Two new UK special editions for the Toyota Yaris

Toyota has added two special editions of its Yaris supermini to its line-up, to bring “a bit of welcome styling sizzle to Britain’s bleak summer.” They’re called the Edition and the Trend, and can be had in either three- or five-door format.

With blacked-out C-pillars and dark rear glass contrasting with Tyrol Silver or Cirrus White paintwork, the roof looks suspended in mid-air. Toyota calls this the ‘floating roof’ effect.

Yours for £11,695, the Yaris Edition takes the base T2 specification and garnishes it with 15-inch Podium anthracite alloys, front fog lamps, rear privacy glass, some chrome exterior rear trim and body-coloured door mirrors and door handles. Inside, you get a tachometer and leather-trimmed gear knob, with manual air-conditioning an optional extra. Engine is the 68 hp, 1.0 litre VVT-i, coupled to a five-speed manual.

The Yaris Trend, however, is based on the higher SR specification and adds the same Podium alloys in 16-inch form and chrome trim on the tailpipe. Owners can specify Toyota’s Touch & Go as an option, which brings multimedia and sat-nav together in one system. With this one, the 98 hp, 1.33 litre VVT-i drives through a six-speed manual, with Multidrive S CVT an option on the five-door variant.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• toyol on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:09 am

Toyota, the master of make-over..

• Why in the UK, they can get the Toyota Yaris with 1.33 litre VVT-i with a six-speed manual or Multidrive S CVT, while here in bolehland we can only get the J-spec Vios, and we’re stuck with a 5-speed manual or 4-speed auto.
    Isn’t this Yaris the hatch version of the Vios (also known as Yaris in some countries)?

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:31 am

Nice car but a bit too outdated already.

I’ll stick to my kapcai.

• but your kapcai is a junk..

• neondrive on Aug 11, 2012 at 7:54 pm

yea, like you can afford it…go and buy the proton saga or kancil and feel the differrence between driving a car and your kapcai first before you start comparing your kapcai and cars…(if you can afford to buy a kancil first..)

• Old Kapcai on Aug 30, 2012 at 11:14 am

Hey Neondrive and BoXy, wait till both of you are allowed to remove the ‘L’ sticker from your mom’s Kancil. Then only you can teach others about driving experience.

• Old Kapcai on Aug 30, 2012 at 11:53 am

I mean the ‘P’ sticker and not the ‘L’ sticker from your driving school’s Kancil.

• Toyota is trying to do a MINI….but I think it looks quite ok…

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:41 pm

But still nicer than your boxy wife.

• Yes, my wife is boxy and you are riding a junk..

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 11, 2012 at 2:58 pm

You are so jelly coz both of you cannot join us. Even a 3-wheeler ice-cream bike also not big enough LOL.

• zodiak on Aug 10, 2012 at 10:08 am

cute!

• FhamieIV on Aug 10, 2012 at 10:16 am

I wonder why this Yaris looks similar to the Peugeot 208.

• Blame UMW Toyota for pampering fellow Malaysians with too much different spec of Vios that makes no space for non-Vios B segment car to enter.

• TurboLIAO on Aug 10, 2012 at 12:37 pm

Finally nice looking car from the mighty Lazy Toyota.
    No sales worry ( Camry) = Lousy design car
    Sales Worry ( Yaris ) = Hot looking car

• v-power on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:16 pm

If this little Yaris was ever brought here…it will be interesting to see how the JPJ inspection might play out…What blacked-out “rear privacy glass”…? Seriously…ANY candidate in the upcoming GE who decides to abolish JPJ’s arcane laws will get my vote 110%…!

• iLoveFord on Aug 10, 2012 at 10:27 pm

Really cant wait for New Toyota Vios 2013 coming to Malaysia.

• New hybrid owner on Aug 11, 2012 at 10:43 am

Got new vios in 2013?

• old vios on Aug 11, 2012 at 9:00 pm

yes New vios not this yaris but etios…i will forever with my old vios rather than buy cheap etios

• Wen Hao on Aug 12, 2012 at 2:27 am

walao..headlamp like saga flx..i lovin it!! LOL

• 1000horses on Aug 13, 2012 at 5:20 am

6MT for 1.3 is yummy altho power is only 98hp…
    I wonder is it really so expensive to hv a 6MT gb?? All we ever get (sparsely) here is olskool 5MT w lousy gearing….heck even blardy camry still w stoneage 4MT…

• 1000horses on Aug 13, 2012 at 5:24 am

I wanna place my bet on the first 6MT to be launched in Msia priced below 90k….even if it’s only 1.5 or 1.6…tis is really gonna b a top selling point for stick lovers..even more so when MT is like so limited choices here…
    I know it’s not gonna happen anytime soon….my next best bet is the 2012 Swift Sport 6MT….and pls price it below 110k!!!!!

• ah lao on Aug 13, 2012 at 3:09 pm

drving this car now in US.. overall looks ok.. yes you guys are rite.. toyota are moving focus to mini. btw like the handling.. very nice.. and also it give me good MPG :) some more there is a “eco” signal on the dashboard. it help you to indicate that u are driving in eco mode or power mode. but not good in highway. due to size is small and it will cause stability issue when u drive up to ~70mph.. interior are solid come with standard feature bluetooth hand free, USB MP3 and etc. rear seat got space.. today just fetched 2 big size adult in airport. successfully put in thier baggages into the car too. too bad this car dont have RPM meter.. :( overall no complain and the interior quality are better than VIOS G/S in malaysia. (solid)