Second-gen Porsche Cayenne Turbo S revealed

For those who feel the Porsche Cayenne Turbo’s 500 hp isn’t enough, Stuttgart brings out the 550 hp Cayenne Turbo S, the latest model to sit at the top of its current Type 958 range.

The turbocharged 4.8 litre V8 gets enhancements which include a more free flowing inlet manifold, a tweaked ECU and increased boost, which also pushes torque up to a peak 750 Nm from the Turbo’s 700.

Combined cycle fuel consumption and CO2 emissions are claimed to remain at 11.5 litres per 100 km and 270 grams per km. The new car is marginally quicker than the Cayenne Turbo, doing 0-100 km/h in 4.5 seconds and topping out at 283 km/h.

The four-wheel drive car features air suspension with active PASM (Porsche Active Suspension Management) damping control, PTV (Porsche Torque Vectoring) Plus with an electronically controlled rear differential lock and PDCC (Porsche Dynamic Chassis Control), with a Sport Chrono package fitted as standard.

Changes to the exterior include 21-inch wheels, smoked headlamps and rectangular quad tailpipes. Inside, the dashboard, door panels and centre console get carbon trim, and there’s a new two-tone leather upholstery with contrasting stitching.

The Cayenne Turbo S will cost £107,460 (RM527k) when it goes on sale in the UK in January.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• NamNam on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:20 pm

I m a senior pilot and I love the cayenne’s cockpit buttons!

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:19 pm

hmmm…. sport chrono pack as standard….

really? why??

• The interior is overwhelmingly classy,sporty and sexy at the same time..haven’t seen or had this “wow” feeling from other vehicles before, this is a DREAM, Im in LOVE.

• Cantona on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:50 pm

In Malaysia, 107k gets you a Civic 1.8
    In UK, 107k gets you a Cayenne Turbo S

• in america, you probably get AIDS.

• How much does fuel, sugar, rent etc cost in UK?

• EDDIE on Oct 21, 2012 at 7:41 pm

I don’t about UK but fuel in OZ is around 1.30~1.60/L & Sugar is around $2~3/kg

Hourly wage at fast food restaurant $18-23
        Average price per meal $10+-

And a GTS cost around $165k after TAX

Toyota 86 from $30,000 ;)

• ah chong on Oct 15, 2012 at 3:15 pm

someone gonna steal it like a boss!!

• macroman on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:25 pm

what an ugly exterior, ahhh my eyes… meh. Coincidently, uncles love this car, I wonder why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • rexis on Oct 15, 2012 at 4:58 pm

I think mainly coz you can’t afford it especially in Malaysia.

• macroman on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:59 am

Design is design, and… it is an ugly car IMHO. Apparently, money can’t buy good taste. You don’t see many around, do you?

• AES on the road nowadays! imagine you drive Porsche at 60 – 90kmph everyday.

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 16, 2012 at 1:42 pm

RM527 in UK..RM 1.2 mil in Malaysia then..

• Lol. Apparently i find it ridiculous to compare to UK 107k. Our currency is weak n isnt same as pound. So in thailand it sold for 12million baht. And probably will be sold at around HK$ 2million in Hong Kong. So how do u all justify it?