the driver won’t feel like ‘Ok,I know I’m driving a low class car’.

• Black Dog on Sep 21, 2011 at 5:21 pm

Imagine it’s available here at that price…

• Unforgiven on Sep 21, 2011 at 5:34 pm

You mean this is a less than RM20k car?

• wolfsburg on Sep 21, 2011 at 5:49 pm

Hyundai is going to grab more market share in India by snatching the sales of the Alto… This car looks much more promising than the old Alto… All the best to Eon!

• Downs on Sep 21, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Looks better than the i10. Should bring it into our shores to compete with the viva and alto.

• Good exterior but interior just make me headache…i really don’t like it!

• David on Sep 21, 2011 at 6:26 pm

bring this baby to Malaysia and i am sold!

• why on earth that i had the feeling this car look too similiar with the old Myvi/boon/passo?

the front lamp especially

• kankong mali on Sep 21, 2011 at 6:30 pm

helloo p1 n p2 die hard fans???

• Anytime I rather take this over overpriced Viva

• gattaca on Sep 22, 2011 at 11:16 am

we only can dream that … dont forget we have MITI that control all the car price in Malaysia..

• Hadi75 on Sep 21, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Reports from India are speculating that the Eon, codenamed HA, sits on a new platform that’s not shared with the i10. Apparently, it will be powered by a 814 cc SOHC 3-cylinder petrol engine with 56 PS and 75 Nm. The speculated ex-showroom price is 2.5 to 3 lakh rupees, which is roughly equivalent to RM16.2k to RM19.5k.

– come to malaysia….speculated ex-showroom price…RM40k..?????

• Exterior looks quit similar to Myvi… I mean the front view. It may cause by the angle of the photo or wat….

• Finally, a cheap car for 3 world that really good looking. Shame to other manufacturer with their cut & paste design hideous creature ‘specially’ to dump in india and other ‘cheap’ market.

• Mohan Nair on Sep 24, 2011 at 11:11 am

What do you mean by hideous design by other manufacturers? In fact India has many more automobiles companies competing and selling their products. Well also India is not a cheap market. Apparently Malaysian Government taxes all manufacturers other than P & P at a much higher tax rate. In India the Government policy is may the best manufacturer thrive.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 21, 2011 at 8:51 pm

looks so much better than i10

• anakSarawak on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:03 pm

Coming to Bolehland aaaa???? Will take one if it is coming to our shores…

• Xefron on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:21 pm

thumbs up if u think this should come to Malaysia and sell under RM35K.

• Jimmy on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:56 pm

RM38k OTR.

• Feast on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:08 pm

Gosh..all those curves and lines are killing my eyes..

• Area51LE on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:26 pm

Headlamp looks a bit similar to the New Myvi

• Razor on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:44 pm

lol 19k.. im so happy to be a malaysian..

• car driver on Sep 23, 2011 at 9:14 am

i’m also glad to be born as a malaysian. to live in this good land run by its good people. imagine if we were to be born as a somali we might have been dead before reaching 5.

we must be thankful because there’s a lot of people living in a lot worse condition than us. because if a comparison is to be done, it must be done to a worse condition. other than that, it’s blasphemy!

no point in comparing against someone getting this eon at below RM20k, must compare to people getting this at RM45k. wait viva IS selling at RM45k.
      oh well i’m sure someone else is buying similar car for >RM100k (like the cygnet). so we’re better off after all.

• Hyundai using the same headlight design for all the segment of the car!!! What a big R&D cost saving!

• transformer on Sep 21, 2011 at 11:20 pm

nice but sometimes artist impression vary from actual release…
    hope its interior doesnt feel that cheap as mousedeer….
    any green diesel ? will be a good city drives…

• cheap mouse deer?sorry to say..u paid belok 20k n expect wht?sonata finished in this car?com’on…even rm100k honda jazz using cheap material…be rational my man~

• Masked Ryder on Sep 22, 2011 at 8:22 am

VW EOS : Hyundai EON what gua kasi selute ini orang korea, bukan sekadar design nama pun dia orang ciplak, Let me guess i45 (L size), i30 (ML size), Verna (M size), i10 (S size), EON (XS Size) one design kawtim “Really lazy & Cost saving works” (Real design obviously copy VW UP), still using SOHC Engine same like our obselete kancil ? Wonder who’s old engine they copied ?

• Masked Ryder on Sep 22, 2011 at 8:23 am

VW EOS : Hyundai EON wha ! Gua kasi selute ini orang korea, bukan sekadar design nama pun dia orang boleh ciplak, Let me guess i45 (L size), i30 (ML size), Verna (M size), i10 (S size), EON (XS Size) one design kawtim “Really lazy & Cost saving works” (Real design obviously copy VW UP), still using SOHC Engine same like our obselete kancil ? Wonder who’s old engine they copied ?

• Razor on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:00 pm

wow u complaint everything about korean cars do you? U must realllllyyy hate them or feel threatened enough by their success.

design copy VW up? LOLz.. u must be utterly blind. This is the same fluidic design language as the latest Hyundai cars. Why u dont complaint Honda accord for still using SOHC engine? This is a cheap sub 20k car man… and cheaper then the kancil for god sake.

• shawal on Sep 22, 2011 at 9:28 am

1 of the reason why cars are so cheap in india, china , indonesia is due to the number of population they have , consumers, cheap labours costs and distributors…

• in malaysia, this eon will pricing at 40k….. to protect Viva

why our rakyat cannot get cheap and good car? It is always like this.

What the heck with “Rakyat didahulukan?” dahulukan our money?

Damn BN

• TFazuin on Sep 22, 2011 at 11:31 am

I’m sure you would love to get cheap cars, but with no roads to go what is the point? Check out Jakarta’s congestion.

The Malaysian population has an affinity to cars, regardless BN or PR, they can take advantage of that by levying high taxes.

I would like to see how the alternative goverment does it because living in Shah Alam I have seen the newest launch of the same homes priced at 130% more than I paid 3 years ago and these are PKNS affliated companies.

You must be high on weed or ketum to be thinking a change in goverment would mean cheap cars and homes :) These are the big business that fund all the political activities.

• Masked Ryder on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:58 pm

May i ask TFazuin how the hell u know that PR Govt will not reduce car tax since they have never rule Malaysia ?
        R u telling us that all BN state house never increase their price.
        Pi main jauh2 lah, u expect internet savvy forumer here to buy ur Utusan Meloya story ? Go cheat kampong folk, forumer here r well educated.

• Masked Ryder on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:10 pm

For those who want see the actual car image can.

Visit google.com, type Hyundai EON, Click image, there’s a white color unit doing road test.

Tell me whether the belakang design look like our Myvi or not.

This message is specially dedicater to Razor since it have not learned how to google image, incase u still donno visit site like gadgetnews.in & indiancarbikes.in even autocar india.

Is this simple n clear enough to understand ?

• Outgradious ! Compare the rear design with Maruti@Suzuki Ritz ! Copy Cat Caught Red Handed.

I would choose Maruti A-Star over this anytime, K10B DOHC 1 ltr engine super fuel efficiency 19km/ltr more hp more torque.

Just look at those complaints on 2011 Sonata YF on autoworld forum, huh ! Talk about how Hyundai miracle revolution on quality r proven to be nothing but urban legend & Salesman + Fanboy B*ll Sh*t.

• Mohan Nair on Sep 24, 2011 at 11:15 am

Hey Bud,
          Here in the US you cannot find the new Hyundai models in dealer lots. They are usually spoken for or the ones left get sold really fast. Toyota and Honda is suffering. I think it was either in May or June 2011 Hyundai Sonata was the largest selling sedan in the US.

Stop dizzing Korean cars. They breathing hard on the Japanese.

• sukasuki on Sep 22, 2011 at 12:07 pm

thats why our roadtax and car insurance are so damn cheap.

• Razor on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:57 pm

most other countries dont have road tax..even if it does, its not based on cc, instead based on Co2 emmisions

• car driver on Sep 23, 2011 at 9:19 am

again, must compare to a country which have a higher roadtax and insurance compared to malaysia.
          if compared to a lower one, it’s not valid.

i’m sure someone somewhere is paying RM10k a year for their car insurance policy and roadtax. for a sub 1liter car. we must be grateful. and change our lifestyle instead.

ptuih

• Masked Ryder on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:49 pm

The real car look different leh ! U all can see it in Google image, look distorted, real design 90% like Myvi, let’s wait for fat ass comment like how basher calling Myvi.
    Why publish artist impression photo & not actual car (Something to “Hide”) or been “Reward” not to do so ? ;-)

• Razor on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:12 pm

its an A segment car, its much much smaller then a myvi. Theres no real official photo of the car yet, thats why its not shown.

• s chandra on Sep 27, 2011 at 6:51 pm

Pls go to the website of auto car india, you will get the actual photograph of eon which was taken during the test drive by auto experts. same time you can get most of the information about this small low cost but not a cheap car.

• Zaifman on Sep 22, 2011 at 4:49 pm

I’m digging Hyundai’s new design philosophy.

But, if they brought it here. It’ll be 65k+ thanks to bolehland tax.

• MoFaz on Sep 22, 2011 at 10:20 pm

suzuki alto here is CBU from india. the super basic is RM20k in india, but RM45k here. so if eon is really RM20k in india, it will be RM45k here as well.

• Zaifman is right in a way Hyundai EON may cost more than i10 in Malaysia, unless it cheat through “Inokom EON”.

Anyway Mofaz, Suzuki Alto we see here r called A Star in india which is more expensive, the one name Alto in india is belong to the older generation.

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2011 at 5:05 pm

yes, i checked the “A Star” one, not Maruti Alto. showroom price is RM23k there (without registration and insurance yet)

• if sold here for 20k, i bet every home will have at least 1!

• shipra on Sep 30, 2011 at 2:17 am

good but whats about CNG kit……..Please sell with CNG company inbuilt. it will be helpful for mumbaikar……Pls. think on this because petrol is more expensive………