Eterniti Artemis – engineering prototype unveiled in Beijing

We first heard of this new brand last year, when Eterniti Motors was born at the Frankfurt show. The London-based “boutique luxury carmaker” has now unveiled the engineering prototype of its first car at the recent Beijing motor show, and it’s clearly a Porsche Cayenne.

Named Artemis, Eterniti calls its effort the “world’s first super SUV”. The Artemis aims to provide higher levels of luxury, performance and exclusivity demanded by today’s wealthy car buyers but which have not been available until now.

The car will be in production by summer this year, and Eterniti is proud to beat Bentley, Lamborghini and Maserati to market, although we don’t see why they should – this is after all just a reworked Cayenne. Order books are now open.

The Artemis has twin reclining rear seats with heating/cooling, iPad ready holders with electronic reveal, and a drinks chiller. They also promise the finest leathers, quilted undercarpets and boot trim, lambswool rugs, veneers including natural woods, piano black and carbon fibre, a choice of sunroofs and starlight roof lining.

The body panels are carbon composite. Ultra-low profile 315/25 tyres are stuck on 23-inch “super-lightweight” forged alloys.

The 4.8-litre twin-turbo V8 produces over 600 bhp and 750 Nm of torque, good enough for 0-100 km/h in 4.5 secs and 290 km/h. Performance and handling have been developed by a team led by Alastair Macqueen, who previously worked on the Jaguar XJ220 and Le Mans racers.

The car has been test-driven by ex-F1 driver Johnny Herbert, who will play an ongoing role in product development as well as being an ambassador for the brand.

The Artemis will be priced at the equivalent of £210,000 in most markets, which is crazy money. Unsurprisingly, they’re banking on China.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• silver on May 02, 2012 at 9:42 am

the interior is indeed luxurious .. cant say that about the exterior though. the front and back looks like its just been kitted out by after market product. Could have done alot better

• Alpha on May 02, 2012 at 10:24 pm

agreed.it’s kinda overdone.looks like one of those ah beng kits that you ask a bodykit shop to custom for you.And it’s very Aston Martin-ish/Jaguar-ish at first glance.

• chinchong on May 02, 2012 at 10:58 am

250k pound in boleh land it can be considered cheap maa..

• Porsche Cayenne on steroid!

• Paint on May 02, 2012 at 11:49 am

Looks nothing more than a soup-ed up Porsche Cayenne. Can already recognize it from miles away. Some people think that others are not thinking.

• Major T-roll on May 02, 2012 at 12:04 pm

Its like having an attractive girlfriend named Porsche who you take to TGIF for dinner…..then when she gets wild, she calls herself “Eterniti”, puts on RM2k diamond underwear and dances for you.

Besides a few high fives at work, it is completely pointless. But then again, what do I know -I’m a single guy who drives a 91 Saga.

• PakAbu on May 02, 2012 at 12:12 pm

With the Artemis, Eterniti Motors have taken the word “overcompensation” to a new level.

• Iylia H on May 02, 2012 at 1:30 pm

wow ‘eterniti’ hahaha… the front bare so much resemblance to jaguar.. i thought it was a jaguar till i read the title of the post.

• shawal on May 02, 2012 at 3:57 pm

you’d be suprise to find a number of priviledged blokes with no taste, those in the know woould stick with a porsche badge

• With that money, I would rather take a “standard” Cayenne Turbo with already pretty close to 600hp of this ugly creature and keep the change for another fancy sports car.

• Black Dog on May 02, 2012 at 7:26 pm

For folks with loads of money, there’s actually not much choices in the SUV and MPV segment. Unlike sedans when if you’re driving a BMW 7 series now, you can still look forward to a Jag or Rolls Royce. For sports cars, there’s a huge options like Ferrari & Lambo. For SUV, after Cayenne, what else? Perhaps only Hummer? For MPV, after Vellfire?

That’s why the market for luxury SUV & MPV is huge.

• taboogen on May 03, 2012 at 7:57 am

they claim this is world first super suv, so it also safe for me to say that Porsche Cayenne is also world first super suv… so who is first?