Lotus Exige S Roadster – soft top for hardcore Lotus

Here’s something new that Lotus brought to Geneva, the Exige S Roadster. The name explains everything, really, a roadster version of the refreshed Exige S that made its debut at Frankfurt last year. The Exige S is hardcore, and the Roadster is described as “more raw than a Japanese tasting menu”. Hmmm…

It’s the first time an Exige has been offered with a factory-fitted soft top. Why soft-top? Because it’s lightweight and easy to put up and take down. Target weight is under 1,100 kg, making this one of the lightest six-cylinder roadsters on the market by some margin.

The Exige S is powered by a supercharged 3.5 V6 engine with 345 hp and 400 Nm. Reaching 100 km/h from standstill takes just four seconds, while 0-160 km/h is done in 8.5 seconds. Top speed is 233 km/h. Combined fuel economy is 10 litres per 100 km.

The Roadster comes with a six-speed manual gearbox, but will also be available with Lotus’ Serial Precision Shift (SPS), a paddle-operated automated manual transmission. The SPS gearbox is lighter and more compact than a normal torque-converter automatic.

The car comes with two different suspension settings – standard setting for an “active driving experience suited to public roads” and an optional setting as part of the Race Pack for max performance, developed for track use. Launch control can be activated when the car is in Race mode. Inside, the car can be specified with a “comfort enhanced plush interior” or a stripped down style more typical of Lotus.

The Exige S Roadster has been developed for Europe and Asia, and will not be available in North America.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• There’s error on the acceleration speed 0-100kmh, it’s way much faster than 8.5sec

• please read article la moron

• paultan on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:44 pm

garangnya

• LP700-4 on Mar 07, 2012 at 7:25 pm

The exact 0-100km/h acceleration is actually 3.8s. It’s faster than the 4.3 L V8 Ferrari F430 acceleration, 0-100km/h in 4.0s.

• Point proven, paultan commentors many here arsehole. And have you own a lotus? I know have… And you no right? shutup moron go ride your bike

• at least we all here is not lazy to read the full articles before posting a comment..and what’s wrong if riding motorbike?is it to sleazy from ur point of view??so whose moron here?

• An Hua on Mar 08, 2012 at 1:46 pm

man…beradap laa sikit kalau nak tegur tu…
            Panggil org MORON…suka suka sajaa…

u never know who’s u just called moron…might be your neighbor, your uncle, your colleagues..never know…

Every human done a mistake maaa…

• Scrude on Mar 08, 2012 at 5:43 pm

dude stop calling people morons when you, yourself can’t even write with proper grammar.pfftt~

• tikus on Mar 07, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Poor thing..he cant read.

• An Hua on Mar 07, 2012 at 7:00 pm

hahaha…100mph equal to 160/km/h laa dude… Lol

• did he stated about 100mph??what a epic fail la u ni..please read all comment before replying back..

• An Hua on Mar 08, 2012 at 1:56 pm

I’m might be guessing that Mr. Lim had misunderstood and just wanna make things clear up….

0-100 km/h =4second (0-60mph=4second)
          0-160 km/h =8.5 seconds (0-100mph=8.5 seconds)

Yaa..yaa…u’re the only one that always rite… Mr. Perfectionist…
          Cheer up…no harm..why u so garang??

• I did, the next comment, but the posting features here doesnt allow me to delete. So moron calling is there… Point proven arsehole didnt read second post before hitting at people.

• oooppps…. it’s 0-160kmh!! Dang, it’s fast!

• blackbox on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:06 pm

Nice car, but a little bit too heavy.

• i’d grow a third hand just to do a triple facepalm for your comment

• lotusfan on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:10 pm

wut a great car

• lotusfan on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:12 pm

great car better than ferrari

• venven81 on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:16 pm

this is a stunner i must say. how much would it cost here in bolehland?

• Ninja on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:17 pm

I used to work for Lotus before. This car is awesome. That’s what makes Proton awesome as well becoz of Lotus DNA.

• peter_pj on Mar 08, 2012 at 11:41 am

Yup, am enjoying it while we still own it.
      Will be a sad-sad day when Proton has (or is forced) to let it go.

• not sure about the rear…

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:47 pm

answering a question nobody asked there lotus.

• joepng on Mar 07, 2012 at 5:14 pm

well proton fan boy, sure clap to this….clap, clap,clap..

• An Hua on Mar 07, 2012 at 7:09 pm

lol….when they’re doing good, also u bash… when they’re doing bad, also u bash..

what actually u want dude?? if u don’t like it, keep it to yourself dude…

But honesty.. from bottom of my heart, i do feel this is stunning design .. they still maintain the continuity body side profile from previous exige design..

this is awesome…good job!

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 07, 2012 at 5:51 pm

eh?

I thought the Exige is a hardtop Elise….with a racier setup and downforce.

So isn’t this Exige roadster just an Elise with a fire breathing engine??

• blackbox on Mar 07, 2012 at 7:15 pm

2012 Exige is on V6, Elise are all 4 pot engine either NA or SC. Exige also wider and have longer wheel base.

• laluan sehala on Mar 07, 2012 at 6:18 pm

stunningly gorgeous!!

• An Hua on Mar 07, 2012 at 6:58 pm

here go!!! nicee!!! ..really nice!

Now we talk about how to compete with other global supercar…go LOTUS!!

• Dogbert on Mar 07, 2012 at 7:20 pm

With cars like this, why does Lotus continue to make losses ?

• Danny Bahar on Mar 07, 2012 at 7:46 pm

Because there are sceptics like you out there :)

• bobdbilder on Mar 07, 2012 at 8:03 pm

Well at least in this one, the rear view mirror can be used.

They desperately need to come out with a new product. New lines. Freshness. The problem lies when they stop creating new models that sizzles with innovation. They keep piling the small innovations into existing products. It almost seem to be cowering from pushing boundaries.

The inconvenient truth is that the UK is an expensive place to build a car. They can only make low volume high value added cars to sell to the upper percentile of the population. The English will fight tooth and nail to retain production in UK; as any citizen of any nation should. Its an uphill battle to put more value into a product when trends and personal values changes.

When they are up against the likes of Porsches, Audis and Nissans, finding that USP is hard.

• actually i’m not sure what segment of the market is this car targetting.

if its for the twisties then a regular exige could be adequate, given a shorter wheelbase and lighter weight.

if its for the straights, then a 233kmh top speed is kind of lowish..some of the ahbeng here already doing 280-300 numbers.

anyone care to shed some light

• this is the new route for lotus, lightweight without sacrificing comfort, but still retain its forte which feymes ride n handling. Starting from evora, then new elise(not really new, but with 1.6 offering n new exterior style) new exige s in white, really mouth watering, then exige s soft top.

If u look closely, try to compare with the 5 concept car they show in geneva, u can see the design direction spawn by donato coco, to make lotus a new breed. there are positive feedback on sales on new exige s which they placed it as cayman s contender, n good review interm of design in international forum.

I wish donato coco joins earlier in lotus, so, he also can do his magic touch on prtn. Simply magic. To turn lotus into ferarri. Not a schock coz he works at ferari before n if not mistaken, 458 italia was his last masterpiece.

• rally_fan on Mar 08, 2012 at 8:15 am

*like*

• lotusboyz on Mar 08, 2012 at 9:13 am

i think this is more of a targa than a roadster

• MoFaz on Mar 08, 2012 at 9:50 am

their 3.5 V6 fuel economy is 10 litres per 100 km…
    that’s about the same as my Waja campro. i want that engine in P3-21A!

• Just me on Mar 08, 2012 at 4:13 pm

Waja is drink 10 litres for every 100km? Kodos Proton, you did it again. Proton bolih.

• putra_rider on Mar 08, 2012 at 9:51 am

new model of lotus? i heard the previous model about 5 in a row didn’t sell much. How could they build another new model?proton said lotus make losses not profit. Wats up guys?

• e-tique on Mar 08, 2012 at 4:58 pm

wake-up! since when 5 concepts lineup hv been in production???

• To be fair, 233kmh of top speed for a 345bhp kind of thing should be a total misquote when its more ‘paltry’ 220bhp predecessor could top 148mph. Paul please correct this.

• catdog on Mar 08, 2012 at 3:31 pm

good car, lotus shld do better w this model…dont sell lotus

• sinaga on May 18, 2012 at 10:28 pm

bagus nie mobilnya, make a wish i can buy this car.hehehe

• sinaga on May 18, 2012 at 10:33 pm

good car. i love it. make a wish i will buy this car.hehehehe