VW briefs local and ASEAN vendors at Suppliers’ Day

Volkswagen’s Regional Sourcing Office recently hosted a Suppliers’ Day, which saw the attendance of more than 300 automotive suppliers from Malaysia and throughout the ASEAN region.

The purpose was to share information with the vendors on the upcoming Volkswagen local assembly operations in Malaysia, and for them to better understand VW processes such as supplier management, logistics, quality assurance and engineering.

Among those who also attended were Government officials, current and potential suppliers, officials from DRB-HICOM and Volkswagen production officials from Wolfsburg, Germany.

Tay added that with 62 production facilities throughout the world, Volkswagen is constantly looking out for production opportunities and to build and establish a bigger network of suppliers to complement the brand’s growth in key markets.

A total of 11 speakers from various organisations presented their plans and strategies, including supplier quality awareness and logistics requirement processes, during the half-day event.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• VW’s requirement in terms of quality and supplier’s reliability are quite high.

It’s not so important for Malaysia that a handful of Passats are assembled in Malaysia. But it’s very important that suppliers from Malaysia learn how to work with a global company like VW.

If some suppliers would be able to get the “A” supplier status from VW, even cars manufactured in europe or elsewhere in the world would be made with parts from Malaysia, which would be good for the local job market.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 25, 2011 at 4:28 pm

Hopefully VW is able to commit itself in Malaysia as a main hub for RHD cars assembly. Imagine VWs from Malaysia running on thai and indonesia road.

It is pay back time, we have lost too much from those pathetic Japanese companies.

• Hey VW M’sia pls bring the Jetta GLI 2012 here so i can visit the car! i really like it even i cant afford it :)

• Malaysia suppliers are mostly umno linked bumis. They are used to P1 and lesser extent P2 quality requirements which are not quite international standards. Unless they are prepared to really work hard on meeting vw requirements and not wait to be spoonfed none will meet the standards required.

• catdog on Nov 27, 2011 at 9:33 am

Just talk ab car here pls. Dont talk abt politics, bumi, umno, work hard, spoonfeed etc. Dont think bumi readers happy w ur comments here…

• berombon on Nov 27, 2011 at 11:30 pm

I think that is wrong la..got many chinaman company supplying parts also la to P1 & P2..but talk about cars here la…

• Rambo Ramsey on Nov 29, 2011 at 8:44 am

Talking through your arse isnt it?

APM- Tan Chong Holding sister company
      Oriental Group – Teck See Plastic, Armstrong Auto – Kah -Boon Siew group
      JK Wire harness – Juan Kuang
      Tong Yong Rubber
      Pong Codan

does this major supplier looks like Umno to you? I can write the full list for you idiot. Its about capability and politics aof japanese OE. stupid screw also sometimes they require TA (technical Assistant). That jacked up the price but in reality our Malaysia supplier is competitive (but some are just downright greedy)

• Lim Kopi on Nov 28, 2011 at 11:47 am

Bernama journalists are just like any other unprofessional ones like those from Utusan, The Star… or any other useless BN news reporters …

Simply taruh and tembak ….

• michael on Nov 28, 2011 at 12:14 pm

after waiting for so long and still no new car launching, potential car buyers already bored with the tiring look of their cars.

Just launch the cars and stop talking, accessing etc etc.