Global Ford Ranger Challenge – vote for the best video

The Malaysian edition of the Global Ford Ranger Challenge is moving into its final leg – the five local finalists selected earlier in the month have done their respective challenges, and these have been filmed by a crew from Ford.

Now, the videos are up, and you can help determine who will end up the winner of a new Ford Ranger. To recap, the five finalists are horticulturist Zolkaplie Mustafa, utility engineer Peter Charles, admin officer Denny Lim, IT technician Wong Kok Wei, as well as 4X4 modifier, enthusiast and sea diver Peter Choy.

The voting phase runs from today until June 22, and the Grand Prize winner will be selected, based collectively on the total number of thumbs up generated from online votes as well as the decision from the panel of judges.

The winner will drive away with a Ranger XLT 2.2L Manual as well as The Malaysia Ranger Challenge merchandise, but the second and third placed guys won’t walk away empty handed.

The first runner-up will receive RM9,888 in cash and Global Ranger Challenge merchandise, as well as a RM10,000 voucher to purchase the new Ranger. Meanwhile, the second runner-up will receive RM3,888 in cash, a RM5,000 voucher to offset his new Ranger purchase and Global Ranger Challenge merchandise.

Voters aren’t left out either. Every 50th, 100th, 150th voter and so on will be in the running to win a Casio G-Shock watch, though they’ll need to answer a tie-breaker question – the best creative answer of the lot bags the Special Edition All-New Ford Ranger Casio G Shock watch, the same as the one in the ‘tweet a pix with a Ford Ranger’ photo contest.

The rest will get one item from the available Ford merchandise list while stocks last. Oh, in order for you to be eligible to cast your vote, you’ll need to register yourself online at www.fordrangerchallenge.com.my, which is also where you’ll find the five finalists’ videos.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Why all five video but difference colour of vehicle is registered same no. plate AHE4820? is it legal or illegal? I didn’t see any challenge for this contest, no big deal, no difference if compare to my old Ford ranger.

• koozold on May 22, 2012 at 9:58 pm

Ford Malaysia doing good job. Nice video btw. I enjoyed watching and this is very good marketing..